Amps are doing me in!!!

Submitted: Friday, Oct 08, 2010 at 13:19
ThreadID: 81787 Views:4856 Replies:13 FollowUps:16

Related Pages

Happy Friday Afternoon All!

I'm having a real problem working out power usage at the moment and was hoping you guys could help me out.

I'm looking at getting a couple of 600Amp jump starters to provide us with power for lights when we go camping. Our normal trips are weekenders so I think this should be sufficient.

What I need to know is, how long will the 600Amp unit last with a 12V light attached. I know there are other factors involved but I didn't go to school that day.

Aidan

Reply By: Glenndini - Friday, Oct 08, 2010 at 13:46

Friday, Oct 08, 2010 at 13:46
To work this out one would need to know the power rating of the lights involved and the amphour capacity of the jump starter batteries. The figures you have given are useless for calculating what you want to know.

When you say the jump starters are 600amp this only refers to the maximum rated cold cranking current delivery and not the amphour capacity.

Try to find out the rated amphour capacity of the batteries and the wattage of the lights.
Divide the wattage of the lights by 12. This gives power divided by voltage equals current.

Then divide the amphour rating of the batteries by this current figure. This gives amphours divided by amps equals hours (approximately).

You shouldn't run your batteries down by more than 50% (rule of thumb) so halve the figure above.

This will give you a rough idea of how many hours you can run your lights.

AnswerID: 432420

Follow Up By: Ray - Friday, Oct 08, 2010 at 16:43

Friday, Oct 08, 2010 at 16:43
Now you've stuffed him up
FollowupID: 703241

Reply By: ben_gv3 - Friday, Oct 08, 2010 at 13:55

Friday, Oct 08, 2010 at 13:55
How many and what type of lights do you use? What is the current draw?
AnswerID: 432421

Reply By: garrycol - Friday, Oct 08, 2010 at 14:08

Friday, Oct 08, 2010 at 14:08
The 950 amp unit I have has a 17 Amp Hour battery in it - my 1250 amp unit has a 24 Amp hour battery in it. So a 600 amp unit will have about 12 amp hour battery in it.

Divide the wattage of the lights by 12 to get the amps it uses. To work out how long it will last (in theory) divide the amp hours of the battery by the amps used. This will give the duration in hours - as batteries do not go right down reduce the duration by about 1/3 to get realistic duration - but a light load might go for the full time, heavier load much less.

Eg - 600 amp unit (12Ah Battery)

Lights are 12w so 12w/12 gives a 1 amp draw - so for for every hour the lights are on 1ah is drawn from the battery.

As the battery is 12ah your max theoretical time is 12hours - but realistically it will be about 9 hours. (however your power pack red light will come on telling you to recharge before this)

Clear as mud - if you are not going to go for a separate battery system I would go for the largest portable system you can get.

Garry
AnswerID: 432423

Follow Up By: Ray - Friday, Oct 08, 2010 at 16:45

Friday, Oct 08, 2010 at 16:45
Now he is really stuffed up
FollowupID: 703242

Reply By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Friday, Oct 08, 2010 at 14:12

Friday, Oct 08, 2010 at 14:12
Hi Aidan
I am no expert in this field by a long shut, but here is what you should get basicly.

A good quality camp light, eg Versa Light claim a draw rate of less than 1amp per hour. Working on that theory with a 20 % reserve power in one battery pack, you should have around 500 hours or 20 days at 24 hours a day full time running. As you can see these figures well exceed your weekend trips away, giving you nearly 3 weeks of continuous use before the need to recharge you battery pack.

Who has been here

AnswerID: 432424

Follow Up By: Notso - Friday, Oct 08, 2010 at 14:17

Friday, Oct 08, 2010 at 14:17
No, that is not really correct as the Cranking amps simply refers to the momentary maximum output in amps.

What he needs is as stated above. The Amp Hour Capacity of the battery.

Most of these things only have around 12 Amp Hours of capacity at the most.
FollowupID: 703223

Follow Up By: hl - Friday, Oct 08, 2010 at 14:17

Friday, Oct 08, 2010 at 14:17
"I am no expert in this field by a long shut, but here is what you should get basicly."

