Goodyear MTR kevlars???? Milage issues or not???

HI All

I have been very happy with old MTRs but have heard very bad reports of new Kevlar MTR's only geting 16000-25000 km.

What have others been getting?

What are other tyre options?

GN

Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Saturday, Oct 02, 2010 at 18:25

Saturday, Oct 02, 2010 at 18:25
16,000 ks!!! Gee i would hate to be travelling behind a vehicle with new MTR's on.. The constant rubber spray on the windscreen would be annoying :0) Michael
AnswerID: 431989

Follow Up By: Member - G N (VIC) - Saturday, Oct 02, 2010 at 18:27

Saturday, Oct 02, 2010 at 18:27
MMMMMMM I nkow, i did see the vehical myself and the tyres were buggered big time and was only 16000km on clock as were fitted from new.
BUT it is a "work" ute so i bet iyt has been flogged bad, but still 16k ????
GN
FollowupID: 702806

Reply By: RobAck - Saturday, Oct 02, 2010 at 18:31

Saturday, Oct 02, 2010 at 18:31
We run the new MTR with Kevlar on our 120 Prado and Ultimate XTrak. We spend around 20,000km of bitumen each year. After almost a year of evaluation and over 15,000 km they hardly have a mark on them. So I fail to understand how anyone can get such low distances from this tyre. They are not a tyre for around town given their extra weight (strength), the lower grip levels, that come from all tyres with such an aggressive tread and their noise levels which we think are OK but when compared to a Bridgestone D694 then the difference is noticeable

We have a client who operates a coal mine and they have moved from the old MTR to the new one and the difference in traction is very noticeable. But you need to keep in mind our comments are based on actually using these tyres constantly off-bitumen

You do not describe what you use your vehicle for so impossible to comment on tyre options. In our view the best all rounders are the Goodyear silent armour and the Bridgestone D 694 and we operate both of them on our tour vehicles so have a pretty good idea of whats what

RobA
AnswerID: 431990

Follow Up By: Member - G N (VIC) - Saturday, Oct 02, 2010 at 18:43

Saturday, Oct 02, 2010 at 18:43
Hi RobAck

I had read that the new MTR has better bitumin tracktion in the wet?

I have a set of 694 on our town rig and have been great so far.

The MTR's are for our camping cruiser so i guess 50 -50 on / off raod.
We ran Cooper ST until we had a set that looked like were going to give us 60000km that didnt make 30000 after a trip over gibber rock, then we swapped to the old MTR's and have dodne 4 trips over roads that destroyed Coopers, and the old type MTR's have lots of bad looking cuts but have hung in there and ONLY 1 flat. So we have been very happy with old MTR's (bit noisy but not too bad)

I was actualy told by a local dealer NOT to buy the new MTR's as the life would only be 20-25000km.

GN
FollowupID: 702809

Follow Up By: RobAck - Sunday, Oct 03, 2010 at 18:54

Sunday, Oct 03, 2010 at 18:54
Not sure of your local dealer is a Goodyear outlet or something else. If it's a Goodyear one then he had better get his product knowledge up to speed in my book. If it's someone selling tyres always consider a second opinion.

Having had the opportunity to back to back test the old MTr against the new one using the same vehicels I can assure you they are a noticeable improvement in grip and steering response but I reckon the old one wasn't that bad anyway

On wet bitumen then grip less than a D694 by a lot but that is not a criticism of the tyre as anything with such an open tread will always be the same. Simple answer is to drive to the conditions.

I have investigated plenty of issues with fleet vehicles and most generally the issue results from the nut or nuts behind the wheel. All care and little accountability in many instances so the vehicle gets flogged. Something they hardly ever do to their own vehicle.

Given the strength and load carrying capicity of this tyre we have found we can run considerably lower pressures all round. For example our Prado runs them at 32 PSI for normal use and 30 is fine as well. Loaded we to go 34 and 36 if not towing and if we put the XTrak on the back we go up to 38. The car weighs 2950 kgs for a tour

Sand we have been down as low as 14 with no problems and 12 in the trailer. In rocky terrain we are using 24 rather than 26 with noticeably improvements in comfort and grip

RobA
FollowupID: 702859

Follow Up By: Member - G N (VIC) - Monday, Oct 04, 2010 at 21:53

Monday, Oct 04, 2010 at 21:53
Hi Rob

Thanks for info

I think the dealer has real integrity in being honest! I would say his knoledge is up to speed in the very best way seeing actual results!

I agree with you in that the old MTR grip seems ok to me!

Sounds like same old same old, will have to just give them a try to prove the truth of the matter.

Many thansk again for info

GN
FollowupID: 702939

Reply By: Member - mick C (NSW) - Saturday, Oct 02, 2010 at 20:13

Saturday, Oct 02, 2010 at 20:13
Hi GN
Have had Kevlar mtr's on for 14 months done approx 38000Kms [30% dirt 70% tar with 3500Kms towing 3 tonne van on varied surfaces ] so far.Have been 20 year plus BFG mud and all terrain user on multiple vehicles at one time , and have come to expect 65000 to 105000KMs depending on vehicle weight and road surfaces , but was forced to seek an alternative when BFG muddies were not available for 8-10 weeks ,[needed muddies for 20Km black dirt driveway ] and have been pleasantly suprised , tread wear not 50% , noise okay , and no problems .The vehicle is 100series cruiser and weighs 3050kgs with no load , Ultimate comfort suspension and Firestone airbags and all bar work for hoppers , all good so far , it will be very interesting to see final result as I have a set of BFG all terrains onspare rims in shed waiting to take over as conditios dry out , I will put MTR'S on again next winter
Mick
Poppa Bear

AnswerID: 432000

Follow Up By: Member - G N (VIC) - Sunday, Oct 03, 2010 at 10:34

Sunday, Oct 03, 2010 at 10:34
Hi Mick

So you would be totaly confident in saying you will get 50000km from kevlar MTR's then 1 ?

