Member - Marc Luther B (WA)
Sometime ago I posted about some rubbish the wife and I picked up on
the Tanami Track. Some people had left twop large bags of rubbish where they had obviously camped, and the bags had been torn open by
scavengers.
We found some letters with consistent name and address in there, so we boxed the rubbish up, taped it up, wrote "Fragile - This Side Up" on the box, and posted it to the address.
We received a letter from the same people two days ago. They were a bit peeved, but accepted what they had done was wrong, and explained they would not do so again, as when they unwrapped the parcel in their kitchen the smell was terrible. Hey it was their own rubbish.
Fortunately they could see the ridiculous side of getting their own rubbish back in the mail, and informed me they would be more careful next time, and for some reason I actually believe them, they don't want the same kind of thing in the future. Being a facetious mongrel like me works sometimes.
I enjoyed that result immensely.
Reply By: Lex M (Brisbane) - Friday, Oct 08, 2010 at 11:05
Friday, Oct 08, 2010 at 11:05
Brilliant!!!!!
Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Friday, Oct 08, 2010 at 11:27
Friday, Oct 08, 2010 at 11:27
Hi Lex
Yes we enjoyed it !
Reply By: Marion - Friday, Oct 08, 2010 at 11:28
Friday, Oct 08, 2010 at 11:28
Great outcome I believe they won't do that again.
Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Friday, Oct 08, 2010 at 11:30
Friday, Oct 08, 2010 at 11:30
Hi Marion
I agree with you in that.
Reply By: Member - Bentaxle - Friday, Oct 08, 2010 at 11:29
Friday, Oct 08, 2010 at 11:29
Well done Marc.
Would have loved to have been there when they opened the package
| May the fleas of a thousand afghan camels infect the crutch of your enemy and may their arms be too short to scratch.
Lifetime Member My Profile Send Message |
Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Friday, Oct 08, 2010 at 11:31
Friday, Oct 08, 2010 at 11:31
Hi Bentaxle
Although they said they were peeved when they opened the parcel, I toned the wording right down, suffice to say they were not happy, I am glad I was not there.
Reply By: TerraFirma - Friday, Oct 08, 2010 at 13:13
Friday, Oct 08, 2010 at 13:13
That is amazing. You went to so much trouble. They won't be doing it in a hurry me think. Now how to teach the next 10,000 people..?
Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Friday, Oct 08, 2010 at 20:34
Friday, Oct 08, 2010 at 20:34
Hi TerraFirma
Should not not to teach people, as we all should be responsible for our own actions.
Follow Up By: TerraFirma - Friday, Oct 08, 2010 at 22:40
Friday, Oct 08, 2010 at 22:40
Yes Marc so what where you doing by posting the rubbish? Teaching I suspect?
Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Friday, Oct 08, 2010 at 23:13
Friday, Oct 08, 2010 at 23:13
Hi TerraFirma
I would prefer to think that I was returning someones property that they lost, to allow them to dispense with it properly. If they learned a lesson from that, all is
well and good. I therefore accept your thesis without a problem.
Have a great weekend
Follow Up By: TerraFirma - Friday, Oct 08, 2010 at 23:22
Friday, Oct 08, 2010 at 23:22
Wish there were more people like you Marcus, great story with a great outcome
Reply By: Hairs & Fysh - Friday, Oct 08, 2010 at 13:37
Friday, Oct 08, 2010 at 13:37
Marc, Very Good.
That's a scream, I could imagine the look on their faces when they opened the parcel,
Excited, in anticipation of something special,
only to find it was their own rubbish. Now where have we seen this stuff before?
This should of been in Friday Funnies.
Thanks for sharing,
Cheers you've made my day.
Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Friday, Oct 08, 2010 at 20:36
Friday, Oct 08, 2010 at 20:36
Hi Jon
It would not be appropriate for Friday Phunnies as there was a serious message that I somehow managed to get through to them, but it is something I would do again at the drop of a hat, make people realise what they are doing.
Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh - Friday, Oct 08, 2010 at 21:33
Friday, Oct 08, 2010 at 21:33
Mate, I'm with ya on this kinda thing.
I'll pull anybody up for throwing a cig butt onto the ground, or chewing gum, I don't care what kind of limited vocabulary they have, and 9 out of 10 times i'll find out
One of my biggest pet hates atm is, here at
Lawrence, we have a car ferry to cross the Clarence, while people are waiting they light up a smoke, the ferry gets closer and they just flick their butt out to the middle of the road. I usually yell out " And where do you think that's going to end up? NOW pick it up & take it with you"
I HATE littler bugs. Trust me, I'm not a popular bloke amongst locals or travelers for that matter, and i don't care if I'm not.
Maybe why I find it funny is because I won't leave my mess behind.
My hat goes off to you.
Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Friday, Oct 08, 2010 at 21:59
Friday, Oct 08, 2010 at 21:59
Jon
I lift me lid to you mate, and you are on my very small Christmas Card list, probably so small because I don't send them.
