Series 80 gas fuel consumption
Submitted: Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 22:10
beezmilk
Maiden voyage of the home built terravan resulted in gas consumption of 32 litres/100 klms or 10mpg. That equates to $53 250klms or $93 if I was paying for fuel to take me the same distance. The terravan is an old jayco campervan mounted on a jayco 24ft caravan chassis with an oztrike on the rear. All canvas is Aust. Army auscam. A different looking unit. I'm not a member so can't post a pic.
Reply By: PatrolEv - Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 22:36
Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 22:36
G'day,
The Terravan sounds interesting, can you email some pics to me?
evansue2@gmail.com
Good figures on the gas by the way
Ev
Follow Up By: beezmilk - Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 22:56
Thursday, Oct 14, 2010 at 22:56
you should have the pics now ev, if anyone else is interested just let me know and ill email them to you as
well, its an unusual looking beast but it works for me, weighs two ton all loaded, electric brakes on all 4 trailer
wheels, they work
well. The cruiser has a two inch lift and polyair bags. '97 model so this one can tow 3500kg legally. bit of a fuel guzzler, but id rather be puttin 50 bucks in her and go somewhere than buy a $50 meal for the family at Maccas.....
Reply By: Gazal Champion - Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 20:06
Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 20:06
Hi Beezmilk,
I had an 80 series running on gas and used to get 3.3 ks per litre towing a 2 tonne + van. When I wasn't towing I used to get about 5.5 ks per litre around my country town. (as opposed to city driving)
It was using the fumigation method into the intake manifold system which is less economical than the vapour injection method although the latter method cost quite a bit more to install.
This still worked out to be as economical as diesel when converted to dollars. Especially more so when diesel prices climbed to more than double what I was paying for gas. When diesel and gas are the same price gas gives the same economy or near enough.
My vehicles are automatics as
well so there is a slight fuel consumption variation.
Manual gearboxes usually give slightly better economy.
I have some pretty accurate figures which I have collected over several years to back up these comments.
Hope this helps, Bruce.
| At home and at ease on a track that I know not and
restless and lost on a track that I know. HL.Lifetime Member My Profile Send Message |
Follow Up By: Gazal Champion - Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 20:12
Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 20:12
Beezmilk, after re reading your post those figures you quoted are pretty close to the mark. As Gas has a higher octane rating you can actually give the timing a bit more advance as the higher octane rating can cope with a little more advance.
My advice is to bias your tuning toward gas unless you are going where gas supplies are limited. (You would then tune for petrol).
Bruce.
| At home and at ease on a track that I know not and
restless and lost on a track that I know. HL.Lifetime Member My Profile Send Message |
Follow Up By: beezmilk - Saturday, Oct 16, 2010 at 00:04
Saturday, Oct 16, 2010 at 00:04
Yeah Bruce I'm pretty happy with those figures still a lot cheaper than petrol or diesel thus far. I also have a WL Caprice 5.7 on injected gas. It averages 12.5l/100 klms heaps of grunt and very efficient. There is a really good gasman here in Dubbo and he seems to do a good job for me.