It's wet in Birdsville
Submitted: Friday, Sep 03, 2010 at 20:34
tam16
Gosh..I think we might be rained in here.. had quite a bit of rain today and more to come..had a win on the horses and everyone in good spirits..think they might cancel tomorrows races tho, can't imagine anyone wanting to get out on that track!
Reply By: aggie - Friday, Sep 03, 2010 at 20:57
Friday, Sep 03, 2010 at 20:57
Tam 16
My nephew and his partner also at
Birdsville. In small viscount nipper van called the Castle towed by a 4.5 petrol Patrol with his partner t j.His name is John, Welcomes any visitors
Follow Up By: tam16 - Friday, Sep 03, 2010 at 21:19
Friday, Sep 03, 2010 at 21:19
Hi Aggie..will keep my eye open and say hi if I see him..
Follow Up By: Member - Glen W (QLD) - Saturday, Sep 04, 2010 at 07:16
Saturday, Sep 04, 2010 at 07:16
Gday Aggie,
I'm camped with your nephew John and his partner TJ.
We had a rough night and flooded in......... Pub will get a work out today...
Mick,
Will try and catch up with you, I will PM you my mobile number.
Glen
Reply By: Member - Toyocrusa (NSW) - Friday, Sep 03, 2010 at 20:58
Friday, Sep 03, 2010 at 20:58
Hi. Got any photos you could show us ? Thanks,Bob
Follow Up By: tam16 - Friday, Sep 03, 2010 at 21:17
Friday, Sep 03, 2010 at 21:17
I don't know how to post pics but with the weather heading our way I'm sure we will have plenty of time to work it out tomorrow..can'r see us moving too far!!!
Reply By: Isuzumu - Friday, Sep 03, 2010 at 20:58
Friday, Sep 03, 2010 at 20:58
Funny that the pub owner said on national radio that they had only had 1 mil and it was going to be a fine week end hahahahahaha
Follow Up By: Member - Ozzie Nomad (VIC) - Friday, Sep 03, 2010 at 22:57
Friday, Sep 03, 2010 at 22:57
LOL, For every inch of rain out there, they close the roads for a day.
Old mate the Publican can see his tills a ringin.
Stranded travellers stuck in town with nothing else to do but drink his beer and eat his tucker.
Still, there are worse
places to be marooned. We got stuck there for three days a couple of years ago after a Simpson crossing. Turned out to be a ripper time. Although we just about ate the pub out of tucker and the only beer we could get was some ghastly S.A. swill.
Once the roads get really wet, don't even think about a brave dash to the bitumen in
Windorah. That road is a nightmare when wet and the locals take a very dim view of winter terrorists tearing up their roads.
Big fines and lots of sadness there. Stay put and rock on. Such is life in the Aussie Outback.
Follow Up By: Fab72 - Friday, Sep 03, 2010 at 23:14
Friday, Sep 03, 2010 at 23:14
Gee...you can talk. How is VB (Very Brave) any better than say Coopers Pale Ale?
Follow Up By: Member - Ozzie Nomad (VIC) - Saturday, Sep 04, 2010 at 12:33
Saturday, Sep 04, 2010 at 12:33
Go the Coopers pale ale, nice drop, it's that West End stuff I have trouble with.
Still, if that's all there is I guess you can get used to it.
A few cans of anything can get you talking.
Follow Up By: Fab72 - Saturday, Sep 04, 2010 at 15:04
Saturday, Sep 04, 2010 at 15:04
100% agree. West End is the equivalent to Fosters....sell it to the tourist 'cause the locals know better.
Can't beat a Coopers when you're anywhere near the Cooper.
Catch ya.
Reply By: Member - michael (BOXHD) r (VI - Friday, Sep 03, 2010 at 20:59
Friday, Sep 03, 2010 at 20:59
hi ta yep sre is raining here we are camped next to the di/river on way to race course they saying 40 mm comming over night and tomorrow cheers mick(
boxhd)
Follow Up By: tam16 - Friday, Sep 03, 2010 at 21:23
Friday, Sep 03, 2010 at 21:23
OH..!! gawd..we are in trouble if the
billabong we are camped on rises..were in the caravan
park..way down low! loving it tho..heaps of people moved out and took off this morning before the rain came..didn't want to take any chances, hope they didn't get caught.
