Follow up to thread no 81006

Submitted: Saturday, Sep 11, 2010 at 21:17
ThreadID: 81276 Views:4359 Replies:19 FollowUps:29
Well I have ripped off wheels, taken off brake callipers, pulled the exhaust flange apart greased it up, laid on my back every night for a minimum of an hour for the last week checking,pushing,pulling,probing, taken off bash plates, greased tailshaft, checked shocks,springs, drive shafts, checked bullbar, snorkel, every possible thing trying to find this metal to metal squeak, is driving me insane and my wife having to put up with me, but cannot for the life of me find the squeak. What in the hell could it possibly be, as in previous post all I had done was snorkel fitted and OME suspension fitted 50ml although only got 42ml out of it which is fine but trying to find it. I have been over it top to bottom, rolling down hills with engine off and still doing it, I thought at first it was only with engine running but it does it with it turned off and in neutral (auto box) The only thing I did notice today was with engine running and genttle throttle its worse. I was hanging off side steps rolling, my mate hanging out passengers door trying to listen to where it was coming from, front,back,middle. It will be on the market in 3 weeks (after my holiday if I dont find it) time its bleep ing me off that badly and the other problem is it comes and goes,Was doing it for over 3 hours this morning. Got home had lunch then had to go to Windsor to pick wife up didnt make a sound for virtually the whole trip (70 odd klm's) then did it when taking off from lights about 3 k from home then stopped again. Its not doing it while motor is running PLEASE HELP !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Reply By: Kimba10 - Saturday, Sep 11, 2010 at 21:43

Saturday, Sep 11, 2010 at 21:43
""Its not doing it while motor is running PLEASE HELP !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!"" I meant to say it does it with motor running and not running but with vehicle rolling. Anybody is welcome to try and find it and will give them a couple of cartons or a bottle or two of Bourbon, Scotch what ever the hell you drink, if I had it hear Id would have drank the lot by now !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
AnswerID: 430027

Follow Up By: Member - peter f (VIC) - Sunday, Sep 12, 2010 at 18:09

Sunday, Sep 12, 2010 at 18:09
kimba .
have you pulled the tailshaft out and physically checked the unis, they make a queaking noise when dry , even though you greased them ,the grease may not be getting in . when you lifted it you change the driveline angle ??? unis .
cheers mechpete
FollowupID: 700903

Follow Up By: Kimba10 - Monday, Sep 13, 2010 at 09:34

Monday, Sep 13, 2010 at 09:34
Fairly convinced its not them Peter but not out of the question yet. I had the same suspension fitted to my old prado with double the klms on it and never had any issues. I think they have hit/moved/shoved some thing and its causing it to squeak, see reply lower down the page from me today. Thanks for your tips and ideas Regards steve
FollowupID: 700959

Reply By: Member - David Will (VIC) - Saturday, Sep 11, 2010 at 21:57

Saturday, Sep 11, 2010 at 21:57
Hi Kimba 10,

I have just read all of your Threads and am trying to think of what it could be.

I know this might be way out there but have you checked the brake pads for wear it could be the pad wear indicators as the sometimes squeal on and off when they get close to the end.

Also have you checked all the body mount bolts, they might be tight, but on the end of the thread and may need a washer put on the bolt and re tighten.

Good luck with finding it, I also hate noises when l do not know what they are.

David Will

AnswerID: 430031

Follow Up By: Kimba10 - Saturday, Sep 11, 2010 at 22:18

Saturday, Sep 11, 2010 at 22:18
Yeah David, I even replaced the front pad with new ones, checked the rear ones and down a bit but not enough for the indicators to hit, We checked all the body mounts today, heaps of thread on them but sort of thought to myself they would have nothing to do with the lift. It must be something they have knocked,touched or some thing, there was not one squeak,groan nothing prior to lift, The only thing that changes that Im aware of with a lift is the angle of the drive shafts but were only talking 42ml which is really stuff all.............
FollowupID: 700846

Follow Up By: Member - David Will (VIC) - Saturday, Sep 11, 2010 at 22:37

Saturday, Sep 11, 2010 at 22:37
Hi again Kimba,

I just had a thought, a mate of mine had a Prado dont know what year, but it was a diesel. he had problems with the engine mounts.
One of them broke and it twisted the motor and gearbox while it was under load.

