Hoppers Stoppers for Landcruiser 78/79

Submitted: Saturday, Sep 11, 2010 at 22:34
ThreadID: 81280 Views:12363 Replies:8 FollowUps:6
Anyone have direct experience of the Rear Brake Upgrade package for 78/79 series Toyota Landcruisers marketed by Hoppers Stoppers? Looking for info on effectiveness, quality, a decent installer and a rough idea of price. The Hoppers Stoppers upgrade kit appears to be aimed at the mining sector. It upgrades both the rear brakes and the handbrake.

I am now in the middle of the first major mechanical drama with my trayback. I appear to have lost a rear brake pad. Before I got the vehicle I had heard that the rear brakes were vulnerable to sand and mud. Rapid wear and a handbrake that is always out of adjustment. This problem apparently started with the earlier six cylinder 78/79. On inspection today, the front brakes looked OK but the rear brakes looked much more worn and there was the missing pad.

Looks like I will either do an upgrade or become an unwilling expert on overhauling 78/79 rear brakes.

Flynnie

Reply By: get outmore - Saturday, Sep 11, 2010 at 23:02

Saturday, Sep 11, 2010 at 23:02
if its what i think its been around for a while and ive never seen one on a mining vehicle

from memory exorbatantly expensive
AnswerID: 430040

Reply By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Saturday, Sep 11, 2010 at 23:24

Saturday, Sep 11, 2010 at 23:24
Hi Flynnie
I think that you will find that it is a problem that will effect any vehicle that has rear disc brakes. We had a situation a few years ago when we were caught out on the Birdsville Track in all that lovely mud. The end result was 5 out of 7 vehicles all needed brake repairs (Pad and rotors) due to the fact that the mud and water were so abrasive, it simply just wore the pads out completely and ruined the rotors from the metal to metal scraping of no brake pads. When we all had our brakes repaired in Alice Springs, we were told that it was very common when wet muddy conditions are around and that they ordered the pads and rotors in by the pallet load. Just for the record, the five vehicles were 2 80 Series Landcruisers, 2 Pajeros and 1 Land Rover Discovery.

I bet you will find that all that lovely mud and water from your Simpson trip was the main culprit. If the truth be known, there will be many such case from people that have been caught out in the very wet conditions that has effected many outback areas recently.

AnswerID: 430043

Follow Up By: Flynnie - Sunday, Sep 12, 2010 at 00:03

Sunday, Sep 12, 2010 at 00:03

You may well be right about the muddy desert crossing being the main culprit. As posted earlier I did get badly bogged. Hosed a bit more of the desert out from under the vehicle today.

The hand brake, though, has never been too good. The vehicle was given a 40,000 k service by a Toyota dealer immediately before the CSR leg of my trip. The hand brake was adjusted in that service. It was loosing grip again long before I reached the wet conditions of the Simpson.

I first heard of the brake problem years ago when talking to a mechanic on a cotton property north of Boomi in NSW. He was finding it a regular occurrence on the then new 79 series farm vehicles. Did not think much more about it until researching the V8 cruiser two years ago. It was apparent the wear problem with the rear brakes was still a "feature" of the current production.

At work last week one of the staff told us how her boyfriend had just had a narrow escape when his cruiser trayback moved while he was closing a gate pinning him against it. Fortunately he only suffered bruises and was not crushed. Weak hand brakes are a safety issue.

My cruiser is booked in for a 50,000 k service on Monday so I will have the brakes repaired at the same time. This should give me a short time to work out whether to do the full brake upgrade or just to strip down the rear brakes every time they see a bit of sand or mud.

Flynnie
FollowupID: 700857

Follow Up By: get outmore - Sunday, Sep 12, 2010 at 01:32

Sunday, Sep 12, 2010 at 01:32
weak hand brake wasnt his problem
- everywhere ive worked the only way a vehicle can be parked up is in gear

his short cutting by leaving the motor running on a slope was his issue
FollowupID: 700859

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Sunday, Sep 12, 2010 at 02:54

Sunday, Sep 12, 2010 at 02:54
Hi Flynnie
Sorry to hear about that, and now sheds a different light to the subject and sounds like an issue for Mr Toyota.

All the best and will be interesting to hear what happens after your 50,000 service.

FollowupID: 700860

Follow Up By: Stu & "Bob" - Sunday, Sep 12, 2010 at 14:21

Sunday, Sep 12, 2010 at 14:21
The same happened to us when we were out there in July.
got caught on the Mereeni Loop by rain, 200 Km of dirt/mud, completely chopped out rear brake pads and rotors.

Fortunately, I always carry a set of tools when travelling, and was able to replace pads and rotors myself in the Supercheap carpark at Alice Springs.

My .02

FollowupID: 700889

Reply By: Member - Serendipity(WA) - Sunday, Sep 12, 2010 at 01:48

Sunday, Sep 12, 2010 at 01:48
Thanks for the heads up Flynnie

I have done 80,000k now and now I am due for new pads. I have done some remote trips but not of the calibre you have done.

This is the first time I have heard of this and of course I am off to do more research.

AnswerID: 430049

Reply By: Ozhumvee - Sunday, Sep 12, 2010 at 06:53

Sunday, Sep 12, 2010 at 06:53
As Steven said a very common problem in the outback under all these muddy conditions. When we were out there last month we got caught with only 50k of wet road to go to the bitumen (we were travelling when the rain hit and the roads were open). I thought that as the Humvee's brakes are inboard, mounted on the diff output flanges well over 500mm off the road and tucked up between the chassis rails that we wouldn't have a problem. Not so, by the time we got to the bitumen the rear pads were down to 2mm or less thick from 10mm earlier that day.
We've also encountered others on previous trips as well as this last one with Toyota's especially that had completely wrecked the rear brakes and were going no where.
The Toyota handbrake issue on those models with rear disks is also well known and we know personally two owners that have had vehicles roll away and be destroyed by applying the handbrake and getting out of the vehicle with the engine running.
AnswerID: 430052

Reply By: Member Dick (Int) - Sunday, Sep 12, 2010 at 13:48

Sunday, Sep 12, 2010 at 13:48
Hi Flynnie

I have the modified brakes on my 2003 Troopy which has un upgraded GVM to 3,700kg.

