Road Rules

Submitted: Thursday, Sep 23, 2010 at 17:40
ThreadID: 81512 Views:4650 Replies:12 FollowUps:24
Do merging rules differ from state to state??????
http://www.townsvillebulletin.com.au/article/2010/09/23/172351_news.html

Reply By: Tonyfish#58 - Thursday, Sep 23, 2010 at 17:47

Thursday, Sep 23, 2010 at 17:47
I did not read all the article - But merging lanes should be straight forward. One of the lanes will have a give way line crossing it, if you have the give way line then the give way rule applies.

Cairns has a lot of LH Merging lanes ending with a Give Way line. I do not see many RH lanes with the give way line but they are out there

I have heard that there is a new merging rule that has just been implemented, and that you must allow vehicles to merge - I am sure someone will look that up for us - I am too lazy at the moment :-)

Cheers Tony
AnswerID: 431230

Follow Up By: Member - Two and a half Myles - Thursday, Sep 23, 2010 at 18:18

Thursday, Sep 23, 2010 at 18:18
In WA the rule seems to be that if you are in a lane then under no circumstances should you let anyone else merge into that lane. If someone looks like sneaking in front of you then speed up and cut them off at the pass, if they try and get in behind you then slow down and take their front out.

And as for the use of the right hand lane I once asked a local Perth driver what she thought the primary purpose of the right hand lane was and she responded "It's my red carpet"

FollowupID: 701984

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh - Thursday, Sep 23, 2010 at 18:53

Thursday, Sep 23, 2010 at 18:53
I believe your right Tony.
In NSW years gone by, the right hand lane use to have the broke line at the end, indicating that, it had to give way to the left lane. Which made sense, you are the one overtaking you make sure you have the speed and room to do it.
Now all left lanes(H'way) must give way to the overtaking vehicle in the right lane.
As stated above "It's my red carpet" this is what people use the right hand lane for these days.
They take the opportunity to overtake a vehicle, car/trailer, truck which is traveling much slower, and at the end of the overtaking lane force them to give way to them. then what gets up my nose is, they then slow back down and cause a line to form behind them.
Which I think is very rude, to say the lest.
Hmmm

FollowupID: 701986

Reply By: Member - Stuart P (WA) - Thursday, Sep 23, 2010 at 17:53

Thursday, Sep 23, 2010 at 17:53
crikey i thought it was the bigger the hat and bull bar won the right of way !!!!!!!!!
AnswerID: 431232

Follow Up By: Member - Redbakk (WA) - Friday, Sep 24, 2010 at 11:26

Friday, Sep 24, 2010 at 11:26
YEP....this works for me too.

FollowupID: 702046

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Thursday, Sep 23, 2010 at 17:57

Thursday, Sep 23, 2010 at 17:57
There's two merging rules and they differ according to whether you are in a marked lane or not. Same is SA although I reckon half our drivers here wouldn't have a clue about it.

This link explains the two rules.
AnswerID: 431234

Follow Up By: Tonyfish#58 - Thursday, Sep 23, 2010 at 18:14

Thursday, Sep 23, 2010 at 18:14
Its not rocket science is it :-) ?

It is the merging without the give way line that has just had a lot of press

Cheers Tony
FollowupID: 701980

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Thursday, Sep 23, 2010 at 20:15

Thursday, Sep 23, 2010 at 20:15
Yep, its not rocket science but the rule changed Australia Wide about 2 years ago, and there are plenty out there who reckon they know better.
FollowupID: 702000

Follow Up By: Member - Redbakk (WA) - Friday, Sep 24, 2010 at 11:29

Friday, Sep 24, 2010 at 11:29
Do we need lines now......what happened to courtesy, patience, and goodwill towards all men etc????
FollowupID: 702047

Reply By: Member - Shane D (QLD) - Thursday, Sep 23, 2010 at 18:47

Thursday, Sep 23, 2010 at 18:47
The rules are;

If you have to cross a line, you have to give way.

