Ice boxes

Submitted: Wednesday, Sep 01, 2010 at 19:24
ThreadID: 81090 Views:3737 Replies:7 FollowUps:5
I am only after say a 60-80 litre ice box, tossing up between Tropical and Techniice.

I am guessing they are both great but some feedback from users would be appreciated.

Chipsy

Reply By: olddigger - Wednesday, Sep 01, 2010 at 19:28

Wednesday, Sep 01, 2010 at 19:28
I have a Techni Ice and it's a ripper. If you freeze water in big plastic bottles, it stays cold for a good five days. Very strong, so it doubles as a seat. Cheers, Tony
AnswerID: 429124

Follow Up By: Fatso - Wednesday, Sep 01, 2010 at 19:41

Wednesday, Sep 01, 2010 at 19:41
No idea what a Techni Ice esky is like.
Sounds like Tony is has had a better run with his Techni Ice than we have with our Tropical.
Our tropical doesn't keep ice very well at all.
We usually only use it in the boat & for that it is excellent. We don't need it to keep cold for more than 2 days & it was relatively cheap & is very durable.
The tropical was about half the price of our Baileys & is less than half as good for keeping ice.
FollowupID: 699849

Follow Up By: Chipsy - Wednesday, Sep 01, 2010 at 19:45

Wednesday, Sep 01, 2010 at 19:45
Here is a link with some specs / pictures if it helps?

http://www.techniice.com/english/iceboxes.asp
FollowupID: 699850

Follow Up By: Chipsy - Wednesday, Sep 01, 2010 at 19:48

Wednesday, Sep 01, 2010 at 19:48
thanks Tony
FollowupID: 699851

Follow Up By: skmaint - Wednesday, Sep 01, 2010 at 20:24

Wednesday, Sep 01, 2010 at 20:24
I have 3 Techni ice coolers and wouldnt swap for anything else....They are great.

simon.
FollowupID: 699856

Reply By: Member - david m2 (SA) - Wednesday, Sep 01, 2010 at 21:32

Wednesday, Sep 01, 2010 at 21:32
best ice box I've seen is an Engel Fantastic but not real cheep, just like their fridges
AnswerID: 429137

Reply By: Muntoo - Wednesday, Sep 01, 2010 at 23:59

Wednesday, Sep 01, 2010 at 23:59
If its the orange Tropical Downunder ice box, then i would go for that over Techni Ice. I have 2 Techni Ice box's, i got them cheap and while they are great for 1 or 2 days after that they are crap. Plus they warp easily, my lids dont seal anymore so they are just storage box's. The orange Tropical ones are great, very strong and hold ice heaps longer. For the price the Techni Ice are good but keep them out of the sun and dont sit on them or store anything on them. And dont bother with the techni ice sheets
AnswerID: 429148

Reply By: Member - GeeTee (NT) - Thursday, Sep 02, 2010 at 08:07

Thursday, Sep 02, 2010 at 08:07
Hi there,

Technice for me. Great cooler.

AnswerID: 429156

Reply By: Member - Oldbaz. NSW. - Thursday, Sep 02, 2010 at 08:27

Thursday, Sep 02, 2010 at 08:27
I'm not sure of the brand but I got my blue one off Ebay for less than half the
price of the same thing in the boutique camping shops. It works well, keeps ice for 4/5 days when about 30 deg & longer if cooler. I dont remove the cold water
for another day or two..still keeps beer cold. It is strong enough to sit on .
A little tip...a 60 to 80L will weigh a ton when full...mine is a 40L......oldbaz.
AnswerID: 429159

Reply By: ob - Thursday, Sep 02, 2010 at 12:21

Thursday, Sep 02, 2010 at 12:21
Any esky that can keep ice in the Pilbara sun for 3 days has my vote.
Orange Tropical for me
AnswerID: 429169

Reply By: Member - Daryl N (NSW) - Thursday, Sep 02, 2010 at 20:38

Thursday, Sep 02, 2010 at 20:38
Used a Tropical ice box on a 3 month trip. Never again. They are only as good as the quality of ice you can get and in most places all you get is party ice which doesn't last more than a day or so. Great for day trips but if you are traveling save your money and buy a real fridge
AnswerID: 429224

Follow Up By: Member - Christopher P (NSW) - Thursday, Sep 02, 2010 at 21:33

Thursday, Sep 02, 2010 at 21:33
my sister has a tropical, fibreglass, solid block ice works best, forget the party ice.
FollowupID: 699984