Fridge/freezer

Hi all!
I would like some advice on the above.
I realise it is a piece of string suggestion but does anyone have any suggestions on a) which brand
b) what size for 2 adults and 3 kids.
At the moment it would probably only be 1 week stays at the moment but am keen to get advice.
Also, thoughts about vacuum packing would be good too :-)

Reply By: Member - John and Val - Thursday, Sep 16, 2010 at 10:44

Thursday, Sep 16, 2010 at 10:44
Hello, You're right about the "piece of string". You'll get plenty of advice as to which of the two main brands is better. FWIW we have had a small Waeco for close on 10 years. During that time it has done a lot of travel with no problems. We have supplemented it at times with a small esky to hold lunch, drinks etc - this avoids having to open the fridge too much, so we can use it as a freezer.

What size you require will depend on where you are going - if remote you will require more storage space - and what your preferences for food and drinks are.

If you are looking at one week stays then I can see no need or advantage in a vacuum packer. They are useful if you are setting out on an extended trip to remote areas. For a week long stay you could simply freeze meat and/or pre-prepared meals and run your fridge as a freezer.

Suggest before you make a purchase be clear about what food and drink you will be consuming during your trip. What opportunities will you have for replenishing supplies while you are away? What options do you have to avoid refrigeration eg LL milk, dried vegies? If you can get a handle on those kinds of questions you will get some idea of the quantity of food to go in your fridge and you can go from there.

Val

AnswerID: 430494

Reply By: Tenpounder (SA) - Thursday, Sep 16, 2010 at 11:32

Thursday, Sep 16, 2010 at 11:32
Hi there. One major decision has to be what power source(s) you expect to use. Some people like to buy a 3-way fridge so that they can use gas while away from 240v mains. Others rely on various combinations of solar power, second and third batteries, and generators to supply power while away from mains. Be wary of the total cost, once you start to include these issues. It's easy to spend more on the power source than you spend on the fridge!
Also, a week in summer at 40 degrees plus raises very different questions than a week in winter.
Only after addressing these questions is it time to consider brands and sizes.
As to vacuum packing, we swear by it, since it adds a significant margin to food 'keepability', such as problems with the fridge, surprise hot weather or a flat battery.
Does this help?
AnswerID: 430498

Reply By: Jezza77 - Thursday, Sep 16, 2010 at 11:42

Thursday, Sep 16, 2010 at 11:42
our Engel has done us very well
AnswerID: 430499

Reply By: trainslux - Thursday, Sep 16, 2010 at 14:30

Thursday, Sep 16, 2010 at 14:30
We use a 47lt evakool.
I like the way in which you can use it as a very small fridge, using the freezer section on low, or all fridge, or fridge freezer, or all freezer.
We also use a 20lt evakool icecool as a crisper/ overflow for the fridge, lunches beers for end of day etc.

Depending on your space, I would suggest a 60ltr evakool with a 20ltr esky.
This combination would give you alot of options, and versatility depending on how you camp/ travel, cook etc.

Spent a month on the road with 2 1.25lts frozen water in the bottom of the esky, and rotated them with one in the freezer every few days. Worked very well in 36deg +

Have a look at the different types available, take in a selection of empty milk/ beer, dairy containers etc, so you can see how you can or can not pack into the fridge to see what works best for you.

Trains
AnswerID: 430514

Reply By: Member - Boobook - Thursday, Sep 16, 2010 at 15:07

Thursday, Sep 16, 2010 at 15:07
My advice would be to get one that is as big as you can afford / fit in your vehicle.

You can always use empty space inside the fridge to store other stuff.

With the following caveats.

Don't get a Waeco 80L but all other waeco's are ok.
50L is the minimum you should get for that number of people.

50L isnt much space.( especially to a wife) but is managable. The larger the fridge, the less "mamagement" is required.

Anything that has a fridge and freezer off inside the same unit is inefficient ( uses lots of power) unless it is a National Luna dual zone unit.( which IMHO are the best fridges around for effeciency, thoughness and felxibility) - but I am biased, I own one after having had both engels and Waecos.The work on a different regulation system.

The ARB one looks pretty goood on paper too.

Cryovacing is great and completely replaces the need for freezing except for ice cream and drinking ice.

