Don't go to White Cliffs when there is a Funeral/Wake.

We got to WC at about 12.45pm,, booked into PJ's B&B (unfortunately would not recommend),,, then went into town for lunch.

Just ordered and ate our hamburger when the shop and every other place closed for a funeral and Wake. Which is quite understandable in a close knit community like WC.

So,,,,, we ended up window shopping and going back to PJ's for a while. The pub and shop were open again when we went back down at about 5.00pm

We had a few beers at the pub and met a few of the locals and enjoyed ourselves. Then a steak at the corner shop,, a few more beers and a pleasant stroll to PJ's.

WC is quite a different town and worth going to have a look.

Allso saw a mass of Sturts pea and the rare white pea.

Reply By: keith & louise - Monday, Sep 13, 2010 at 09:56

Monday, Sep 13, 2010 at 09:56
so you were put out for a couple of hours by the death of a town member!

thats a very disrespectful thing to post about

its a normal thing in a close community
i dont think they would care about some city idiot not being able to have a beer for a couple of hours!
AnswerID: 430167

Follow Up By: Fred G NSW - Monday, Sep 13, 2010 at 10:04

Monday, Sep 13, 2010 at 10:04
Kath and Louise :-) Boo Boo is not a city slicker, or idiot, as you took the opportunity to call him, and I think you took the whole message out of context. Put the big stick away, aye, wasn't needed, and those sort of replies are frowned upon here.

Fred.
FollowupID: 700967

Follow Up By: old mate - Monday, Sep 13, 2010 at 10:11

Monday, Sep 13, 2010 at 10:11
"Which is quite understandable in a close knit community like WC."

I don't see anywhere that the OP has complained.

He's even made a mention that it was understandable for a communityu.

So what's your problem?????
FollowupID: 700968

Follow Up By: Member - barry F (NSW) - Monday, Sep 13, 2010 at 10:57

Monday, Sep 13, 2010 at 10:57
I will second your comments Old Mate. Cheers
FollowupID: 700971

Follow Up By: Fab72 - Monday, Sep 13, 2010 at 12:55

Monday, Sep 13, 2010 at 12:55
Me three....
FollowupID: 700976

Follow Up By: Roach"ee" - Monday, Sep 13, 2010 at 13:11

Monday, Sep 13, 2010 at 13:11
I think the big "mistake" (if I can call it that) that BooBoo made was in the title of his post. Once I read the title (and whilst awaiting the body of the message to open up on my screen), I half expected him to have some sad tale of a riot or some other major dilemma.

Once i read the whole OP, I thought he should have headed the Post up as something like: "We had a rare cultural experience in White Cliffs"....or something like that. The heading, as it stands, is somewhat misleading I reckon.
FollowupID: 700977

Follow Up By: Fred G NSW - Monday, Sep 13, 2010 at 13:27

Monday, Sep 13, 2010 at 13:27
G'day Roach"ee" as a lot of us have found out, you're right. White Cliffs most definitely fits under the heading "a rare cultural experience" :-))

Fred
FollowupID: 700980

Follow Up By: OzTroopy - Monday, Sep 13, 2010 at 15:16

Monday, Sep 13, 2010 at 15:16
Yep ... I'm with you roach"ee'

Saw the heading and thought ...

cripes ..... surely whitecliffs doesnt need mandatory pub closing etc to prevent the drunken & feral behaviour displayed in some towns further south and east during and after some funerals.

Good to see it was just a plain ol case of respect.
FollowupID: 700991

Follow Up By: crd patrol - Monday, Sep 13, 2010 at 23:38

Monday, Sep 13, 2010 at 23:38
keith & louise,

How about some respect for the OP and offer a public apology for going off like a firecracker when it wasn't warranted. You have berrated him in public so it is the only fair thing to do.

crd
FollowupID: 701065

Follow Up By: Member - William H (WA) - Wednesday, Oct 06, 2010 at 19:51

Wednesday, Oct 06, 2010 at 19:51
Keith and Louise...........You need to apoligise to Boo Boo,.... we are waiting to see you do it on this forum...........................