Mr Toyota new about the problem and they fixed it under warranty.

I cannot contact him as he is up north somewhere at the moment but will try for you.

I just thought of it, it may be enough with the change of lift to put more presure on engine mount

David Will

FollowupID: 700848

Follow Up By: Kimba10 - Saturday, Sep 11, 2010 at 22:45

Saturday, Sep 11, 2010 at 22:45
Will get my mate to check tomorrow if I have time (have christening on right in the middle of the day) he was under there today with a block of timber pushing on the transfer case, gearbox etc and said everything seemed fine that way, hes like a dog with a bone when it come to things like this, he gets satisfaction by finding things but even this has him stumped, He is a mechanic and worked for toyota for 20 years and was the best at fault finding but this has him baffled big time. I will run it by him again tomorrow anyway. Thanks for the replys. The vehicle has done 101,000k. didnt think a lift would cause me so much grief.................Regards Steve M
FollowupID: 700849

Follow Up By: Kimba10 - Saturday, Sep 11, 2010 at 23:00

Saturday, Sep 11, 2010 at 23:00
Looks like your thinking as much as me LOL, but if it was engine mount then it wouldnt have any thing to do with it, would it ???? because it does it as well with motor NOT running, Regards Steve Im going to bed now, probably wont bloody sleep thinking of all possibilities
FollowupID: 700851

Follow Up By: Member - David Will (VIC) - Saturday, Sep 11, 2010 at 23:21

Saturday, Sep 11, 2010 at 23:21
Hi again,

If the engine mount is worn, while you are rolling with the motor off the tail shaft will still be spinning and the motor and gearbox might be on a slight angle enough to make a noise.
Then when you start motor and put in drive this would put pressure on the whole drive line making more pressure on the mount.
If mount is worn even by 1mm it would have an effect down the line and by putting the lift in you may have put more angle on all parts. This making more pressure on all parts. hope this makes sense?

Hope this all helps

FollowupID: 700853

Follow Up By: Kimba10 - Monday, Sep 13, 2010 at 09:35

Monday, Sep 13, 2010 at 09:35
Hi David checked engine mounts yesterday all fine no problems. I have replied lower down the page today. Thanks for your tips and help. regards Steve
FollowupID: 700960

Reply By: Member - Alan W (INT) - Saturday, Sep 11, 2010 at 22:04

Saturday, Sep 11, 2010 at 22:04
Hi Kimba,

Just a thought. If you fitted new suspension, check that springs are seated properly.
Is it over any particular terrain?.
Hope this may help

Alan w
AnswerID: 430032

Follow Up By: Kimba10 - Saturday, Sep 11, 2010 at 22:26

Saturday, Sep 11, 2010 at 22:26
Hi Alan, no, today I had it on the smoothest road possible and it was doing it continuously, motor off, rolling could hear it, started the motor wacked in drive and gave it gentle throttle and it seems to be more pronounced, stops under full throttle and quitens down when I take my foot of it but then is still there also with motor off so its nothing to do with the motor itself, at first I was thinking idler pulley bearing, aircon pully bearing but does it with motor off, I can hear it over the radio with my window down...Im thinking motor flexing, exhaust ?? Checked all that pulled apart the flange under drivers side near my seat, has two bolts going through it with springs on them, put some grease between the joints, on the springs the bolts put it back together but problem was it stopped making the noise prior then didnt make it till I was 3k from home after doing 70 odd k then did it for a minute then stopped again.
FollowupID: 700847

Reply By: Member - MYPRADO - Sunday, Sep 12, 2010 at 00:43

Sunday, Sep 12, 2010 at 00:43
Put some grease on the bushes on the springs, had similar problem let us know
AnswerID: 430046

Follow Up By: Kimba10 - Monday, Sep 13, 2010 at 09:36

Monday, Sep 13, 2010 at 09:36
Hi Myprado, did all that again last night. see my reply below from today. Thanks for your replys and tips to look for much appreciated. Regards steve
FollowupID: 700961

Reply By: Muntoo - Sunday, Sep 12, 2010 at 01:31

Sunday, Sep 12, 2010 at 01:31
Mate, im the same as you. I hate squeaks and rattles with a passion.