I have never got 50 000km from any tyre ever (must be me)

I might give the MTR's a go even though dealer warns me not to! He does say staion people love them due to low number of flats.

GN
FollowupID: 702837

Reply By: Member - Timothy N (NSW) - Sunday, Oct 03, 2010 at 11:23

Sunday, Oct 03, 2010 at 11:23
G'day GN. Have you had a look at the Goodyear Duratrac? I also was quite happy with the old MTRs, but thought the new ones were a bit too aggressive for my needs. The duratrac are very close to the old MTR in tread pattern, and a bit cheaper than the new MTR. Don't know about mileage yet as have only done about 10000k. Been up the cape on them and no chipping or flats. Not a huge range of sizes a while back (ie no 17inch) but this may have changed. I run a 265/75/16 LT 123 load rate, and reckon they will be a pretty good all rounder. Good Luck. Tim.
AnswerID: 432027

Follow Up By: Member - G N (VIC) - Monday, Oct 04, 2010 at 21:55

Monday, Oct 04, 2010 at 21:55
Hi Timothy

Yep have considered duratrack, but dont know much about them and realy i guess they are more similar to other brands in some ways.

still considering

regards'
GN
FollowupID: 702940

Reply By: Member - Phil B (WA) - Sunday, Oct 03, 2010 at 11:55

Sunday, Oct 03, 2010 at 11:55
Hi GN,

I’ve had a set for about 12 months done about 20,000 kms; about 50/50 off road and bitumen. Most of the off road was severe off road including desert travel with no tracks. Whist the tyres are superb and puncture resistant i.e. only 3 punctures when I usually would have had about 12 in that type of country, they are wearing quickly. I reckon about another 20,000 and they be stuffed.

Like the farmers though I like them because of the puncture resistance, which means I'll actually get to wear out a set of tyres. For years now my tyres are usually totally stuffed before I get to wear a set out.

Because of the fast wear rate, I recently bought a second set of rims and fitted the new style BFG MTs to them for daily driving and will only fit the GY when doing my severe desert work.

Because of the type of travel I do and the puncture resistance of the GYs they are value for money for me. I wish I got the second set of tyres sooner; that way I feel I would get another 10-15,000 kms I reckon.

Would I buy them again, absolutely! Although I want to see how the new BGFs go wear and puncture wise.

If you get 4Wd Action, there is an article in the current edition "Labbi Labbi Country" that features a recent trip with the tyres and shows the terrain.

There is a lot of difference between
‘Human Being’ and ‘Being Human’.

AnswerID: 432032

Follow Up By: Member - G N (VIC) - Monday, Oct 04, 2010 at 21:58

Monday, Oct 04, 2010 at 21:58
Hi Phil B

I have had MOST of my tyres scrapped also NOT because of lack of traed, just buggered tyres!

So you agree the new MTR's are a low on KM of life? what do you recon you get from a set?

thanks for info
GN
FollowupID: 702941

Follow Up By: Member - Phil B (WA) - Monday, Oct 04, 2010 at 22:43

Monday, Oct 04, 2010 at 22:43
Hi GN,

Yep a low mileage tyre but the puncture resistance is exceptional.

If I get 40K from my set that will be about it I reckon. They will be too low tread wise to risk heavy duty off road work at that point I would think.

There is a lot of difference between
‘Human Being’ and ‘Being Human’.

FollowupID: 702943

Reply By: Member - mick C (NSW) - Monday, Oct 04, 2010 at 22:00

Monday, Oct 04, 2010 at 22:00
Hi GN
I will defintely get more than 50000kms , only time on the road wll tell how much more . I have 11mm of tread left , not sure of starting depth .Of course everyone has personal views and rightly so ,in my case if something does not perform to reasonable expectations in a work enviroment , an alternative is sought , without bias ,and like most people if things are all good and not broken why change ? Happy hunting .
Mick
Poppa Bear

AnswerID: 432132

Reply By: Lifer - Allyn Cooper (WA) - Tuesday, Oct 05, 2010 at 13:49

Tuesday, Oct 05, 2010 at 13:49
I ran a set of the original MTR's and covered 100 000 km's in them with a lot of that being on blacktop due to excessive distances in Pilbara.
I have put the 2 best ones on my trailer and replaced them all with the Mickey Thompson ATZ's as everyone was against the MTR's. I was completely happy with the old ones and only reason I went with Mickey Thompson's was because of a really good price. If the new ones are an improvement then it can only auger well for them as a choice however I couldn't find anyone to support that theory and actually know of someone who has had all sorts of vibration issues that after thoroughly inspecting everything else, can only be attributed to Wrangler MTR tyres.
I am happy with the M/T's but still look longingly at my old Wrangler MTR's (LOL) and have the urge to pit the two against each other.
Coops
80 Series Landcruiser with 1HD-FT, W2A I/C & GTurbo,
HD Clutch, 3" ex, locked and lifted, Strongarm Dual RWC, LR Tank, 33" MTZ's, Dual Batts.

AnswerID: 432156