Cheers for now...Williamh...Bunbury...WA.
FollowupID: 703067

Follow Up By: Fred G NSW - Wednesday, Oct 06, 2010 at 20:26

Wednesday, Oct 06, 2010 at 20:26
Williamh...we won't see that happen because they are just what we call "trolls" on here, and treated with the contempt they deserve.

Boo Boo's integrity is intact with us, and never was in doubt....good onya mate.
FollowupID: 703071

Follow Up By: Member - William H (WA) - Wednesday, Oct 06, 2010 at 22:14

Wednesday, Oct 06, 2010 at 22:14
Evening Fred G.

I havent seen the "gentleman" on here for a wile and i rang Boo Boo to see how he was and he said will be around here tomorow for lunch and a yack,he is in Bunbury for a few weeks and it will be good to see him, and catch up with him........for a cupa tea and scons,jam and cream.

Cheers for now...........Williamh...Bunbury...WA.
FollowupID: 703082

Follow Up By: Fred G NSW - Thursday, Oct 07, 2010 at 14:46

Thursday, Oct 07, 2010 at 14:46
Williamh in Bunbury...great part of the world there, and 42 years is definately too long to have been away for me. Last there on a survey ship in 1968. Let the "gentleman" know he's not missing much at home, as the Hunter Valley hasn't seen much sun for a few weeks :-(

Fred.............Cessnock & Coonabarabran NSW

FollowupID: 703137

Reply By: Fred G NSW - Monday, Sep 13, 2010 at 10:00

Monday, Sep 13, 2010 at 10:00
We absolutely loved our stay there in '07 Boo Boo. We stayed at the C/P, which has a honesty box to drop the envelope into on your way out.

If your in town on a Friday Night, that corner shop/cafe is the place to go to meet the locals, when they come in from the hills for their weekly dinner night out, followed by a couple of coldies across the road at the pub.

We had a great night, and met some very diverse, eccentric, unique, interesting locals, from all over the globe and Oz.

Definitely go there again.

Fred.
AnswerID: 430168

Follow Up By: Joe Grace Doomadgee - Monday, Sep 13, 2010 at 13:20

Monday, Sep 13, 2010 at 13:20
It would be easy to say "dont go" to certain places when there is a funeral or wake but having lived in various communitys for some time you will have squat chance of finding out anything in advance as it often is arranged at short notice, it will happen anyware and in any town or city, i would far rather be out here than in Melbourne with a big wake happening, most probally get shot by the mafia ...........
And by what i read you had a good time anyway, show em respect and you will get respect ............
If you ever spend some time in a community and attend a funeral you will be astounded at the depth of respect and sorrow shown, the "event" and name are often not raised out of respect so you would not know when and where until the last minite, that is normal ...... if only we showed the same respect for our lost loved ones
FollowupID: 700979

Follow Up By: Fred G NSW - Monday, Sep 13, 2010 at 13:38

Monday, Sep 13, 2010 at 13:38
J G D no one would disagree with anything you just said, but I think the information in Boo Boo's post with some that are reading it, has gone like a well bowled Lillee bouncer, straight through to the keeper :-)

Fred
FollowupID: 700981

Follow Up By: Jezza77 - Monday, Sep 13, 2010 at 14:51

Monday, Sep 13, 2010 at 14:51
its good to see there is some cultural respect still around got stuck in maningrida once as there was a funeral in oenpeli, we didnt mind as meant few extra days out bush. but the workers on limited time off to be back out and in again were not to happy.
FollowupID: 700989

Reply By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Monday, Sep 13, 2010 at 15:17

Monday, Sep 13, 2010 at 15:17
Perhaps I could have worded the heading a lot better,but I have re-read my post and would not change any of the actual content.

There is no where in the post that I have shown any disrespect.