I have come across this twice after having new suspension fitted. First one was shockie not done up tight enough, and the 2nd time was the rear leaves would rub up against each other and cause a squeak. Give them a hit with some CRC or lanolin or something, and also the rubbers and see if it continues.

Mine drove me insane mate, had to drive 1000kms with a squeak cause i couldnt find it, and by time i got to where i was going it got put into the shop and they found it for me.
AnswerID: 430047

Reply By: Member - Alastair D (NSW) - Sunday, Sep 12, 2010 at 07:21

Sunday, Sep 12, 2010 at 07:21
I had a squeak after putting in new springs into my Troopy. Turned out to be the leaves on the rear springs rubbing on the keepers - took a lot of finding. A bit of moly grease rubbed into the offending area stops it. Other noises from the leaves silenced by Lanotec. Can you made the noise happen by vigorously rocking the vehicle side to side? That is how I found my noise.

Have a look at the mechanism from the brake balance compensator plus handbrake on the rear axle. You have changed the geometry and something could be rubbing. If can let the vehicle roll down a hill and hear the noise try putting the handbrake on lightly and then the foot brake. Any change in noise?

Do you have metal shrouds around the front brakes that may have been distorted?

I find that any squeak is less annoying once you know what it is.

Good luck.

AnswerID: 430055

Follow Up By: Kimba10 - Monday, Sep 13, 2010 at 09:38

Monday, Sep 13, 2010 at 09:38
Hi Alastair, mate did a reply today if you want to check that out, checked all the brakes lines handbrake cable even applied the handbrake while it was making the noise also dabbed foot brake off and on no difference in noise. Thanks for your replys and tips. Regards Steev
FollowupID: 700962

Reply By: Tonyfish#58 - Sunday, Sep 12, 2010 at 07:44

Sunday, Sep 12, 2010 at 07:44
Have you looked at unrelated issues that are not part of your mods?

It could be that it is something not related to what you did. One good thing to look at is your aircon belt or idle pulley. These can give intermittent squeaks that sound metallic and hard to locate.

Anyway worth a go, I have had a squeak just start up on the Rodeo - Over to the shed to try to pinpoint it now :-)

May be a tailshaft bearing due to all the mud it got in the Simpson - Let the games begin :-)

Cheers Tony
AnswerID: 430059

Follow Up By: Mudripper - Sunday, Sep 12, 2010 at 13:30

Sunday, Sep 12, 2010 at 13:30
Don't want to hijack the thread, but by your photo it seems you have a pretty decent lift on your Rodeo. What sort of suspension upgrade did you get? I'm thinking of lifting the RA Rodeo just a whisker and am looking for ideas.

FollowupID: 700886

Follow Up By: Tonyfish#58 - Sunday, Sep 12, 2010 at 17:08

Sunday, Sep 12, 2010 at 17:08
Snake Racing

Mudripper - Above link to Snake Racing. I put the 3" lift on mine, when I brought it 3 years ago they sold it to fit My 2007 RA Rodeo.

I did have issues with front alignment with the kit. I just notice on their site that they no longer offer this kit for the RA. MMMMMMM I say, may explain the difficulty I had.

They do offer other alternatives for the RA, but it seems no longer the 3" lift.

Also I put a Lokka diff lock kit in the front, worth its weight in gold.

Also fitted a Load assist kit which is great (Follow link)

Best of luck & cheers Tony

FollowupID: 700892

Follow Up By: Tonyfish#58 - Sunday, Sep 12, 2010 at 17:13

Sunday, Sep 12, 2010 at 17:13
Kimba - Mine turned out to be the side steps, loose bolt that connects the footplate the the barwork. I noticed below someone suggest you look at this.

