Good Fuel Economy or what ?

Submitted: Tuesday, Sep 07, 2010 at 23:11
ThreadID: 81190 Views:5466 Replies:12 FollowUps:27
Bought a 1998 Prado Petrol Auto 3.4 ltr. Put in fuel additive filter with 400 kg extra weight in the car and new snorkel Done a trip to Bunbury got 13.4 ltr / 100 klm and just finished a trip to Yalgoo also put fuel additive and vehicle done 12.4 ltr / 100 klm all measurements are exact, anyone done better economy let me know.

Reply By: Member - John S (INT) - Wednesday, Sep 08, 2010 at 07:19

Wednesday, Sep 08, 2010 at 07:19
G'day Myprado,
We have a 2001 model with the same motor and also auto. I also put a snorkel on it and have seen fuel economy get better.we have got just over 12ltr/100 km when using premium fuel .What is the fuel additive filter you talk about using.I'm always looking for better ways to improve on fuel economy, my next job will be a different exhaust system when it comes time to replace this one.
Cheers John.
AnswerID: 429635

Follow Up By: Member - MYPRADO - Wednesday, Sep 08, 2010 at 11:33

Wednesday, Sep 08, 2010 at 11:33
Hi john i don't like advertising products unless i investigate, a correction the filter referred to was a new air filter and the person to ring is Ken Ph 0419952324 the product is called Microglide, he has a stall at Canningvale Markets on Sundays.
The fuel and oil additive comes from NASA Space ships technology. A answer i got on my thread was i have a 4 ltr and has better economy without using fuel additive of course this persons car will be in the junk yard while mine will be running for years to come, lets not bury our heads in the sand guys but modernize and improve knowledge.
FollowupID: 700427

Reply By: HGMonaro - Wednesday, Sep 08, 2010 at 10:34

Wednesday, Sep 08, 2010 at 10:34
well it depends...

what was you're average speed?

my 4.0L V6 (no fuel additives) will do better than that travelling at speed limit or less, and with minimal stop and starts...
AnswerID: 429645

Follow Up By: Member - MYPRADO - Wednesday, Sep 08, 2010 at 11:05

Wednesday, Sep 08, 2010 at 11:05
Well it depends

How new or old is your car is or is it petrol or diesel would you say. If you read the thread properly the point made was from buying second hand vehicle to putting fuel additive and doing a long journey has cleaned the system out including injectors with barely any stops and traveling average of 90 klm / hr
FollowupID: 700425

Follow Up By: HGMonaro - Wednesday, Sep 08, 2010 at 15:24

Wednesday, Sep 08, 2010 at 15:24
maybe you should title your thread more appropiately as your meaning was lost on me. Keep updating your records and let us know if the cost of the fuel additive warrant's the 1L/100K improvement indicated by your short experiment.

BTW, my Prado is a 2006 with 95,000 odd KMs. I'd expect around 10-11/100K on a highway run averaging 90kph.

P.S. Enjoy your Prado, ours is great.
FollowupID: 700446

Follow Up By: Member - MYPRADO - Wednesday, Sep 08, 2010 at 17:03

Wednesday, Sep 08, 2010 at 17:03
The thread is appropriate, i suggest your understanding needs upgrade.
The cost overall is warranted it pays not only for savings but LOOKING AFTER THE ENGINE SIDE of things, really depends on how much you care for your vehicle,
I spoke to Toyota and he said 12.3/100 is fantastic and the new models like yours of course do better than mine, IMPROVED technology he said.
Yes the experiment might be short however have tried this on my other vehicles.
Maybe i get 10/100 might surprise you.
FollowupID: 700452

Reply By: robertbruce - Wednesday, Sep 08, 2010 at 10:40

Wednesday, Sep 08, 2010 at 10:40
after seeing that im really happy about the consumption my bus gives...

