Collapsed roof of new Jayco Penguin

Submitted: Thursday, Oct 07, 2010 at 15:07
ThreadID: 81767 Views:26181 Replies:14 FollowUps:17
Just asking if anyone can tell me if they have experienced the collapse of the roof of a brand new Jayco camper trailer roof, whilst standing upright beneath the end that fell to the floor, such as that of the Swan, Dove, Penguin? And, being left overnight and advised by Jayco Customer (don't really) Care to "toss a tarp over it and call us in the morning...AND, to spend 4 hours, alone, re-manouvering the up-end of the roof into the locked position, AND, then driving 4 hours to Coffs Harbour to (allegedly) have it repaired.. The Penguin is STILL in repair mode...I would never have purchased the van if I had been advised that this could possibly happen. has it happened to you?? What was jayco's response? Image Could Not Be Found

Reply By: Member - Old Girl (QLD) - Thursday, Oct 07, 2010 at 15:18

Thursday, Oct 07, 2010 at 15:18
Yep one end dropped enough to give us a scare couple of knotches but not like that. We sold it.
AnswerID: 432325

Follow Up By: Member - Diane F (NSW) - Thursday, Oct 07, 2010 at 16:01

Thursday, Oct 07, 2010 at 16:01
I would dearly love to sell it, but my conscience just would not let me sell, knowing how dangerous it is. This van was purchased new in November 2009, and collapsed in march 2010. Yes, certainly very scary, especially when I was in the throws of moving on so I was standing at the door, with the door ready to be folded back up into its locked position. The next I knew, I was on the floor, still holding the door, and pushed back against the fridge. A less agile or fit traveller ( I am 58 yrs and 160cm tall) would be in a very serious way after experiencing this..thanks for your comment
FollowupID: 703140

Follow Up By: Member - John G- Thursday, Oct 07, 2010 at 17:36

Thursday, Oct 07, 2010 at 17:36
G'day Diane

Three questions:

1. Was there any warning at all?
2. Is it still not repaired after six months?
3. Are Jayco doing the repairs under warranty?

FollowupID: 703143

Follow Up By: Member - Diane F (NSW) - Friday, Oct 08, 2010 at 16:02

Friday, Oct 08, 2010 at 16:02
So, I now have a fully re-furbished (still under warranty) Pengiun 13. New curtain all round, new mattress (?, I had only slept on the original one five or six times), new roof, new struts, new cable, new doors top and bottom, new annexe (but just the roof part, not all walls). Even smells new with the new curtain/plastic. It is under warranty until mid November so if anyone wants to pick up a bargain, it's on the market. It is now located in Trentham, Victoria.
FollowupID: 703235

Follow Up By: rosie bell - Tuesday, Oct 12, 2010 at 23:30

Tuesday, Oct 12, 2010 at 23:30
This post has been read by the moderation team and has been moderated due to a breach of The Inappropriate Rule .

Forum Moderation Team
FollowupID: 703596

Reply By: DesF - Thursday, Oct 07, 2010 at 15:38

Thursday, Oct 07, 2010 at 15:38
Hi, We have a 1993 Jayco Eagle Camper van and have been using it for about 10 years and no problems so far,
I have heard of a Goldstream that broke a cable , only on one corner they just propped it up till they got a new cable , a bit of a mongel job to fit .
I have seviced the winder on mine a couple of times and it has a cable for each corner seems funny that 2 broke at once,
Maybe the later one may only have 2 cables now ??
Cheers Des.
AnswerID: 432327

Reply By: Mr Pointyhead - Thursday, Oct 07, 2010 at 15:44

Thursday, Oct 07, 2010 at 15:44
I had a couple of friends who had a Swan (I think). They were ... well ...doing what comes naturally (baby making ?) one evening.

Unfortunately they where largish people and that end of the camper decided to collapse, depositing them both in all their unclothed glory into the middle of the campground, next to a number of people still sitting around the campfire.

