Towing 2800kg - Navara or Patrol?
Submitted: Friday, Oct 01, 2010 at 11:52
Zebu
Hi All, Hoping for some advice. We need to upgrade our Diesel Triton to a vehicle with 3000kg towing.
We tow a float with a few horses and top end weight is around 2800kg, fully loaded. Triton can only tow 2700kg legally.
On paper the new Navara St-x 2.5l Diesel has 450Nm of Torque versus the Patrol 3.0ltr Diesel which has a humble 354nm. To me that's a big difference. Salesman reckon the Navara will be the better tow vehicle.
Navara has better fuel economy as
well. Can anyone provide some input as which would be better?
Both equate to the same price (ie: Patrol 3.0D manual versus the Navara ST-x in an Auto)
Not keen on the v8 Petrol Patrol...and the Toyota cruisers are to many $$$$
Cheers Zane
Reply By: Member - Gary J (NSW) - Friday, Oct 01, 2010 at 12:33
Friday, Oct 01, 2010 at 12:33
Hi Zane, we have a 2007 Navara TD 2.5 and it handles a 1.5 tonne camper no worries. But I would not like to tow 2.8 tonnes of float and horses with it as it is too near its maximum limit.
A Patrol or a Cruiser would be my pick, either a 4.8 petrol Patrol (on gas maybe) or a 100 series Cruiser.
Follow Up By: skmaint - Friday, Oct 01, 2010 at 12:50
Friday, Oct 01, 2010 at 12:50
Hi Zane,
Just a bit of info for you. I have a 2006 3 ltr turbo diesel and tow a 710 leader boat, total weight loaded 3000kg. Never had any dramas, brakes on the boat trailer are electric over hyd and work
well (very important). Yeah she knows she is pulling it but does it ok. Cruised up to
Dongara with it 90kmh not a problem, except for the hills.
I know another bloke who is touring Aus and towing a van 2800kg with his 2007 TD 2.5 CR and the only problem he has had was the motor getting a bit warm pulling the van up hills in the hot weather up North.
Simon.
Follow Up By: Zebu - Friday, Oct 01, 2010 at 13:20
Friday, Oct 01, 2010 at 13:20
Thanks Simon, That's reassuring to hear. On paper the new STX Navara looks good.
For me the Navara being a ute has a few benefits being a business vehicle and able to claim 100% business use, where as wagon it becomes a little more difficult. ie: the vehicle gets used primarily for pleasure ;)
keen to hear what others think of the Navara over the Patrol.
Not keen on a L Cruiser because of the cost and sheer size ;)
Follow Up By: Isuzumu - Friday, Oct 01, 2010 at 14:51
Friday, Oct 01, 2010 at 14:51
The Navara might be able to tow 3000 kg, like most of the other utes, but how much fuel do they use to do it?
Follow Up By: Zebu - Friday, Oct 01, 2010 at 15:11
Friday, Oct 01, 2010 at 15:11
My MN Triton averages around 15lt/100km towing 2300kg which from what i see isnt to bad compared to teh bigger vehicles....
Follow Up By: Member - Gary J (NSW) - Friday, Oct 01, 2010 at 15:39
Friday, Oct 01, 2010 at 15:39
Zebu,
If you are only towing the horses and float on bitumen or flattish gravel roads, then the Navara 2.5TD would be fine. Start taking it regularly up challenging off road terrain with trailer, then it's a different matter altogether.
Simon's Navara is not the 2.5D D40 STX, so does not necessarily comply with your original query. Nor does it comply with a towing capacity of 3,000kg.
A Patrol is the same 'sheer size' as a Cruiser, but a little cheaper.
If I'm not mistaken, your desire is to find a tow vehicle that is compliant with statutory and insurance requirements.
Follow Up By: Zebu - Friday, Oct 01, 2010 at 16:09
Friday, Oct 01, 2010 at 16:09
That's right it is all bitumen driving - no bush work. So yes its about being compliant - but not be towing with a slow dog either.
I don't want to find towing 2800kg regularly will kill off the vehicle. With the exception of the 4.2 Litre Patrol, I just dont see how the 3.0liter diesel patrol can be better than the new st-x navara.
Understandably the Patrol is 300kg heavier, so may be a bit more stable towing more weight - but perhaps underpowered against the other??
Follow Up By: Member - Gary J (NSW) - Friday, Oct 01, 2010 at 16:23
Friday, Oct 01, 2010 at 16:23
Zane, The 300kg extra of the Patrol over the Navara should make it a more stable towing platform.
