Submitted: Monday, Sep 06, 2010 at 19:05
kcandco
I went looking for some parts for a spotlight installation job on the weekend. As Supercheap is one of the larger auto parts outlets locally, I called there first. I priced a relay, terminals and various plastic electrical connecters. I then checked out the opposition and found the same or better quality parts for up to half the price. Did I just luck out and choose 3 items they are dearer in or have they been putting the prices up. Personally Supercheap have moved from the 'must visit' store to the 'probably too dear' store.
Kc
Reply By: old mate - Monday, Sep 06, 2010 at 19:16
Monday, Sep 06, 2010 at 19:16
I bought a kit from Supercheap to install 2 x 100W
driving lights to my VY Commodore.
Kit came with loom, dash switch, relay, everything I needed for the job.
Kit cost me about $20. Would have cost a lot more to source all the terminals, cable, relay etc seperately. Works a treat, happy with the lot.
Personally, I find thier prices ok.
Pity they don't sell Hella/Narva gear anymore.
Reply By: steved58 - Monday, Sep 06, 2010 at 19:19
Monday, Sep 06, 2010 at 19:19
I agree have walked out and bought elsewhere a few times lately will put them last on the list now
Reply By: SDG - Monday, Sep 06, 2010 at 19:23
Monday, Sep 06, 2010 at 19:23
It's becoming super dear, or super don't stock.
I went looking for a head light.(sealed) Not only do they not stock them anymore, the staff did not know what I was talking about. The closest thing they had, was a full refit, costing just under $300.00.
Being a common item you would think an auto store would at least sell headlights. Repco have them in stock.
Follow Up By: Madfisher - Monday, Sep 06, 2010 at 20:05
Monday, Sep 06, 2010 at 20:05
And repco staff usually have better product knowledge.
Follow Up By: Recycled Teenagers - Monday, Sep 06, 2010 at 20:34
Monday, Sep 06, 2010 at 20:34
We now check out Repco which is just up the Rd first. Then we go to Superdodgie. If you want some one with knowledge we go to Repco
Follow Up By: Begaboy - Tuesday, Sep 07, 2010 at 17:48
Tuesday, Sep 07, 2010 at 17:48
I would have to disagree here , Not with the fact they didn't have the stock - but the fact you think they should have the stock - commodore are a common car as is ford - how many different variations are there in the range - and of that each year has different head lights ect for them to have every "common" part for every "common car" they would have to have a
shop the size of bunnings or bigger.( just for car parts - not INC the cheap tools and accessories )
fuel filters / oil filters -- no excuse not to have common parts - but larger items , i would not expect then to have, and therefore be a part that had to be ordered in , usually the following the day
Follow Up By: SDG - Wednesday, Sep 08, 2010 at 19:14
Wednesday, Sep 08, 2010 at 19:14
There are two generic sealed beam headlights available. Round and square. Don't know anything about square, but round fit every vehicle that came out with round headights (except some European cars).
Some brand new cars are still using these same lights. Many now are using semi sealed, where you just change the globe.
BTW. I have to order my filters. GQ Patrol.
Reply By: Member - Redbakk (WA) - Monday, Sep 06, 2010 at 19:48
Monday, Sep 06, 2010 at 19:48
I always
shop around visiting the dearer stores first and visiting them last before making a decision....but generally they are cheaper but I do find the quality does suffer with certain things so I dont always go with price.....I suppose I find that Auto 1 gets most of my business because I'm after a better product for my money and they seem to have it.
But always
shop around to get a feel for price and quality and always check out the "junk mail" too as they often run "specials" to get you in.
Reply By: Member - Driverdon - Monday, Sep 06, 2010 at 20:17
Monday, Sep 06, 2010 at 20:17
Yep and I find quality of some prducts is inferior I bought an electrical terminal conector kit without really looking at it and have found compared to some others it is rubbish when I got it home
Follow Up By: Member - Driverdon - Monday, Sep 06, 2010 at 20:18
Monday, Sep 06, 2010 at 20:18
whoops pressed button twice
Follow Up By: Member - peter f (VIC) - Monday, Sep 06, 2010 at 22:27
Monday, Sep 06, 2010 at 22:27
might have ssomething to do with the name ,
I prefer to call it the 2 doller
shop for cars , cos most of it is rubbish
mechpete.
Reply By: OREJAP - Monday, Sep 06, 2010 at 20:17
Monday, Sep 06, 2010 at 20:17
Wait till you
shop in BCF.....they own that too!!! Also have bought out Ray's Outdoors.....so expect expensive price tags!!