Fortunately they where not injured, and it is a story you can have a little laugh over, but they could also have been seriously injured which would have removed any humor from the story.

AnswerID: 432328

Reply By: wizzer73 - Thursday, Oct 07, 2010 at 16:06

Thursday, Oct 07, 2010 at 16:06
We used to use a jayco finch and had heard about this happening. I had 4 bits of wood that i would jam in next to the uprights to stop and collapse happening. Gave piece of mind

wizzer
AnswerID: 432333

Reply By: peteC - Thursday, Oct 07, 2010 at 17:15

Thursday, Oct 07, 2010 at 17:15
Not a good story, but there are many thousands of these around and you cannot go to a caravan park without seeing them. There are a few stories around of the cables/winders failing but given how many of them out are I guess that would be well less than 1% failure rate. Jayco need to understand why it did happen in a contiual improvement process but by the sounds of it they are not real concerned. I have a 2004 outback Eagle and never had any structural issues with mine, touch wood.

AnswerID: 432339

Reply By: pmk03 - Thursday, Oct 07, 2010 at 21:05

Thursday, Oct 07, 2010 at 21:05
We have a 2007 Eagle Outback from new & so far no probelms, Covered over 30,000kms in it, alot of these off the bitumen.
Did you buy this one new...... I think the lift system is guaranteed for life to the original purchaser...... Might be worth checking out.
Pity you are having problems with the "Customer Care" in NSW. Our dealings with Jayco in Melbourne (Geelong) have always been good.
Hope you get it sorted soon.

PMK
AnswerID: 432356

Reply By: Hairs & Fysh - Thursday, Oct 07, 2010 at 21:23

Thursday, Oct 07, 2010 at 21:23
Hi Diane,
Not a pleasant thing to have happened to you guys.
The Jayco range or campers are a very popular range of campers, please don't let this put you off them. I'm sure Watsons in Coffs will see right by you.
I've an old 87 model Swan, and when ever I have rung them for advice on any aspect, they have been honest and helpful.
By the look of the picture you posted, I'd say the two front cables from the winder/ratchet have let go for what ever reason. This could be a faulty pulley or bracket. Sometimes these things happen. Unless you can get in and pull the seating apart and find the problem, at the time your stuck. My 19mm tube pulled out of the floor fixings one afternoon when setting up as a storm was approaching, I learnt very quickly how it all works.
As wizzer73 mentioned about the 4 pieces of timber, 2x1 pine about 1195 in length, that's the length of ours, there kept under the bed mattress. they are useful for taking the load of the roof. Also if something like happens, and you can get a few big blokes to help lift the roof back up and prop it, lest you can still use inside.
The reason it locks is in the design of the winch system and the telescopic lifting bars. Each set of cables is in a pairing, the front with the front and the back with the back, but they are also individual lift mechanisms. Unless you have stripped you camper apart and locked at how it works, it can be a mystery.

Hope you get back on the road soon.

AnswerID: 432357

Follow Up By: Member - Diane F (NSW) - Friday, Oct 08, 2010 at 16:07

Friday, Oct 08, 2010 at 16:07
I have no problem withthe service divisions of Watsons at Coffs Harbour, or with Ballina, and even Ballarat where I purchased it and collected it from today. My beef is with Jayco, Dandenong and their lack of pride in their product and lack of attention to after sales support.
FollowupID: 703237

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh - Friday, Oct 08, 2010 at 17:10

Friday, Oct 08, 2010 at 17:10
Hi Diane,
Jayco, Dandenong, are the ones that have done wrong by you, Jayco Australia need to know this. Contact them, and let them know your concerns.
I agree, after sales service, even though the camper wasn't purchased through them, is pretty poor. You would think, no matter where you were the closest dealer would treat you as if you had purchased the camper from them.
Hope it is all sort now.

FollowupID: 703244

Reply By: Gronk - Friday, Oct 08, 2010 at 00:30

Friday, Oct 08, 2010 at 00:30
A fairly common problem, know of 2 people this has happened to ( one was 4 months old )..

