Turbo Diesel

Submitted: Tuesday, Oct 12, 2010 at 16:39
ThreadID: 81859 Views:3558 Replies:3 FollowUps:4
Gday all,

Just wondering what everyone's thoughts are on the 6.5 chevy turbo diesel VS the normal aspirated 6.5 chevy diesel?
Pros and cons?

thanks,

Reply By: Rock Ape - Tuesday, Oct 12, 2010 at 18:05

Tuesday, Oct 12, 2010 at 18:05
John,
the difference will be this if you are going install one in a vehicle that didn't come standard with a 6.5.
1.Turbo will produce a lot more killowatts and torque so your driveline has to be able to take it.
2. It will also produce more under bonnet heat.
3. The turbo and plumbing will take up more room.
4. Your frontal area has to be sufficient to allow for a large radiator. For example a 75/78/79 series Toyota doesn't have the radiator area, although I have seen one fitted to a 75 series with an auto box.

From memory the 6.5 natural is 120kw and the turbo 175kw, also trere is a substantial difference in torque.

Have a good one.
AnswerID: 432812

Follow Up By: Member - John S (QLD) - Wednesday, Oct 13, 2010 at 00:15

Wednesday, Oct 13, 2010 at 00:15
rock ape,

thanks for all the input. i was planning on getting the conversion done on the old '98 patrol, but decided against it because of the cost. i have decided to go for one that has already had the conversion done, but didn't know if it was worth spending the extra coin on a turbo model or not. i mean V8 compared to my 2.8 straight 6 should be quite noticable??

FollowupID: 703604

Reply By: Trevor R (QLD) - Tuesday, Oct 12, 2010 at 18:20

Tuesday, Oct 12, 2010 at 18:20
Hi John,

I had thoughts on installing a N/A 6.5 in the GU but after driving heaps of them I felt it was not 15-20G better than my worked 4.2T. Just recently I picked up a GMC running a 6.5T and holy crap does this thing go, I can't believe the difference and if all 6.5T's produce like the GMC then it most certainly would be worth the extra coin in my opinion.

As said by rockape above there would be heaps of other factors to take into consideration if installing either of these motors in the GU or any other car for that matter but so long as you are aware and have factored for these things then all should be sweet. Hook into the turbo version if you can.

Cheers, Trevor.
AnswerID: 432813

Reply By: Member - William H (WA) - Tuesday, Oct 12, 2010 at 19:12

Tuesday, Oct 12, 2010 at 19:12
John where are you going to get it fitted at???????

Cheers for now...Williamh...Bunbury ...WA.
AnswerID: 432817

Follow Up By: Member - John S (QLD) - Wednesday, Oct 13, 2010 at 00:10

Wednesday, Oct 13, 2010 at 00:10
William,

i was thinking of taking a trip over to Perth and having a look at one of the already converted 4X4's at Brunswick.

FollowupID: 703603

Follow Up By: Haza - Wednesday, Oct 13, 2010 at 22:33

Wednesday, Oct 13, 2010 at 22:33
A friend has a n/a Nissian patrol, the motor is reco'd 6.5 and had almost zero km on the motor. Had a look under the hood and it's very neat and proffessiona, I can't fault any of the fittings and adaptors.
His was previously a 4.8l petrol, the interior in excellent conditon and all external fittings colour coded and as new condition. He has found a few minor issues but brunswick has offered to repair then at no cost. The issues are minor and wern't brunswick fault but outsourced alterations. Paid $45 grand. The radiator is huge and was told that they have upgraded there radiator from earlier designs to eliminate any over heating issues, His is up north and hasn't had the temp raise from normal once, this includes slow sand driving.
FollowupID: 703690

Follow Up By: Member - John S (QLD) - Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 02:53

Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 02:53
thanks for that haza,
sounds like your mate is on a winner! and sounds like he is getting more bang for his buck than the 4.8L.

FollowupID: 703704