Road Bullies
Submitted: Sunday, Sep 26, 2010 at 11:30
Gone Bush (WA)
Quite often you see drivers initimidating other road users in various ways. Some seem to think it's a bit of a game.
The other day I was driving up to
Perth on the Kwinana Freeway and a big imported F450 dually (dual rear
wheels) was really abusing the impact his huge vehicle has on other road users.
Tail gating until the front vehicle moved over.
Changing lanes with the absolute minimum clearance between vehicles.
Accelerating in short bursts to get really close to other vehicles.
Speeding about 20kph above the limit.
Courtesy should be the primary consideration these days. It is sadly lacking.
I reckon that aggression and lack of consideration must rate right up there with speed and alcohol as contributing causes in a lot of accidents these days.
Unfortunately I don't know how to change this.
Reply By: Member - Oldbaz. NSW. - Sunday, Sep 26, 2010 at 12:07
Sunday, Sep 26, 2010 at 12:07
As much as I hate to say it I think this attitude is an Aussie thing. I could not believe the courtesy shown by drivers in the UK when motoring around there
a while back. While I was sometimes in the wrong place to go where I intended
I was never given any
sign of disapproval & many would go out of their way to
facilitate my progress. None of the aggression seen here. Wait 2 seconds at the green light & horns blow...leave a gap between you & the car in front & two
will force their way in, no one uses the slow lane on freeways & then reacts badly
if passed on the inside. None of these things are the provence of the
young either, plenty of old farts like me are the worst offenders. I do admit most
caravaners &
camping folk are pretty good, although some use speeds I would
never consider. I dont know the answer either, but try to show respect to other
road users...always.......oldbaz
Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Sunday, Sep 26, 2010 at 12:19
Sunday, Sep 26, 2010 at 12:19
Yes its an Aussie thing, have to be first.
Was going down south of Coffs last week getting tailgated by a Dodge Ram with a huge 5th wheeler on behind was about 35ft and by the look of it, an illegal American one as it didnt have a door on the left side.
He passed me and dissappeared doing over 12kph with it all on.
Got about 15k down the road and its pulled into a servo.
WT why tavel so fast, would be great to stop in a hurry I bet.
Follow Up By: Member - John Baas (WA) - Sunday, Sep 26, 2010 at 13:34
Sunday, Sep 26, 2010 at 13:34
Agree.
We've recently come back after dealing with both narrow provincial roads and super motorways in Netherlands and in the UK.
Quite a few times I picked the wrong lanes going into some of the giant interchange systems and had to recover. Only got tooted once and it was richly deserved in that case; and it wasn't a particularly aggressive toot at that.
Follow Up By: rocco2010 - Sunday, Sep 26, 2010 at 13:40
Sunday, Sep 26, 2010 at 13:40
Gidday
sorry if it is a broken record .. have to agree about UK driving habits. Just imagine if Hyde
Park corner with god knows how many roads feeding in to a giant roundabout was in
perth where hardly anybody even knows how to merge safely ... and the lane discipline on the motorways is sensational. you pull out, pass, then move back.
Follow Up By: Andrew & Jen - Sunday, Sep 26, 2010 at 16:06
Sunday, Sep 26, 2010 at 16:06
Ah, but try France! :-)
Follow Up By: Wizard1 - Monday, Sep 27, 2010 at 08:11
Monday, Sep 27, 2010 at 08:11
I do not subscribe to the theory that it is an "Aussie Thing"
I was recently in the UAE. The speed limit on the freeways there is 120 kph, but that doesn't seem to be enough for some.
On numerous occassions, while doing the speed limit a local would zoom up behind you flashing lights, etc. Usually in a late model Mercedes, Lexus or Landcruiser.
Then after they got past you they would then try and push you off the roadway!
Although I do not condone that sort of behaviour at home, we are tame compared to other countries. Over there you don't react as you would probably be the one ending up in jail.
Follow Up By: Wilko - Monday, Sep 27, 2010 at 11:19
Monday, Sep 27, 2010 at 11:19
Definatly not an Aussie thing, My Rodeo would be lucky to do 120 so Im never 1st lol
Cheers Wilko
Follow Up By: tim_c - Monday, Sep 27, 2010 at 18:53
Monday, Sep 27, 2010 at 18:53
Ha! You should try driving in Asia sometime - the horns are tooting 2sec. BEFORE the light goes green...
Follow Up By: bgreeni - Monday, Sep 27, 2010 at 20:32
Monday, Sep 27, 2010 at 20:32
Recently did a bit of driving in Russia near Moscow. They are completely mad there. Pass on wrong side. Pass with oncoming traffic, even oncoming trucks. Drive with one hand permanently on the horn. Don't seem to be many road rules, or if there are no one obeys them.