When the new one went back to Jayco for repairs, there were 3 others waiting on the same fix ???

They need to spend an extra $50 on each camper and make the cables and pulleys "unbreakable "
AnswerID: 432379

Reply By: petengail - Friday, Oct 08, 2010 at 10:08

Friday, Oct 08, 2010 at 10:08
happened to us twice on an older jayco windup we had about 14 years ago - both times it happened i was winding it up at the time - after the second we got rid of it.
AnswerID: 432391

Reply By: Fran & Col - Friday, Oct 08, 2010 at 10:20

Friday, Oct 08, 2010 at 10:20
Hi Diane,
I am felt sick when I read your thread.
You could have been killed, that is the main reason why
I would never buy a JAYCO, I have not heard a good thing about them,
we have a 2009 coromal pioneer silhouette 421 van, every time we put the van up we put up the safety poles, which were supplied new with the van, we pop one on each opposite corner just in case the same thing happens, you can never be too careful, I am glad you are ok, and am sorry you are getting the run around with JAYCO, hope your can is fixed soon.

Fran & Col
AnswerID: 432393

Follow Up By: Me me - Friday, Oct 08, 2010 at 11:38

Friday, Oct 08, 2010 at 11:38
Fran & Col, obviously if you have never heard a good thing about Jayco, you either don't speak to a lot of people, or you font hear the goof things. We had a Jayco Swan for a lot of years, and never had one ounce of problem with it. Friends have a Penguin and have never had an ounce of trouble with it either. You need to remember Jayco have 50% of the market out there. You tell me another brand of vans or campers who have as many models on the road as Jayco.
Yes they are not top of the range but I think they are well worth the money for what you pay.
You get lemon's in everything..............even humans!

I have heard bad things about Coromal too, but once again not every Coromal is going to be a lemon.
If Coromal supplied you with safety, is that not telling you they know they have a problem with their product, or know the product is not safe. Supplying safety poles is them saying yes we know our roof's are not safe, so here, we will give you some poles as well!

Think about it!
FollowupID: 703214

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh - Friday, Oct 08, 2010 at 12:40

Friday, Oct 08, 2010 at 12:40
"Supplying safety poles is them saying yes we know our roof's are not safe, so here, we will give you some poles as well! "
I was thinking the same thing LOL.

I guess it's like most things, we all have our favorites, we don't want to know about the bad things about our team or product, yet we hear every little complaint that goes wrong with the 'Other Brands"

"I would never buy a JAYCO, I have not heard a good thing about them"
Obviously you just skipped over what I had said up higher, I have never had a problem with Watsons in Coffs, A Jayco dealer,There You go, you have heard of something good about them, But lets just ignore that, hey!

Going by that statement, Can I say something like this?
A 2009 coromal pioneer silhouette 421 van would have to be the most over priced piece of crap on the road, one of the most over rated van there is.

No I can't

Enjoy your weekend guys ;)

FollowupID: 703218

Follow Up By: Fran & Col - Friday, Oct 08, 2010 at 15:23

Friday, Oct 08, 2010 at 15:23
Thank you Me Me for stating that I dont speak to alot of people, I have been involved in the caravan industry for over 23 years, NO I DONT WORK FOR COROMAL!!! , there is no denying that Jayco have a huge chunk of the market, that is a well known fact, I know of at least 30 people who this has happened to, Diane is very lucky that she wasnt seriously injured, Coromal supply the poles simply as a safety issue, we have had our van for over 12 months, and use it quite a bit and have never had any problems with it, I understand that yes there are some lemons out there, I WILL NEVER BUY A JAYCO AGAIN!!!, that is my opinion which I am entitled to, as you are entitled to your opinion, I was only giving advice it is an unfortunate situation that Diane is in, one that no one should be in, Hairs & Fysh, I bet you have a dodgy JAYCO, how many times has your roof collapsed, many I would say going by your comments, have you ever owned a COROMAL, my first van was a JAYCO SWAN, then moved on to an EXPANDA they both fell apart, NEVER GAIN, I am speaking from experience, your comments HAIRS are purely based on fact, so I suggest unless you have owned a so called 'over priced piece of crap' keep your comments to yourself.

