jackaroo body lift - please dont laugh.

Submitted: Wednesday, Oct 29, 2003 at 16:33
ThreadID: 8178 Views:8790 Replies:8 FollowUps:9
A question for the jackaroo owners out there, in my dealings with the jackaroos i have never seen one with any sort of body lift fitted, i am tossing up the idea of lifting the suspension about an inch and fitting a one inch body lift to allow me to incorporate side rail 'slider steps'. just to give me a bit better clearance. Has anyone fitted or know of a kit for these ( mine is a 98 lwb ), as i assume that with only one inch i won't need to change brake lines etc, and the steering should be ok.

Please no smart comments from all the 6 inch lifted patrol and cruiser guys, as i know she is limited in this area and i am quite happy with the jack in all other respects.. Thanks Brad.Life is short- but there's always time for a yarda.

Reply By: Eric from Cape York Connections - Wednesday, Oct 29, 2003 at 16:51

Wednesday, Oct 29, 2003 at 16:51
Brad I think you can do this by fitting taller coils. Also thicker coils will give less sag when loaded or even fit poly bags.This is if your trying to do this for load carrying. By the way the old jacks are a very underated 4x4.
4x4 tag along adventures in the cape.Cape York Connections
AnswerID: 35604

Follow Up By: Member - Bradley- Wednesday, Oct 29, 2003 at 17:11

Wednesday, Oct 29, 2003 at 17:11
Yeah the suspension is easy, it's the body lift that i'm unsure of. You are right about them being underated, as long as you respect their limitations ie. no serious rock gardens etc. they go just about anywhere. Thanks Eric.Life is short- but there's always time for a yarda.
FollowupID: 25721

Follow Up By: Eric from Cape York Connections - Wednesday, Oct 29, 2003 at 20:00

Wednesday, Oct 29, 2003 at 20:00
Brad can I ask why you want to lift the body . Just interested.
4x4 tag alongs in the capeCape York Connections
FollowupID: 25740

Follow Up By: Member - Bradley- Thursday, Oct 30, 2003 at 08:55

Thursday, Oct 30, 2003 at 08:55
Eric , because of the restrictions in the ifs suspension, i don't want to lift the whole car more than about 1 - 11/2 inches, but i want to make and fit a heavy duty set of side step 'sliders' , so i was thinking that if i could pop the body up about an inch then i could fit these and end up with an effective sill height close to standard. But the body lift now looks like it is out of the question as no one has a pre-engineered kit to suit. So i will just have to make some better bash plates for underneath the old girl..

thanks again eric..BradLife is short- but there's always time for a yarda.
FollowupID: 25760

Reply By: Leroy - Wednesday, Oct 29, 2003 at 17:09

Wednesday, Oct 29, 2003 at 17:09
Hi Brad,

The Yanks are right into what you want to do! They are into body lifts etc and you can buy kits. Have a look at this web site to begin with www.independent4x.com and www.darlington-offroad.com also www.4x4wire.com and go to the Isuzu forum.

Leroy
AnswerID: 35608

Follow Up By: Member - Bradley- Wednesday, Oct 29, 2003 at 17:12

Wednesday, Oct 29, 2003 at 17:12
alright, trust those crazy yanks, thanks leroy i'll give it a look and see how it goes. Brad.Life is short- but there's always time for a yarda.
FollowupID: 25722

Reply By: Savvas - Wednesday, Oct 29, 2003 at 17:17

Wednesday, Oct 29, 2003 at 17:17
Bradley,

Mate ... the yanks have all sorts of stuff for Troopers (Jackaroos). 2" ball joint spacers, 2" body lifts, suspension kits, etc, etc, etc.

Look at www.calmini.com
AnswerID: 35609

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Oct 29, 2003 at 17:23

Wednesday, Oct 29, 2003 at 17:23
1) you will need to have it engineered for a body lift.