However, all things being equal, (that is bitumen roads etc), compared to a 3.0 litre Patrol I'd take the Navara as my economical choice.
Follow Up By: Nev (TAS) - Friday, Oct 01, 2010 at 19:31
Friday, Oct 01, 2010 at 19:31
Hi Zane,
have you looked at the Isuzu DMax/ Holden Colorado. They can tow up to 3000kg.
Follow Up By: westozal - Friday, Oct 01, 2010 at 20:03
Friday, Oct 01, 2010 at 20:03
As a Isuzu Dmax owner (man Dual cab)and one who tows a caravan I can say that I think the Dmax tows
well, better than the 3ltr Patrol it replaced.
Also it's much more economical overall and has next to no low down turbo lag unlike some of the smaller capacity but more powerfull diesel's.
Just my thoughts.
AL
Follow Up By: Zebu - Friday, Oct 01, 2010 at 20:08
Friday, Oct 01, 2010 at 20:08
I looked at The Dmax and Colarado but both are around the 360nm torque , its also not up there with a Navara (450nm) or Triton (403).
Follow Up By: westozal - Saturday, Oct 02, 2010 at 17:54
Saturday, Oct 02, 2010 at 17:54
Hi Zebu,
That's fair enough,would be boring if we all drove the same car!!
But let me off you this parting thought, and that is that figures written on a piece of paper do not always equate to real world performance.
Both units you refer to have had a few articles written on them saying that they do suffer from low down turbo lag which is exacerbated and emphasised by the extra load of towing. Over 2000 rpm I guss they are good but below that their engines are off power and underdone from what I have read.
It was one of the main critisms I had with my 04 man 3ltr Patrol. the turbo lag really peed me off and showed itself at the most inopportune moments.
The Isuzu does not have any of this lag and pulls from very low RPM with no complaint.
The Colorado does have the same motor as the Isuzu but with a different turbo and head so my comments don't totally correlate to them.
Good luck to you in your final choice.
Regards AL.
Follow Up By: Zebu - Saturday, Oct 02, 2010 at 18:08
Saturday, Oct 02, 2010 at 18:08
Thanks- might checkout the Dmax. ;)
Reply By: Member - Tony (ACT) - Friday, Oct 01, 2010 at 17:15
Friday, Oct 01, 2010 at 17:15
Not sure where you are, but here in the ACT, police have made people with dual cabs unload one horse. Something to do with towing vehicle weight,or gearbox size.
There were a lot of horses held on the side of the road waiting for the float to return. Patrols etc were ok to tow with two horses.
We have towed our two horses down to the
Vic High Country, with a Troopy and had no worries with weight etc.
Follow Up By: Zebu - Friday, Oct 01, 2010 at 18:39
Friday, Oct 01, 2010 at 18:39
Its amazing how many double horse floats go over there max rated ATM when you put two bigger horses in. My two horse angle float weights 1100kg, Put two bigger gg's s in at 475kg each, and I am over the floats 2000kg ATM. ;)
Reply By: Best Off Road - Friday, Oct 01, 2010 at 21:10
Friday, Oct 01, 2010 at 21:10
Zane,
Quite frankly they are both vastly underpowered to tow that kind of weight.
The 4.8 L Nissan is FAR better equipped to do the job and running on LPG will be far more economical, assuming you are located in a Town/City where LPG is reasonably cheap.
Disclaimer: LPG may be expensive and/or have limited availabilty in remote areas.
Reply By: rocco2010 - Saturday, Oct 02, 2010 at 12:00
Saturday, Oct 02, 2010 at 12:00
Gidday
Does anybody know where in the rev range the new 140kw/450nm Navara engine generates these outputs? I have had a look at the Nissan site and a few others around but there is no
sign of the information, just lots of references to the outputs. Interestingly the Nissan site gives the information for the Patrol.
I am no expert but i suspect that 2.5 litre Nissan diesel may be reving quite hard to generate those numbers which are a far bit higher than its 3.0 litre rivals in Toyota and Mazda/Ford.
Rocco
Follow Up By: rocco2010 - Saturday, Oct 02, 2010 at 13:15
Saturday, Oct 02, 2010 at 13:15
Thanks ... I couldn't get that with my searching
Reply By: Nutta - Saturday, Oct 02, 2010 at 12:29
Saturday, Oct 02, 2010 at 12:29
Although the utes can tow that weight I still prefer the weight of the patrol, it just feels safer with an extra few hundred kgs on the road.