Lets get back to the real problem here this situation should not have happened the roof collapsed in March, and Diane is still waiting for her van back, come on is that acceptable I THINK NOT!!!

You enjoy your weekend too HAIRS,

Happy DAYS JAYCO!!!!
FollowupID: 703233

Follow Up By: Me me - Friday, Oct 08, 2010 at 15:57

Friday, Oct 08, 2010 at 15:57
Well you fired up well. There is 1 Coromal to every 50 jayco's on the road. What does that tell you. All I can say is if you have had two jayco's and they have both fallen apart, the first thing I think of is geeze you must be rough on your gear, or be awafully rich and not have to look after things. I know of alot of people who own Jayco wind up campers, and I have never heard of this happening before.............ever. And I too have had alot to do with caravans etc. over a lot of years. I think 30 maybe a little over the top! but anyway if you know that many people, maybe you are not as blunt as you seem on here!
All the best with your much loved Coromal, because they are the "best" on the market, mainly becasue they hand out safety sticks, because they know they have a dodgey product!

Best wishes.
God bless.
Warm Regards.
FollowupID: 703234

Follow Up By: Member - John G- Friday, Oct 08, 2010 at 16:29

Friday, Oct 08, 2010 at 16:29
Whew

In and amongst all of that, the safety poles sound like a good idea. How are they constructed, are they able to be varied in length, is it just a matter of putting them in place and lowering the roof, and do you reckon they would adapt to a 2005 Jayco Eagle Outback?

FollowupID: 703239

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh - Friday, Oct 08, 2010 at 16:58

Friday, Oct 08, 2010 at 16:58
Fran & Col,
Let me get this right, 23 years involved in the caravan industry, and you have owned a Jayco, yet you have never heard a good word about Jayco's. Hmmm,
Your Bias is commendable.
And yes I have a Jayco, It's a dodgy 87 model Swan and yes I have had problems with the lifting mechanism, but I have learnt to fix it myself., but being 23 years old, I'm pretty sure is out of warranty ;) So no come back on Jayco I guess.
"I am speaking from experience, your comments HAIRS are purely based on fact"
Please read my post again, I asked if I could, Than Said No I can't.
But than again it doesn't matter what I say.

FollowupID: 703243

Follow Up By: Fran & Col - Friday, Oct 08, 2010 at 17:26

Friday, Oct 08, 2010 at 17:26
Thanks for all your comments Peter & Jon, I appreciate your concerns, at the end of the day if you are happy with your van so be it.

I didnt have any intention to upset or offend anyone, and apologise if I have, I just wanted to get my point across and being a woman, ( say no more), sometimes come across the wrong way, I just feel sorry for Diane and her situation, and wanted to point out that it does in fact happen far to often, and also wanted to put across that I am very happy with my Coromal.

And no Jon I am not rich nor am I hard on my gear, my husband and I have worked hard all our lives for what we have, I have just had a bad experience and wanted to share that with you all.

Sorry if I offended anyone, no offence intended.

John G, glad to see you drive a toyota mate lol.

I cant see a problem, if you go to your local caravan dealer and ask for safety poles they should be able to supply them, I was only trying to point out that maybe Jayco should supply these poles when new vans are sold, as it would stop people getting seriously injured or killed, I was also trying to point out that I have never heard of this problem with a coromal, but have seen it happen to too many JAYCOS.

Have a great weekend John, if you need any further info please let me know.

