NEW ARRIVALS

Submitted: Tuesday, Oct 28, 2003 at 23:18
ThreadID: 8160 Views:1540 Replies:16 FollowUps:5
To those that know me, and or know of me, my other half just gave birth to identical twin boy's last Monday, after all of the trouble we have had, they are here-safe and well! About 6 months ago they were diagnosed as having twin-to-twin-transfusion or TTS for short, to cut a long story short, it was a very bleak outlook. We were told everthing from one surviving and the other not, to neither survivng, not to mention brain damage, lung damage, kidney damage etc, and the docters all recommended an abortion, but where there is a will, there is a way!!!
This called for a trip to the Matter hospital in Brisbane (we live in central Vic) where they are the only place in Australia that treats the condition buy using a laser to cut the placenta in half. But when we were there they monitored her for three weeks and all of a sudden everything just started improving on it's own, So we went home and have travelled to a specialist once a week (which is 180k's away) up until now, we have two exceptionally healthy little boys, so it is time for a celebration drink..........Stuart

Reply By: Member - Toonfish - Tuesday, Oct 28, 2003 at 23:35

Tuesday, Oct 28, 2003 at 23:35
great to hear.
they are certainly worth it
my boys are our life no matter what happens b4 during or after birth its worth it .
(wife agrees in principal but says what would i know i did all the hard work??lmao)
true very true.
i prefer love job to hard job(TIC)
best of luck one and all for the future
sleep deprivation is a known exercised form of torture for cia and such but all kids learn it real quick.
lol1999 NISSAN NAVARA DUALCAB
DIESEL 3.2 & SPRINGY CARLTON TOY
2 awestruck kids (dads driving!)
AnswerID: 35496

Reply By: Hilly - Wednesday, Oct 29, 2003 at 00:18

Wednesday, Oct 29, 2003 at 00:18
I'll drink to that.

Hilly

(Just make sure your vehicle has good anchor points for those safety capsules)
(Grinning here)
AnswerID: 35501

Reply By: mrdesmo - Wednesday, Oct 29, 2003 at 03:22

Wednesday, Oct 29, 2003 at 03:22
Hi Stuart,
Congratulations, to you and your missus...best of luck for the future :-)

I'll drink to that

We got a little one due next week.

AnswerID: 35507

Reply By: Chris (W.A.) - Wednesday, Oct 29, 2003 at 04:50

Wednesday, Oct 29, 2003 at 04:50
Excellent news to hear, all the best for the twins and may they drive landcruisers.

Apart from that, it's good to hear your positive news.
I can understand how thrilled you are and relieved.

Kindest regards.

Chris.Nice southerly coastal fishing trip someday.
AnswerID: 35511

Follow Up By: Stuart - Wednesday, Oct 29, 2003 at 19:19

Wednesday, Oct 29, 2003 at 19:19
G'day Chris, it is funny that you said "may they drive Landcruisers", because my Grandfather has a cruiser, my father has a cruiser, my father's only brother has a cruiser, and l just got rid of a pajero and bought (you guessed it) a Landcruiser, and it looks very similar to your one in the photo!
FollowupID: 25737

Reply By: Treading Lightly - Wednesday, Oct 29, 2003 at 07:20

Wednesday, Oct 29, 2003 at 07:20
Stuart,

After the bad start, these boys are something special. You can bet that in the future the great creator has something in mind for these two.

Look after them.

Congrats to you both.

JD Life is to good to be dead.
AnswerID: 35514

Follow Up By: Member - Geoff & Jen - Wednesday, Oct 29, 2003 at 20:41

Wednesday, Oct 29, 2003 at 20:41
Stuart and family, Congratulations!! I agree with "treading lightly", when your babies were in the making a greater hand other than mans was still moulding. We had Drs tell my brother and his wife to abort their baby as it would be very deformed. They disagreed and said their love for this child would not allow it. She was born a beautiful faultless baby and now a "model" beautiful young lady. Jen
FollowupID: 25744

Reply By: JohnR - Wednesday, Oct 29, 2003 at 09:08

Wednesday, Oct 29, 2003 at 09:08
Stuart,

Congratulations to the both of you for the perserverence and now enjoy your rewards. Look after them, yes twin safety capsules.

AnswerID: 35528

Reply By: Waynepd (NSW) - Wednesday, Oct 29, 2003 at 11:09

Wednesday, Oct 29, 2003 at 11:09
Great news Stuart,
Congratulations and all the best for their future

WayneCheers
waynepd
%
%:-)
%
AnswerID: 35537

Reply By: Andrew - Wednesday, Oct 29, 2003 at 11:12

Wednesday, Oct 29, 2003 at 11:12
Wow - what a harrowing pregnancy it must have been for both of you. To have a successful outcome after all the stress and worry is terrific news. You must emotionally rung out now that the pregnancy is over and the work is just beginning.
Remember that it is the fathers duty to not work too much, get up at night and help with the feeding and settling etc. I hope that you have plenty of family and friends lined up to help out.

