Should I remove Canning Stock Routre photos from Google Earth?

I traveled the Canning Stock Route in 2008.
Well 17 is located at a place called Killagurra Spring and Gorge (Jilakurru)

I posted several photos of Killagurra Spring and Gorge, and a few Aboriginal paintings I found there on Google Earth.

http://www.panoramio.com/photo/23895500

I have now received a request to remove all of the photos from Google Earth, supposedly because Aboriginal Elders consider this place is not for general viewing.
(see comments under the photo)

If I remove the photos, this place will be completely unmarked on Google Earth.

Should I remove these photos from Google Earth???

Reply By: Dave_01 - Tuesday, Oct 12, 2010 at 20:51

Tuesday, Oct 12, 2010 at 20:51
Touchy subject, out of respect I would remove the photos, not saying their right or wrong, remembering you still have them for your own memories.

AnswerID: 432828

Follow Up By: Member - Barry (NT) - Tuesday, Oct 12, 2010 at 20:59

Tuesday, Oct 12, 2010 at 20:59
Agree with Dave (somewhat reluctantly) but after many years in the NT and dealings with communities and elders, particularly the oldies, etc, I would remove them.

You could pass them on the selected people who would respect the info and source, but keep them out of the VERY public domain of google.

Without being judgmental, which is not my style, nor do I play "the person" this is one of the reasons we are losing access to many areas in Oz.

I believe you have done the right thing by floating the subject though, so congratulations.

FollowupID: 703585

Follow Up By: Member Brian (Gold Coast) - Wednesday, Oct 13, 2010 at 07:28

Wednesday, Oct 13, 2010 at 07:28
Well said Barry!

FollowupID: 703608

Reply By: howesy - Tuesday, Oct 12, 2010 at 21:32

Tuesday, Oct 12, 2010 at 21:32
The only real problem I see is the ones depicting obvious significance (all the paintings).There may be one or 2 other areas of significant cultural importance but as far as I see the rest are general photos of australiana. I would be removing the paintings and as far as the rest I would be waiting for an official request from an authority. You dont say who made this request only that whoever it was is relaying hearsay that elders are against it. Why not contact the horses mouth so to speak this person could just be a fly by night crack pot pretending to speak on their behalf. Just remember tread lightly and show respect when you talk to them.
AnswerID: 432829

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff P (SA) - Tuesday, Oct 12, 2010 at 21:37

Tuesday, Oct 12, 2010 at 21:37
Seems to be two threads on this, but I agree with the above comments, which is not quite what I said on the other thread but what I was thinking. (if that makes sense)
FollowupID: 703587

Follow Up By: Members Pa & Ma. - Wednesday, Oct 13, 2010 at 12:08

Wednesday, Oct 13, 2010 at 12:08
Hi to all,
We agree with Brian & howsey.
From past experience, I was spoken to by an Ab. P.O.
I was treated quite rudely by this person even though I'd done all the correct things.
I complained to the Minister for Aboriginal affairs W.A. The reply said that these Ab. P. O's are not employed by the government but by the community.
This bloke must've just got his hat & badge and a big ego because he truly went overboard.
I told him so, in a pleasant way & he apologised in the end.
The name Peter rings a bell !
In general, the true Elders of the community are very willing to have a chat it's some of these do gooders who cause the angst.
We don't stop the Aboriginal people going into our churches but be it white or black it's the ones who damage the place who stuff it up for all. There are the good & the bad in all.
This generation has given them their land back. If it had of been a tribal war that wouldn't have happened. They do ask you not to take photos! so I'd take off the paintings and the waterholes, but see if you can organise a chat with one of the Elders or the place that issues Permits for that area to make sure that the person who asked you to take them off isn't just one of these Do Gooders causing angst.Australia is also ours but we think a lot more of this is going to happen.
Take care, safe travels. Ma
FollowupID: 703626

Reply By: skulldug - Tuesday, Oct 12, 2010 at 21:39

Tuesday, Oct 12, 2010 at 21:39
Pyroid,
Excellent post. Out of respect for the elders, I think remove it.