This one little bolt makes a heck of a lot of noise that seems to come from everywhere. Not easy to find either because it was not something a feel with your fingers will find.
FollowupID: 700894

Follow Up By: Mudripper - Sunday, Sep 12, 2010 at 19:07

Sunday, Sep 12, 2010 at 19:07
Thanks for that Tony. I have also been thinking of putting in a Lokka, since I do a lot of firewood in difficult areas of the bush. Did you get yours from 4WD Systems in SA? I got a quote for around the $600 mark for the front diff. Of course, I'd be putting it in myself. How does it behave when doing the rough stuff? I have fitted manual hubs in (AISIN) to make it even more versatile if a Lokka is installed.

Thanks again.

Happy 4x4ing,

FollowupID: 700911

Follow Up By: Tonyfish#58 - Monday, Sep 13, 2010 at 15:51

Monday, Sep 13, 2010 at 15:51
Mudripper - That is the place you get them from.

If you put them in yourself you may have some issues, I had my mechanic put them in and he had to do some machining to get the required tolerances, be aware of this.

You will notice a change in the steering but it is no issue, it always tries to return to center. Easy to get used to.

I fitted free wheeling hubs and recommend you go that way. If I do not 4x4 for a while I lock the front hubs in to give the diff, bearings & CVs a turn over once in a while. Cheers Tony
FollowupID: 700992

Follow Up By: Tonyfish#58 - Monday, Sep 13, 2010 at 15:55

Monday, Sep 13, 2010 at 15:55
Then you can Tackle climbs like this with ease - Idle up without giving your rig heaps

FollowupID: 700993

Follow Up By: Mudripper - Monday, Sep 13, 2010 at 19:21

Monday, Sep 13, 2010 at 19:21
Thanks for the advice Tony, re the Lokka.

If you don't mind me asking, how much did your mechanic charge for fitting?

FollowupID: 701013

Follow Up By: Tonyfish#58 - Monday, Sep 13, 2010 at 20:16

Monday, Sep 13, 2010 at 20:16
$425.00 - It was the first one that he had fitted and he did the FW Hubs at the same time.

Depending on your mechanic it may be more but not much less I would say.

With the Lokka Kit, Hubs Kit and Mechanic the Lokka worked out to be around the $1300 mark.

Worth its weight in gold though :-)
FollowupID: 701027

Follow Up By: Mudripper - Monday, Sep 13, 2010 at 20:58

Monday, Sep 13, 2010 at 20:58
Thanks Tony.
FollowupID: 701036

Reply By: waymun - Sunday, Sep 12, 2010 at 08:01

Sunday, Sep 12, 2010 at 08:01
Try greasing your bonnet catch. We have had this problem before and so has one of our travelling companions who has pulled out his entire dash etc trying to find and annoying squeak. We have both had the experience of an annoying squeak and in both cases, it was the bonnet catch. Cheers.
AnswerID: 430062

Follow Up By: Kimba10 - Monday, Sep 13, 2010 at 09:39

Monday, Sep 13, 2010 at 09:39
Hi There waymum did all that, I replied down the page today. Seems to be from the rearend and seems more pornounced on the passengers side. Regards Steve
FollowupID: 700963

Reply By: waymun - Sunday, Sep 12, 2010 at 08:04

Sunday, Sep 12, 2010 at 08:04
Try greasing your bonnet catch. We have had this problem before and so has one of our travelling companions who has pulled out his entire dash etc trying to find an annoying squeak. We have both had the experience of an annoying squeak and in both cases, it was the bonnet catch. Cheers.
AnswerID: 430063

Reply By: Member - MUZBRY(Vic) - Sunday, Sep 12, 2010 at 09:02

Sunday, Sep 12, 2010 at 09:02
Gday Kimba
You still haven't taken the tail shafts off and checked the uni joints .
Murray

AnswerID: 430067

Follow Up By: Member - MUZBRY(Vic) - Sunday, Sep 12, 2010 at 14:06

Sunday, Sep 12, 2010 at 14:06
Gday again
When the lift was done, the angle of the tail shaft changed and the uni joints are now at a different angle. To be checked , you will have to remove the shaft and check the joints. You might find that one joint is ceased.
Murray