You've certainly confirmed that one.......

cheers ;-)
FollowupID: 703224

Follow Up By: Skippype - Friday, Oct 08, 2010 at 17:23

Friday, Oct 08, 2010 at 17:23
Now now hl, he's only trying to help............
Skip ;-)
FollowupID: 703245

Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Friday, Oct 08, 2010 at 21:16

Friday, Oct 08, 2010 at 21:16
hl has been around here for years firing off sarcastic salvos. One day he may offer something useful, but I doubt it.

FollowupID: 703269

Follow Up By: Glenndini - Saturday, Oct 09, 2010 at 01:03

Saturday, Oct 09, 2010 at 01:03
Very wrong information is not helping.
FollowupID: 703283

Follow Up By: hl - Saturday, Oct 09, 2010 at 08:26

Saturday, Oct 09, 2010 at 08:26
sorry... just couldn't help myself....
I will never ever do it again... promise.

;-(

FollowupID: 703293

Follow Up By: Glenndini - Saturday, Oct 09, 2010 at 12:49

Saturday, Oct 09, 2010 at 12:49
I was referring to Stephen L and his "no expert" obfuscation of the facts.

I think HL was right. Stephen certainly proved he is far from expert.

Why do people feel the need to defend non experts who have no idea what they're talking about?
FollowupID: 703314

Follow Up By: Allan B, Sunshine Coast, - Saturday, Oct 09, 2010 at 12:59

Saturday, Oct 09, 2010 at 12:59
Well Aidan did say he was looking at getting a couple of 600Amp batteries rather than 12 Ampere Hour batteries!!!!

FollowupID: 703315

Follow Up By: Glenndini - Saturday, Oct 09, 2010 at 13:17

Saturday, Oct 09, 2010 at 13:17
Exactly. This shows that he is confusing the terminology and hence his question. It serves no purpose for others who, by their own admission, also do not know the difference between amps and amphours, to add further confusion.

600amp battery. Probably meaning maximum 600 cold cranking amps of instantaneous current.

These batteries have a capacity of about only 12amphours over the entire discharge interval.

He wasn't getting one battery or the other. The one battery type is specified as having both of these operational parameters.

Amps do not equal amphours.

(and "amps per hour" does not even make sence)
FollowupID: 703319

Follow Up By: Allan B, Sunshine Coast, - Saturday, Oct 09, 2010 at 13:44

Saturday, Oct 09, 2010 at 13:44
Sorry Glenndini, my tongue was firmly in my cheek. But I'm not going to get into a discourse on the semantics of technical expression!

FollowupID: 703322

Reply By: Rangiephil - Friday, Oct 08, 2010 at 15:45

Friday, Oct 08, 2010 at 15:45
Wow! where do I get one of those .
It would run my fridge for for about 2 weeks on one charge.
I have always wondered why I bother carrying around that 30 KG second battery which only lasts 2 days.
Regards Philip A
AnswerID: 432434

Follow Up By: Member - Christopher P (NSW) - Saturday, Oct 09, 2010 at 06:40

Saturday, Oct 09, 2010 at 06:40
Sorry mate he was talking about a light!!!

A fridge drawing 3 to 4 amps per hour on for 20 to 24 hours would kill the battery within a day or two.

sorry to put a dampener on things.

but the positive would be a good cold beer at end of day!!!

FollowupID: 703287

Reply By: Allan B, Sunshine Coast, - Friday, Oct 08, 2010 at 17:02

Friday, Oct 08, 2010 at 17:02
Hi Aidan,

As you can see, this is a minefield for the young and inexperienced!

My advice is that you would be better off buying a couple of self-contained LED or Fluro camping lanterns. Either re-chargeable or replaceable dry-cells. There are literally dozens to choose from at any camping store, BCF etc.

Having a built-in battery allows more mobility without cables to a separate battery or to the vehicle.

The re-chargeable types usually come with cords to recharge from either 230vac or 12vdc.