If the centre line simply dissapears (for traffic travelling the same direction) the vehicle in front has the "right of way"

I see idiots that drive down freeway on ramps at 50ks and wonder why they can't get onto the freeway when they stop at the end of the ramp!!

onus is on the vehicle entering a freeway enviroment to be at freeway speed and they will find it much easier to merge

There are PLENTY of poeple who think that putting a blinker on is their god given gift to do whatever they want, whatever the circumstance
AnswerID: 431240

Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Thursday, Sep 23, 2010 at 19:17

Thursday, Sep 23, 2010 at 19:17
I agree, you have to do the posted speed when merging, you see drivers merging doing 60kph on to the M1 and continue at that speed up the hwy, all the vehicles have to either try and pass or come to a quick slow down and get stuck behind these morons oblivious to whats going on around them.
FollowupID: 701988

Follow Up By: Notso - Thursday, Sep 23, 2010 at 19:55

Thursday, Sep 23, 2010 at 19:55
Go to ACT and you'll see the absolute worst merging skills in Aus.

Everyone thinks they own the lane they are in, and if you indicate that you want to change lanes they'll speed up to try and stop you merging, hence no-one every indicates as they know the gaps will get blocked up.

Ah well I hear they all got their bad habits from Melbourne drivers.
FollowupID: 701996

Follow Up By: Stevesub1 - Friday, Sep 24, 2010 at 15:16

Friday, Sep 24, 2010 at 15:16
Shane D, I agree, where there is a line and you are crossing it, you MUST give way - or that is what is says in the road code and what I have been taught. Pity about the 4 million or so QLD drivers who don't agree and use it as a merge and do not give way.

So we just follow the rest of the herd to preserve our paintwork and insurance no claims.

As for Notso's comment, try driving in New Zealand, they are the very worst as not letting people in, even worse than the worst I have seen in Australia.

Stevesub
FollowupID: 702061

Reply By: townsville - Thursday, Sep 23, 2010 at 18:51

Thursday, Sep 23, 2010 at 18:51
The main rule around here is a bit 'rubbery.'..
that means if you can lay enough rubber to get AWAY from the other bloke,
u will be ok..........bit hard sometimes when u own a 91 troopy..lol
AnswerID: 431242

Reply By: Member -Pinko (NSW) - Thursday, Sep 23, 2010 at 19:24

Thursday, Sep 23, 2010 at 19:24
On the Pacific Highway north coast NSW if a b-double indicates he wants to merge right he does with no argument. If a car wants to do the same he doesn't.
Weird isn't it.
Stan
Living is a journey,it depends on where you go !
VKS 737 mobile 0049 selcall 0049

AnswerID: 431249

Follow Up By: SDG - Thursday, Sep 23, 2010 at 19:43

Thursday, Sep 23, 2010 at 19:43
Saw a tank about a year ago just out of Wagga. Property owner going from one property to another. Wonder who he gives way to????

FollowupID: 701995

Follow Up By: Member - Redbakk (WA) - Friday, Sep 24, 2010 at 11:32

Friday, Sep 24, 2010 at 11:32
Same with trains, roadtrains,bulldozers,etc, etc.

They are pretty persuasive...I might give to them ; )))
FollowupID: 702048

Reply By: Wal Footrot - Thursday, Sep 23, 2010 at 20:38

Thursday, Sep 23, 2010 at 20:38
This whole debate is about tolerance and common sense. All I want to do is keep driving in one piece. If a driver wants to force the issue and break the law by trying to push in front of me I simply let him/her do it. Yes, there is a more than slight rush of testosterone at the moment but I let it ride (pun intended). If everyone took the same approach, realised that they might only be a second/minute or two later to their destination then maybe motoring would far less stressful for those who have to clean up afterwards - ambos. police fireys, EMS staff, etc.
AnswerID: 431256

Follow Up By: SDG - Thursday, Sep 23, 2010 at 21:55

Thursday, Sep 23, 2010 at 21:55
I agree Wal. Sit back, relax, be more tolerant, who cares if your going to be ten minutes later in drive time.
FollowupID: 702007