350 chevyed coaster hi-boy 4x4 tuned for gas

22-26L/100k's @ .59 cents/L

$12.98/100K's - $15.34/100k's
AnswerID: 429646

Follow Up By: jdwynn (Adelaide) - Sunday, Oct 10, 2010 at 07:52

Sunday, Oct 10, 2010 at 07:52
Hi robertbruce, sorry to hijack this thread here. I read in the archives you have had a lot of use from a Yamaha EF1000is gennie. Just wondering what brand/spec oil you use, how often you change it. thanks

FollowupID: 703381

Follow Up By: roberttbruce - Sunday, Oct 10, 2010 at 15:01

Sunday, Oct 10, 2010 at 15:01
heya JD...

my Genny gets 2.25L/12-14Hrs on ULP...
After not being able to find 1litre bottles of yamalube i tried Valveline but this coked it up fast....
I now use Penrite 30w...and penrite on everything else...
genny has now done 9000Hrs with two decokes on the exhaust chamber...
i've treated it like a trail bike dragging it through the mud and the likes, it has been a very hardy machine...
It's a little louder now-a-days being the exhaust gasket is worn, i swapped around the soundproofing to the inlet manifold and had to put a heli-coil in after a sunny-coast mowershop crossed the thread putting a sparkplug in... sleaze-bags left it for me to discover... but no matter, it has come around for them, it alway comes around...

FollowupID: 703398

Follow Up By: jdwynn (Adelaide) - Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 12:33

Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 12:33
roberttbruce, forgot to say thanks for this. Gee 9000 hours, you must be doing something right! Cheers

FollowupID: 703753

Reply By: Moose - Wednesday, Sep 08, 2010 at 13:17

Wednesday, Sep 08, 2010 at 13:17
Sorry MYPRADO but that's no very good at all.

My son has an auto with same motor and no snorkel. On a recent run from Brisbane to Lismore and back he got just over 11 ltrs per 100 kms. He sat on the limit all the way and that includes a fair distance at 110km/hr, heaps at 100 and quite a few hills. Oh and he had 4 adults aboard. No additives used - just Woollies premium juice.

My V8 100 series Cruiser (4.7ltr) got 13.4 ltrs / 100 kms over the same run as he did.Snorkel, good exhaust, Woolies premium. No additives. Sat on speed limits. 2 adults aboard.

So you have heaps of improvement to go yet!
AnswerID: 429657

Follow Up By: Member - Robbo (QLD) - Wednesday, Sep 08, 2010 at 14:20

Wednesday, Sep 08, 2010 at 14:20
We have also returned similar figures for our 3.4 petrol auto on highway running . Also when out in the Strzlecki1 3months ago pushing through sand moguls we went as high as 30 l / 100 km but that was tough slow driving.
FollowupID: 700441

Follow Up By: Shaver - Wednesday, Sep 08, 2010 at 14:26

Wednesday, Sep 08, 2010 at 14:26
Petrol 200 Series Cruiser 12.9 L/100
FollowupID: 700443

Reply By: Motherhen - Wednesday, Sep 08, 2010 at 17:21

Wednesday, Sep 08, 2010 at 17:21
Need a comparison on a similar trip without additive, although there are usually too many variables to draw a conclusion.

AnswerID: 429677

Reply By: greenant - Wednesday, Sep 08, 2010 at 18:19

Wednesday, Sep 08, 2010 at 18:19
I have a 98 Prado petrol auto 3.4
Last week did Townsville to Mount Isa return 920 km each way, probably 2/3 of the trip is 110km per hour so sat on approx 118 by my cruise control which was speed checked by my gps and returned 12 litre per 100
3 adults and luggage and just under 300000 on clock

Greenant
AnswerID: 429687

Reply By: Madfisher - Wednesday, Sep 08, 2010 at 20:29

Wednesday, Sep 08, 2010 at 20:29
All additivie Co have a similar story, it makes a good read. For years I swore by Bitron, it did reduce engine friction, it did improve fuel fig and my all the propaganda a bitronised engine would last forever. BUT what they did not tell you it produces a nasty acid as a by product of combustion, which attacks the bottom end of a motor. However I still swear by it as a gearbox or diff additivie. or as a once off engine cleaner outer.
My 3.5 man Jack has recorded 11.6 on the Hume at 105ks corrected. My wifes auto Jack I dont want to know about lol
AnswerID: 429700