Reply By: nsngood - Sunday, Sep 26, 2010 at 12:09
Sunday, Sep 26, 2010 at 12:09
To change this behaviour ?
Rego number report to the nearest
police station.
one report probably does nothing .But if enough reports are made possibly something.
Or get a KENWORTH and return the favor.
Follow Up By: Member - Old Girl (QLD) - Sunday, Sep 26, 2010 at 13:44
Sunday, Sep 26, 2010 at 13:44
Flick the last trailer and watch em keep away.
Follow Up By: nsngood - Sunday, Sep 26, 2010 at 14:59
Sunday, Sep 26, 2010 at 14:59
Old Girl it's amazing how wobbly those last trailers can get sometimes lol
Reply By: Member - Bucky - Sunday, Sep 26, 2010 at 13:38
Sunday, Sep 26, 2010 at 13:38
Don't whinge mate
Get their Rego No. and vehicle couour, and CALL THE COPS
That is what your rights are, and use them.
Never get intimidated, even by a road train, if they are behind you.
Guess what ?......... You have the right of way.
Follow Up By: Kev - Member - Wynnum - Sunday, Sep 26, 2010 at 15:24
Sunday, Sep 26, 2010 at 15:24
Hi Bucky,
Not a lot of good calling the police with limited information.
The least you will need is a description of the car including rego. number and a description of the driver and the ability to provide a written statement about the incident.
Remember the police did not see the incident and cannot prosecute without your evidence which may have to be given, on oath, in a court.
The days are long gone when the police can interview a person about an offence when the only evidence of the offence is a phone call from an unknown witness.
Kev
Follow Up By: Member - Bucky - Monday, Sep 27, 2010 at 04:40
Monday, Sep 27, 2010 at 04:40
Kev
Just check out the facts first mate, times have changed.
There are "anti hoon" laws in place in Vic now, and I am sure that they are either in, or being looked at by other states.
Trust me, police will act, if you report idiots on the road.
There is a "dob-in-a-hoon" information card and hotline available also.
Google "dob in a hoon" and check out the results, Oz wide ( almost )
Follow Up By: Kev - Member - Wynnum - Monday, Sep 27, 2010 at 07:10
Monday, Sep 27, 2010 at 07:10
Bucky,
Yes Queensland has tough anti hoon laws also but the rules of evidence don't change. For any officer to prosecute an offender and confiscate his car he always needs positive identification, of the offender, and first hand evidence of the offence to put before the Court.
In Qld. police action in relation to hoon notifications is to watch subsequent behaviour of the offender and his vehicle, it's not too long before he reoffends.
Rarely is action taken against the reported offence unless there is evidence. I feel that if you wish to dob in a hoon you should have the intestinal fortitude to stand up and make it public.
Mind you many cars are confiscated and offenders prosecuted
Kev
Follow Up By: Member - Bucky - Tuesday, Sep 28, 2010 at 02:34
Tuesday, Sep 28, 2010 at 02:34
Kev
Then it's back to the old fashioned treatment of bullies
Cheres
Reply By: Member - Old Girl (QLD) - Sunday, Sep 26, 2010 at 13:42
Sunday, Sep 26, 2010 at 13:42
Little cars are just as bad. Tailgating gee you do the speed limit and we are still in their way. Stuff em I say go slower. You are suppose to see the rear tyres of the car in front at lights. What happened to that rule. Stop at a
stop sign count to three which is what we are suppose to do. I've had people toot to hurry up. These people are just bullies.
Follow Up By: Rosss- Sunday, Sep 26, 2010 at 14:24
Sunday, Sep 26, 2010 at 14:24
Have to agree, tailgaters are easily fixed up, the closer they get, the slower I go, and when they go past swearing and cursing you just blow them a kiss, that really gets up there nose.
Reply By: Member - Carl- Sunday, Sep 26, 2010 at 14:58
Sunday, Sep 26, 2010 at 14:58
Gone Bush, on behalf of F truck drivers, I apogise for his driving. From experience, most of us are considerate of "impression" these trucks create on the roads.
F trucks however are also the recipients of bad drivers that have no thoughts for others.
Parking right next to them so their door will not open for example. For this reason we have to take an extra bay when
parking. They are also huge to turn and for this reason need to take extra room, particually in car parks. Small cars duck in and give us heart attacks.
Please do not paint us all by this 'road hoon".
Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Sunday, Sep 26, 2010 at 15:05
Sunday, Sep 26, 2010 at 15:05
Hullo Carl,
Don't get me wrong, I'm not applying a blanket accusation here. This bloke just wanted to push his weight around.
He would have got a lot of admiring glances if he had just conducted himself in a friendly manner.