Reply By: Ianw - Thursday, Sep 23, 2010 at 21:48

Thursday, Sep 23, 2010 at 21:48
NSWNSW
Scroll down to para 148

VICVIC
Scroll down to para 148

SASA
And again Scroll to para 148

All are the same (straight from the Australian Road Rules )

AnswerID: 431264

Follow Up By: Ianw - Thursday, Sep 23, 2010 at 23:16

Thursday, Sep 23, 2010 at 23:16
Bit more difficult to find but here is Qld
Qld

sect 11 para 148

FollowupID: 702012

Follow Up By: Stu & "Bob" - Thursday, Sep 23, 2010 at 23:17

Thursday, Sep 23, 2010 at 23:17
See NSW Para (Rule) 149

"149 Giving way when lines of traffic merge into a single line of traffic

A driver in a line of traffic that is merging with one or more lines of traffic travelling in the same direction as the driver must give way to a vehicle in another line of traffic if any part of the vehicle is ahead of the driver’s vehicle. "

The way that I interpret that is that one must give way irrespective of any line marking, if any part of the other vehicle is in front of your vehicle.

It seems to be a bit contradictory to Para (rule) 148 though.

FollowupID: 702013

Follow Up By: Ianw - Thursday, Sep 23, 2010 at 23:58

Thursday, Sep 23, 2010 at 23:58
WA is a bit wierd but can be found

WA

go to PDF page 179 or page 161 of the document

FollowupID: 702014

Follow Up By: Ianw - Thursday, Sep 23, 2010 at 23:59

Thursday, Sep 23, 2010 at 23:59
Stu & "Bob

2 different rules for two different situations

FollowupID: 702015

Follow Up By: Ianw - Friday, Sep 24, 2010 at 20:53

Friday, Sep 24, 2010 at 20:53
It would appear that WA has not yet adopted the Australian Road Rules

FollowupID: 702091

Follow Up By: Ianw - Friday, Sep 24, 2010 at 21:49

Friday, Sep 24, 2010 at 21:49
Tassie road rules

FollowupID: 702100

Reply By: get outmore - Friday, Sep 24, 2010 at 02:35

Friday, Sep 24, 2010 at 02:35
in WA it is the vehicle in front , I thought the stanard give way to your right applies but it doesnt

Its my buggest argument against staying left unless overtaking -if you dothat all you do is constantly contend with merging traffick so why would you?
AnswerID: 431275

Follow Up By: gbc - Friday, Sep 24, 2010 at 05:53

Friday, Sep 24, 2010 at 05:53
Yeah, stuff anyone else doing the right thing - I'll just putt along in the middle lane and choke the whole highway off. That's the attitude I see every day in this great land - wouldn't matter if a highway was ten lanes wide - attitudes like yours would still find a way to choke them.
FollowupID: 702017

Follow Up By: get outmore - Friday, Sep 24, 2010 at 09:34

Friday, Sep 24, 2010 at 09:34
who putts along? - Im just pointing out how little sense it makes to have everyone driving in the left lane and then merge trafick into it when you hve a relativly empty right lane.

I dosit in the left lane but when approaching a merge point with a heavy amount of meging trafick, b doubles etc I often skip into the right lane
FollowupID: 702029

Follow Up By: Wokwon - Friday, Sep 24, 2010 at 09:47

Friday, Sep 24, 2010 at 09:47
In Vic, on the Geelong road, I found it's actually faster to sit in the left lane as there is no one in front of you. I can sit on 103 all the way merrily overtaking people who are on my right. The occasional car merges from an on ramp but then immediately changes to the centre or right lane thus clearing the way for me.