Reply By: get outmore - Wednesday, Sep 08, 2010 at 20:37

Wednesday, Sep 08, 2010 at 20:37
it should be noted for people from other states with the new highway to Bunbury is a pure gem and dead flat with no stops

at 90 kph you could reasnably expect your economy on a run to bunbury to be the absaluter best you would hope to achive

i recently did a run to Busslton and back and got my best ever fuel consumption figures
AnswerID: 429701

Reply By: Fatso - Wednesday, Sep 08, 2010 at 20:45

Wednesday, Sep 08, 2010 at 20:45
Sound like a pretty good set of figures there MYPRADO.
I would be happy with that mate. I have had diesels that don't do any better on the highway. But I don't try & tell people I get 100,000 k out of my tyres either.
If you had put up that you got 10 L/100k you would find some bloke telling you they got 9 L/100k
AnswerID: 429702

Follow Up By: SDG - Wednesday, Sep 08, 2010 at 21:01

Wednesday, Sep 08, 2010 at 21:01
Everybody could have a good story on what their car did on this trip, or that trip. I have had my 96 Patrol down to 10l per 100, and 11l while towing, but that was only the once. The next trip, same road, conditions, etc, it was a little more.
Probably the only true way of testing a cars economy, as my thought, would be to take the average over a complete year.
FollowupID: 700484

Follow Up By: Member - MYPRADO - Wednesday, Sep 08, 2010 at 21:23

Wednesday, Sep 08, 2010 at 21:23
Thanks guys for the input i know what my vehicle does, this is a factual account and do not criticize another vehicle or product unless i have tried it myself, each to his own but this site is a place to help others with problems or improvements on vehicles and love of 4WD.
FollowupID: 700488

Reply By: fisho64 - Wednesday, Sep 08, 2010 at 22:38

Wednesday, Sep 08, 2010 at 22:38
'The fuel and oil additive comes from NASA Space ships technology"

I often wonder when I see this sort of claim, what NASA equipment uses petrol engines besides their office hacks?
AnswerID: 429715

Follow Up By: Member - MYPRADO - Wednesday, Sep 08, 2010 at 23:18

Wednesday, Sep 08, 2010 at 23:18
We have a smart Alex amongst us if you read through the complete threads it covers oil greases etc if you first investigate what this product is have you tried it say something meaningful or shut up.
FollowupID: 700497

Follow Up By: Member - MYPRADO - Wednesday, Sep 08, 2010 at 23:59

Wednesday, Sep 08, 2010 at 23:59
Fisho64 get onto NASA website just a sample below

notes2
... soon made it possible to carry enough petrol for trans-Atlantic flights. ...
During his absence, Duckworth took his place in the fuels and oil branch at ...
others searched for:
http://history.nasa.gov/SP-4404/notes2.htm
FollowupID: 700498

Follow Up By: fisho64 - Thursday, Sep 09, 2010 at 09:40

Thursday, Sep 09, 2010 at 09:40
Link comes up with "not found" sorry, NASA must be having the weekend off.

My post was lighthearted but someone has had a sense of humour failure here.

Have a look back thru your replies here-perhaps you have over-reacted a little?
Did you expect everyone to line up to buy it overnight?
Quite a few seem to have pointed to better economy without additives.

If you arent trying to sell it (and Im sure you arent) theres no need to get so defensive!

smile a little.... :-)
FollowupID: 700512

Follow Up By: fisho64 - Thursday, Sep 09, 2010 at 09:49

Thursday, Sep 09, 2010 at 09:49
Mmm I went back over the thread and couldnt find any reference to "oil greases etc"?
only "fuel additive filter" which turned out to be a new airfilter and something in the fuel.
FollowupID: 700515

Follow Up By: Tonyfish#58 - Thursday, Sep 09, 2010 at 17:03

Thursday, Sep 09, 2010 at 17:03
Have to agree with you fisho64 - Came down a bit hard for no reason.