I wonder who I could ask to have my house and car listed as not to be stolen?

Chicken and egg situation I guess

Skull
AnswerID: 432832

Reply By: Flynnie - Tuesday, Oct 12, 2010 at 21:44

Tuesday, Oct 12, 2010 at 21:44
I have had a quick look at the photos and saw the request that had been made. Given the sensitivity to the paintings not being for general viewing I would encourage taking down any photo that shows a painting and also any that show sensitive areas.

To my eyes the other pictures were only of scenery - to other eyes they could be much more. If in any doubt at all I would take then down.

It is not hard to locate other images of the location scattered across the internet. Taking down your pictures from Google Earth may only be a gesture but at least it will be a gesture of good will and we need some of that.

Flynnie
AnswerID: 432833

Reply By: Member - Phil B (WA) - Tuesday, Oct 12, 2010 at 21:58

Tuesday, Oct 12, 2010 at 21:58
Hi guys,

It’s not just the art that may be of concern. The actual place and surrounds also fall into the ‘don't take photos category’.

Just as Christians may see St Paul’s cathedral in London or St Peters in Rome as important shrines. The elders or the Martu in general would see the whole area of Killagurra gorge as their “cathedral”. I hope you get my drift. This is the message I got from talking to some of the Martu recently. It certainly put a different slant on how I viewed these places.

Dare I say it like the desire by the elders to stop people climbing Ayers Rock. One elder I read somewhere said "How would you like me to walk all over you church altar?"

There is a lot of difference between
‘Human Being’ and ‘Being Human’.

AnswerID: 432834

Follow Up By: Member -Pinko (NSW) - Tuesday, Oct 12, 2010 at 22:49

Tuesday, Oct 12, 2010 at 22:49
A good analogy Phil.
Wife and I traveled the Canning in '08 and there were signs of 'no entry' at the turn off to Killagurra Spring. As I recall my permit had words to that effect. Whilst camped at Durba many were going back to enter that area. As much as I would like to have had a look I felt I was morally obligated not to, so I did not. Speaking to travellers of the Canning since and when asked if I had gone into Killagurra I've stuck to my guns and given them a bit of a serve for reasons you mention.
Having travelled in other parts of the world where in the past the brits and the Germans have plundered rich religous sites and removed them to thier own countries and now there is nothing left but stones and sand.
In no way am I saying that Killagurra is being plundered but we have something very special here so lets keep it that way and show the utmost respect.
Living is a journey,it depends on where you go !
VKS 737 mobile 0049 selcall 0049

FollowupID: 703593

Follow Up By: Pyroyd - Wednesday, Oct 13, 2010 at 19:46

Wednesday, Oct 13, 2010 at 19:46
Defiantly no signs saying No Entry at the turn off or the entrance to the gorge in July 08. No Entry signs were on the other side of Durba Hills stopping me from heading east.
FollowupID: 703670

Reply By: Wheatbelt Wayne - Tuesday, Oct 12, 2010 at 23:17

Tuesday, Oct 12, 2010 at 23:17
Maybe I could have set up the same thing when I lived in Hedland... Then my house wouldnt have been robbed so many times, my swag would still be with me, not stolen and I wouldnt have had to leave because of the poor behaviour and disrespect from the local people...

Sure I understand that there are culturally sensitive areas, but there has to be give and take... not just TAKE all the time.

I have some very good friends and work colleagues who are aboriginal and they would agree that there has to be a two way street here.

AnswerID: 432846

Follow Up By: wato35 - Wednesday, Oct 13, 2010 at 14:14

Wednesday, Oct 13, 2010 at 14:14
I also have aboriginal friends and I respect their culture. But we don't seem to know whats right or wrong until after the fact. The goal posts seem to move some of the time. Respect is a two way street.
FollowupID: 703637

Reply By: get outmore - Wednesday, Oct 13, 2010 at 01:19

Wednesday, Oct 13, 2010 at 01:19
definitly leave them there

it is mornism gone bad

why where the paintings there??

for the same reason every one from every culture every where has done them

---------------- for people too see

what next ? we ban aboriginals from the national art gallery?... fair dinkum
AnswerID: 432850

Follow Up By: Fiona & Paul - Wednesday, Oct 13, 2010 at 15:05

Wednesday, Oct 13, 2010 at 15:05
Agree with you get outmore - we could not take photos when they were painted and it would seem to me that the original artist wanted to leave a message. The only way for that message to be spread is if someone has a look and passes the message on.