In addition to the modified rear disc's and calipers, and the hand brake on the transmission, I also fitted new DBA Slotted Rotors on the front, and changed the brake booster. All supplied by Peter Koning at Hoppers Stoppers.

These modified brakes were designed by Peter for the mining industry and they seem to last very well. I have only done about 10,000km on them to date so it is too early to talk about the life.

The Toyota rear brake systel is pitiful and does not match the rest of the vehicel.

Give Peter Koning a call, he is very helpful and is a great source of knowledge. The change in the brake booster improves the clamping pressure giving much better braking.

Peter shipped the kit to me in Newcastle and my normal mechanic installed them.

If you have any further questions please let me know.

Dick
Dick

AnswerID: 430084

Follow Up By: Member Dick (Int) - Sunday, Sep 12, 2010 at 13:54

Sunday, Sep 12, 2010 at 13:54
Sorry for the spelling errors above, forgot to spell check.

Dick
Dick

FollowupID: 700887

Reply By: pop2jocem - Sunday, Sep 12, 2010 at 16:41

Sunday, Sep 12, 2010 at 16:41
My old (very old...lol) HZJ75 1991 model has disc front drum rear so maybe not likely to suffer this problem but a mate of mine has a later ('97 I think) with disc rear. Yes he does seem to lose his hand brake effectiveness more often than mine but a simple adjustment is all that has been needed to date.
OK I'll be the mug...........if used in the conditions mentioned why only the rear and not the front chewing out? I would have thought both are exposed.

AnswerID: 430095

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Sunday, Sep 12, 2010 at 17:49

Sunday, Sep 12, 2010 at 17:49
Gday Flynnie,

Yep, the reason the rears are prone to chewing out is the rear calipers are forward facing, and not well covered by the usual rims. A friend used to work for Toyota and they were able to supply a set of covers that protected the opening in the calipers. When I look at mine, it already has a thin steel cover, so I'm not sure whether this was a later addition to the rear brakes. Also I'm running the 16x8 105series rims which have a little more backspacing than the other 79series rims.

I've had no problems with the rear brakes - just fitted 3rd set of pads in 150,000k.

But I do have problems with the woeful braking generally and now have fitted slotted rotors all round with the Bendix 4wd pads - a little improvement but not dramatic.

I haven't had a problem with the handbrake and this is the 4th vehicle I've owned with this handbrake arrangement. One of the issues here is the method of adjustment (at the drums). You need to tighten up then back off only 3 notches. For some unknown reason all the manuals (including Toyotas) tell you to back off 8 notches. I adjust mine as required, which is usually anywhere between 10,000 and 20,000k.

AnswerID: 430111

Reply By: Flynnie - Sunday, Sep 12, 2010 at 22:02

Sunday, Sep 12, 2010 at 22:02
Thank you all for your contributions. They have been most helpful.

I could be expecting too much from the brakes. They have done almost 50,000 k before failing and a lot of that was in very harsh conditions. Hopefully they will be fixed tomorrow.

Spent a lot of time examining underneath the vehicle this weekend. There was no significant damage or wear I could see anywhere from the recent trip except for the rear brakes (tyres excepted). They do seem to be the weakest feature of the vehicle.

Re the comment about the bloke caught between the cruiser and the gate well of course he should have turned off the motor and left it in gear. Being human we don't always make the best decisions, we sometimes do shortcut. Nonetheless a handbrake should hold the vehicle from rolling and be reliable. With the cruiser at the moment I would not trust it parked on a slope in gear with the handbrake on. Might be time to carry some wheel chocks.

Flynnie

AnswerID: 430147

Follow Up By: Flynnie - Monday, Sep 13, 2010 at 23:46

Monday, Sep 13, 2010 at 23:46
I took the cruiser to the local Toyota dealer today. A report was given on how crook the brakes were. Went to work. Got a phone call a couple of hours later.

The service bloke rattled off a whole series of problems and wanted authorisation to proceed. He was not going to let the vehicle back on the road without repair! So I authorised the repair. Picked it up this evening. First thing I noticed was the brake pedal worked and the handbrake actually did something.

The brake rebuild set me back about a grand. Brakes are a "consumable" and not covered by warranty, so I was told. Got a new cylinder assembly & 2 rear disc rotors & Handbrake shoe kit & Pad kit.

I consider this to be a temporary repair though it does more or less return the rear brakes to as new condition. The factory rear brakes appear incapable of taking mud and sand and so they are going to be a high ongoing maintenance item. Now that the drought is over exposure to some sand and mud is routine where I live.

Looks like I will have to service the rear brakes at the same time I change the oil ie 5,000k and also keep adequate spares on hand.

Re Hoppers Stoppers. These appear to be an effective solution. They appear to be well engineered brakes whereas the Toyota ones are not, in my opinion. Unfortunately they are too expensive for me to fit at this time. So I will have to, very reluctantly, make do with the Toyota brakes for now. When opportunity allows I would like to do the full upgrade of both front and rear brakes as Dick has done.

I am pleased that I did not encounter on the Canning Stock Route similar slush to what I encountered on the Simpson Desert. If I did most likely I would have experienced complete failure of the rear brakes while still on the track.

Flynnie

FollowupID: 701068