From what I read there is no proof that the vehicle did any better than it used to, there is no reference to what it used to do.

Personally do not use any of these products, when tested under controlled conditions they usually fall short of the claims. If they didn't you would see the technology in the next generation of vehicles.

Cheers Tony
FollowupID: 700565

Follow Up By: Member - MYPRADO - Thursday, Sep 09, 2010 at 23:40

Thursday, Sep 09, 2010 at 23:40
Fisho64 my apologies for coming down hard on you as well as all the rest of you i have offended. I am defending my own personal use of a product which works for me and each one to his own. It is good having a sensible discussion provided the facts are true and correct, some of the comments LoL
FollowupID: 700607

Follow Up By: fisho64 - Thursday, Sep 09, 2010 at 23:46

Thursday, Sep 09, 2010 at 23:46
No probs at all mate :-)

While you have offended me greatly, as we are both Toyota drivers Im prepared to forgive the brief "Nissan" moment earlier!!

:-)
FollowupID: 700609

Follow Up By: Member - MYPRADO - Friday, Sep 10, 2010 at 00:19

Friday, Sep 10, 2010 at 00:19
Tonyfish proof in my original thread if you forgot to read it is below again. This equals to a 1/100 improvement.

Bought a 1998 Prado Petrol Auto 3.4 ltr. Put in fuel additive filter with 400 kg extra weight in the car and new snorkel Done a trip to Bunbury got 13.4 ltr / 100 klm and just finished a trip to Yalgoo also put fuel additive and vehicle done 12.4 ltr / 100 klm all measurements are exact, anyone done better economy let me know

FollowupID: 700612

Follow Up By: fisho64 - Friday, Sep 10, 2010 at 00:48

Friday, Sep 10, 2010 at 00:48
Ok-you may have explained it a little poorly. It reads as though you put it in and drove to Bunbury and then Yalgoo.

Its not really a big deal, if it works for you then thats great. But as it appears that you havent named the "additive" anyway-then what does it matter?
FollowupID: 700614

Follow Up By: Member - MYPRADO - Friday, Sep 10, 2010 at 01:55

Friday, Sep 10, 2010 at 01:55
As you have not bothered to read Followup 1 of 1 here it is again it is called Microglide

Hi john i don't like advertising products unless i investigate, a correction the filter referred to was a new air filter and the person to ring is Ken Ph 0419952324 the product is called Microglide, he has a stall at Canningvale Markets on Sundays.
The fuel and oil additive comes from NASA Space ships technology. A answer i got on my thread was i have a 4 ltr and has better economy without using fuel additive of course this persons car will be in the junk yard while mine will be running for years to come, lets not bury our heads in the sand guys but modernize and improve knowledge.
FollowupID: 700617

Follow Up By: fisho64 - Friday, Sep 10, 2010 at 11:26

Friday, Sep 10, 2010 at 11:26
Yes true, I didnt notice that.
Well good luck with it anyway, I hope its a success and "Ken" manages to sell lots of it.

Out of curiousity what sort of car does "Ken" drive?
FollowupID: 700646

Follow Up By: Member - MYPRADO - Friday, Sep 10, 2010 at 22:07

Friday, Sep 10, 2010 at 22:07
Don't know probably a a T Ford lol
FollowupID: 700753