That is exactly what is being done here!

Wake up all you sympathisers and get off the political correctness bandwagon.

Paul H

Paul H
OZ Downunder

FollowupID: 703641

Follow Up By: Member - Phil B (WA) - Wednesday, Oct 13, 2010 at 15:47

Wednesday, Oct 13, 2010 at 15:47
Hi Paul,

Its nothing to do with Political correctness. Its about doing the right thing and about keeping tracks open.

Re "... it would seem to me that the original artist wanted to leave a message" We aren't talking about an art gallery here we are talking about a mens ceremonial ground a highly significant one at that.

If they close more tracks I guess you'll be the first to complain about that too!

FollowupID: 703643

Follow Up By: Fiona & Paul - Wednesday, Oct 13, 2010 at 17:13

Wednesday, Oct 13, 2010 at 17:13
Hi Phil

I thought this thread was about photographs of 'sacred grounds' and 'rock paintings' and whether or not they should be removed from public view on Google Earth. I don't recall anything about keeping tracks open.

If areas such as these 'are not' considered art galleries then I'm not here. If these places had not been visited by others, who told us about them, then we would not know about them, thank heaven someone had the good sense to tell us.

Closing tracks is another topic but if I want to go there I can walk, and I do, to take photographs of where I have been.

Paul H

Paul H
OZ Downunder

FollowupID: 703646

Follow Up By: Member - Phil B (WA) - Wednesday, Oct 13, 2010 at 18:08

Wednesday, Oct 13, 2010 at 18:08
Hi Paul

Yes it is about scared grounds etc but if we don't show respect for their wishes they will close access to more parts of the CSR and other areas. This is exactly what happened with access to the Calvert Range and more recently ie 30/6/10 to the Carnarvon range.

A few people showed disregard at the Calvert Range argued with one of the rangers/elders (not sure which) that happened to be there and went ahead taking photos etc. A few months later access to the whole of the Calvert range is denied. Sadly we can't separate one from the other i.e. viewing photographing sacred ground versus track closures.

We may not like it but under native title they 'own' the land and can deny access. A few transgressors stuff it up for the majority who do the right thing.

If more closures occur on say the CSR it won’t be worth doing the CSR trip because the 'best' bits will be off limits.

FollowupID: 703655

Reply By: lbudgie - Wednesday, Oct 13, 2010 at 01:26

Wednesday, Oct 13, 2010 at 01:26
leave them.
if they did not want you to look at them they would not have painted them.
AnswerID: 432852

Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Wednesday, Oct 13, 2010 at 17:33

Wednesday, Oct 13, 2010 at 17:33
I'm sure they were not concerned with Google Earth when they were painted. :)

FollowupID: 703650

Reply By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Wednesday, Oct 13, 2010 at 03:11

Wednesday, Oct 13, 2010 at 03:11
Hi Pyroyd

As you would sewe from my profile, my wife is a traditional woman. We live in Mulan Aboriginal Community, but her mother is one of the oldest Martu women, and I showed her the photos. She made it very clear that only a couple of the paintings need to be removed, as they were not put there for general exhibition as one respondent chose to say.

It is obvious that the personsadvising the removal have no wish to identify which specific photos should be removed, but I think that such is quite obvious, and it would be best to simply respect the oldest known culture and basically remove the actual paintings, not the general area photos.

Your decision in the end whether you respect the Elders request.

Why travel overseas, you could travel Australia your entire life, and not see it all.