I taught all my children as they were growing up, if they need to be popular, they need more self confidence. Popularity is for those who are scared to stand alone when the crunch comes.
Reply By: Mudripper - Friday, Oct 08, 2010 at 13:45
Friday, Oct 08, 2010 at 13:45
I've done a similar thing when living back in WA. As I lived close to the bush I was walking the dog one day when I came across a whole heap of rubbish. Mind you, the refuse site was only about 1.5km away! So I carefully sifted through the papers and found some unopened letters. Sure enough, the same name kept appearing. So I looked them up in the phone book, made a call from a phone box, and it didn't take them long to admit it. I said that if you don't pick up the rubbish within 24 hrs, I'll call the
ranger. They were really cool about it and collected it that afternoon.
A great thing is that I found $8 worth of $2 coins scattered about the site, so I was rewarded!
Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Friday, Oct 08, 2010 at 20:36
Friday, Oct 08, 2010 at 20:36
Hi Mudripper5
Good on you for looking after the country.
Reply By: Kimba10 - Friday, Oct 08, 2010 at 14:47
Friday, Oct 08, 2010 at 14:47
Brilliant absolutely brilliant, I will remember that next time I come across a heap of garbage some one has decided to dump illegally.
Well done Regards Steve M
Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Friday, Oct 08, 2010 at 20:37
Friday, Oct 08, 2010 at 20:37
Hi Kimba10
When you get the result I got it makes it so much more pleasing.
Reply By: Fred G NSW - Friday, Oct 08, 2010 at 15:02
Friday, Oct 08, 2010 at 15:02
Sensational stuff there Marc, thanks for keeping us informed on the outcome.
You deserve an award for that education ingenuity. Good onya mate LOL.
Like Jon says above, made my day reading that......talk about karma :-)))))
Fred.
Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Friday, Oct 08, 2010 at 20:39
Friday, Oct 08, 2010 at 20:39
Hi Fred
Awards mean nothing, the greatest thing I treasure is this country that I loce totally, less mess would make me extremely happy.
Follow Up By: Fred G NSW - Friday, Oct 08, 2010 at 20:54
Friday, Oct 08, 2010 at 20:54
and so say all of us...........
Fred
Reply By: Rock Ape - Friday, Oct 08, 2010 at 15:25
Friday, Oct 08, 2010 at 15:25
Mark, I haven't been having a very good morning at work, everything I have touched I have ******.
I came up for crib and saw your post, it just broke me up and I feel much better now. shared it with some workmates and it broke them up as
well.
Well I hope your post lifts my game for the rest of the day.
Have a good one and payback is a bitch.
Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Friday, Oct 08, 2010 at 20:40
Friday, Oct 08, 2010 at 20:40
Hi Rockape
Thankyou for making my day by letting me know that such a small act cheered you up, have a great weekend.
Reply By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Friday, Oct 08, 2010 at 22:22
Friday, Oct 08, 2010 at 22:22
G/Day Marc
I reckon you should be entitled to the Clean Up Australia Award, you have made my day mate, we all should take a leaf out of your book,
WELL DONE.
Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Friday, Oct 08, 2010 at 22:30
Friday, Oct 08, 2010 at 22:30
Hi Daza
Appreiate your comments, as I previously said, my only wish is for this wonderful country to be heaps cleaner. I do agree that perhaps if people find addresses in someones rubbish illegally dumped, box it and post it back. I am sure eventually it would get to the right person, and a few less people would be so less careless about this beautiful country.
Reply By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Friday, Oct 08, 2010 at 22:55
Friday, Oct 08, 2010 at 22:55
Marc
You are a champion.
You are the man.
Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Friday, Oct 08, 2010 at 23:18
Friday, Oct 08, 2010 at 23:18
Sorry Boo Boo
I checked with my wife. I am too fat, old and bald to be a champion, and I am her man, not the man. To me the champions are the kids who fight and beat horrible illnesses, and live on to become good citizens, but that is just my opinion.
Love the waterfalls in your icon, and the message, great to see such positivity.
Reply By: Fiona & Paul - Saturday, Oct 09, 2010 at 00:04
Saturday, Oct 09, 2010 at 00:04
Great work Mark and especially for taking the trouble to follow it up. We do a clean up whenever we come across rubbish but haven't followed up like you did, give us food for thought as we enjoyed and applauded your efforts.
Paul H
Follow Up By: Member - Patrick (QLD) - Saturday, Oct 09, 2010 at 16:20
Saturday, Oct 09, 2010 at 16:20
Great to see that you taught them a lesson regarding leaving their rubbish. I have always worked with the saying of 'Leave only your footprints' when
camping.
I recently attended the Aust Camp Oven Festival in Millmerran Qld where due to storms and flooding the organisers moved us to a
camping spot where there were no rubbish bins easliy accessable from our location. So I used our portable rubbish bag that attaches onto the spare wheel. Took it all back to
Brisbane and placed in into our own bins. Very satisfying.