Diesel fuels

Submitted: Wednesday, Sep 29, 2010 at 16:44
ThreadID: 81615 Views:5265 Replies:7 FollowUps:4
What is the difference between the two Diesel's on the market.

Does the Super/special mean it has less sulphur in it .?

Is any body using the super Diesel, and do they find a difference, is it worth spending the extra $$$, ?

Cheers Robert

Reply By: The Landy - Wednesday, Sep 29, 2010 at 17:24

Wednesday, Sep 29, 2010 at 17:24
You haven’t mentioned which ones specifically, but new diesel mixes include include bio-diesel mix, and one that will clean injectors.

Better, worse...all in the eye of the beholder I suspect.

Cheers, The Landy
AnswerID: 431739

Follow Up By: escapesilv - Wednesday, Sep 29, 2010 at 17:57

Wednesday, Sep 29, 2010 at 17:57
Sorry, but I just loaded up Diesel at my regular service station and found on the pump it said "regular Diesel", so on my way I went past another service station where Diesel is 5cts more expensive, and found it said "Premium Diesel".

I Don't have an Idea what the difference is.
FollowupID: 702574

Reply By: Member - Ian F (WA) - Wednesday, Sep 29, 2010 at 20:13

Wednesday, Sep 29, 2010 at 20:13
Travelling to Kalgoorlie from Perth I filled up with Caltex Vortex Diesel, it seemed to make one hell of a difference 12.2l/hkm to 10.5 . RA Rodeo 2006 Manual
AnswerID: 431768

Reply By: Flynnie - Wednesday, Sep 29, 2010 at 21:05

Wednesday, Sep 29, 2010 at 21:05
Have just starting using Caltex Vortex Diesel. I think BP has a premium diesel as well. Too soon to know if it makes any difference economy wise. It is around 2 cents a litre dearer than the diesel at the high volume pumps at the same servo. Driving vehicle seems much the same as before.

For technical info try googling on "vortex diesel' or similar. I did that a while back when someone suggested I try it. This is the sort of stuff you will find on the Caltex website. You may note it does not mention low sulphur levels but all automotive diesel is now low sulphur.

"Our Vortex Diesel is an Australian first. It cleans the vehicle's fuel system as you drive and has been formatted with the latest diesel technology in mind.

Vortex Diesel contains an anti-foaming agent that significantly reduces the risk of splashing. It also eliminates most of the odours that are associated with traditional diesel fuel.

We believe it's the most refined fuel for advanced turbo-diesel engines on the market.

Key benefits:

* Cleans the engine while driving
* Improves engine efficiency
* Reduces foaming to prevent splashback
* Suitable for all diesel-powered vehicles"

End quote

Be careful at the pumps and really make sure the Vortex Diesel is diesel and do not accidentally fill with Vortex petrol 95 or 98. Spoke to a bloke who had done that recently. Major drama!

Flynnie
AnswerID: 431775

Follow Up By: Rockape - Wednesday, Sep 29, 2010 at 21:46

Wednesday, Sep 29, 2010 at 21:46
Flynnie,
Mate rang me up from Alstonville a couple of weeks ago as his old 1HZ was throwing a fit, he had just pumped in 17l of Vortex fom the woolies outlet in Ballina. He was running low and wasn't sure he could get to his local account diesel outlet.

I asked the question is it diesel, answer YEP, says so on the docket. Me say's drain the tank straight away and change your filter, open up the old one and look inside it.

Bloody tight A Cockie he is. He did drop the diesel but didn't change the filter as I had said. Anyway his old girl then ran like a dream, so the vortex was crap. He didn't say anything to them as it was a small amount. I hope no one else got caught there.

FollowupID: 702601

Follow Up By: Flynnie - Wednesday, Sep 29, 2010 at 22:26

Wednesday, Sep 29, 2010 at 22:26
Rockape

I reckon it improves your chances to buy diesel fuel from truck stops. Normally I fill at the high volume pumps. The logic is the servo cannot afford to supply poor or contaminated fuel to the truck drivers - so I would like to think. Therefore I was a bit reluctant to use the Vortex Diesel pump located over where the cars fill up. No problems so far.

As for discount servos, well I only ever use them if I have no alternative and that is very rare.

Re the bloke who put Vortex Petrol instead of Vortex Diesel into his diesel tank. Fortunately he realised straight way and had not driven. A tow truck, drained tank and $700 later he was driving again. The mechanics told him there had been other people doing the same thing and put it down to the "Vortex" name being used for both petrol and diesel and contributing to accidentally putting the wrong fuel in tanks.

Flynnie

FollowupID: 702605

Follow Up By: Rockape - Wednesday, Sep 29, 2010 at 22:33

Wednesday, Sep 29, 2010 at 22:33
Flynnie,
agree 100%.

FollowupID: 702606

Reply By: escapesilv - Thursday, Sep 30, 2010 at 05:29

Thursday, Sep 30, 2010 at 05:29
Thanks to all.

I will give Voltex Diesel a go. It sounds like the logic thing to do.

AnswerID: 431793

Reply By: Yanktigers - Saturday, Oct 23, 2010 at 22:55

Saturday, Oct 23, 2010 at 22:55
I have just started using this Caltex Vortex Premium Diesel. I only bought the fuel in Adelaide because I paid $1.235 per Litre and could not beleive the difference. I have Toyota Hilux Surf Turbo Diesel and the motor purred like a kitten and I already have a better fuel economy. I was so impressed with this fuel I went back to the servo where I purchased the fuel from and enquired and found out that all servos will end up with this fuel. Apparently Caltex and BP are the only two that have it at the moment
AnswerID: 434018

Reply By: Gone Bush (WA) - Saturday, Oct 23, 2010 at 23:19

Saturday, Oct 23, 2010 at 23:19
Check this website:

Diesel details

Scroll down, you will see that Caltex has a bio component in their diesel.

AnswerID: 434020

Reply By: Member - Amy G (QLD) - Sunday, Oct 24, 2010 at 11:10

Sunday, Oct 24, 2010 at 11:10
All Australian diesel is low-sulphur these days. The premium diesel has additives in it- I like to think of it as diesel + Chemtech or similar. I use it from BP and have since I bought my 80 series (I put Chemtech in too) because that's all they have. They also have these hand wipes at the pump that do a marvellous job of getting greasy diesel off :)

Having said that, my car runs fine on normal diesel too and I don't notice any difference in economy. I won't fill with the bio-blends- it's not worth the risk to my old pump seals!

I second the buying from the truck stop idea- you know the turnover is good and high flow pumps are great :)
AnswerID: 434045