Just found a couple of young ladies in Broken Hill for Darwin Awards

Submitted: Monday, Sep 20, 2010 at 13:17
ThreadID: 81435 Views:4655 Replies:5 FollowUps:10
I was waiting behind a station wagon so that I could get to the diesel pump.

The young ladies were putting 5, twenty litre containers of fuel in the back of the wagon. I thought it was a bit dangerous to have that much fuel in the car for a number of reasons, including fumes and no cargo barrier.

They moved forward, I filled up then went to pay. While waiting to pay I watch the station wagon pull out with the driver putting a cigarette in her mouth.

Petrol and a cigarette did not appear to be a good combo.

To finish off the girl behind the counter said they were working on the Mad Max set and came in for about the same amount of petrol 3 times a day.

I'll let you know if there is a big bang!

Reply By: Expletive - Monday, Sep 20, 2010 at 13:32

Monday, Sep 20, 2010 at 13:32
Boo Boo did you stop to think they may be working for Bin Laden.MMMM
Certainly could be fatal,hope not.

AnswerID: 430852

Reply By: crd patrol - Monday, Sep 20, 2010 at 13:56

Monday, Sep 20, 2010 at 13:56
Anyone for a free fireworks display.......

Thats gonna make one helluva mess when it goes bang.
AnswerID: 430853

Follow Up By: Mr Pointyhead - Monday, Sep 20, 2010 at 14:11

Monday, Sep 20, 2010 at 14:11
Sounds like a goopd sign for the movie !
What would a Mad Max movie be without lots of things blowing up :)

FollowupID: 701629

Reply By: mike39 - Monday, Sep 20, 2010 at 15:44

Monday, Sep 20, 2010 at 15:44
At the local Woolies servo t'other day, just walked through the door to pay to see the cashier banging on the window like mad and using a bit of profanity to go with it.
Directly opposite a female was filling her car on auto, talking on a mobile phone whilst smoking a cigarette.
Talk about a trifecta!, and wasn't the bloke on the till going to give her some.
I got going very smartly, I didn'want to hear it.
mike
AnswerID: 430860

Follow Up By: ob - Monday, Sep 20, 2010 at 16:27

Monday, Sep 20, 2010 at 16:27
Didn't want to hear what Mike, the abuse or the big bang.................lol
FollowupID: 701635

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Monday, Sep 20, 2010 at 16:33

Monday, Sep 20, 2010 at 16:33
Why didn't he stop the pump??

FollowupID: 701636

Follow Up By: Fab72 - Monday, Sep 20, 2010 at 18:18

Monday, Sep 20, 2010 at 18:18
Why didn't you stop the pump? Who gives a rats if they blow themselves up but think self preservation. Next to every bowser is an E-Stop button which shuts all the pumps down.

Don't be affraid to use it. Having second thoughts might one day be the last thing that goes through your mind.

Fab.
FollowupID: 701644

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Monday, Sep 20, 2010 at 18:33

Monday, Sep 20, 2010 at 18:33
The console operator can stop each pump individually if they wish.
Rather than bang on the window and behave like an idiot just shut the pump down and call them over the P.A. system to tell them to come in.

FollowupID: 701650

Follow Up By: mike39 - Monday, Sep 20, 2010 at 19:33

Monday, Sep 20, 2010 at 19:33
When I went to pay for my fuel (diesel at the far end pump) there was no one else there.
It was obviously whilst I was walking across to the office that this lady pulled up, started filling whilst using the mobile phone with a cig. in her mouth that the cashier saw her and started banging/yelling about the time I went in the door.
He certainly said nothing about shutting off the bowser whilst he processed my fuel bill. I scuttled as I said, and she was still at the bowser.
Yes, I was concerned about a possible big bang, and the bloke behind the till may not have been all that experienced with the bowser controls.
But I, for one , will be much more aware of how people fill their vehicle.
mike
FollowupID: 701663

Follow Up By: B1B2 - Tuesday, Sep 21, 2010 at 11:02

Tuesday, Sep 21, 2010 at 11:02
Mike,
That Woolies in BH must be the most dangerous servo in Oz. I was filling up on the ouside lane with my caravan hooked up. A bloke came around me and backed into the 2nd lane, which blocked others now behind him.
This made it a full really tight stretch of the hose to reach his filler. When he pulled the hose out he kept the trigger pulled and sprayed litres of petrol all over his back window and boot. I got out of there as quickly as possible.
Some people are a worry.

FollowupID: 701720

Reply By: SDG - Monday, Sep 20, 2010 at 18:09

Monday, Sep 20, 2010 at 18:09
Might be a good excuse to go for a drive to Broken Hill. Both for the fireworks, and maybe a chance to be an extra in a action movie, or at least watch.
AnswerID: 430872

Follow Up By: BrownyGU - Monday, Sep 20, 2010 at 18:50

Monday, Sep 20, 2010 at 18:50
saw the film crew set up/area when up that way last month, apparently the area is way too green to do the filming just yet. the wild flowers are beautiful out on the roads near Silverton, not the look there after!

Cheers......Browny
FollowupID: 701655

Follow Up By: SDG - Monday, Sep 20, 2010 at 19:11

Monday, Sep 20, 2010 at 19:11
Looks like all the rain has not made everybody happy after all.
FollowupID: 701660

Reply By: cycadcenter - Tuesday, Sep 21, 2010 at 01:56

Tuesday, Sep 21, 2010 at 01:56
My Darwin Award today goes to the Courier Mail for publishing a photo of a family in the rain with a 10-12 year old boy with a plastic bag over his head,

Well Done!!!

Courier Mail Darwin Award
AnswerID: 430919

Follow Up By: old mate - Tuesday, Sep 21, 2010 at 08:47

Tuesday, Sep 21, 2010 at 08:47
It's pretty obvious the 12 year old kid is hamming it up for the camera - he's looking right at it!

Plenty of air coming up from the bottom of the disposable plastic poncho (not a plastic bag) as well!

Lots of air coming in from the open hood part of the "bag".

Do you think the kid is going to suffocate under those circumstances on a city street?.

It's not like it's a 4 year old playing with a plastic bag on it's own.

Hardly a Darwin Award!
FollowupID: 701697