Fuel consumption - comparison

Submitted: Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 10:12
ThreadID: 81911 Views:8395 Replies:15 FollowUps:36
Hi Guys/Gals

Just returned from a 2 week trip from Bathurst, Narrandera, Echuca, Ruterglenn, Tumut and back to Bathurst.

I was towing our fully loaded Trak Shak behind our Holden Adventura which has the 5.7L Chev. This was our maiden voyage with the Adventra and Shak so I was a little concerned at what the fuel economy would be as the Shak weighs about 1.2T fully loaded.

To my surprise it used 17 litres per 100k. Which I thought was quite good as it uses 18 - 19 litres per 100k around town in the traffic (dropping to 11 on the freeway). I must also say that it towed the Shak with ease rarely if ever changing out of top gear and cruising at about 1900 RPM at 100k.

In comparison my mate and his family who we were on holidays with us, were towing there awesome home built caravan with his 2005 Turbo Diesel Prado and he said that he struggled holding 100km when there was a head wind and that he was changing gear all the time. His van admittedly would weigh about 1.8T. His fuel economy worked out about the same or just a bit better than mine. About 16 Litres per 100km.

Not criticising the Prado at all (it used to be mine) as I have owned 2 and will eventually trade the Advenrta in on a new one.

I would be interested if you guys would post some economy figures so I have an idea how these numbers stack up against other rig's and towing vehicle combos.

Reply By: chisel - Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 10:38

Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 10:38
A 2005 prado would've been the old (pre D4D) diesel with under 100kw and considerably higher fuel use. Would be more interesting to compare with a D4D.
AnswerID: 433095

Follow Up By: Member - Jason B (NSW) - Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 10:45

Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 10:45
Agree.

It was the 96kw engine, these were still a good vehicle however and the comparison was against a 5.7 litre V8 (fuel guzler). What was intersting to me was how easy the Adventra towed our rig i was really suprised.

My mate was really dissapointed in the Prados performance. Although his other tow vehicle is a F250 TD V8 which he used to tow a 4 hourse gooseneck.
FollowupID: 703894

Reply By: Wilko - Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 10:54

Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 10:54
I got an average of 14.2lt/100km in my 2007 Pajero 3.2 deisel towing a cub camper with a tinny on its roof. Weighed the camper and its 935kg loaded.

I averaged 102km/h for the entire trip 7215km over mostly undulating roads from Parkes to Alice springs and return.

Cheers Wilko
AnswerID: 433101

Follow Up By: Member - Jason B (NSW) - Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 16:36

Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 16:36
Good economy with that load.
FollowupID: 703939

Reply By: Holiday Maker - Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 11:04

Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 11:04
I used to tow a 21'6" Jayco Heritage with our 2005 Prado diesel and I also was very disappointed with both the performance and the fuel economy.

The fuel economy varied between 15 l/p/100 to 17.5 l/p/100.

Towing our new van which weighs in at 1500kg the fuel figures did not vary.

We now tow with a Falcon XR6 Turbo and have heaps of performance and the fuel figures are not that bad. They vary from a 17 l/p/100 to 19 l/p/100. But at least we can go up hills and keep ahead of the traffic.

Hope this has helped you a little.

Dusty.
AnswerID: 433103

Follow Up By: Member - Jason B (NSW) - Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 11:53

Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 11:53
Funny you say that Dusty.

I am a ford man through and through and have often thought that the XR6T would make a great tow vehicle and family car if we didn't go off the beaten track.

I can also see value in something like a HSV Grange 6.0 L V8 as a mega comfortable way to travel this great county, especially as they depreciate so hard and good second hand ones can be bought for around $40 to $45k ($80 + new)

That's how we ended up with the Adventra is was just good value $20k with 80,000km, 3 years old (was $60 new)

Thanks for the reply.
FollowupID: 703902

Reply By: Rod E B - Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 11:41

Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 11:41
I towed a 1.8 tonne caravan van behind a ford Territory (RWD)

I was getting 17 to 18 litres per 100 K on regular unleaded

about 19 with 10% ethanol

switched to vortex and averaged 15 litres per 100k for a 6 week trip

normally get 16 litres per 100k in the city , 11 litres per 100k highway

one trip on the highway I got 10 Litres per 100K

running on vortex no to see what I get

AnswerID: 433105

Follow Up By: Member - Jason B (NSW) - Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 11:57

Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 11:57
Thanks Rob E B

I have also found some economy improvements running both Vortex and BP Ultimate. I am not sure if it just me dreaming or not but I also think the engine runs smother and quieter when using these fuels. I don't use them all the time but do put a tank full through regularly.