Reply By: justmyage - Friday, Sep 03, 2010 at 22:19
Friday, Sep 03, 2010 at 22:19
we got out on Thursday as couldnt take the chance of been stuck there for 2 weeks . Woman at servo said they might run out of provisions so stack up on your BEER now !!! lol
We got half way on the
Windorah road and a copper and road inspector were there then , we got to
Windorah and the road had been closed we heard ... Good luck
Follow Up By: Member - michael (BOXHD) r (VI - Saturday, Sep 04, 2010 at 00:18
Saturday, Sep 04, 2010 at 00:18
hello we are in
birdsville Nd it's been raining very heavy for the past 2to3hrs a d very very windy think there are a lot of camper that have got very wet and there stuff has been blown over it snow 12.20am and just pouring. cheersmick
Reply By: Fred G NSW - Saturday, Sep 04, 2010 at 07:46
Saturday, Sep 04, 2010 at 07:46
Look at it this way, you blokes out there will most likely be there for the most recent "Pub With No Beer" event.
That's if you're really having a go. LOL LOL.
Hope someone can post some pics.
Cheers all,
Fred.
Follow Up By: Will 76 Series - Saturday, Sep 04, 2010 at 07:56
Saturday, Sep 04, 2010 at 07:56
Wow, that's going to be tough, stuck in a pub!!
Look on the
bright side, you are probably seeing this country in a unique situation for who know's when it will be like this again.
Enjoy, wish I was out there with you.
Will76
Follow Up By: Fred G NSW - Saturday, Sep 04, 2010 at 08:01
Saturday, Sep 04, 2010 at 08:01
X2 Will
Fred
Follow Up By: tam16 - Saturday, Sep 04, 2010 at 08:14
Saturday, Sep 04, 2010 at 08:14
Yep were not complaining, a wet night with people ripping up the mud trying to get out at 2am this morning..no need for shoes around here, everyone getting about barefoot..the mud just sticks to your shoes..quite a site to see.
Follow Up By: Fred G NSW - Saturday, Sep 04, 2010 at 09:00
Saturday, Sep 04, 2010 at 09:00
So as
well as Fred Trophy's boxing tent, some mud wrestling could be included as the weekend unfolds :-)
Follow Up By: tam16 - Saturday, Sep 04, 2010 at 10:33
Saturday, Sep 04, 2010 at 10:33
Haha! yeah it's the perfect mud for it.
Reply By: Barry01 - Saturday, Sep 04, 2010 at 16:38
Saturday, Sep 04, 2010 at 16:38
in
birdsville tourist office saturday reports say the
windorah road could be closed for 3 to 4 days and sunday morning after a fly over inspection of the northern road about 10..30 am a decision will be made about opening it .nice day here today ;a phanton race meeting is being held
Reply By: 100 Series - Monday, Sep 06, 2010 at 09:03
Monday, Sep 06, 2010 at 09:03
We left
Birdsville at 4:30pm on Friday after the last race was postponed as we couldn't be stuck for too long. We didn't bother with the
Windorah Rd and headed to
Bedourie arriving there at 7:30pm. We stayed at
Bedourie for the night and geez did it rain heavy and for most the night.
Spoke to the roadhouse Saturday morning and they said 40-50mm of rain. The road to
Boulia was covered with
water in numerous spots with one spot about 400m long and at the deepest spot about 0.5m. There were three other crossings that were about 0.7-0.8m.
After
Boulia we headed to
Winton and all was good.
Follow Up By: tam16 - Monday, Sep 06, 2010 at 12:35
Monday, Sep 06, 2010 at 12:35
Probably a good thing you left when you did, we are still stuck, no roads open and they have cancelled the cup.
Hopefully we can get out tomorrow because there is more rain on it's way.