Freezing will use 2 - 4 times the power of a fridge so it limits how long you can stay in one place ( to 12 or less hours in some cases)
AnswerID: 430519

Follow Up By: Mark Howlett - Thursday, Sep 16, 2010 at 16:21

Thursday, Sep 16, 2010 at 16:21
"Anything that has a fridge and freezer off inside the same unit is inefficient ( uses lots of power) unless it is a National Luna dual zone"...I'll add the Evakool 47Litre to that exception list too. I have 2 of them and on a 6 month trip running one off the 100Amp/Hr battery in the camper, we would get between 2 to 2.5 days before the battery would get to 11.9/12.0 volts and I'd charge it up again. This was always in 35 to 45 degree days with warm nights too.

Mark.
FollowupID: 701337

Follow Up By: trainslux - Thursday, Sep 16, 2010 at 16:22

Thursday, Sep 16, 2010 at 16:22
Hmm, with our 47 ltr evakool, running as a freezer and fridge at -15 and around 1 deg fridge. Ambient above 35 during the day.
We get 4 days out of our nz70.
I think thats pretty good.

T
FollowupID: 701338

Follow Up By: Mark Howlett - Thursday, Sep 16, 2010 at 16:36

Thursday, Sep 16, 2010 at 16:36
That's impressive. Forgot to add, the same battery ran the interior lights (4 LED strips lights and an Arlec fluoro) and charged the kids handheld games.

I'm assuming when the battery gets down to 12v it's at 50% capacity, so it's used around 50amps? My usage running the above then is around 20 to 25 amp/hours a day? I'm happy with that based of data from fridge comparisons done by various magazine over the years.

T your 4 days would be about 12 to 13 amp/hours a day? That's super, I'm guessing you don't have a couple of kids using it too? (We have 2).

Mark.
FollowupID: 701339

Follow Up By: trainslux - Friday, Sep 17, 2010 at 09:12

Friday, Sep 17, 2010 at 09:12
Hi Mark,
Looks like we posted at around the same time.
I was replying to Boobook, the same as you.
Yes, no fluros, but it wasnt packed full, so was down at bit on efficiency due to the increased air space instead of a fully packed fridge, and it was cooling 3 beers/ day ;0.
We use the 20ltr icecool esky to keep lunch etc, to minimise the opening times.
Works really well.

Ran it till the voltage cut out mid arvo, and started low voltage code.

T
FollowupID: 701407

Follow Up By: Sea-Dog - Friday, Sep 17, 2010 at 09:23

Friday, Sep 17, 2010 at 09:23
Guess I have to ask the question of why not a 80L Waeco?

I have been using mine since buying it in early 2005 and have had it mounted in the back of the car pretty much ever since.. it has seen many 4x4 club trips and cape york etc over that time and has been a great fridge with absolutely no issues.

I use it with a 105Ahr Supercharge allrounder as the auxillary battery and the old style solenoid duel battery setup in the 80 series. Lasts a few days without charging and the battery seems to respond well to charging with a quick trip each day when the fridge is on 24/7.

I chose the 80L with the wife and 3 kids in tow and even then found that space ran out pretty quickly. Now with only two there is free space in it pretty much all the time which is good as I can store vegies etc in it to keep them cold when camping.
FollowupID: 701409

Follow Up By: Member - Boobook - Friday, Sep 17, 2010 at 15:36

Friday, Sep 17, 2010 at 15:36
Sea dog,

The Waeco 80 IMHO has issues with maintaining the right temperature across the fridge. Stuff that you intend to freeze doesn't and stuff that you don't want to freeze does.

There are lots of posts on this and other sites about how you can manage this but you have to move food around and keep a very close eye on it. All too hard and a breeding ground for food poising as food goes in and out of a frozen state.

The other problem is power use. It draws an average of about 3.5 amps whereas most other fridges, including some bigger ones and Waeco's when not on freeze average 0.8 to 1.2Amps. A 100AH battery would be lucky to last 10 hours if you look after your battery and only discharge it to 50%. More food problems.

The power problem is because of physics. It takes about 3 - 4 times as much energy to freeze water as it does cool it to just above Zero. Hence why ( IMO ) freezing sucks for camping.
FollowupID: 701445

Follow Up By: ross - Saturday, Sep 18, 2010 at 14:11

Saturday, Sep 18, 2010 at 14:11
Ive had a used Waeco 80 for couple of years and have no issues with keeping things cold in any part of the fridge.
Like any car fridge it takes some practice to get it right
I dont believe food goes poisonous when it goes in and out of a frozen state as long as it never reaches temperatures high enough to breed bacteria.
Im not saying its good practice but I wouldnt ditch my meat supply because it went a little frosty and was refrozen.

Supermarkets are required by law to throw any thawed food out because they can not be sure how warm it got.

I get about 2 1/2 days from the 100 amp battery I have with the weaco 80 on a medium setting.