FollowupID: 700888

Follow Up By: Member - mazcan - Sunday, Sep 12, 2010 at 18:01

Sunday, Sep 12, 2010 at 18:01
hi kimba 10
raising the suspension will put an entirely different angle on the center tailshaft bearing and course stress
i think the noise is comming from there
spray a real good dose of crc
all around the center bearing area and casing and see if the squeak stops
i had this probem on a navara when i raised the suspension with a 3inch lift
it was the t/s ceter bearing and it drove me nuts too until i found it did the crc trick and didnt hear it again
hope it works for you
FollowupID: 700901

Reply By: Member - Chris & Debbie (QLD) - Sunday, Sep 12, 2010 at 09:16

Sunday, Sep 12, 2010 at 09:16
Hi Kimba
Have a look at the metal shileds on the diff/transfer case input/output flanges. Sometimes these can get knocked and will just hit on the seal carrier which will make a metalic scraping noise. They are just a press fit and can be just levered back along the flanges away from the seal carrier.
AnswerID: 430068

Reply By: Member -Pinko (NSW) - Sunday, Sep 12, 2010 at 09:19

Sunday, Sep 12, 2010 at 09:19
Hi Kimba
I found my annoying sqeak was the bonnet hinge rhside.
It is just a big rivet and after removing the hinge and few blows with a hammer sqeak in the skuttle has gone.
Living is a journey,it depends on where you go !
VKS 737 mobile 0049 selcall 0049

AnswerID: 430071

Follow Up By: Kimba10 - Sunday, Sep 12, 2010 at 09:29

Sunday, Sep 12, 2010 at 09:29
Na mate checked them yesterday as well whacked some grease on them, checked bonnett catch, opened the bonnet while rolling along still doing it. It must have some thing to do with the lift as it wasnt there prior to them touching it. But what I have no idea,,,,,, Regards Steve
FollowupID: 700868

Reply By: Mark-cas - Sunday, Sep 12, 2010 at 09:32

Sunday, Sep 12, 2010 at 09:32
Hi Have you changed any suspension bushes to poly i have had to change back to rubber on a few trucks
AnswerID: 430074

Follow Up By: Mark-cas - Sunday, Sep 12, 2010 at 09:35

Sunday, Sep 12, 2010 at 09:35
Also had a pair of shockys that squeaked on seal and main shaft
FollowupID: 700870

Follow Up By: Kimba10 - Sunday, Sep 12, 2010 at 09:53

Sunday, Sep 12, 2010 at 09:53
Na mate alll the bushes are rubber would never use poly dont like them, thought about the shocks but when Im pushing the vehicle up and down you would think it would squeak but it doesnt, I need 4 heads hanging out the doors to try and find which end its coming from bloody thing..Regards Steve
FollowupID: 700872

Reply By: Mudripper - Sunday, Sep 12, 2010 at 13:33

Sunday, Sep 12, 2010 at 13:33
It's good you're not driving a 40 series Landcruiser, with all the shakes and rattles earplugs are a must for going long distance!

Cheers mate.
AnswerID: 430083

Reply By: Member - Noel K (NT) - Sunday, Sep 12, 2010 at 15:48

Sunday, Sep 12, 2010 at 15:48
Hey Kimba 10,
Check that your side steps aren't touching the body. If they are close and with a bit of body flex they can touch.

Noel K.
AnswerID: 430094

Reply By: brushmarx - Sunday, Sep 12, 2010 at 17:44

Sunday, Sep 12, 2010 at 17:44
Squeaks suck, don't they?
I had an old Rodeo 4x2, and it developed a squeak. Took heaps of finding, but ended up being rubbing on the rubber bonnet stops.
A small rubber furniture "sticky back" buffer on top of them stopped it.
These squeaks happened sometimes engine off and rolling, engine on and rolling/stopped.
I found ours after driving slow with the bonnet open trying to try and see where the noise came from, and all was quiet.
Ended up a quick fix.
Could be worth a few seconds to see.
Mine started after a mechanic replaced an alternator.
Nothing else done, and the noise started.
AnswerID: 430108