Follow Up By: Road Warrior - Monday, Sep 06, 2010 at 21:31
Monday, Sep 06, 2010 at 21:31
I thought it was only Rays Outdoor that the Supercrap bought
Follow Up By: Member - Ed C (QLD) - Monday, Sep 06, 2010 at 23:17
Monday, Sep 06, 2010 at 23:17
>
Super Cheap > Campmart > BCF
Ray's Outdoors is a more recent acquisition >>
Site Link
and >>
Site Link
Say what you like about Super Cheap Auto (I have no 'axe to grind' one way or the other), but as a business, the management must be doing something right....
;-))
| Confucius say.....
"He who lie underneath automobile with tool in hand,
....Not necessarily mechanic!!"Member My Profile Send Message |
Reply By: OREJAP - Monday, Sep 06, 2010 at 22:37
Monday, Sep 06, 2010 at 22:37
I was talking to a Manager at BCF Sunday & that's what he told me....S/Cheap own BCF & Ray's outdoors
Follow Up By: Member - Driverdon - Monday, Sep 06, 2010 at 23:59
Monday, Sep 06, 2010 at 23:59
Like Coles Woolies and Hitler . . . trying to take over the World
Reply By: luke4 - Tuesday, Sep 07, 2010 at 07:02
Tuesday, Sep 07, 2010 at 07:02
supercheap is now the dearest carparts store in town and their products are pretty poor quality. i dont even bother going there now.
Reply By: KangarooJack - Tuesday, Sep 07, 2010 at 12:20
Tuesday, Sep 07, 2010 at 12:20
Like all stores you need to
shop around.
Some stores have great sales, on some items, however they are expensive on others.
Reply By: olcoolone - Tuesday, Sep 07, 2010 at 12:44
Tuesday, Sep 07, 2010 at 12:44
I don't know why all you supporters of Supercheap are complaining, it's your own doings, you supported them with their cheap prices and shunned way from all the other
places selling better gear at a higher price...calling them ripoff merchants and that your being shafted.
No that Supercheap has bought out most of their competitors and the ones they haven't bought have since closed down as the couldn't compete on price......so what happens now?
Supercheap puts their prices up, direct imports cheaper quality own brand gear and you don't have any choice but to buy it....according to most thats called "competition"!
Reply By: Alan S (WA) - Tuesday, Sep 07, 2010 at 13:07
Tuesday, Sep 07, 2010 at 13:07
Here in the West we have MALZ. This is the start up again business of one of the successfull businesses bought out by Supecheap a few years ago. He has since gone and restarted again with a similar model to the original business.
MAlZ are more orientated to car parts and accessories than all the other stuff supercheap sells. The staff even seem to know about the parts and you can get real help.
I haven't been into supercheap for years, I now primarliy use MALZ or Repco when stuck.
Follow Up By: Road Warrior - Tuesday, Sep 07, 2010 at 19:33
Tuesday, Sep 07, 2010 at 19:33
I find the MALZ near me (Cannington) a bit hit and miss, particularly with car parts (shockies, brake parts etc). But yes, they do have a much larger range of real automotive accessories and tools. Repco occasionally have some good gear too.
Reply By: mullyman - Tuesday, Sep 07, 2010 at 17:21
Tuesday, Sep 07, 2010 at 17:21
I purchase everything pre-loved,so it doesn't matter. DON'T FEED THE BEAST.
Reply By: Hairs & Fysh - Tuesday, Sep 07, 2010 at 19:24
Tuesday, Sep 07, 2010 at 19:24
Here's my spin on the whole debate, :)
Two years ago I purchased
Ridge Ryder 4WD Recovery Strap - 9m, 10,000kg, at the time it came with a fold up shovel, pair of glover, tyre gauge and 2 bow shackles. I've it a couple of times :) once was to drag a tree of the road after a storm,
We have a SuperCheap as
well as small auto store(Hessions) who supplies gear for those that rebuild their own stuff, eg, Speedway cars/bikes, street machines to 4wders.
Supercheap, I use for the cheap crap stuff. The Auto Store(Hessions) I buy my oil/filters, seals, gaskets & O rings and the like, very good prices and if they are out of stock, which isn't very often, the guys can usually have it, within two working days. They don't carry all the flashy stuff, BTW they are right across the road from the Toyota dealer ;), which I purchase somethings from.
As other have said,
Shop around,
You know? Horses for courses.
Reply By: robertbruce - Wednesday, Sep 08, 2010 at 09:57
Wednesday, Sep 08, 2010 at 09:57
my observation is REPCO is doing the "supercheap marketing thing...
SC no longer stock spark-plugs for chevy engines... i goto to bursons now...