FollowupID: 703903

Follow Up By: Rod E B - Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 12:06

Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 12:06
I found that the car ran smoother too

mind you I think it runs better after a wash

but seriously

I would like to know if the computer needs to be rest to run 10% unleaded
FollowupID: 703904

Follow Up By: Rod E B - Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 12:08

Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 12:08
ps

I noticed that the car revs seemed to not vary as much

That is the revs did not hunt
FollowupID: 703905

Reply By: Member - DW Lennox Head(NSW) - Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 11:43

Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 11:43
I must be a little lucky.

I have a Mazda Bravo 2.5l Turbo/Intercooled diesel 4 x 4.

In the last couple of weeks I have returned home after 10460 kms to Cape York and returned via Coonabarabran to the coast. I was towing a Kimberley Karavan which weighs about 1.8 tonnes.

My average fuel consumption was 16.2l per 100 kms with diesel price average of $1.37 per litre.

My speed average, guessing, could have been around 90 kms per hour.

Overall, I am very happy with that.

DW
AnswerID: 433106

Follow Up By: Member - Jason B (NSW) - Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 12:20

Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 12:20
You would have to be happy with that.
FollowupID: 703909

Follow Up By: Member - mazcan - Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 14:37

Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 14:37
hi dw

thats really good figures for a van of that weight and sizehave you put a dp chip on it
i've got to admit that 90k/hr i've found seems to be the optimin speed for the best return
once you start to go above that you get more wind resistance and the drag factor sets in
and really when its all said and done it only takes a few more minutes and less stress to cover a 100km's
but its nice to have the power on tap for the hills and or overtaking
FollowupID: 703922

Follow Up By: Member - DW Lennox Head(NSW) - Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 16:20

Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 16:20
Mazcan

My Bravo is a bit old for the changing of a chip. It is a 2003 model and I think the electronic fuel system came with the BT50.

I did have the injectors serviced before I went away.

DW
FollowupID: 703934

Follow Up By: Member - mazcan - Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 18:07

Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 18:07
hi
dw
sorry im typical of people on here who dont read the threads properly
missed the word bravo lol
FollowupID: 703956

Reply By: Road to Discovery - Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 11:44

Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 11:44
We bought a 2.5 tonne van, so upgraded to a 100 series turbo diesel landcruiser to tow it. We are doing the big lap, so have had a good mix of all types of roads, winds and altitudes.

We are averaging between 16-17litres per 100km. We only tow at speed of 90km/hr to achieve this efficiency because of such advice of other fellow exploroz & caravan magazines.

Our dad has 100 series diesel landcruiser (not turbo diesel) and towes a 1.5kg van. He also drives at 90km/hr and gets 16-17litres per 100km. (Same economy, much lighter caravan).

Interestingly, we did Cape York peninsula with a group (no towing) which included 2 x 100 series diesel landcruisers and our 100 series turbo diesel landcruisers. Considering we 3 did exactly same kms, same speed and exact same journey and shopped at same diesel bowsers the $$ result. Our journey cost us $430 in diesel for this 2 week adventure. The non turbo diesels both cost around $680-$700. It was an excellent exercise in proving that a turbo diesel can get better fuel economy as its expends less energy to get to cruising speed.

In your journey mentioned above you did a lot of higher altitude driving, it would be interesting to compare your litres/100km if you took a journey at sea level altitude. All of our cars (petrol/diesel) get 50+% better fuel efficiency at sea level than at mountain altitudes. (We live in the mountains, so pay for it every day!!!)

