Ashburton
Submitted: Wednesday, Sep 22, 2010 at 08:13
Member - Duane A (WA)
G-day has anyone been into the ashburton river in the last couple of weeks ?.Just wondering what the track in was like and is there much
water in the river . Are there any
camping fees to pay to calm ?. Heading there this School holidays it will be warm but thats fine any info welcomed .Safe travells.
Reply By: Member - Driverdon - Wednesday, Sep 22, 2010 at 16:48
Wednesday, Sep 22, 2010 at 16:48
Hi Duane. . Was there about 2 months ago spent time in Emouth with friends then went across Burkett Rd., and turned north up the coastal Hwy for about 30-35Kms, then up a Trk I'm told is called Twitchin Rd . . it takes you Thru Minderoo Stn. The track was quite good and cuts off about 100kms and takes you straight (look for
sign to Old
Onslow) to the
camping area on the Ashburton at Old
Onslow.Great spot and no fees. The track I mention is not on some maps and I turned off a bit too soon & went down a few bush tracks before I found it but used the gps to finally get onto it.
Well worth it tho. I just looked at my maps and & that track shows as starting at Lat S22 51 41 2 Long E114 57 31 8 on N/W coastal Hwy. but be carefull as the road may have changed since the maps were produced but will give you a ball
park area to start looking if you choose to go that way.
Have Fun!!!
Follow Up By: Member - Duane A (WA) - Wednesday, Sep 22, 2010 at 17:12
Wednesday, Sep 22, 2010 at 17:12
Thanks for the info bloke very much appreiciated . Iam looking forward to getting there was there much
water in the river ?. Thanks again .
Follow Up By: Member - Driverdon - Wednesday, Sep 22, 2010 at 18:10
Wednesday, Sep 22, 2010 at 18:10
Yeh heaps . . got there just b4 sunset and got some great pics... you'll love i
Follow Up By: Member - Duane A (WA) - Wednesday, Sep 22, 2010 at 22:02
Wednesday, Sep 22, 2010 at 22:02
Mate twitchins road is it a station track or just a narrow bush track iam just wondering if ill get through with my van. Its biult for the rough stuff but with in reason. Cheers bloke.
Follow Up By: Member - Jerry C (WA) - Wednesday, Sep 22, 2010 at 23:54
Wednesday, Sep 22, 2010 at 23:54
Hi Driverdon,
DidTwitchens Rd take you through Yanrey Stn and/ or over the Ashburton bridge near Minderoo Stn ?
Cheers, Jerry.
Follow Up By: Member - Driverdon - Thursday, Sep 23, 2010 at 00:15
Thursday, Sep 23, 2010 at 00:15
It is a better than average bush track take it easy and make sure you let your tyres down. . . I used to drive 4wd tour buses thru the North and some people seem to go nuts on the rough roads. . . you can allways have a problem/disaster but from my experience a lot of it is caused by imprudent driving and preparation. Overloading, overspeeding, and to much tyre pressure.
But having said that, you can be unlucky and you need to be prepared and equipped to handle things that go wrong. My friends from
Exmouth were regular users and recomended it to me. I have a T Van and troopy and not much is a problem to that combination so far. . . what sort of rig do youy have?
The track is not narrow except for the grids. . . I found the drive really easy and really enjoyed it. Having said that give me dirt over bitumen any day.
Remember the 6 P's
kind regards
Don
(Prior Planning Prevents bleep Poor Peformance) Dunno if I can say that here can I mod squad
Follow Up By: Member - Driverdon - Thursday, Sep 23, 2010 at 00:18
Thursday, Sep 23, 2010 at 00:18
Just had a look at your rig drive carfully and you will have no probs
Follow Up By: Member - Duane A (WA) - Thursday, Sep 23, 2010 at 07:57
Thursday, Sep 23, 2010 at 07:57
Yeah no worries Drverdon (that must stand for Don the bus driver?? ) Thanks for your help and info i look forward to the trip through there cheers.