The thing I like most about the 80 is its wide shape which makes it easy to find things.
Similar sized fridges have more depth than width and you have to stack too much food on top of other food
FollowupID: 701523

Follow Up By: Member - Boobook - Saturday, Sep 18, 2010 at 18:04

Saturday, Sep 18, 2010 at 18:04
Ross, supermarkets are required by law to throw it away to stop food poisining.

It's simple, you should not refreeze thawed food.

The last thing you need on a trip away from medical help is a few people with gastroenteritis. I know from personal experience which is why I am so particular about it when camping. It can be dabilatating, and is even less pleasant than at home, running for the bushes in the middle of the night with no time to go find the toilet paper.

Here is one of many warnings from heath authorities on the internet. Vic Health in this case.

" Bacteria in food that is frozen a second time do not die and the food is likely to have higher levels of food poisoning bacteria. The risk depends on the condition of the food when frozen and how the food is handled between thawing and refreezing, but raw food should never be refrozen once thawed."

I just think that you should avoid the problem totally. Rearranging food in the fridge regularly would have to be the top priority after fuel and water otherwise. The means unpacking everything in the fridge to check it and move it. Another no no and a pain in the ....

If you have your system that is good. But I doubt that 95% of people could or would do it dilagently enough to stop refreezing totally.

I have my own steak for dinner over here in the corner tonight thanks.

:-)
FollowupID: 701538

Follow Up By: ross - Saturday, Sep 18, 2010 at 23:05

Saturday, Sep 18, 2010 at 23:05
Most people are eating refrozen meat nearly every week. Sausages are often made from frozen meat which is then thawed enough to go through the mincer and often refrozen and thawed by the consumer.
Like the vic health dept says"The risk depends on the condition of the food when frozen and how the food is handled between thawing and refreezing, but raw food should never be refrozen once thawed"

I'm not suggesting room temp meat be refrozen,but I see little problem with still frosty meat being frozen hard again.

The reality is ,red meat is responsible for very few food poisonings in the overall scheme of things.
Well cooked red meat is quite safe,not much bacteria can survive 10 mins on a 300 degree hot plate.

The over whelming cause of food poisoning is in the preperation from dirty hands and work surfaces.
When I go camping I place an emphasis on all participents washing their hands with an ethylene based handwash before they go near food.
FollowupID: 701558

Follow Up By: ross - Saturday, Sep 18, 2010 at 23:06

Saturday, Sep 18, 2010 at 23:06
Most people are eating refrozen meat nearly every week. Sausages are often made from frozen meat which is then thawed enough to go through the mincer and often refrozen and thawed by the consumer.
Like the vic health dept says"The risk depends on the condition of the food when frozen and how the food is handled between thawing and refreezing, but raw food should never be refrozen once thawed"

I'm not suggesting room temp meat be refrozen,but I see little problem with still frosty meat being frozen hard again.

The reality is ,red meat is responsible for very few food poisonings in the overall scheme of things.
Well cooked red meat is quite safe,not much bacteria can survive 10 mins on a 300 degree hot plate.

The over whelming cause of food poisoning is in the preperation from dirty hands and work surfaces.
When I go camping I place an emphasis on all participents washing their hands with an ethylene based handwash before they go near food.
FollowupID: 701559

Reply By: AlbyNSW - Thursday, Sep 16, 2010 at 21:49

Thursday, Sep 16, 2010 at 21:49
It's a long piece of string on this debate.:-)

We are a 2 adult and 2 kid senario and we have done remote style touring for up to five weeks at a time with a 40 litre fridge run as a freezer and a quality icebox. As others have mentioned Cryovac style units are fantastic and substantially increase your storage capacity.

I intend on replacing the icebox with another fridge unit before our next big trip as is more convienient.

Before you get caught up in the which brand is best debate, I think it best to decide on size needed and what will actually fit into your vehicle, the way the fridge door operates is also a consideration. (In my case the 40 litre in a specific brand was the only one that fitted my vehicle.)
This along with price will impact on your decision. Ideally 2 smaller units is more versatile than a big unit but will be more expensive setup.

