sliding canopies

Submitted: Wednesday, Oct 13, 2010 at 10:54
ThreadID: 81875 Views:3013 Replies:2 FollowUps:3

Related Pages

Hi was wondering if anyone had a sliding canopie on a tray back n could u tell me how waterproof they are?
I would be sleeping in the back of the ute n sometimes at a campdraft out here it teems down with rain. Thanks

Reply By: Tonyfish#58 - Wednesday, Oct 13, 2010 at 17:34

Wednesday, Oct 13, 2010 at 17:34
drafter64 - Mate their are a multitude of canopies - is sliding a particular brand?

Anyways you can get canopies that are water tight no worries - I had a canvas side removable canopy on my Cruiser that was water proof.

You would just have to set it up to your requirements - Personally I would build one myself (have done with my ute), as you can build to your specs and requirements.

Cheers Tony
AnswerID: 432894

Follow Up By: drafter64 - Wednesday, Oct 13, 2010 at 18:23

Wednesday, Oct 13, 2010 at 18:23
No tonyfish its actually a sliding canopy. U can slide it back when u dont want to use it. Link in next reply has a pic of it.
FollowupID: 703658

Follow Up By: Tonyfish#58 - Wednesday, Oct 13, 2010 at 18:30

Wednesday, Oct 13, 2010 at 18:30
Made properly they will no leak - I would get it made to my specs - Like windows you can unzip with flyscreen, prop up awnings over the windows (So you can have the window open when it rains)

The only problem is that they are not fully dust proof and not easy to make so. A vent and cover sewn into the front of the canopy does help with this though.

Personally I would go a hard top slide off canopy - but thats me not you :-)

Cheers Tony
FollowupID: 703660

Reply By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Wednesday, Oct 13, 2010 at 17:36

Wednesday, Oct 13, 2010 at 17:36
drafter,

Are you talking about One similar to this sliding canopy??

AnswerID: 432895

Follow Up By: drafter64 - Wednesday, Oct 13, 2010 at 18:27

Wednesday, Oct 13, 2010 at 18:27
hi Kev, yes thats the one. The salesman at blueys couldnt really say if it was waterproof. So just seeing if someone has actually owned one and can tell me good n bad things about it.
FollowupID: 703659