N S W Got The Thumbs Down re: Rubbish,

Submitted: Sunday, Oct 03, 2010 at 10:36
ThreadID: 81696 Views:3337 Replies:2 FollowUps:3
Some Science Boffin made a statement that NSW is the dirtiest state in Australia, she said that for every 100 sguare metres there are 75 articles of rubbish lying around, that includes cigarette butts, apparently she has not been out of the state, I reckon QLD would be on a par with NSW, oh well I suppose she got a large Grant care of the Tax Payers to work that out, that reminds me when I was a kid at school, if you played up you had to go out onto the Play Ground and pick up rubbish, even if you didn't drop any in the first place, maybe that's where we should be teaching our youngsters about leaving rubbish around, starting with the schools, then again a lot of adults should go back to school and learn as well re: Littering ?.

Reply By: Member - The Bushwhackers -NSW - Sunday, Oct 03, 2010 at 10:51

Sunday, Oct 03, 2010 at 10:51
Hi Daza
Haven't spent much time in QLD, so I can't comment on that, but I'd like to know how they work out the '75 articles of rubbish per 100 sq metres'.

Considering the size of some properties (100's of thousands of acres), there must be bucket loads of cigarette butts everywhere else... I must remember to wear my hiking boots next time I go out of my yard.

And yes, who funds these studies? Why do we need to know figures such as these? If a reminder is needed, all I need to be told is 'don't litter', (I don't anyway).

Education is a great starting place, I remember doing the 'emu bob' for playing up at school, but I think it is just laziness and the 'who cares' attitude of young and not so young fools, that creates such filth and rubbish all around our country.

I guess all we can do is set a good example, and encourage others to follow the lead. Not so sure about the success of that, though.

Cheers, Dave

AnswerID: 432023

Follow Up By: Allan B, Sunshine Coast, - Sunday, Oct 03, 2010 at 11:23

Sunday, Oct 03, 2010 at 11:23
Hi Dave,

That report came from the Keep Australia Beautiful Network.

The surveys are from the following areas, essentially public areas and not private properties:
• Beaches
• Car Parks
• Highways
• Industrial
• Recreational Parks
• Residential
• Retail
• Shopping Centres

They are for littering and do not include intentional rubbish dumping:

Funding is from the Governments of NSW, VIC, QLD, WA, SA, TAS, ACT, NT
& National Packaging Covenant Industry Association (NPCIA)

More information can be obtained here.

FollowupID: 702844

Follow Up By: Member - The Bushwhackers -NSW - Sunday, Oct 03, 2010 at 14:09

Sunday, Oct 03, 2010 at 14:09
Hi Alan

Very interesting read. I can't say I read it all (160 pages), but much more informative than I would have thought.

If I read the the chart correctly, then Daza is right, QLD has more litter items (than NSW) per 1000 sq mtrs at 76, but Tassie has 86!

However, NSW is at the "top" if you measure the volume of the litter.

Thanks for the link

Cheers, Dave

FollowupID: 702851

Reply By: Hairs & Fysh - Monday, Oct 04, 2010 at 20:45

Monday, Oct 04, 2010 at 20:45
Hi Daza,
I was just talking about this earlier this evening with my neighbour, About how our road sides are getting dirtier.
Here's and EG; yesterday while staying at Jackadgery, The Mann River C/P, I walked to the store to get another 6 pack of stubbies, I know you will find that hard to believe Daza,

Anyway, a bloke pulls up out the front in a a red 80 series, and lights a smoke. I go into the shop and get my beer, as I come out i watch the bloke flick his smoke away and throw a plastic coke bottle, Not in the bin less than 6 foot away, jump in and drive off.
Seriously, what is wrong with people?
Anyway Daza, sending them back to school isn't going to help. I have watch on many occasions teachers either drop rubbish, step over it, as well as kids doing the same at school.
People are becoming pigs.

AnswerID: 432126

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G Gulmarrad - Monday, Oct 04, 2010 at 21:08

Monday, Oct 04, 2010 at 21:08
Jon
maybe its just 80 series drivers
FollowupID: 702935