Reply By: B1B2 - Sunday, Sep 12, 2010 at 18:32

Sunday, Sep 12, 2010 at 18:32
G'day Kimba,
I had a squeak in the 80 ser (constant 4wd) and it was hard to pinpoint. I thought it was a fan belt sometimes. It was the front drivers side CV joint. There is a small plug you remove to check the lithium grease level using a screwdriver. I removed the front wheel cap and circlip and when i moved the spline it squeaked. I topped up the Cv joint with a squirt of engine oil and that fixed the problem.
I don't know your setup but it's worth a look.

AnswerID: 430123

Follow Up By: Kimba10 - Monday, Sep 13, 2010 at 09:40

Monday, Sep 13, 2010 at 09:40
Cheers Bill will refer this message to my mate, hes a mechanic so he will know what your referring to. Cheers Steve
FollowupID: 700964

Reply By: Member - Scoot (SA) - Monday, Sep 13, 2010 at 08:38

Monday, Sep 13, 2010 at 08:38
After reading both posts and thinking about it over the week end.

It must be driving you mad, it would drive me crazy. The only thing I can think of is a coil spring that is not seating correctly. You sound like you have checked and rechecked every last thing. A mate of mine had this problem but it was every now and again not all the time like yours.

Best of Luck with your squeak.

Cheers Scoof . :-)
AnswerID: 430161

Follow Up By: Kimba10 - Monday, Sep 13, 2010 at 09:32

Monday, Sep 13, 2010 at 09:32
Hi, yeah mate been over everything sprayed everything, even yesterday drove 35k to inlaws to drop little one off, no noise no nothing, was there for about 2 hours jumped in took off 3k up the road it started again, so here is my wife and I at 10.30 at night in the back streets of Prospect NSW doing laps with me hanging out rear luggage door head hanging down trying to determine where it was coming from, then hanging off drivers side step right hand on wheel left hanging on motor off trying to work out front or back, seemed more pronounced at the back. jumped over to passengers side wife driving (only doing about 30k) then I was hanging out passengers side standing on side step etc and definately seemed louder on passengers side and seemed to be from the rear, now this is the side they had problems fitting the rear shock (90 series prado's are a pain for fitting this shock) and they did have to drill a hole through the rear luggage area floor to get a spanner over the top of the shock to do it up then they put quit a large grommet and sealed with sickaflex, guess what Im pulling off tonight ?? Maybe just maybe the rubber bush on the top of the shock is not fitted corectly (god help them if thats the issue) or they have lost a socket or some thing stupid but I doubt its that as its more like 2 bits of metal rubbing together like they have been pushed together The only thing I havnt done is remove the 2 guards for both fuel tanks but cant see how they would have been affected but you just never know what they have moved/hit/slipped with some thing. Last night I sprayed the top of the coils and bottoms and drove it to see and no change in noise sprayed rear shock mounts (except passnegrs side one rear as described above mongrel) so after tonight if none of these things fix it then I am totally out of ideas, put a match to the friggin thing, but has some thing to do with what they have done. My mate works at Pedders so going to ring him today to see if tomorrow I can take it down there and put it on there testing suspension machine and see if that does anything (I doubt it seems it needs to be rolling) if not might see if anyone around my area has a dyno machine maybe that will make it show the noise ??????????????????????????????? Regards Steve PS Thanks for all the replys
FollowupID: 700958

Reply By: HGMonaro - Monday, Sep 13, 2010 at 10:38

Monday, Sep 13, 2010 at 10:38
you have a mouse hitching a free ride... sometimes he's happy, sometimes not. :)
AnswerID: 430173

Follow Up By: Kimba10 - Monday, Sep 13, 2010 at 10:56

Monday, Sep 13, 2010 at 10:56
LOL at least your reply gave me a bit of a laugh, if I catch the little sucker he aint gunna be happy hell be cat food for my cat,fed to the cat still alive so I can hear the last squeak he's ever gunna make !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! then get my sanity back
FollowupID: 700970