AnswerID: 432853

Follow Up By: Pyroyd - Wednesday, Oct 13, 2010 at 20:25

Wednesday, Oct 13, 2010 at 20:25
Ok, I will respect the wishes of one of the oldest Martu women.
I will remove all of the photos of paintings except one.
The one I am leaving is very old and faint.
It is that faint I wasn't even sure that this was a painting until I hit it with the camera flash.
I was amazed at how the camera flash brought up the detail of this painting when photographed.
I am very happy that your wife's mother approves of the general area photos.
I am also happy to remove the remaining painting photo at your request.
Thank You very much for your post.
FollowupID: 703673

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Wednesday, Oct 13, 2010 at 21:30

Wednesday, Oct 13, 2010 at 21:30
Hi Pyroyd

I have explained your response, through my wife, to my mother-in-law (I am not allowed to talk to or look at her). She is pleased with what you have decided. If you get any flack please feel free to message me and I will contact our nephews in Kunawaritji (Well 33) and have them relay a message that it was on my wifes mother word that you took the action.

The old lady is the 80 year Nangala skin woman in Mulan, tribal people will immediately oknow who that is.

Why travel overseas, you could travel Australia your entire life, and not see it all.

FollowupID: 703683

Follow Up By: Pyroyd - Wednesday, Oct 13, 2010 at 23:53

Wednesday, Oct 13, 2010 at 23:53
I posted the Followup to Reply 13 before I read this one.
I'm glad everyone is happy.
Still would be nice to know some of the Aboriginal history, stories or significance of Killagarra.

Cheers!
FollowupID: 703696

Reply By: Member - Phil B (WA) - Wednesday, Oct 13, 2010 at 08:24

Wednesday, Oct 13, 2010 at 08:24
Hi Wayne, lbudgie and Get Outmore

It’s not just the aborigines that break into homes and steal. There’s bad types in all races and the talk about breakins and stealing isn't the point here.

If we want to retain access to places like the CSR and not lose access as has recently happened to the Calvert and Carnarvon range and previously Helena spring, Killiagurra etc sticking it to them will only result in more antagonism and more no access to various areas. Our law whether we like it or not says they 'own the land' under native title.

Talk of ‘why were they painted there then’ ‘don’t remove them leave them’ will only cause more angst and grief and more lock downs. As I said currently our law says they own the land.

Don’t take your frustrations out on the aborigines, they are working within both their and our laws. Take it out on the pollies etc who created our law.

AnswerID: 432864

Reply By: TerraFirma - Wednesday, Oct 13, 2010 at 13:14

Wednesday, Oct 13, 2010 at 13:14
I would keep the photos however make them private viewing vs public. I think the general consensus here is to do the right thing and his approach and email address with invitation to discuss seems fair. The only other point I would make is that are these photos available elsewhere for public viewing? I think if they are and are common then he needs to address the issue on a large scale as apposed to singling out individuals, that doesn't make it right but is only a point worth mentioning.
AnswerID: 432878

Follow Up By: trilogy - Wednesday, Oct 13, 2010 at 19:23

Wednesday, Oct 13, 2010 at 19:23
Thanks for putting the photos up. I doubt I will ever see them in real life and would be a loss to hide them away.
FollowupID: 703664

Reply By: Gazal Champion - Wednesday, Oct 13, 2010 at 19:16

Wednesday, Oct 13, 2010 at 19:16
Hi Pyroyd,

Mate, it is a small request but as a display of respect it could have some large outcomes, read positive results.
These apparently are located on private land and as a person who owns some private land I would not take kindly to anyone trespassing on my land especially when I had posted a sign saying "No Entry".

You can't blame the people of that region getting their back up about this because too many people ignore their wishes. In the old days someone breaking that law would be speared and maybe killed for it.

Ive heard of people deficating and urinating on Uluru. Can you believe it! Try doing that in a major church or mosque around the world and see where it gets you.

We have to meet in the middle on these issues or there is no respect either way.
Mate, you know what you have to do for the good of all concerned, so mate with the greatest of respect to you, just go and do it and you will feel better for it.
And most of us will thank you for it.
Best regards, Bruce.
At home and at ease on a track that I know not and
restless and lost on a track that I know. HL.

