Air bag suspension

Submitted: Saturday, Oct 09, 2010 at 09:48
ThreadID: 81803 Views:5452 Replies:8 FollowUps:18
G'day everyone,
I have a 2006 Ford Tray, leaf springs, that I was thinking of putting air bag suspension (Firestone). I was thinking of purchasing from the US, much cheaper, I hear. However I don't know the kit number. Here in Australia it is the Ride Rite RR4567. Would anybody know the kit number or how to work out the measurements for the kit I need.

Neville

Reply By: Fred G NSW - Saturday, Oct 09, 2010 at 11:04

Saturday, Oct 09, 2010 at 11:04
G'day Nev. I had a quote through local REPCO branch for a set of Polyair bags for 01 Triton, leaf springs, last week for under $300. May be worth an enquiry.

Fred.
AnswerID: 432491

Follow Up By: nev900 - Saturday, Oct 09, 2010 at 16:36

Saturday, Oct 09, 2010 at 16:36
Fred,

I will give it a try, thanks for the information.

Nev
FollowupID: 703336

Follow Up By: nev900 - Sunday, Oct 10, 2010 at 18:27

Sunday, Oct 10, 2010 at 18:27
Hi Fred,

I called into Repco today, they quoted $265 for Polyair, so I might go that way.

Thanks once again.

Nev
FollowupID: 703403

Follow Up By: Fred G NSW - Sunday, Oct 10, 2010 at 18:55

Sunday, Oct 10, 2010 at 18:55
That's what they quoted me as well and is the way I am going.

Cheers mate.

Fred.
FollowupID: 703407

Reply By: Member - Leigh (Vic) - Saturday, Oct 09, 2010 at 19:27

Saturday, Oct 09, 2010 at 19:27
Hi Nev. Have a look at Kit No 2115. The bag should be about right but you need to check and the brackets may need a few modifications to fit. Hope this helps. Leigh
AnswerID: 432529

Follow Up By: nev900 - Sunday, Oct 10, 2010 at 18:29

Sunday, Oct 10, 2010 at 18:29
Leigh,

Thanks for information, I have been quoted $265 for Polyair but will check your kit number with Firestone.

Nev
FollowupID: 703404

Follow Up By: nev900 - Sunday, Oct 10, 2010 at 19:55

Sunday, Oct 10, 2010 at 19:55
Leigh,

Just have question about modifications that you have to do. Could you tell me what sort of modifications are necessary?

Nev
FollowupID: 703416

Follow Up By: Member - Leigh (Vic) - Monday, Oct 11, 2010 at 09:01

Monday, Oct 11, 2010 at 09:01
Hi Nev.

To fit them to my troopy I had to modify the bottom bracket (bit of a cut here and there) and move a brake line out of the way. No real drama and if you have welding/fabrication skills you'd probably make your own brackets. Hope this helps. Regards Leigh
FollowupID: 703446

Follow Up By: nev900 - Monday, Oct 11, 2010 at 22:02

Monday, Oct 11, 2010 at 22:02
Thanks Leigh.

Nev
FollowupID: 703513

Reply By: D200Dug- Saturday, Oct 09, 2010 at 22:22

Saturday, Oct 09, 2010 at 22:22
I have had no problems with my polyair sets
AnswerID: 432545

Follow Up By: nev900 - Sunday, Oct 10, 2010 at 18:30

Sunday, Oct 10, 2010 at 18:30
D200Dug,

Would you mind answering some questions about the Polyair for me.

How long have you had them?
What sort of use?
Are they easy to install?
Did you have to modify anything?

Nev
FollowupID: 703405

Follow Up By: D200Dug- Sunday, Oct 10, 2010 at 19:08

Sunday, Oct 10, 2010 at 19:08
No problem

First set were in a toyota ute used for EVERYTHING ! ;-) including towing, heavy loads and long trips over corrugations.

I had them fitted and never had a problem used for about 200,000 Km

Second set are in my rodeo ute recommended and fitted by my mechanic ( who I trust ) I believe they are pretty easy to fit but I am not mechanically inclined and my wife is nervous so I leave stuff like that to experts and just claim it on my tax :-)
FollowupID: 703410

Reply By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Saturday, Oct 09, 2010 at 23:08

Saturday, Oct 09, 2010 at 23:08
I had Firestone bags on my previous Hilux. Supplied by Air Bag Man and professionally installed. Cost was just over $1,000, so I can see why you would look to sourcing from US.

On my 79 Series, I have Boss airbags. Bought the kit for about $500 and installed myself. An easy job and they have done the job well. For me, not worth the risk of buying from the US with that price in Aust, but others disagree.

Norm C
AnswerID: 432554

Follow Up By: nev900 - Sunday, Oct 10, 2010 at 19:40

Sunday, Oct 10, 2010 at 19:40
Hi Norm,

Thanks for your response, I have heard of Boss but dont know much about them. I like the fact that they are easy to instal so I will do some follow up research on them.

