GPS for car and trail bike

Hi all, I am seeking some information about a good GPS that will function well in the 4WD but still be able to be carried in the pocket for checking position and possibly locking in wey(?) points when out in the middle of no where on the bike. Once I have located such an animal what would be a good suggestion for a map pack or would one come with something suitable?

Reply By: Robin Miller - Wednesday, Sep 08, 2010 at 19:45

Wednesday, Sep 08, 2010 at 19:45
I Pam

I and friends got Garmin Quests - 2nd hand from USA couple of years back for around $150. These was a quest 1 and a more featured Quest 2 model both of which are now superseeded.

These are just great , they are designed for the purpose and are waterproof and are one of the Garmin models that have a dash board display.

This is what it says and presents a dashboard looking display with a large speed reading in the centre enabling us to remove our trailbike speedos.

They are optimized to be operated on bike - a single button switches from trip computer/speedo to Map and waypoints which can be computer loaded.

I use Garmins CN9 / shonky maps.

These days zumo's have replaced them but at quite a price.
AnswerID: 429692

Reply By: greenant - Wednesday, Sep 08, 2010 at 20:46

Wednesday, Sep 08, 2010 at 20:46
If you just want a gps with heaps of way points, log track etc Anaconda have an E TREX on sale for $99 at present Ive had one for years very robust and extremely good value at this price

Greenant
AnswerID: 429703

Follow Up By: Member - Phil 'n Jill (WA) - Wednesday, Sep 08, 2010 at 22:12

Wednesday, Sep 08, 2010 at 22:12
Ditto the Garmin Etrex at Anaconda.

Ideal for motorbike use and useful in vehicle or bushwalking. - No mapping - just waypoints positioing, distances, speeds, times, etc - check out the Garmin website for further details.

Ideal if you want to know:
Where you are
Where you are headed
Where you have been
Where Home or Base is (or numerous 'bases')
No maps to update

Navigation in simplest form.

Happy travelling

Regards - Phil

FollowupID: 700491

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Wednesday, Sep 08, 2010 at 22:38

Wednesday, Sep 08, 2010 at 22:38
His post states
: what would be a good suggestion for a map pack :

You cant get that with a cheap Etrex.

FollowupID: 700494

Follow Up By: Member - Phil 'n Jill (WA) - Thursday, Sep 09, 2010 at 09:28

Thursday, Sep 09, 2010 at 09:28
Good point - soory bout that - P
FollowupID: 700510

Reply By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Wednesday, Sep 08, 2010 at 22:53

Wednesday, Sep 08, 2010 at 22:53
Pamm
For your car I would suggest the Nuvi 1390T, it has rechargable battery, with 4 hours Battery Life, not sure how you would fix it to the bike but it will fit in a pocket, has room for many waypoints , and good features ,
SEE UNIT HERE

The other option would be a handheld GPS , that will work fine in the car too, windscreen mounts are available as an option. the Garmin GPSMAP 62 has some good features that would suit your use with up to 20 hours battery life .
Check this one outHERE

AnswerID: 429716

Follow Up By: DesF - Thursday, Sep 09, 2010 at 16:08

Thursday, Sep 09, 2010 at 16:08
Hi, Doug . I have a Nuvi 760 which I use as you suggest, it works well in my jacket pocket on trail rides , it usually last about 3.5 to 4hrs,
A really good unit for the 4by as well. It is good for keeping a track of where we have been on the ride,
also use it for Geocacheing, works well. Mate has a 255W and he has a Ram mount on his bars and a cig lighter socket, when we get near the cache he clips it in and plugs in the power, he also run the lead into his jacket to keep it charge on longer rides, has Garmin Topo, Tracks 4 Aust, and Shonky loaded on the card.

Cheers Des
FollowupID: 700555

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Saturday, Sep 11, 2010 at 20:50

Saturday, Sep 11, 2010 at 20:50
The 62 replaces the 60csx and you can get these models very cheap at the moment

FollowupID: 700841