SPOTTED - Yulara, NT (Ayers Rock Resort)
Submitted: Saturday, Oct 02, 2010 at 19:19
Simon (NT)
Hi guys,
Thought I'd make a new thread as I didn't find anything relevant.
So I live at
Yulara, the Ayers Rock Resort driving big white coaches for a living for the biggest coach touring company in Australia... And of late I've been watching the vehicles coming in and out of the Resort for a couple of reasons, firstly because I DO on the odd occasion spot the small ExplorOz.com sticker on the back of the vehicle and secondly because I'm looking for a stolen camper converted Coaster bus which was stolen from my Aunt in Vic (I'll make a new thread about that if the Mods are happy (please let me know)).
Anyway, within the last couple of days I've spotted a couple of ExplorOz vehicles, the latest one was yesterday and it was a big white vehicle (can't honestly remember if it was a Patrol or Landcruiser) which turned towards the National
Park out of
Yulara during the afternoon, undoubtedly for SUNSET viewing. It was really obvious to see because it was sporting the BIGGEST ExplorOz
sign I've ever seen in the form of a WHEEL COVER for their rear mounted spare.. Absolutely brilliant guys.
So the point being, if you are coming to
Yulara drop me a message on here (private messages in case I miss this thread) and let me know, perhaps I can give you a few tips on things to see out here being that I do tours here... or alternatively if you want to come on a coach tour I can give you a 10% discount voucher to book it with - but you need to let me know and you need to book it once you've arrived as the discount is ONLY valid once here at our ticket office in
Yulara (yes, it's an official discount and everyone is welcome to use/get it if they ask me for a voucher - but if the Mods want this bit removed I'm happy to remove it - though I've not mentioned the company name at all now).
Right, so whether or not you want to do a tour let me know you are coming and I'll give you some info about the area and maybe share a wicked cool Tjurkapa story with you!
Tjurkapa is the Anangu (indigenous people/traditional owners of this area) version of the dreamtime (though they don't want us to use that word and prefer "creation time") stories.
Look forward to seeing a few EO members out here.
Reply By: Simon (NT) - Saturday, Oct 02, 2010 at 19:28
Saturday, Oct 02, 2010 at 19:28
Oops, I can't edit my thread (why not is I think -a very valid question as every other
forum I'm on allows editing of your own posts) to add to the vehicle details.
The big white vehicle in question was sporting VIC rego plates - sorry but I didn't manage to remember them (I did jot them on my hand but that washed off as soon as I got to work).
Oh yeah, I was behind you as you sped (yep, more than 40 kph) out of the resort - I was in the blue Nissan Pathfinder (which incidentally sports an EO sticker as
well - but I'd like a bigger sticker please EO!!) :-)
Reply By: happytravelers - Saturday, Oct 02, 2010 at 20:18
Saturday, Oct 02, 2010 at 20:18
Hi Simon
Stayed at
Yulara a couple of months ago, did all the tourist things and really enjoyed our time there. Pity I didn't know about you then, I'd have certainly tried to meet up.
Until next time
Jon
Follow Up By: Simon (NT) - Saturday, Oct 02, 2010 at 21:22
Saturday, Oct 02, 2010 at 21:22
Hi Jon,
Glad you had a great time.
It's a strange but fun little place with a lot of things to see, learn about and do..
Well, perhaps next time you come back we can meet up, hahah. But hey, I'm never sure how long I'll be here, I DO miss the Hunter Valley (NSW) which is where I grew up with the Watagans as my backyard (literally) and the ocean only an hour or so away etc, though I'd have to find the right work down there.
Anyway, good to hear you had a great time out here and hopefully this thread will mean that other people will know that there is an EO member out here and will make contact (or perhaps put in here whether or not they've spotted an EO member in Central Australia..
Simon
Reply By: Navigator 1 (NSW) - Saturday, Oct 02, 2010 at 22:05
Saturday, Oct 02, 2010 at 22:05
Hi Simon,
We hope you don't miss us when we come through towards the end of the month.
Follow Up By: Simon (NT) - Sunday, Oct 03, 2010 at 22:42
Sunday, Oct 03, 2010 at 22:42
I reckon that'd be hard to miss!
Let me know more by private message and I'll give you my mobile number, perhaps we can have a drink (if I ever get any time off work).
:-)
Reply By: Member - peter f (VIC) - Saturday, Oct 02, 2010 at 22:55
Saturday, Oct 02, 2010 at 22:55
would it have been a white patrol towing a kanga camper trailer .