Nev
FollowupID: 703413

Reply By: mike39 - Sunday, Oct 10, 2010 at 08:55

Sunday, Oct 10, 2010 at 08:55
Nev.
Are you referring to F250?
If so, the bellows type Polyair for this vehicle are identical (the same ones) as fit the 75 seriesL/C.
I have had mine on for 10yrs. without any drama.
Sorry cant help with kit no. but present cost about $800au
mike
AnswerID: 432569

Follow Up By: nev900 - Sunday, Oct 10, 2010 at 18:25

Sunday, Oct 10, 2010 at 18:25
Hi Mike,
I was referring to F250, my tray is a one tonne Falcon.
Thanks for information about the Polyair, called in at Repco today and they have Polyair for $265.00. which is fairly competitive, alot better than the $1350 quoted by some places.

Nev
FollowupID: 703402

Follow Up By: mike39 - Sunday, Oct 10, 2010 at 21:00

Sunday, Oct 10, 2010 at 21:00
Nev.
The Polyair bellows were never as cheap as $265!.
The "bellows" type are exactly like that, a black double doughnut looking thing. designed to run at up to 100psi. and carry 1000kg. each.
If they are orange, blue or another colour, even if made by Polyair they are not the same duty rating.
If you happen to see a Toyota Troopy ambulance have a look under it. In nsw they all are fitted with them.
cheers mike
FollowupID: 703424

Reply By: Faulic_McVitte - Sunday, Oct 10, 2010 at 11:45

Sunday, Oct 10, 2010 at 11:45
If you are going to keep the vehicle new springs are better proposition to fitting airbags. Ford/Mazda/Hilux chassis is not that crash hot and you could end up cracking the chassis towng or with heavy loads in tray.
AnswerID: 432586

Follow Up By: nev900 - Sunday, Oct 10, 2010 at 19:51

Sunday, Oct 10, 2010 at 19:51
Faulic-McVitte,

I hope to be keeping it awhile, maybe I should be looking to upgrade springs as well as airbags. Everyone (Mechanics) tells me how good the airbags are and that they are the better option.

I have heard of the chassis cracking and bending and have asked about it. I also read some blogs on this site about it, and it seems that its one of those things that may happen, but may not, you take the chance!

I am not looking at towing heavy loads, mine need is for carrying heavy loads (occassionally) and it is not off road stuff, so I may be ok with them.

Nev
FollowupID: 703415

Reply By: _gmd_pps - Sunday, Oct 10, 2010 at 12:11

Sunday, Oct 10, 2010 at 12:11
I have ordered many airbags from the US.
Fitted two in my truck, on my airbag hitch, just recently 6 under a new suspension for my goose neck trailer. You don't need a kit really. A high load
airbag is something like $80 in the US. Especially now with the exchange rate it's real silly to buy here.
airbagit.com is the place to go and Yuri is answering mostly within hours.
I have just ordered a bunch of ham radio stuff from the US, which is mostly around 40% less than it is here in some cases even over 50%.

have fun
gmd
AnswerID: 432590

Follow Up By: Fred G NSW - Sunday, Oct 10, 2010 at 19:03

Sunday, Oct 10, 2010 at 19:03
I have just had a readHere about them.
FollowupID: 703409

Follow Up By: D200Dug- Sunday, Oct 10, 2010 at 19:11

Sunday, Oct 10, 2010 at 19:11
Freicken exchange rate

Great for buying stuff

Really bad for us who sell in US dollars :-(
FollowupID: 703411

Follow Up By: nev900 - Sunday, Oct 10, 2010 at 19:44

Sunday, Oct 10, 2010 at 19:44
D200Dug,

This is the result of the Global Financial Crisis, Uncle Barak Obama has got them printing plenty of the green back and what he hopes to do, is what they did after the war, get the green back up to strength over years by trying to get their manufacturers/producers to work their way back to the black.

Its called Swings and Roundabouts for us little folk, today UP tomorrow down.

You would think our government would be helping us a bit more.

Nev
FollowupID: 703414

Follow Up By: D200Dug- Sunday, Oct 10, 2010 at 20:54

Sunday, Oct 10, 2010 at 20:54
Obama is just the poor guy in the seat at the time.

The fault lies with mainly with Reagan but also with Clinton and Bush for allowing the system to become so un regulated and allowing it to continually chase impossible profits and growth.

I benefited from the low dollar but needed to pay more for my equipment.

Now I am earning less but things are cheaper.

Swings and roundabouts.

The thing that really pings me off about the whole deal is I have a mate in the US who was a builder, they invested pretty well everything into one last house before retiring and it was finished just as the market collapsed pretty well sending them bankrupt.

They got no government assistance they got no bailout.

At the same time he and his wife got cancer after 2 months of treatment their health care company who they had been paying into for insurance for 20 years dropped them when they went to renew their policy saying they did not insure people with cancer.

The system over there really sucks for the little guy. Sorry I needed a rant :-)
FollowupID: 703423

Follow Up By: nev900 - Monday, Oct 11, 2010 at 22:08

Monday, Oct 11, 2010 at 22:08
Thats ok! You're right when you say it sucks for the little guy over there. Their health system is way below our standard, and so is their unemployment benefit. Just like Creedence Clearwater suggests in their song, if you ain't no Senators son, you ain't no fortunate one!

Nev
FollowupID: 703514

Reply By: Tonyfish#58 - Wednesday, Oct 13, 2010 at 17:45

Wednesday, Oct 13, 2010 at 17:45
Nev900

A lot of people have not heard about the load assist kits - they are good value as well from an aussie company see link below

Pro Bag
AnswerID: 432896