Fran
FollowupID: 703246

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G Gulmarrad - Friday, Oct 08, 2010 at 17:52

Friday, Oct 08, 2010 at 17:52
i'm just feeling the love here on a friday arvo,cheers :-)))
FollowupID: 703248

Follow Up By: Member - John G- Friday, Oct 08, 2010 at 17:56

Friday, Oct 08, 2010 at 17:56
Thanks Fran

I agree re the idea of safety poles, and was thinking if Coromal already have them then I'd simply use their poles. I know that similar poles are frequently used with pop top caravans, and they have a much shorter distance from the top of the caravan body to the pop top roof.

Have to 'fess up that I had to rely on a Nissan to extract me from an unscheduled stop in the Pascoe River in July. Not LOL!! At least the engine kept going and there was no damage - well, none that is yet evident.

FollowupID: 703249

Follow Up By: Jarse - Sunday, Oct 10, 2010 at 20:44

Sunday, Oct 10, 2010 at 20:44
Quite a bit of emotion (and product bias) here folks.

I had a Coromal camper, which came with the safety poles. Personally, I thought it was a good idea (not just from Coromal) because any wind-up camper (regardless of who built it) can have a failure of the wind-up system leading to exactly what happened to Diane.

I'd hate to have a roof come crashing down on me or my family.

The other advantage of using this (or a similar setup) is that it unloads the lifting system, so reducing stress on the pulleys and reducing cable stretch (who wants to adjust the cables any more than you need to?)
FollowupID: 703422

Follow Up By: Member - Diane F (NSW) - Monday, Oct 11, 2010 at 06:55

Monday, Oct 11, 2010 at 06:55
Jarse,
Providing safety poles would be a sound idea. BUT, Jayco Ballarat, where I purchased the camper in November last year, still this very week, deny that the roof can collapse!! I asked the salesman again, just on Friday, if he would advise anyone buying a similar van, that it has the potential to collapse. He said, "If I am directed to say that, by my boss (owners) then I will have to say it." I then spoke with one of the owners, and handed him some photographs of the van in its collapsed state. I asked him, "Will you now advise buyers that this van can collapse?" He took me to one side, away from a client, and said, "Look, Di. Nobody has said the roof didn't collapse. We do believe you." (LOL). Why then, I asked are you not going to warn people of this, or at least, like Coromal, take some precautions? Also, as I spoke with the Victorian Jayco Member's Club rep (it was a show-type day at Jayco Ballarat), she asked what had happened when I showed the photos to her. The service manager came by; I asked him to explain to the woman what had happened to my van. His reply? "Oh, I don't really know". Could you trust any of these people?
Yes, the emotion has run high. And so it should. It could have been anyone of us that this happened to, and only to have heads hidden under the sand in response.
FollowupID: 703442

Reply By: hotfishez - Friday, Oct 08, 2010 at 18:45

Friday, Oct 08, 2010 at 18:45
after a lot of dribble, locate the actual winch, it will be in the body on the inside of the external winch point, the 4 cables are held on by threaded rod. the nuts that are used to hold the rods in place are not lock nuts consequently they rattle loose. Chances are this is what has happened to yours. if this is the case refit the two " dropped out" cables and replace all four nuts with lock nuts.

AnswerID: 432447

Reply By: happyfeet - Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 20:27

Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 20:27
If you now go to a Jayco dealer you will see the support pole now come with the new campers, Hmmm no safety issue ! Come on Jayco recall them and issue poles out. Jayco you have realised there is a risk ????
AnswerID: 433196

Reply By: happyfeet - Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 20:43

Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 20:43
If you now go to a Jayco dealer you will see the support pole now come with the new campers, Hmmm no safety issue ! Come on Jayco recall them and issue poles out. Jayco you have realised there is a risk ????
AnswerID: 433199

Reply By: Red Rover - Tuesday, Oct 26, 2010 at 21:24

Tuesday, Oct 26, 2010 at 21:24
i have never seen this problem before with any new or old Jayco's, anything can happen I suppose. I have been in many 4wd clubs and currently in 2 and Jaycos have been very reliable. Yes they have the odd issue, but I have never seen anything major go wrong. I am about to buy my 3rd Jayco and am very happy with them to date
AnswerID: 434308