4X4 reviews by owners seem hard to find,, except from nissan owners!

Submitted: Sunday, Oct 10, 2010 at 23:37
ThreadID: 81841 Views:5165 Replies:10 FollowUps:8
The troopy is getting a bit old ans so is the wife and one of them will have to go in the next few years. LOL

I thought I would have a look at whats on offer and what owners have to say about them.

Basically I am looking at single cab/chassis/tray top and will put a canopy on,and will need a towing capacity of 2500 to 3000kgs.

No bun fights please ,,, pretty please. LOL

Came across some very unhappy owners of the Nissan Navara,, but it was around 2007,,but I am a bit wary of nissan based on comments regarding some warranty issues over the years on our forum and others.

I have check some of the brand name forums but other than Nissan nothing really jumps out except a few baggers of the triton and the higher cost of hiluxs.

I saw a Ford Ranger today in the Perth area and the owner was really pleased with it,,,but only had it a short time.

Any hell would be appreciated.

Can anyone direct me to a site that can perhaps give me comparisons and know problems.

Tell me nicely if I'm asking too much.

Reply By: Member - Redbakk (WA) - Sunday, Oct 10, 2010 at 23:44

Sunday, Oct 10, 2010 at 23:44
Have a bo peep at this.......http://caravanersforum.com/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=11403

AnswerID: 432662

Follow Up By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Monday, Oct 11, 2010 at 00:24

Monday, Oct 11, 2010 at 00:24
Thanks Redbakk

I did read a bit about the Dmax and yes it did look good.

FollowupID: 703434

Follow Up By: Tonyfish#58 - Monday, Oct 11, 2010 at 18:10

Monday, Oct 11, 2010 at 18:10
Dmax - Colorado - (Rodeo)

Good vehicle - more than enough power - fuel economy is great 10-11 on the highway 15 - 16s in the sand with a full load.

Has been very reliable to date 90k on the clock

Tows well - but forget about 3 ton - max of 2.2 I would say. In hot weather it starts overheating under load (Headwinds, hills) when towing heavier weights. When this happens you just have to drop back and lay off the power for a while. Drop back to 3rd and 60k :-) - It has the power to tow in these conditions ..just not the cooling capacity.

It needed mods to become a good off road 4x4, if you do not do a lot of off road then it would suffice. If you do, you will have to upgrade the suspension, tyres and throw in some front diff locks. After that it will take you anywhere you would venture & beyond :-)

Very comfortable seats and extended hours in the seat are fine, accessories are ample for these models.

All in All good vehicle 6/10 without mods - 8/10 with basic mods and 10/10 with the mods I have put on it :-0.

Cheers Tony
FollowupID: 703482

Reply By: Member - William H (WA) - Monday, Oct 11, 2010 at 00:36

Monday, Oct 11, 2010 at 00:36
Boo Boo get around here and have a cup of coffee before you do anything.
Or give me a call

Cheers for now...WilliamH...Bunbury...WA.
AnswerID: 432664

Reply By: Notso - Monday, Oct 11, 2010 at 10:49

Monday, Oct 11, 2010 at 10:49
I reckon the Triton Ute is a great vehicle.

Had one for 4 years now, towed 2 tonne van most of it's 90,000 ks

Absolutely no problems with it, stock standard economical, great performance. I would buy another one!

The Nissan 3.00 CRD is also a useful vehicle, a bit less economical than the Triton, but a much tougher vehicle all round. Different class to any of the lighter tray backs.

The Toyota ute is probably the best all round but you pay for it.

AnswerID: 432680

Follow Up By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Monday, Oct 11, 2010 at 11:05

Monday, Oct 11, 2010 at 11:05
Notso

I sort of agree the triton is good vehicle.

I had one in 2003,, it was really great until 94000km's then the timing belt broke and destroyed the motor.

Fixed under warranty ok and other than that It was OK.

