Grinding noise in gearbox
Submitted: Sunday, Sep 12, 2010 at 20:07
Mudripper
Hi all. I have a 1981 FJ45 cruiser (2F with 4 speed) and I am hearing a grinding noise coming from the gear box when the drive train is under load. There is no noise with the clutch out in neutral, only when going up steep hills and acceleration. I drained the oil and found lots of metal filings floating around and stuck to the drain plug. It doesn't matter if I use 2WD or 4WD, hi or low range. When going down hills or driving along without a great deal of load, there is no noise. I have checked externally for any prop shafts scraping or other things touching, but all looks OK.
I haven't come across this problem yet and need some help.
Any replies greatly appreciated.
Cheers and beers.
Reply By: Member - Barnray (NSW) - Sunday, Sep 12, 2010 at 20:28
Sunday, Sep 12, 2010 at 20:28
You have only one choice a gearbox rebuild. Barnray
Follow Up By: Member - Ian H (NSW) - Sunday, Sep 12, 2010 at 20:32
Sunday, Sep 12, 2010 at 20:32
Sounds like layshaft bearings but what ever it is I agree with Barnray.
Follow Up By: Member - The Bushwhackers -NSW - Sunday, Sep 12, 2010 at 20:40
Sunday, Sep 12, 2010 at 20:40
Hi Mudripper
Have been rebuilding gearboxes for a living for many a year. If you have metal filings IN THE OIL, it is extremely unlikely that it is an external problem. Another vote for a rebuild, unfortunately.
Best of luck, Dave
Follow Up By: 3GoBush - Sunday, Sep 12, 2010 at 22:06
Sunday, Sep 12, 2010 at 22:06
I agree with the others, but I would suggest with a truck that age you may try to look for a second hand or a recon/ exchange box and transfer.
hope this may help.
Follow Up By: Fab72 - Monday, Sep 13, 2010 at 09:46
Monday, Sep 13, 2010 at 09:46
Yep...gear box o/haul or a good second hand unit. You could use this opportunity to upgrage to a five speed. You're truck will love you for it.
Follow Up By: Mudripper - Monday, Sep 13, 2010 at 13:49
Monday, Sep 13, 2010 at 13:49
Thanks for that guys. I reckon I'll starting looking around for a reco box. I only use this as my firewood truck, so it's not an everyday commuter.
Reply By: Member - William H (WA) - Monday, Sep 13, 2010 at 08:17
Monday, Sep 13, 2010 at 08:17
Where do you live in this big Country?????????.
Cheers for now...Williamh...Bunbury...WA.
Follow Up By: Mudripper - Monday, Sep 13, 2010 at 13:41
Monday, Sep 13, 2010 at 13:41
Northern Tassie
Reply By: old mate - Monday, Sep 13, 2010 at 10:08
Monday, Sep 13, 2010 at 10:08
How many kms has the vehicle done?
Follow Up By: Mudripper - Monday, Sep 13, 2010 at 13:41
Monday, Sep 13, 2010 at 13:41