We have a couple of long term threads on here.

Submitted: Saturday, Oct 02, 2010 at 19:02
ThreadID: 81687 Views:4148 Replies:5 FollowUps:3
‘Funny Fridays’ for example. I’d like to start another one called ’historic stuff ups’....

I’ll start off first.

Back in 1974 I purchased a brand new mid based Nissan 4wd (with canvas top). The missus took second place, and she wasn’t happy. Go figure!

Anyway, one of our favourite places to camp was behind the Cathedral Ranges down here in Victoria. Particularly along what was known as the Little Stormy Creek, or at least back then.

We were having a bit of bother with insects one day, and decided to cross the creek and follow a very old track to the South. The area was very overgrown until we emerged into a small open area.

The missus said to me ‘that looks like a swamp dear’. To which I replied; ‘Nar, we’ll be right luv’.

Half way through the bog we sunk to the door handles! The first breath that came out of her was, ‘I told you so’.

So after climbing out the window, I suggested to her we didn’t have a problem, and I’d fix it in the nick of time.

Anyway I started to walk, and look for help. Luckily enough for us, the Toyota club came on the scene.

The extraction process was interesting to say the least. By day’s end, we had five cars bogged.

Anyway everything turned out all right, and we had a rather intoxicating evening that night with the whole group....... gone are the good old days!

Reply By: Cruiser .- Saturday, Oct 02, 2010 at 19:13

Saturday, Oct 02, 2010 at 19:13
bluefly,

My first marriage

Cruiser
AnswerID: 431995

Reply By: nsngood - Saturday, Oct 02, 2010 at 23:02

Saturday, Oct 02, 2010 at 23:02
One friday night when the pub closed. Shortcut through the local reserve in serpentine Lada bogged.no worries leave it there get it out in the morning.
Next morning bogged lada and one tractor.Lunchtime one lada one tractor one hilux.
afternoon lada,tractor, hilux, nissan patrol, bogged.Evening comes around we now have the Lada,Hilux,Nissan Patrol,Two tractors bogged.
Sunday afternoon with lots of help and being called a few names by mates,
Along with a long length of steel cable and another fourby on the bitumin and the use off a large engine crane that went around the sides of the bogged vehicles some well placed fence posts and more harsh words by my mates it was my buy down the pub.(i think they earned it)
Oh the reserve was fenced off not long after(and not entirely because off me)
AnswerID: 432008

Follow Up By: Navigator 1 (NSW) - Sunday, Oct 03, 2010 at 10:48

Sunday, Oct 03, 2010 at 10:48
Hi guys,
A few pictures would make these stories even better.
Rob
The outback calls

FollowupID: 702841

Reply By: Members Pa & Ma. - Sunday, Oct 03, 2010 at 11:43

Sunday, Oct 03, 2010 at 11:43
Our wet day & night at Carnarvon Gorge.
Twas early camping days! I'm sure that many have experienced.
We went in to Carnarvon gorge, crossing a little creek which you went down into & then up out of it to the camp area.
Beautiful weather, creek just running about 6" deep.

We were in alittle Astra towing a tiny trailer, weather forecast was fine.
Next morning it was cloudy, so instead of leaving early we waited for the Rangers report which was only for early morning showers.
Off we went later than planned and crosesd all the stepping stones accross the creek.

About an hour later it started to drizzle, I have crummy legs and don't go so well rock hopping, so I'm slower than others.
It drizzled until lunch time and progressively got heavier from then on.
Determined to get to the end of the gorge, we continued.
There were several creek crossings on this beatiful walk. All getting higher as we headed back.
We reached the last crossing the water was Thigh deep and freezing.

Back to tent, no firewood cos we reckoned we woldn't need it so no way of getting warm.
Twas near divorce!
Only answer was to get undressed, towel dry, have a few reds too many and climb into bed.
Lesson learned!!!!! never go any where without wood and a tarp to shelter the fire and yourselves with.
Take caare,safe travels, Bye, Ma.
AnswerID: 432030