Good luck with your decision
AnswerID: 430556

Reply By: Whittsatwoopi (NSW) - Thursday, Sep 16, 2010 at 21:53

Thursday, Sep 16, 2010 at 21:53
Thanks very much to everyone for your advice, I really appreciate it!
Now to sit down and digest it all - with a beer from the house fridge :-)
AnswerID: 430557

Follow Up By: ross - Saturday, Sep 18, 2010 at 14:20

Saturday, Sep 18, 2010 at 14:20
The good news is that nearly all the fridges on the market have been fairly well tested and none of thewell known makes are complete duds.
The majority are using the same BD35 compressor and the Engels have the Sarafuji swing motor.
Look for functions like decent handles,easy to see/use controls,fridge light ect.
FollowupID: 701524

Reply By: Maîneÿ . . .- Friday, Sep 17, 2010 at 00:19

Friday, Sep 17, 2010 at 00:19
Whittsatwoopi,

Check out this frïdge, if you believe you need a smaller frïdge check others in their range -> National Luna

This 65 litre model has a very small foot print compared to other fridges and takes up much less vehicle space, just 420mm x 635mm and with power consumption of 2.5 Amps average running current.

I was using a 50 litre fridge/freezer (different brand) but found it too small for 2 adults when used for long term bush campïng, so up-sized to a 70 litre fridge/freezer, many may say they can get away with a smaller frïdge, but why compromise :-)

* 3 year guarantee
* Internal light
* Lockable lid
* Digital thermostat
* Solid carry handles
* Aluminium construction
* 3 range low battery protection
* Staïnless steel storage basketImage Could Not Be FoundMaîneÿ . . .
AnswerID: 430567

Follow Up By: trainslux - Friday, Sep 17, 2010 at 09:16

Friday, Sep 17, 2010 at 09:16
Gee. looks like you need climbing gear to access the stuff in the bottom of the unit.

T
FollowupID: 701408

Follow Up By: ross - Saturday, Sep 18, 2010 at 14:24

Saturday, Sep 18, 2010 at 14:24
How much do they cost?
That shape would suit some ,but my camper has a broad flat area with low height,hence a weaco 80 fits best.
FollowupID: 701525

Follow Up By: Maîneÿ . . .- Saturday, Sep 18, 2010 at 15:38

Saturday, Sep 18, 2010 at 15:38
LINK to: 80 litre fridge/freezer

External dimensions -> 495mm deep x 835mm wide

At only 2.5 ah they are more efficient than the Waeco 80 Lt combo

Image Could Not Be FoundMaîneÿ . . .
FollowupID: 701530

Follow Up By: ross - Saturday, Sep 18, 2010 at 23:17

Saturday, Sep 18, 2010 at 23:17
I see the Waeco is measured at a temp of -15 and uses 2.9 amps while the NL is measured at -10c and using 2.5 amps

Last time I enquired the price of the NLs was like double the comparable waeco cost.
That factor would buy a lot of battery/solar power which would more than compensate for any discrepancy in power usage.
I also believe they are using the same BD35 compressor.
FollowupID: 701560

Reply By: Member - Bucky - Friday, Sep 17, 2010 at 04:59

Friday, Sep 17, 2010 at 04:59
We had our 40 lt Engel packed with pre cooked & Cryovaced meals last year, and did our 3 month trip, no probs at all.
Admittedly there were only the 2 of us, but SWMBO did cook 78 meals, vacuum sealed them all in meal lots, frooze them, and the day before we left I packed them into the Engle..

Run it on freeze for the whole time .... set at -4c

We still had some left a month after getting home, mainly because we topped up with some fresh snags, and steaks at Broome and Kunnanurra (spelling)

Aldi have a good cheap Cryovac machine, and if you run out of bags, them Harvey Norman have the bags.

Easy as
AnswerID: 430571

Reply By: The Landy - Friday, Sep 17, 2010 at 09:53

Friday, Sep 17, 2010 at 09:53
I think fridge discussions need to take into account the following before you get to the ‘which one’ question.........

How remote will you (usually) be as there are plenty of places to replenish supplies these days?

Do you really need a freezer, taking into account point one?

How much space do you have in the vehicle to dedicate to a fridge?

What power supply arrangements do you have? Keeping in mind the bigger the fridge the greater the power-drain; especially if running as a freezer. Will you need to upgrade batteries and power management in the vehicle?

Good luck with your deliberations....... Cheers, The Landy

Ps: We’ve owned to Engels a 40 Litre and a 60 litre, and both have worked flawlessly.

AnswerID: 430594

Reply By: Flynnie - Saturday, Sep 18, 2010 at 22:58

Saturday, Sep 18, 2010 at 22:58
I have been using an Explorer DC65 fridge/freezer very successfully. It is more of an expedition fridge. It has 40 litres of fridge and 25 litres of freezer space. For trips of 1 week or so I reckon you would be much better off with a fridge and forget the freezer.

Any decent brand between 30 and 60 litres should do the job. Matters of weight and available space in the vehicle are important to consider in choosing the right fridge.

Flynnie
AnswerID: 430752