I used to worry about overtaking on the left (my Father taught me that it's extremely impolite) but then I found out it's perfectly legal on a multi lane road so now I just do it.
FollowupID: 702033

Follow Up By: Tonyfish#58 - Sunday, Sep 26, 2010 at 17:34

Sunday, Sep 26, 2010 at 17:34
Get outmore - Not correct - You too have to either obey the give way line if it is there, if it is not give way to the vehucle in front :-)

Check this link

WA MERGING RULES

Cheers Tony
FollowupID: 702261

Reply By: Member - Rod N (QLD) - Friday, Sep 24, 2010 at 09:59

Friday, Sep 24, 2010 at 09:59
I live in Qld but at the moment I am in Perth and find the lack of 'merging' lines confusing in that at the end of the left lane there is suddenly a great expanse of bitumen 'no mans land'.
One solution bandied around in Perth is to install red lights on the left merging lane. Apparently this system is used in NZ where the light goes on and off to let one car at a time into the right lane. Seems to me this would cause a bigger problem by slowing the traffic flow even more.
As others have said, some common courtesy is the name of the game.
AnswerID: 431297

Reply By: Member - Oldbaz. NSW. - Friday, Sep 24, 2010 at 10:49

Friday, Sep 24, 2010 at 10:49
I was under the impression that if I needed to cross a line at merging I had to give way. I find merging manners have improved of late anyway, particularly all
the good people that move to the right lane on dual carriageways, when safe, to
let me enter the left lane. All trucks will do it & most cars. The thing that annoys
me most is the wild array of signals that now happen on roundabouts, plenty
signal right & then go straight through. I suppose you just have to be alert.
....oldbaz.
AnswerID: 431300

Follow Up By: Member - Rod N (QLD) - Friday, Sep 24, 2010 at 13:28

Friday, Sep 24, 2010 at 13:28
As mentioned previously this link is excellent in showing some of the rules. Road Rules

In the roundabout one it says there is no need to signal if going straight ahead, which is what I understood. HOWEVER I am in Perth at the moment and there is a TV ad that says you MUST signal right before you enter a roundabout, even if going straight ahead. Also a lot of times if you 'beat' someone on your right not near to the roundabout to it there is great flashing of lights and blaring of horns.

As you say, I too suppose you have to be alert. I think everyone is in too much of a hurry and too competitive.
FollowupID: 702053

Follow Up By: Member - Oldbaz. NSW. - Friday, Sep 24, 2010 at 14:05

Friday, Sep 24, 2010 at 14:05
I agree with you about the hurry & competitive nature of many drivers. I find ,in
my senior years, I drive very defensively & never contest a tight situation, not
worth it. I find that oncoming cars at roundabouts signalling right causes me to
stop & give way, but they then proceed straight through...this disrupts traffic flow
& frustrates me as well. Then some twit behind me blows the horn because I
stopped to give way to a right indicating vehicle....cant win I guess....:)))...oldbaz.
FollowupID: 702054

Reply By: Hairs & Fysh - Friday, Sep 24, 2010 at 13:39

Friday, Sep 24, 2010 at 13:39
If any of you guys have traveled across the Grafton Bridge from South to North will know what I'm talking about here.
After exiting a roundabout about 180 meters heading towards the bridge the left lane ends, it has the broke Give Way lines in the road. Most people stay in the right lane to cross over the bridge.A lot and I mean a hell of a lot use it as an opportunity to make up ground on the slow moving right lane and FORCE their way into the right lane.
Mid morning I am heading from south to north, as usual the traffic is at walking pace, I look in the rear view mirror nothing in either lane back to the round about, then a Garbage truck comes screaming up in the right lane, moves to the left lane with only about 50 meters to the merging line and tries to force his way in front of me.
I'm sorry there was no way I was giving way to him as he tries to cross broken lines to pull in front of me. This forces him to stop, which allows other vehicles that had caught up to me to leave him sitting at the end of the lane.
Call me what you will, but I have right of way and 9 time out of 10 I will allow traffic to pull in front of me at this section of road when the road is full.
But to move from one lane to the next to gain a car place in traffic, well, he found himself several car spots behind where he would of been had he sat behind me.
Rant over :)

Enjoy your weekend fellas.

AnswerID: 431312