Reply By: Member - IdahOz - Sunday, Oct 03, 2010 at 17:18

Sunday, Oct 03, 2010 at 17:18

Our first solo camping trip in Oz was just last year. We decided to go to Black Point and set off in our ute pulling our recent e-bay trailer purchase with all our gear inside. We were so happy when we got off the black top onto a real 4-wheel-drive road. Then it became pure sand and we got really stuck. Hubby manfully shoveled us out and we got a bit further before getting stuck again. A second shoveling session ensued and we unloaded all the gear to pull up and cut up the ute bedliner for traction mats. Load all the gear back in and get stuck on the next incline. Then he thought it would be better to pull the trailer up the next hill with a tow rope and that got us out of the third predicament. We really wanted to camp out there so we decided to park the trailer at the side of the road and load all the necessary bits and pieces in the back of the ute and keep going. We made it to Black Point and spent a fun night camping. Next day we decided to explore a bit (gluttons for punishment i suppose). Of course we got well and truly stuck trying to get up another hill. Unloaded everything off the ute, and made several runs at the hill with no luck. Then a SUV with 3 young lads out for a drive stopped to help. They suggested to hubby that he let some air out of the tyres!!!!!!!!! Then helped us lug all our stuff to the top of the hill. They also suggested it would be quicker to head home back the way we came. We were too embarrassed to tell them we had to go back for the trailer we had left at the side of the road. So now we know the way to drive in sand and carry our air compressor like everyone else!!!
AnswerID: 432047

Follow Up By: wato35 - Tuesday, Oct 05, 2010 at 09:05

Tuesday, Oct 05, 2010 at 09:05
Hi IdahOz

Its amazing what you learn when you actually get out there. Even the seasoned outback traveller gets into trouble at times. I nearly got stranded on the beach at Coffin Bay SA. I stopped to do some fishing and the tide was coming in, but I didn't notice for some time. I could not drive up the dunes where I was so I had to fly back along the beach. Had to drive through the waves to make it back the path off the beach.

Wato35
FollowupID: 702960

Reply By: BuggerBoggedAgain - Sunday, Oct 03, 2010 at 22:08

Sunday, Oct 03, 2010 at 22:08
It was one of those black as night when the Field Regt. decided on a night manoeuvre, comprising of, 3 Batterys of 6- 105mm Howitzers,18 guns,18 6WD International tractors, 27 swb LR's,RAEME trucks and tow-wagons plus assorted stores vehicles,cooks etc.

As we approached the objective, the enemy scouts heard us coming and reported our moves to their command post, in which they woke up all their soldiers for the forth-coming battle. Their communication system was something to be awed over, if only our systems were so up to date,us,lord over the minions, let down by something so simple.

On we drove on black-out lights, just watching the white-glow of the back differential of the vehicle in front, a quiet droning of engines in 3rd low gear, spaced at 50mts, battle formation, on we went into a battle-to-be.

The enemy scouts alerted their field sentry posts to hold back until all elements of their armies were in place to maximise the most damage inflicted,at the time, we didn't know it, but we were driving into the biggest ambush in Australias Army history, something that never made the tabloids nor electronic media.

We made the objective, un-hooked the howitzers, unloaded the ammunitions and started to fuze the shells whilst others unloaded stores, guns, others rolled out the camo-nets over vehicles. Two men from each LR were sent out as sentries with one-of with a machine-gun,which was to become in just a few moments, totally useless in what was to come.

As the sergents ran around barking out orders softly, the men were quickly stabilising the trails and setting up a firing mission and then,

The first scream, jesus saints be praised what the? was that? Followed by another soldier screaming his lungs out far over in the surrounds no-one could see him but could only know his position by the screaming he made.

Medics were called, they ran towards the screams, but in only a few moments of laspe time,the battle started, the enemy erupted in a frenzied charge on all sides, there was no escape, we were surrounded, men fell down where they stood, screaming in pain, calling for help, calling for medics but the medical units were overwhelmed, never in their whole history of saving soldiers had they come up against an enemy so intent on inflicting so much pain, that they did not have the most basics of medicines to help their fellow soldiers.

It was a pure nightmare from HELL, pitch dark, men screaming, running to where? God only knows, some-one accidently fired his rifle, he was told to stop firing, he might hit some-one, lol lol, On and on the enemy soldiers came, thousands of them, what should we do, where do we go, which direction,oh god, they're everywhere.

Everybody into the tractors, screamed the officers, turn all lights on, leave the guns, HELL, no one in their right mind going to pinch them, move move, run run, get into any vehicle, go go, drivers the officers yelled, keep driving as best you can, get away from this cursed place, go back to head-quarters if you can.

We've lost this battle, but we'll be back to claim our guns.

Our Regiment drove onto the biggest bull-ant colony in Australia, so big, that the ADF hired crop dusters to spray the area, so other soldiers could retrieve everything that was left behind.

Over 300 men were bitten by bull ants,one officer received over 24 bites around his ***** struth, I bet that hurt. Yep, he got a medal,actually the top of the dog-biscuit tin shaped like a star, lol lol

That area was marked on all maps for future reference of NOT TO GO THERE for training purposes
AnswerID: 432063

Follow Up By: Ayita5 - Monday, Oct 04, 2010 at 08:14

Monday, Oct 04, 2010 at 08:14
hahaha, very entertaining! You should be a writer! I'd buy your book.
FollowupID: 702880