Submitted: Friday, Sep 17, 2010 at 11:26
Capt. Wrongway
G'day all,
I was told that there was a Austrailia show on TV last week that was demonstrating a variation of those $20 portable gas cookers ( single burner, gas canister type ). This unit had a solid plate, rather than a ring burner. Did anyone happen to watch it and notice who was suppling them or where they could be purchased from? They must be very new, as I've searched the net and not found them.
Capt. Wrongway
Reply By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Friday, Sep 17, 2010 at 11:41
Friday, Sep 17, 2010 at 11:41
Sir, hehehe
Try this recent thread on the subject
| Russell Coight:
He was presented with a difficult decision: push on into the stretching deserts, or return home to his wife.Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Follow Up By: Capt. Wrongway - Friday, Sep 17, 2010 at 12:53
Friday, Sep 17, 2010 at 12:53
Thanks Kev.
That's them. Great idea ...small, portable, ... but not a that price!
Bazza.
Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Friday, Sep 17, 2010 at 13:01
Friday, Sep 17, 2010 at 13:01
Sir Bazza,
That was the general feel when I saw them as
well.
| Russell Coight:
He was presented with a difficult decision: push on into the stretching deserts, or return home to his wife.Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Reply By: Mark - Friday, Sep 17, 2010 at 18:23
Friday, Sep 17, 2010 at 18:23
Not sure about the Ubeaut units but there have been a spate of accidents with the single burner $20 job's. Mainly when people use large fry pans and barbi plates on top that cover the gas cannister and transfer heat to it.
I saw this on another
forum;
This is what happens when one of these things explodes whilst you are cooking on it …
(the following image is not suitable for weak stomach or whilst eating)
http://www.freeimagehosting.net/uploads/ffd244acc6.jpg
I had burns like this to arms and back. My mate had burns like this to face.
It happened first night of a
camping trip to
Moreton Island.
I highly recommend avoiding these things at all costs; if you are going to use one, do not let it overheat. We had been using a fry pan on it to
cook sausages for about 20 minutes; The frying pan was larger than cooking surface and we can only guess the heat radiated back and made the thing way too hot.
Also check
http://www.exploroz.com/Forum/Topic/54235/Exploding_Portable_Stoves.aspx
The burns doctors at hospital reckon they get 3 of these per week over the xmas holidays. Pay extra and get yourself a gas cylinder that is separate to the cooking area.
Follow Up By: Shaker - Saturday, Sep 18, 2010 at 00:02
Saturday, Sep 18, 2010 at 00:02
I think the instructons say not to use a large pan!