AnswerID: 432907

Follow Up By: Pyroyd - Wednesday, Oct 13, 2010 at 21:18

Wednesday, Oct 13, 2010 at 21:18
There were no signs saying "No Entry".
Killagurra is water 17 on the Canning.
And yes, all of the drovers were speared and killed on the first cattle drove down the Canning.
I doubt that they were speared for just being there as Alfred Canning had to face a Royal Commission because of his alleged his bad treatment of Aboriginals.
Are we not allowed to travel the entire Canning Stock Route today?
Including water 17.
After reading Reply 9, I removed most photos of the paintings.
I think the general area photos should stay.
I am very happy that the elderly Martu women says the general area photos are ok.
Thank you to everyone for your posts.
FollowupID: 703680

Reply By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Wednesday, Oct 13, 2010 at 21:40

Wednesday, Oct 13, 2010 at 21:40

Just a point of clarification here.

Have no douibt, if someone is caught in or too close to law ground, there are still spears around, and they do hurt when given in the legs.

A law that has been around for thousdands of years and has never changed is much more effective than a law which is constantly changed for convenience. Aboriginal law is extremely hard and rigid, but it has proven successful for many years, perhaps a little respect.

I am white, my wife is black, and I went through law many, many years ago.

True tribal people would not even contemplate breaching something that is sacred to anyone. The areas are not identified intentionally, as that would, unquesttionably, lead to fools sneaking in to find out why they should not be there.

AnswerID: 432924

Follow Up By: Pyroyd - Wednesday, Oct 13, 2010 at 23:20

Wednesday, Oct 13, 2010 at 23:20
So what you are saying is that there are unidentified areas in remote areas of Australia where I am likely to be speared in the leg for just being there?
I will make sure I'm armed next time I go for a walk in remote areas of Australia.

Your comments do wonders for what our government calls Reconciliation.
I thought that you might have been happy that I removed the photos of paintings.

My understanding is that I may enter any native title land in the company of an Aboriginal from any part of Australia. I understand that according to your tribal law, if an Aboriginal from another area entered a "law ground" or sacred site they would be speared, yet today any Australian Aboriginal may enter any native title land but I may not because I am white fella? I think these tribal laws are outdated and obsolete.

These tribal laws may have worked 100 years ago when Aboriginals lived on the land in a tribal way as they did for thousands of years but today they do not. They live mostly in communities and ofter no where near these sacred sites. If they didn't have vehicles they would probably never go there.

Aboriginals used to live in Killagurra Gorge, some were born there and some died they did not just go there for special ceremonies or occasions. They do not live there anymore so why is this place sacred? Do you think white fella will wreck the paintings?

It would be nice if someone explained the meaning or stories of any these paintings or is that sacred knowledge.

FollowupID: 703695

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 00:15

Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 00:15
Hi Pyroyd

No that is not what I am saying at all. Another person posted that spearing "used" to happen, I was explaining that it still happens, but I have never heard of a white person travelling being hurt in such a way.

You are correct, an Aboriginal from another area is the person who would be appropriately punished. To answer your query, the areas are sacred because of burial places for skeletal remains, where previous British and European expeditions removed bones for "scientific research", though I will never understand that.

I will ask my wife to find out from her mother what can and can't be explained, and the old lady is extremely happy that you removed the paintings. I do not personally know the meanmings of the painting, nor would I pretend to, but I will endeavour to find out what I can explain.

Incidentally, where we live is a Native Title area, and heaps of white people come here to look at the lake and the birdlife, and they are welcomed with open arms. We even go and get firewood for them as required, and leave a tank of fresh water at the camping grounds for them.

Perhaps a good thopught if for people toi find out where trhe elders for an area are, sit down and have a cuppa with them, and find out the history, they will always ne happy to talk with someone who approaches them face to face, and give respect for respect given, that applies for any race.

Please accept that some people still live on their traditional lands, and welcome people in, and make sure it is explained that for specific reasons some areas cannot be entered

FollowupID: 703700