Flamin Centipedes

Submitted: Thursday, Sep 02, 2010 at 19:09
ThreadID: 81109 Views:5056 Replies:10 FollowUps:10
Howdy all, i have a problem. for some reason i have an infestation of centipedes in and around the house. They have been around for about 3 years now, but hadn't seen one for about a year or two but now they are back.

You see, they get into the house and i dont know how. They get into my shed and i dont know how as i have sealed up the bottom entirely with foam. They are always getting into my tent and chairs and swag canvas.

Few times they have been in bed with us at night, which aint much fun at 2am. Not small ones either. A few weeks ago we had a problem with them at Port Smith too, killing about 8 in one night just while cooking dinner.

I have had enough now, as i cant stand the buggers taking over. With small children around its not really appropriate to let them take over. I know he bites arent that bad but i would rather not experience it myself.

Does anyone have any solution, a poison or chemical of some sort. We dont have any crap laying around the yard, just normal garden mulch with tidy gardens. My shed is just a garden shed and nothing damp in there, it gets really hot in the day. I have googled but it seems to all be american solutions and chemicals so am looking for an alternative i can get in Australia.

Thinking of spraying around the whole house with something and maybe getting a pro in to spray inside and out for insects.

I hate getting out bush and opening something up and having a centipede or two flying out. Certainly ruins the moment. I just moved the tent and one flew out and i thought that is friggen IT. I have had enough.

Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Thursday, Sep 02, 2010 at 19:23

Thursday, Sep 02, 2010 at 19:23
Hop on the Pest Controllers Forum, they might have some answers for you there ;) Michael
AnswerID: 429210

Reply By: Joe Grace Doomadgee - Thursday, Sep 02, 2010 at 19:29

Thursday, Sep 02, 2010 at 19:29
"""flying centipede """"""" are you sure they are centipede's ??????
AnswerID: 429211

Follow Up By: Muntoo - Thursday, Sep 02, 2010 at 20:10

Thursday, Sep 02, 2010 at 20:10
Kimberley Lingo for moving quickly.
FollowupID: 699965

Follow Up By: Joe Grace Doomadgee - Thursday, Sep 02, 2010 at 21:32

Thursday, Sep 02, 2010 at 21:32
Where are you ????
FollowupID: 699982

Follow Up By: Muntoo - Thursday, Sep 02, 2010 at 23:28

Thursday, Sep 02, 2010 at 23:28
Im all over the place.

Broome at the moment
FollowupID: 699994

Reply By: Member - John S (INT) - Thursday, Sep 02, 2010 at 19:34

Thursday, Sep 02, 2010 at 19:34
G'day Muntoo,
what sort of centipede's, are they the real hairy one's, or the dark green with light coloured bands type you find under log's?
AnswerID: 429212

Follow Up By: Muntoo - Thursday, Sep 02, 2010 at 20:09

Thursday, Sep 02, 2010 at 20:09
Yeah they range in colour from light green to dark green/brown and with orange/yelloe/red bands on them. They are quick little mongrels too. The biggest would have been 6 inchs i suppose.
FollowupID: 699964

Follow Up By: Road Warrior - Friday, Sep 03, 2010 at 10:35

Friday, Sep 03, 2010 at 10:35
Jesus Christ that's a monster.
FollowupID: 700006

Reply By: Member - Stuart P (WA) - Thursday, Sep 02, 2010 at 19:47

Thursday, Sep 02, 2010 at 19:47
coopex works well here in the west. good on those millipedes as well
AnswerID: 429215

Follow Up By: Brad (S.A.) - Thursday, Sep 02, 2010 at 20:08

Thursday, Sep 02, 2010 at 20:08
yep, coopex is good for all insects... it's a wettable powder too, so it can be mixed with water & sprayed around the house & shed.

Cheers, Brad
FollowupID: 699963

Follow Up By: Muntoo - Thursday, Sep 02, 2010 at 20:10

Thursday, Sep 02, 2010 at 20:10
Coopex , i'll have a look at the hardware and see if i can find me some. Cheers
FollowupID: 699966

Follow Up By: hazo - Thursday, Sep 02, 2010 at 23:16

Thursday, Sep 02, 2010 at 23:16
You need "Ficam W" made by David Grays in Perth, my mate had tried everything and after some research found this stuff and cured his problem.
He did have to buy direct from manufacturer as nobody seemed to stock it for some reason.

Its very similar to Coopex (water based ) and made by same company.
FollowupID: 699993

Follow Up By: Brad (S.A.) - Friday, Sep 03, 2010 at 19:00

Friday, Sep 03, 2010 at 19:00
Ficam W also works a treat, just be careful using it around cats (if you have them as pets & want to keep them), as it can be fatal if they ingest it.

Cheers, Brad
FollowupID: 700048

Reply By: Member - Ed C (QLD) - Thursday, Sep 02, 2010 at 19:51

Thursday, Sep 02, 2010 at 19:51
Apparently they are related to cockroaches, and I know that

this stuff here >> Mortein High Performance Surface Spray

is downright deadly to cockroaches (among other things), so I'd suggest you give that a try...

Confucius say.....
"He who lie underneath automobile with tool in hand,
....Not necessarily mechanic!!"

AnswerID: 429216

Follow Up By: Muntoo - Thursday, Sep 02, 2010 at 20:12

Thursday, Sep 02, 2010 at 20:12
Yeah i have chased the mongrels with that, will spray abit more around the joint. Cheers
FollowupID: 699967

Reply By: howesy - Thursday, Sep 02, 2010 at 20:21

Thursday, Sep 02, 2010 at 20:21
If they are related to cockroaches then try Eucalyptus oil. I wipe the cupboards out with it and around doorways and window sills and haven't had roaches since. I do it once a week diluted with water and wipe it around. Cant hurt and its natural.
AnswerID: 429220

Reply By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Friday, Sep 03, 2010 at 09:13

Friday, Sep 03, 2010 at 09:13
We used Baygon surface spray to keep millipedes out in SA. They moved across it and then curled up and died. Havent seen any centipedes though.

AnswerID: 429242

Reply By: Member - mazcan - Friday, Sep 03, 2010 at 12:48

Friday, Sep 03, 2010 at 12:48
hi
muntoo
try this website they seem to have something for every pest except for politicians lol

epest.com.au

it has an o7 phone prefix so i guess its a qld company

no conection found via google
AnswerID: 429261

Reply By: Jezza77 - Friday, Sep 03, 2010 at 13:37

Friday, Sep 03, 2010 at 13:37
introduce some cane toads to your yard those blighters kill everything. then once the centepede problem is solved you can get some good golf practice in on the toads
AnswerID: 429262

Reply By: Muntoo - Saturday, Sep 04, 2010 at 00:59

Saturday, Sep 04, 2010 at 00:59
Thanks all, will give them a go.

Thanks heaps

AnswerID: 429320