Congratulations again. What are the little guys names?

AnswerID: 35538

Follow Up By: Stuart - Wednesday, Oct 29, 2003 at 19:14

Wednesday, Oct 29, 2003 at 19:14
G'day Andrew, the boys names and weights are:Thomas Stuart Langley weighing 5p2o and Mitchell Stuart Langley weighing 6p9o, if you scroll down the page l gave a rough explanation of the weight differences. All the best......Stuart
FollowupID: 25736

Reply By: Member - Melissa - Wednesday, Oct 29, 2003 at 11:41

Wednesday, Oct 29, 2003 at 11:41
Hi Stuart,

Congrats to you and your wife. Glad to here everything has worked out so well. I have a twin brother and can vouch from personal experience just how great it is to grow up with your very own 24/7 playmate. The boys will have a great time and whilst there might be times you and your wife will probably wonder what the hell you were thinking, you'll never doubt that they aren't the best thing that ever happened to you. Best of luck.

:o) MelissaPetrol 4.5L GU Patrol &
Camprite TL8 offroad camper
AnswerID: 35546

Reply By: Member - Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Wednesday, Oct 29, 2003 at 12:29

Wednesday, Oct 29, 2003 at 12:29
Congratulations Stuart,

lovely to hear about such a great outcome, lots of love, health and happiness to you, your wife and your new boys. Enjoy!

Lyn & Al - Tegan & Callumnemo me impune lacessit

Memorial Cross - Mt Macedon Vic

AnswerID: 35559

Reply By: Member - Des Lexik(SA) - Wednesday, Oct 29, 2003 at 14:13

Wednesday, Oct 29, 2003 at 14:13
Congratulations and Best Wishes to you all.
It sure is good to hear the Good News Stories.
I'll drink a silent toast to you and your wife tonight.ne cede malis
AnswerID: 35578

Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Wednesday, Oct 29, 2003 at 16:08

Wednesday, Oct 29, 2003 at 16:08
Congrats Stuart for getting thru the hard part, its all downhill from here, kids are great fun, keep you young, encourage you to live life. Celebrate with GLAYVA its good enough to enjoy and fun too

Stay saneLaterally Literal
Seriously Cerebral
AnswerID: 35597

Reply By: Member -BJ (Sydney) - Wednesday, Oct 29, 2003 at 16:18

Wednesday, Oct 29, 2003 at 16:18
Congratulations Stuart bwest wishes to your enlarged family, (now the fun really starts)
Regards Bob
Where to next
AnswerID: 35600

Reply By: Stuart - Wednesday, Oct 29, 2003 at 19:07

Wednesday, Oct 29, 2003 at 19:07
TO ALL OF THOSE WHO TOOK THE TIME TO CONGRATULATE US------THANKYOU. YOU ARE A GREAT BUNCH OF PEOPLE, I THINK ANDREW AKSED THEIR NAMES,"THOMAS STUART LANGLEY AND MITCHELL STUART LANGLEY", Little Tommy was born weighing 5 pounds 2 ounces and Mitch was 6 pound 9 ounces. The size difference was due to the TTS, what happens is the placenta aloows the blood and all the nutrients to travell from one baby to the other but not back again, resulting in to little amniotic fluid around one and too much around the other, both can cause very serious problems in their own right. But know little Tommy is feeding more than his larger brother, so l don't think it will take him long to catch up, anyway you are all a great bunh of people, look forward to meeting up with you all on the track, it is time for a bit more cellebrating.........Stuart
AnswerID: 35620

Follow Up By: Andrew - Wednesday, Oct 29, 2003 at 22:01

Wednesday, Oct 29, 2003 at 22:01
Gosh Stuart
Your little guys sound fabulous. Mitchell and Thomas have a combined weight of nearly 12lbs and with all the amniotic fluid, placenta, membranes etc, your poor wife's tummy must have been tight as a drum. Would have been a good hill for the 'cruiser to climb I reckon. I can't imagine you hitting the track for a while - I reckon you will be busy enough at home.
Cheers and lotsa tears ( of joy) over the years.
FollowupID: 25747

Reply By: Brian - Wednesday, Oct 29, 2003 at 20:21

Wednesday, Oct 29, 2003 at 20:21
stuart and family,
Congratulations on the birth of your children. And to overcome such odds as they (and you) have done is a success story second to none. May you all enjoy a lifetime of health and happiness.
S.E Qld.
AnswerID: 35631

Reply By: Member - Eric- Wednesday, Oct 29, 2003 at 21:59

Wednesday, Oct 29, 2003 at 21:59
Congrats Stuart , I was a lucky person to meet Stuart on one of his weekly travels to Melbourne , I am glad to hear that the Wfe and twins are well . Venus Bay
AnswerID: 35646

Follow Up By: Stuart - Wednesday, Oct 29, 2003 at 23:33

Wednesday, Oct 29, 2003 at 23:33
not to mention my new cruiser-it's a bloody ripper!!
FollowupID: 25750