Reply By: Kimba10 - Wednesday, Sep 08, 2010 at 23:36

Wednesday, Sep 08, 2010 at 23:36
Best I ever got was 12.2 (all freeway) with 97 grande loaded 3 on board (no roof racks) but towing a camper trailer, without to the same area 12.this was also running 75 profile instead of the factory 70. I now have 01 grande but turbo diesel best is 10.2. Weigh up the cost of servcing and the extra the cost that the government think they should slug us for the diesel and there would probably be minimal difference in running cost. The diesel is 13.2 around town the 3.4 was 17.2 and around 23 when it was running on LPG (biggest mistake I made converting to gas, reason I sold it)either way I still reckon a great motor extremely reliable have seen a few over the 500thou mark and still going. My mate has a 06 petrol 4.0L and has managed to crack the 11L per 100 driving to queensland with 6 on board (4 adults 2 kids) with climate air running all the way, blooby brilliant I reckon for vehicle of the 120 size...........
AnswerID: 429719

Follow Up By: Member - MYPRADO - Friday, Sep 10, 2010 at 00:28

Friday, Sep 10, 2010 at 00:28
The gas convert vehicle you sold was it mechanical problem or purely economy,
spoke to Toyota and they said the engine was not compatible with gas, he said the valves burn out, what advise about converting.
FollowupID: 700613

Follow Up By: Kimba10 - Friday, Sep 10, 2010 at 09:35

Friday, Sep 10, 2010 at 09:35
Toyota will always tell you its not compatible they have to to cover their backsides incase anything goes wrong. I do know that the 4.5motor in the 80 series cruisers do heads running LPG even with lube kit. I had lube kit on myn which is suppose to keep the valves lubricated (no problems there). My main issue was safety, 2 things. Firstly it would stall if you had to hit the brakes hard (people who cant drive and pull out in front of you) and then when you needed the power again all you had were red lights on the dash. The main one was petrol leaking and believe me I have spoken to 3 people with the same model vehicle running LPG and all had/have the same issue..you cant fill the reserve tank up full on a hot day as the fuel would expand come back up the filler neck on the reserve tank then drop over in to the filler neck for the main tank (which is now no longer there as the tank has been removed just ahs a yellow or red cap over the end of it) and would lliterally drip petrol on the ground under the vehicle, extremely dangerous. I rang installer and was informed dont fill the reserve tank full only 3/4, I rang the RTA and they weren't concerned. Why the maker of these kits dont supply a Y section so you can join the main filler hose back into the reserve filler line I think would solve the issue as the petrol cap has a breather to stop pressure build. Even if it doesnt over flow as you have only say half a tank in the reserve the fuel vapours were extremely strong all the time. I couldnt use the passengers side rear flipper window as the fuel smell would come straight in, also only having 69L main and 60 L useable LPG my usable fuel/range was extremely reduced and forget about running LPG on sand or when towing heavy loads as you can virtually see the fuel guage drop while you have your foot planted and notiable power difference. Might be ok in some vehicles where you can keep the mian fuel tank/s and fit the lpg some where else.. Yes heaps cheaper to run but with such a small tank I was at the servo all the time and dont forget on a very warm to hot day you wont get a full tank of LPG as you have to allow for the expansion due to heat.. Sorry not for me again, its either know your going to have your hand in your pocket for cost of fuel running a 4wd or have two cars, I for city driving (little buz box) and keep the 4by for holidays or weekend fun. If its just for runing the kids to school buy a people move stlye van ........................ This is the 90 series Im talking about not the 120 series as they are injected LPG not venturi like the 3.4's are........
FollowupID: 700638

Follow Up By: Member - MYPRADO - Friday, Sep 10, 2010 at 22:14

Friday, Sep 10, 2010 at 22:14
Thanks for the good advice it was very informative, i was thinking about a small put put for city and my prado for longer trips it's the best idea.
FollowupID: 700757

Reply By: Sundowner2 - Thursday, Sep 09, 2010 at 21:40

Thursday, Sep 09, 2010 at 21:40
Fuel savings devices, additives or whatever....the next one that actually works will be the first.....save your money, send it to Nigeria instead.
AnswerID: 429801

Follow Up By: Member - MYPRADO - Friday, Sep 10, 2010 at 02:02

Friday, Sep 10, 2010 at 02:02
Yea so they buy guns.lol
FollowupID: 700618