AnswerID: 432440

Reply By: Member - desray (WA - Friday, Oct 08, 2010 at 18:55

Friday, Oct 08, 2010 at 18:55
Just something else to think about , the jumper packs are designed to supply a high amp output in a few seconds not the opposite ,low amps over a long time. BUT the 12ah battery should last about 7 hours with the 1 amp light, not going to do the battery any good though. The LED lights are a good idea. Why not run your 1 amp light off the car battery, It would recharge the next day.
AnswerID: 432448

Reply By: Nomadic Navara - Friday, Oct 08, 2010 at 19:06

Friday, Oct 08, 2010 at 19:06
I would suggest you will be wasting your money getting jump starter packs for powering camp lights. You would be better off getting a good dual battery installation in your vehicle. Use a deep cycle battery in this for best operation and longer life.

Most of the replies above are correct. You don't get much out of those expensive jump packs. If they are not expensive then you will get less out of them.

AnswerID: 432450

Follow Up By: Member - Christopher P (NSW) - Saturday, Oct 09, 2010 at 06:46

Saturday, Oct 09, 2010 at 06:46
G'day mate, just to let you know i run most stuff off my deals direct crappy powerstation jump pack, but i have replaced the battery to a better quality one and i run a battery health led bar type battery condition monitor inline with it. if i use it just for lights and showers i can get three days out of it!!!!

i also have the oz trail ufo lighting system and run that direct from jump pack above. I also carry the coleman fluro lamp, which i re-charge from jump pack if i need to, then i hook jump pack to hilux and go for drive.

Soon to install a dual abtery in hilux, or even have three batterys in hilux for a fridge.
FollowupID: 703288

Reply By: Member - John R (cQld) - Friday, Oct 08, 2010 at 21:44

Friday, Oct 08, 2010 at 21:44
Hi Aidan,

We did just what you are suggesting on our recent trip, using a 12V LED lamp off a 600A jumpstarter pack, just for the portability. Our LED lamp has 30 small LEDs, and this provides enough light on a card table to see what you're doing, but not much more. This system lasted a week with 2-3 hrs per night use, before needing recharging. If you wanted to run more or brighter lights though, you would get less time. (Yes the battery is 12 A hr, so 1A for 12 hrs, etc, though as noted above you wouldn't flatten the battery, so more like 6 A hr actual use).

Cheers, John
AnswerID: 432460

Reply By: Member -Toonfish - Friday, Oct 08, 2010 at 23:27

Friday, Oct 08, 2010 at 23:27
just noticed recently the ozcharge jumppack have a 1500amp(3SEC) capability with a vrsla 38 amp hour battery in them for 160 smackas.
if its as good as their chargers its worth it.
2013/14 around oz adventure bound

AnswerID: 432467

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Saturday, Oct 09, 2010 at 00:05

Saturday, Oct 09, 2010 at 00:05
I'd guess the 600cca jumppack may only have a 7Ah SLA battery, which is what I've been using for years to power a fluoro. My experience is that you'll get about 7 hours, or about 3 nights worth of useful lighting before you need recharging. (after dinner, we turn the light off and use the stars)..
AnswerID: 432470

Follow Up By: Member - Boobook - Saturday, Oct 09, 2010 at 07:03

Saturday, Oct 09, 2010 at 07:03
Bingo
FollowupID: 703289

Reply By: bav076 - Saturday, Oct 09, 2010 at 18:58

Saturday, Oct 09, 2010 at 18:58
Hi i have been reading Hobo site as it gives heaps of details about this subject .try putting in Hobo in google and read his many articles from solar power to 12 volt power as he has been traveling Australia full time in his bus for over 7 years
AnswerID: 432523

Follow Up By: Allan B, Sunshine Coast, - Saturday, Oct 09, 2010 at 22:27

Saturday, Oct 09, 2010 at 22:27
That is a very impressive site. Thanks mate for the reference.

It is actually called Hobohome.com and can be found here.

FollowupID: 703368

Reply By: ajcooper - Monday, Oct 11, 2010 at 13:34

Monday, Oct 11, 2010 at 13:34
Thanks to everyone who replied to this thread. We've decided to actually have the electrics added to the trailer (we're having a new Cavalier built). Should give us all of the power we need. Big leap from a $30 jump starter to a factory fitted power pack and sockets, but it gives us more options.

Thanks again
AnswerID: 432691