2) if you have airbags, good luck getting it engineered...
AnswerID: 35610

Reply By: Member - Bradley- Wednesday, Oct 29, 2003 at 17:38

Wednesday, Oct 29, 2003 at 17:38
Thanks everyone, i've checked out the yank sites and as i alredy knew - there is heaps of suspension gear available, but NO body lift for my trooper (sorry yank talk!) jackaroo.. me so sad i thinks ill go home and have a relaxer or 2 or 3 or 4or...............................Life is short- but there's always time for a yarda.
AnswerID: 35612

Follow Up By: Savvas - Wednesday, Oct 29, 2003 at 17:43

Wednesday, Oct 29, 2003 at 17:43
As a last resort, ask the guys at Jackeroo World.

http://jackworld.alphalink.com.au
FollowupID: 25728

Reply By: Member - Foxer - Wednesday, Oct 29, 2003 at 18:06

Wednesday, Oct 29, 2003 at 18:06
Hi Bradley
We have a 98 Jack and I was discussing this very same idea with our local 4wd shop owner. He suggested to put in polyair bags (rear) and to tighten up the front torsion bar ( Then get a wheel alignment ). Seems a cheaper way than a full lift kit and with the airbags better carrying capacity.
AnswerID: 35615

Follow Up By: Member - Bradley- Thursday, Oct 30, 2003 at 09:12

Thursday, Oct 30, 2003 at 09:12
Hello foxer, this is exactly what i am already going to do , install polyairs in the back and run about 10 psi , and wind up the preload on the front torsion bars to give about 1 inch or 1 & 1/2 inch at most. this will be the best balance between lift and loss of downtravel in the front end . Don,t be tempted to go all the way up as a friend of mine did this to his pajero and had it just about touching the bump stops, looked mean but on every climb with any sort of rut it was a three wheeled monster....

Thanks Foxer..Life is short- but there's always time for a yarda.
FollowupID: 25762

Reply By: Tim - Thursday, Oct 30, 2003 at 16:50

Thursday, Oct 30, 2003 at 16:50
By slider steps I pressume you mean big beefy side steps? If so, check under the vehicle, I know on my TD jack, the transfer case is by far the most restrictive part by a long way (3 to 4 inches) and body lift wouldn't solve that problem.
Tim
AnswerID: 35723

Follow Up By: Member - Bradley- Friday, Oct 31, 2003 at 09:46

Friday, Oct 31, 2003 at 09:46
Tim, don't worry mate i'm well aware of the transfer case ( sometimes a little too aware when i hear those sounds - grind & scrape lol ), as you will see above, i wanted to incorporate the rails without losing clearance at the sides of the body. I'll just have to re-design the steps with a lowere profile. And - build more bash plates :-) ... The only great fix for the trans case is to go the whole hog with the calmini suspension lift incorporating new upper control arms etc..this gets it up about 3 inches, but she aint cheap... Cheers BradLife is short- but there's always time for a yarda.
FollowupID: 25835

Reply By: Jamie - Friday, Oct 31, 2003 at 20:10

Friday, Oct 31, 2003 at 20:10
G'day all

I have a 2001 TD Jack with OME rear springs, polyairs and OME struts all round. The front has been wound up slightly but has the charger look still. This is even the case on the non modded widetrack models as the back is higher from the factory. The back is up about 1.5 inches, not sure how much the front came up. It was a tried and proven setup as I had it on my 92 V6 also. Did plenty of off road work with that from rough rock on the NSW South Coast to sand on Fraser. I have gone a step further with this one and fitted 265/75 BFG AT's which provides a bit more clearance.

I am still looking for suitable step / sliders, can't find any that I like. Unfortunately don't have the time / inclination to make my own at present due to work commitments. My next place to check out is K&N Fabrications. The pictures I have seen of their steps look OK.

Have you seen the bash plates fitted to the ISUZU challenge vehicles? I think they were made by TJM. Pity they don't sell them.

Jamie
AnswerID: 35843

Follow Up By: Tim - Saturday, Nov 01, 2003 at 12:12

Saturday, Nov 01, 2003 at 12:12
Have those vehicles got sump guards? I would feel a lot more comfortable if I could get a sump bash plate for my jack.
Tim
FollowupID: 25910

Follow Up By: Jamie - Sunday, Nov 02, 2003 at 22:21

Sunday, Nov 02, 2003 at 22:21
Tim

It looks like they go all the way back to the crossmember. Contact me direct at edwards@arach.net.au and I will email the photo to you.

Jamie

FollowupID: 25973