In fact my wife and I did not go down to the pub until most of the people had gone and had a beer with a few of those that remained.

To those that have not met me, but know me through my posts, (like Fred, NSW) I thank you for reading my post for what it was. You are quite right I am not a city slicker or an idiot. I live in a small country town and understand what happens when one of the town dies.

I am a fairly easy going person and have never gone out of my way to upset someone.

Sure I have disagreed with other post but everyone is entitled to their opinion and how they look at life, but I don't believe if you disagree with someone it gives you the right to be abusive.

AnswerID: 430193

Follow Up By: Dave(NSW) - Monday, Sep 13, 2010 at 16:19

Monday, Sep 13, 2010 at 16:19
The post was fine, The heading might have been a bit of a Boo Boo though LOL.
Cheers Dave..
GU RULES!!

FollowupID: 700997

Follow Up By: Capt. Wrongway - Monday, Sep 13, 2010 at 16:20

Monday, Sep 13, 2010 at 16:20
Boo Boo, I read no offence in you post at all. Some people like to get on their high horse at every opportunity. Perhaps it's wise if we all read posts thoroughly, and let it sink in, before commenting.
Capt. Wrongway.
FollowupID: 700998

Follow Up By: Moose - Monday, Sep 13, 2010 at 16:37

Monday, Sep 13, 2010 at 16:37
Nothing to worry about Boo Boo. I'm sure some people just read the heading and post a reply without reading the content. Gobble, gobble.
FollowupID: 701000

Follow Up By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Monday, Sep 13, 2010 at 16:38

Monday, Sep 13, 2010 at 16:38

Its partly how I got my name. LOL
FollowupID: 701001

Follow Up By: Fred G NSW - Monday, Sep 13, 2010 at 18:36

Monday, Sep 13, 2010 at 18:36
Moose, well said mate ;-)

Fred.

FollowupID: 701010

Follow Up By: Member Brian (Gold Coast) - Tuesday, Sep 14, 2010 at 18:44

Tuesday, Sep 14, 2010 at 18:44
Boo Boo... don't let it worry you champ. And like someone else above said, good to see respect shown for the locals!

FollowupID: 701158

Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Monday, Sep 13, 2010 at 18:41

Monday, Sep 13, 2010 at 18:41
We we there after the EO gathering at Innamincka 2008 i think.. Great spot to wind down and take in the local atmosphere!! Michael
AnswerID: 430206

Reply By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Monday, Sep 13, 2010 at 21:03

Monday, Sep 13, 2010 at 21:03
Thanks for the support fellas,,, really appreciated

AnswerID: 430231

Follow Up By: Member - Julie & John (VIC) - Tuesday, Sep 14, 2010 at 08:49

Tuesday, Sep 14, 2010 at 08:49
Gday...
The post was a goodun BooBoo ... it's just this forum sometimes I have noticed - one flares up and the original post gets all twisted and ratty and hijacked.
We were at White Cliffs in July this year and loved the place ... got rained in so we got to get a good feel for the place. Would certainly go back.
And in regard to 'small' communities and funerals. We were in Lightning Ridge around end July last and there were notices in all the shops about two funerals that were to be held the coming Thursday - and yep - 90% of the shops in Lightning Ridge closed to go to the funeral.
Smaller towns/communities - The big smkoke should be more like them. We have lost so much of what made us a great people.
Anyway, typed more than I was gonna ...
Cheers and happy travelling
Julie & John
FollowupID: 701077

Reply By: Member - DOZER- Tuesday, Sep 14, 2010 at 17:44

Tuesday, Sep 14, 2010 at 17:44
Hope it wasnt Jock!
AnswerID: 430323

Reply By: Gramps - Thursday, Oct 07, 2010 at 16:09

Thursday, Oct 07, 2010 at 16:09
Onya Boo Boo, sometimes posting here is like walking on egg shells LOL

WC is definitely an experience not to be missed.
AnswerID: 432334