hilux

Submitted: Wednesday, Sep 15, 2010 at 20:06
ThreadID: 81356 Views:7027 Replies:5 FollowUps:2
I am thinking of buying a 2009 3.0 litre manual hilux crew cab 4x4. Does anyone have first hand experience with these cars with regard to reliability issues and ability off road.

Thanks, dennis.

Reply By: Outa Bounds - Wednesday, Sep 15, 2010 at 21:09

Wednesday, Sep 15, 2010 at 21:09
All I can say is that I read a pretty big recall in one of the recent newspapers. Something about a bracket on the tailshaft on pretty much all hiluxes post '05. Something about it breaking or coming loose and potentially causing the tailshaft to drop when driving along. Obviously this is the general gist of it, not word for word by any means and keep in mind that I'm not that mechanically minded when it comes to cars.
In my opinion the good thing about Toyota is that they might have issues with some of the newer cars they're making but at least they admit to problems and do rectify them via recalls etc.

We had an older generation turbo diesel hilux, never any problems with it but it was never going to be as good as my Husbands landcruiser ute in regards to general handling / power / offroad ability. But from a womans perspective who used it as a daily driver it had good acceleration and reasonable road manners, a bit too drifty or less stable on the gravel compared to the cruiser. The only time you notice a lack of power (3L TD hilux compared to 4.2L TD cruiser) is on a long hill. Fuel economy seemed a bit better than the cruiser but the vehicle was a lot lighter, and I must say some of the handling characteristics would have improved with a bit of weight in the back (dual cab with alloy tray).

I guess you can't always have it all, so depends what aspects are most important to you!
AnswerID: 430455

Reply By: Ozhumvee - Wednesday, Sep 15, 2010 at 21:17

Wednesday, Sep 15, 2010 at 21:17
Tour boy had one grenade the other day and they don't like dirty fuel, very expensive to fix.
Most owners reckon they don't make them like they used to and don't stand up to as much (ab)use as they used to. Like anything I guess.
AnswerID: 430457

Reply By: olcoolone - Wednesday, Sep 15, 2010 at 22:46

Wednesday, Sep 15, 2010 at 22:46
We have a Hilux D4D and find it a fantastic vehicle on and off road, it's done some pretty hard remote travelling at maximum weight and in some cases towing our Ultimate camper.

Off road we have never been stuck or have not been able to get through something, and on road especially long hauls the comfort and fuel economy is very good

I wouldn't be to concerned with the current recall and about them going bang.

Dirty fuel is a big problem with any common rail engine not just the Hilux's.

With nearly 8000 members on the "New Hilux Forum" problems with the D4D Hilux are few and far between.

We have been looking at other 4x4's to replace the Hilux but so far we have been very disappointed in other makes and models......it looks like it might have to be another Hilux.

Once you have owned one you relies why the are more expensive then the others and why they are the number on 4x4 ute.

h
AnswerID: 430462

Follow Up By: AlbyNSW - Thursday, Sep 16, 2010 at 22:00

Thursday, Sep 16, 2010 at 22:00
I agree, they are a very versatile vehicle and more than capable for off road work.
FollowupID: 701374

Follow Up By: Member - xrdave (QLD) - Saturday, Sep 18, 2010 at 01:42

Saturday, Sep 18, 2010 at 01:42
X3. Im on my 2nd hilux, very happy with its power and onroad and offroad performance. A service costs me $150. The 3lt diesel engine is good on fuel.
Great vehicle, resale value holds up well compared to other brands.
My 2cents.

Dave.
FollowupID: 701491

Reply By: Flynnie - Wednesday, Sep 15, 2010 at 23:25

Wednesday, Sep 15, 2010 at 23:25
A mate of mine got an Extra Cab Hilux shortly before I got my cruiser in March 09. He used to have a Patrol cab chassis. He was very keen on the Hilux at first. More recently he reckons it is a bit of a lemon. I pressed him on this last Friday night as to why. He said he had recently gone through a big hassle over clutch problems.

I reckon they are good up hills. I have been overtaken by them going up the Moonbis. Perhaps chipped, perhaps not but they do go well.

Can't speak for their off road performance other than they cannot carry the load that you can on a cruiser or Patrol. But then nor should they be expected to.

Like all the mid range trucks not sure they have the chassis strength for a lot of tasks that they get (ab)used for. My mate, with all his gear would probably have been better served by a cruiser.

Flynnie
AnswerID: 430468

Reply By: William W. Wakefield - Thursday, Sep 16, 2010 at 08:34

Thursday, Sep 16, 2010 at 08:34
traded out of our 2008 and 2009 Tojo Hilux. Gutless in power and service costs excessive. Bought more Mitsi Tritons as we are so happy with 3.2L ML and now have 3 MK 2.5L Tritons. Mitsi has great 5/10 warranty and fixed priced servicing.

Other issue Hilux only 2250kg towing and short on power towing 2000kg
Next ones going are Nissan Navara and again going to be replaced with Mitsi Triton
AnswerID: 430489