It was a beautiful truck, let down by the pathetic loose nut behind the wheel.
Follow Up By: Member - Carl- Sunday, Sep 26, 2010 at 15:09
Sunday, Sep 26, 2010 at 15:09
Someone in the land of the free and the
home of the brave, has made a F450 limousine.
Other F450's on Youtube look fantastic. Sigh.......................will never have one.
Reply By: Nutta - Sunday, Sep 26, 2010 at 18:13
Sunday, Sep 26, 2010 at 18:13
I still find alot of these so called nuts are only trying to pass people blocking the rh lane on multilane highways.
I simply do my passing and get back in the left lane, easy.
It's their gamble if they want to sit 20 Kay over the speed limit.
Obviously if it's single lane stand your ground!
Follow Up By: Motherhen - Sunday, Sep 26, 2010 at 18:30
Sunday, Sep 26, 2010 at 18:30
Hi Nutta and GB
I meet a number of these; on a rural road you get to a passing lane, and the clown in front tries to pass the slower vehicle in front. He can't quite make it, so instead of pulling back and letting the string of cars pass the slower vehicle, he stays there blocking the lane, right to the end of the dual lane before pulling back. I have been to Bunbury a few times over the past week and it seemed that even when i was sitting on the legal speed limit, as soon as we got into a passing lane, someone would always race past me at what must have been over 120 km, only to slow down to 10 or 20 kms below the speed limit as soon as they were out of the passing lane. GRRRRR.
Follow Up By: Member - Paul F (INT) - Wednesday, Sep 29, 2010 at 14:08
Wednesday, Sep 29, 2010 at 14:08
Motherhen;
I always thought it was me that was caught out with these clowns that insist on speeding up at an overtaking lane, only to slow down at the other end of it.
with a bit of luck the law may cotton on to these stupid antics of some and penalise them for it
Reply By: Wilko - Sunday, Sep 26, 2010 at 18:28
Sunday, Sep 26, 2010 at 18:28
Hi Gone bush,
I had a V8 commodore tailgate me today. I was towing my boat so couldnt do more then 95km up some of the hills. With limited overtaking lanes and limited areas to pull over to let him pass, He was reving and accelerating and generally trying to "Bully" me.
He eventually overtook me giving me the one finger salute on the way past.
In the next town he had pulled into a service station so on advice from my passenger (an off duty copper) we confronted him. He was charged with negligent driving and then really lost it.
The only way to beat a bully/imbo is to make him accountable for his actions
Cheers Wilko
Follow Up By: Member - Bucky - Monday, Sep 27, 2010 at 04:41
Monday, Sep 27, 2010 at 04:41
Go Wilko
Follow Up By: Ozrover - Monday, Sep 27, 2010 at 09:37
Monday, Sep 27, 2010 at 09:37
Wilko,
I love this one, you never know who is in the other car, they may be an off duty copper or another Ivan Millat with a bootload of automatic weapons.
Follow Up By: Wilko - Monday, Sep 27, 2010 at 11:23
Monday, Sep 27, 2010 at 11:23
Hi Jeff,
I generally wouldnt have gave it a 2nd thought (think what a tool and go my merry way) but when my mate (who is a local area commander) said do it I did. I didnt wanna get done for obstructing police lol.
Cheers Wilko
Reply By: Member - Old Girl (QLD) - Monday, Sep 27, 2010 at 19:46
Monday, Sep 27, 2010 at 19:46
There was a story no so long ago written by one of our members. He was being chased. Very scary stuff. He used his nav to make sure he didn't go down any dead ends. He called up his mate with a couple of scary dogs to help out. We just don't know what these nuts are on.
Reply By: Troppo Tom (Virginia, N.T.) - Wednesday, Sep 29, 2010 at 23:12
Wednesday, Sep 29, 2010 at 23:12
I was driving South from
Darwin on Sunday afternoon. First one car was tailgating me; I was sitting on 110. He overtook and was replaced by another tailgater. Then my right hand tyre blew out on my camper just before
Manton Dam. Tread, number plate, mud flap and bits and pieces of my light spewed backwards towards him. He certainly backed off quickly. He may think twice about tailgating in the future.
I also put the remains of the tyre and the rim back on the spare holder. The flapping of rubber put off potential tailgaters until I got home again.
Reply By: petengail - Monday, Oct 04, 2010 at 20:17
Monday, Oct 04, 2010 at 20:17
we spent 3 years in the usa - apart from 20 odd years overseas in other
places and you know apart from the usual tv/movie stereotype - i didnt even hear a tyre squeal... as some have said before, basically i think its an aussie macho thing, dont understand it myself but there it is... my brother was a hoon, i never got the gene....