Gillies Range fnq now Posted at 60k

Submitted: Thursday, Sep 30, 2010 at 16:25
ThreadID: 81642 Views:4180 Replies:5 FollowUps:4
Whats the world coming too? A few people can not drive and all else have to suffer. For heck sake what was wrong with the posted 80K.

Another knee jerk reaction. IMHO

Cheers Tony

Reply By: Dave(NSW) - Thursday, Sep 30, 2010 at 16:42

Thursday, Sep 30, 2010 at 16:42
That's like in NSW, It's cheaper to change the signs than fix the roads.
Cheers Dave..
GU RULES!!

AnswerID: 431831

Follow Up By: OzTroopy - Thursday, Sep 30, 2010 at 18:02

Thursday, Sep 30, 2010 at 18:02
Yep ..... Wont be long before 25kph is the NSW max speed limit .... in keeping with the road conditions ... LOL
FollowupID: 702646

Reply By: Member - ken b (QLD) - Thursday, Sep 30, 2010 at 23:01

Thursday, Sep 30, 2010 at 23:01
no mate there are so many bends on that road, the dept of transport think,you might get giddy. regards ken brown
AnswerID: 431855

Follow Up By: Tonyfish#58 - Friday, Oct 01, 2010 at 15:58

Friday, Oct 01, 2010 at 15:58
True - But 80 was a fair speed 60 is stupid.

When it was posted at 100 there are many section you can do that speed, the rest you slow down and do what you have to.

Now you get to an overtaking lane and 60 is your limit, but I suppose at 60 there will be few people to overtake.

I wonder how many bikers will lose their license, cause now if they get pegged it will be for over 30k over the limit

Cheers Tony
FollowupID: 702701

Reply By: Member - Ed C (QLD) - Friday, Oct 01, 2010 at 01:14

Friday, Oct 01, 2010 at 01:14
I'm old enough to remember travelling that road with my Dad when it was unsealed, single lane, one way w/- gates (& full-time gatekeepers) at the top & bottom....

Drove trucks up & down there for a while in the early '70's....
Crash boxes & 'Armstrong power steering' made that a lot o' fun....

;-))

Confucius say.....
"He who lie underneath automobile with tool in hand,
....Not necessarily mechanic!!"

AnswerID: 431862

Follow Up By: Tonyfish#58 - Friday, Oct 01, 2010 at 16:00

Friday, Oct 01, 2010 at 16:00
Ed C - That would have been - Drove a truck up there for a few years in the late 80s myself. Most likely did more than 60 going up the hill then :-) with no issues

Cheers Tony
FollowupID: 702702

Reply By: Polaris - Friday, Oct 01, 2010 at 07:16

Friday, Oct 01, 2010 at 07:16
Tony, you are right in a small way - however there are a LOT of people who can't drive! I see them on the road every day - hopeless lot. Not only they can't drive, they can't even park their vehicles - just look at any shopping centre car park and you will see that they can't even get between the lines - or do a reverse parallel park. Follow fast drivers up the Gillies and you will see that they can't keep on the correct side of the double lines.

The road is essentially the same alignment as it was when opened in 1929 as a single lane dirt road. Widened over the years to double lanes in the late 50's. The heavy transport that regularly use it are much longer and wider than the original design could be expected to cater for. One consolation is that the modern trucks have a lot more power and hold ups due to slow trucks are no way near as bad as years gone by.
Other than widening of some corners, I don't think we will ever see a great improvement in the road.
It doesn't seem to be on the agenda of any of the political parties. None in the past seem to have placed much priority in any serious upgrade either. So we live with an 80 year old design.

I'm slow (50K) up or down in our Motorhome but allow faster traffic to pass at the few overtaking sections. Different story in our 4x4 or on my motorcycle.

Tony you are also right about the majority being affected by the actions of a few. Thats life today - just think about how the gun laws changed after the actions of one man at Port Arthur - or how we can no longer smack our kids, because some parents were too violent.
Prisoners of society!
AnswerID: 431870

Follow Up By: Tonyfish#58 - Friday, Oct 01, 2010 at 16:06

Friday, Oct 01, 2010 at 16:06
Polaris - True - The road has had a lot of work on the surface and the Asphalt corrections have made it a lot safer than it was. 80K was a fair speed, 60 is just plain stupid.

All they would have to do is police the current limit, most who would drive off the range would be going way to quick.

But as said above why police it it is cheaper to put signs

Idiotic IMHO

Much the same as the idiots that decided instead of policing correct Road work signage, they will now make you get a license to put up road signs on Main Rds. ALL THIS WILL DO IS PUT EXTREAM COSTS ON TO ORGANISATIONS THAT HAVE TO WORK ON MAIN ROADS

Cheers Tony
FollowupID: 702706

Reply By: Fatso - Monday, Oct 04, 2010 at 19:14

Monday, Oct 04, 2010 at 19:14
I must be getting old early.
I drove my Prius down the Gillies last week in a bit of a hurry & it was the first time I ever got up to 80 on the range & that was only the top section. But I have only been driving it occasionally for 30 years.
I reckon I saved all of 3 minutes on the trip down & wore off $10 worth of rubber & nearly warped a set of rotors.
Would have been much more intelligent to leave 5 minutes earlier.
I don't reckon I have travelled that range in the wet when I have not seen or heard of a car or bike being pranged.
A couple of weeks ago there were 2 that made the news & a ute stoved into the wall that I saw that never. God knows what the total number of prangs were.
Had a beauty back in March. Some bloke who left 5 minutes late passed me sideways in the rain as he did a whole 360 on the bottom passing lane. Scared the brown stuff clean out of him.
What is happening now days is that because of the disassociation of society there is no longer a bush tellegraph here on the coast. When I was a kid you heard of every fatality or hospitalisation from accidents. Now we miss most of this because it either doesn't reach the paper or we don't read it when it does.
The Gillies has a higher volume of traffic & a higher number of fatalities than it once did.
I reckon 60 is a sensible maximum speed & over the 19 km will make minimal difference & improve safety for all.
AnswerID: 432111