Pets at night time?, camping or otherwie?

Submitted: Wednesday, Sep 22, 2010 at 20:40
ThreadID: 81491 Views:3876 Replies:4 FollowUps:1
Are you their security?, or is it the other way round,Their yours ..lol.

My daughter has a great dane on the end of her bed sometime through most nights, The greatest sook of a dog i've ever seen!!, But if some unwanted visitor was to appear,, Holy ...Moly! what a surprise they would get..LOL. Not so long ago i met a couple out at Hillend NSW, They had the meanest looking Bitser of a dog i've ever seen, and they stated that theres no way they would camp anywhere with out their beloved pet..lol.

Reply By: Teraa - Wednesday, Sep 22, 2010 at 21:11

Wednesday, Sep 22, 2010 at 21:11
We use to have a really big rottie and if anyone got to close to set up camp my hubbie would give a whistle and he would come out from beneath the kombi shaking it in the process no one ever camped near us or came near the kombie he could have been easily bribed with a smoch or a mars bar, a gentle giant - sadly missed.
AnswerID: 431111

Follow Up By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Wednesday, Sep 22, 2010 at 21:34

Wednesday, Sep 22, 2010 at 21:34
G'day Axle

We have a great Dane cross and it is the biggest sook as well.

It runs from dogs that are only 30cm high.

Could not guard anything.

I usually tie the missus up to the front of the camper trailer,, then I know I'll get a good nights sleep.LOL

FollowupID: 701886

Reply By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Wednesday, Sep 22, 2010 at 21:42

Wednesday, Sep 22, 2010 at 21:42
We had a Kelpie/Collie (profile pic at bottom), when she was a handful of Pup I would show her to people and until she got to know them the teeth would show and she would growl, I was told on many occasion that I had a very dangerous pup, well she was the most gentle natured dog I have ever known, absolutely loved kids, but low and behold if a stranger came near us. She slept on our bed every night and let us live in her 'kennel', but if there was anyone outside we would know about it. Even though she passed on a few years ago I still shed a tear for her every now and again.
Now we have her niece, once again a beautiful nature, loving, always wants to be near or on you, when I'm working at the sink in the kitchen she has her head or paw on my foot, a lovely dog, destructive pup but we are just about through that but a watch dog, heaven help us, she doesn't know the meaning of barking or strangers, they are all people to play with. She is definitely not our security. The only thing we can hope for is that the fact she is black it might scare someone off at the sight of her, not likely though. I am hoping in the very near future we can introduce her to traveling through the country. We are aware that traveling with dogs is restrictive but most of the big National Parks we have done, the others there are kennels to leave the dog while touring them.
Deanna

Simba, our much missed baby.

AnswerID: 431118

Reply By: John and Lynne - Thursday, Sep 23, 2010 at 06:49

Thursday, Sep 23, 2010 at 06:49
Our Jack Russell sounds like an Alsation when she does bark! However she is really a very quiet and friendly dog - welcomes everyone and great with kids. I do think having a dog with plenty of teeth is great while you are travelling though. I am sure it deters prowlers and thieves- they don't want the noise or the risk of a bite! We have never had a problem anyway.
Of course, you really wouldn't want to travel and camp with a dog which might actually be very territorial and viciously attack anyone walking near your van. Imagine! Lynne
AnswerID: 431143

Reply By: Rossco td105 - Friday, Sep 24, 2010 at 21:45

Friday, Sep 24, 2010 at 21:45
Hey Axle,

Couple of 60kg Ridgebacks, the girl would have to chose between running and hiding or licking you to death, the boy looks out for his pack (especially our 3 year old!)

They travel everywhere with us and I reckon it's 50/50 our/their security!

AnswerID: 431356