Follow Up By: Simon (NT) - Sunday, Oct 03, 2010 at 22:43
Sunday, Oct 03, 2010 at 22:43
Probably was a patrol, no camper trailer at the time and was turning towards
the rock in the late arvo from memory.. :-)
Reply By: Member - peter f (VIC) - Saturday, Oct 02, 2010 at 22:59
Saturday, Oct 02, 2010 at 22:59
sounds very much like a good friend of
mine , a paramedic from
Lakes Entrance
he should be wandering around there .a few days ago he rand me from
Tarcoola
cheers mechpete
Follow Up By: Simon (NT) - Sunday, Oct 03, 2010 at 22:52
Sunday, Oct 03, 2010 at 22:52
Hi Pete, I guess it's entirely possible.. it's just a shame I can't remember the number plate I guess..
Reply By: Member Brian (Gold Coast) - Sunday, Oct 03, 2010 at 08:36
Sunday, Oct 03, 2010 at 08:36
Hi Simon,
We were there in July, would have said G'day if we'd known! We loved our time there, did a chopper flight over Uluru &
Kata Tjuta, with pilots Kevin & Leah. (I forget the name of the flight company). Also helped save a life in the campground, a lady was very ill and we organized an
ambulance via the reception desk, found out later she was having a heart attack! The day we left, whilst having our lunch in the car
park of the
Erldunda Roadhouse, we saw a blue, very new, Holden ute come to grief at the
intersection. The driver & his girlfriend, who both worked at the Ayers Rock resort were quite shaken up, and we changed tyres and sorted out a couple of other broken bits from the accident, so they could continue back to
Yulara safely. They were very grateful, and it was a pleasure to have been able to help them. I mention this only so that if you know them, say G'day to them for us. Nice people!
It is a beautiful area! One that we will return to no doubt.
Follow Up By: Simon (NT) - Sunday, Oct 03, 2010 at 22:55
Sunday, Oct 03, 2010 at 22:55
Hey Brian,
Thanks for the message. If I work out who it was in the Ute I'll say G'day for you.
I'm guessing that the helicopter company was probably PHS (they have blue & yellow logo's etc).. they are certainly the bigger company out here, and really good guys, and I'm pretty sure they've got pilots by those names.
Sounds like you really were not good but 'great' samaritans out here in the outback.. and that you helped out a lot of people in need.. now if only everyone was like that hey? But great work!
It really is a beautiful area, I love it..
It's REALLY, REALLY green now though, and Kings Canyon is unbelievable with the amount of green there!
Simon
Follow Up By: Member Brian (Gold Coast) - Monday, Oct 04, 2010 at 08:08
Monday, Oct 04, 2010 at 08:08
Great Samaritans? I dunno... I just think that out there, people should help each other! But thanks for saying it!
We did the
rim walk around Kings Canyon, I would love to see it again!! We spent two nights watching the Hoosh show at
Kings Creek Station. They're a great bunch of people there, ANOTHER place we will return to!!
Reply By: Member - Mfewster(SA) - Sunday, Oct 03, 2010 at 19:20
Sunday, Oct 03, 2010 at 19:20
There must have been a few of us there at the same time. We have been working as Artists in Rsidence at the Mulgarra Gallery during September and other EO members dropped in to say hello. Our white 60 series LC has the regular small size sticker on the back but the big winsctreen/sunscreen
sign across the front winscrteen,. We'll be back there next July and try to catch you then, if you're still in town.
Follow Up By: Simon (NT) - Sunday, Oct 03, 2010 at 22:57
Sunday, Oct 03, 2010 at 22:57
Hmmm.... I guess I really should send you those photo's that I promised then shouldn't I? (if I'm thinking of the right person and that you were here until very, very recently).
Simon
Reply By: Simon (NT) - Monday, Oct 04, 2010 at 18:38
Monday, Oct 04, 2010 at 18:38
A big
BRIGHT RED Landcruiser with a bull bar and a camper trailer was sporting a great big EXPLOROZ.COM URL sticker across the windscreen today around 11am or something..
I saw the vehicle as it was coming down the Lassiter Hwy passing Giles Road going towards
the entrance to
Yulara (Ayers Rock Resort). I was in the big white 14.5 metre long coach waving. ;-)
Hope you enjoy your stay and if you see this message drop me a message and give me a phone number (if you are here for more than 2 days) and perhaps I can stop and say Hi/have a beer with you all.
Simon
Reply By: Simon (NT) - Wednesday, Oct 13, 2010 at 21:21
Wednesday, Oct 13, 2010 at 21:21
so, is anyone else coming out to visit
Yulara?
If so, let me know and I can give you some information about the area and some valuable tips BEFORE you leave
Alice Springs or another big town..
It's
well worth finding out BEFORE you get here.. and when I explain why you'll be happy that you asked. (Though what I can explain can't really be put up in public view as the owners of the Resort would be bleep ed and I'd get in to trouble and I'm not interested in that).
Anyway folks.. happy to hear from anyone who's coming out here, drop me an email (details in my profile).
Simon