FollowupID: 703459

Follow Up By: Notso - Monday, Oct 11, 2010 at 11:13

Monday, Oct 11, 2010 at 11:13
The later models have timing chains, so hopefully that won't be an issue with mine.

FollowupID: 703460

Reply By: Member - John D, Wandong (Vic) - Monday, Oct 11, 2010 at 16:39

Monday, Oct 11, 2010 at 16:39
Hi BooBoo, have a look at GoAuto, lots of reviews on there for lots of diferent makes and models...
http://www.goauto.com.au/mellor/mellor.nsf/homepage/RThome

Cheers, John
AnswerID: 432708

Follow Up By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Tuesday, Oct 12, 2010 at 10:33

Tuesday, Oct 12, 2010 at 10:33
Thanks John

Will have a look at it tonight.
FollowupID: 703552

Reply By: Member - peter f (VIC) - Monday, Oct 11, 2010 at 21:35

Monday, Oct 11, 2010 at 21:35
think your expecting a lot . ie Navara with the expectation of 2500/3000 kg
better to have a bigger truck to do it easier an it will last longer .
mechpete
AnswerID: 432746

Reply By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Tuesday, Oct 12, 2010 at 01:00

Tuesday, Oct 12, 2010 at 01:00
Oh..!!! here we go again..

AnswerID: 432767

Reply By: 3GoBush - Tuesday, Oct 12, 2010 at 01:25

Tuesday, Oct 12, 2010 at 01:25
Here's a thought just grab your self by the gonads and for god sake make a desicion on your're own for once.
AnswerID: 432769

Follow Up By: 3GoBush - Tuesday, Oct 12, 2010 at 01:31

Tuesday, Oct 12, 2010 at 01:31
Sorry forgot to spell check.

But you know what I mean.
FollowupID: 703527

Follow Up By: Madfisher - Tuesday, Oct 12, 2010 at 13:35

Tuesday, Oct 12, 2010 at 13:35
3go Bush you sound like a impulse buyer who buys a exploder because he never researched it.
Like Boo Boo I do heaps of research first, never had a dud yet and I only but 2nd hand.
FollowupID: 703562

Reply By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Tuesday, Oct 12, 2010 at 10:25

Tuesday, Oct 12, 2010 at 10:25
3gobush

Ido make decisions on my own, but before I do I like to gather information from a number of sources, including owners and this forum. I will also be looking at reviews from the experts etc then I will make a decision.

AnswerID: 432783

Reply By: Member - Graeme W (NSW) - Tuesday, Oct 12, 2010 at 14:20

Tuesday, Oct 12, 2010 at 14:20
Hi Boo Boo,

There's owner opinions on this Product Review website

Graeme
Lake Eyre 2011

AnswerID: 432795

Reply By: Axle - Tuesday, Oct 12, 2010 at 20:12

Tuesday, Oct 12, 2010 at 20:12
G/Day Boo Boo, Why change from a troopy?, Why not Update?

Single cab utes can be a pain room wise, and even a bigger pain when its raining!; and you want something out of the back..Lol, thats when you send the Missus!!..LOL., Reckon i would think about this one.

PS. (Iknow where theres a good landy).
AnswerID: 432822

Follow Up By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Tuesday, Oct 12, 2010 at 20:44

Tuesday, Oct 12, 2010 at 20:44
G'day Axle

We still haven't caught up for that beer yet,,, must try and arrange it the next time we are at Tumbi.

So let me get this right you wouldn't sell me your good caravan dirt cheap a few months back,, but you now want to sell me a clapped out landy. LOL

When we travel to jobs these days we take every thing including the kitchen sink. The troopy is great for the job but its getting in and out and bending inside while I'm packing and unloading.

My thoughts are that it would be far easier to access things from a tray top with say, an aluminium canopy and some access doors.

I'm in the early stages of deciding what I want.

It may be that we keep the troopy a while longer if nothing else fits the billl, or bite the bullet and get a tray top cruiser, although I don't want to spend that much money.

Anyway I'll see what pops up.

FollowupID: 703581