R2D
PS how was Tumut - were the orchards in bloom yet?

AnswerID: 433107

Follow Up By: Member - Jason B (NSW) - Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 12:18

Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 12:18
Thanks RD2

I have found the same with Turbo and non Turbo Diesel Landcruisers I have had both 80's and 100's and the Turbo's take them to another level. You have to use the rev range so much more in the non Turbo models. My non Turbo ones were also very very scared of hills they would start to slow down as soon as they saw one.

I even considered putting cardboard over the headlights so the poor old girl couldn't see the hills coming....lol

Tumut is looking awesome at the moment, the orchards are in bloom and Blowering Dam is at 88%. I lived there for 12 years and would move back in a heart beat. Image Could Not Be FoundImage Could Not Be Found
FollowupID: 703907

Follow Up By: Road to Discovery - Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 14:55

Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 14:55
Mmmmmm....nice pics! Can almost see those trout swimming about!
FollowupID: 703924

Follow Up By: Isuzumu - Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 16:17

Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 16:17
I know of a member here how has a LC 105 (that's the non turbo) towing a Trak Shak and was using up to 22LP100.
FollowupID: 703933

Follow Up By: Member - Jason B (NSW) - Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 16:38

Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 16:38
Based on that economy I have nothing to winge about then.
FollowupID: 703940

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 16:54

Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 16:54
hehehehehe

I wonder who that was ;)

I did have about 300kg of firewood on the back of Darkie as well don't forget. It slowly got better as the trip went on :)

But Darkie normally averages about 16l/100km without towing and not heavily loaded.

FollowupID: 703945

Follow Up By: Isuzumu - Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 18:37

Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 18:37
I think I should transplant one of my MU motors in that rig of yours Kev, better your fuel economy hahahahahaha.
ps double your power to hehehehehe
FollowupID: 703965

Reply By: Member - Redbakk (WA) - Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 12:39

Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 12:39
Hello to everybody......now have a good laugh at mine.....
A 99 Troopy with the standard diesel motor and fitted with a safari turbo also it’s second R151F gearbox (do not tow in fifth gear anymore) towing a Jayco 22ft van weighing at 2.5 tons....and with all the crap in the Troopy and on top of it, rack, boxes, etc.

Consumption 4.5 litres per kilometre or 22 litres per 100 kilometres bang on the nose almost everytime no matter the conditions while towing at 80-90 KPH on average most of the time if my EGT’s stay within range.
And without the van 6.5 litres per kilometre or 16 litres per 100 kilometres.
AnswerID: 433110

Follow Up By: Member - Jason B (NSW) - Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 13:01

Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 13:01
Yeah but who cares?

It looks like you are doing it in style.

FollowupID: 703914

Follow Up By: Member - Redbakk (WA) - Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 14:17

Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 14:17
What might also be of interest to you all is that above figures are a slight improvement ( they were 3.9 to 4.1 k's to the litre) when I started adding CASTROL ACTIVE 2T jaso fc 2 stroke oil at a rate of 200 mls per 90 litres or there abouts......thats how the 4.5 figure came about.

I have not noticed any other improvement....maybe slightly more energy and smoother etc.....but I cannot prove that only the consumption.

I tend to buy ordinary diesel but on occasion bought some from a GULL....the 80/20 bio and did notice a slight loss with that until it all went so I avoid it if I can.
I don't know if there was a conflict with the mix....if it ain't broke don't fix it sought of thing so I tend to buy only regular diesel now.

I by it in the 4 litre container and using an BECK'S beer stubbie to pour it in before I fill the tank......thats it...it likes the beer taste!!

As I said I roughly take into account the remaining fuel in the tank and adjust accordingly....it's a black art LOL.

FollowupID: 703918

Follow Up By: BuggerBoggedAgain - Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 21:20

Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 21:20
I am not trying to be a "smarty" but your consumption figures are a bit screwed

At 4.5 lts per kilometre, it would be 450 ltrs for 100klms

Me thinks it should be 4.5klms per ltr and 22ltrs per 100 for towing

And for 6.25klms per ltr, 16ltrs for 100klms not towing
FollowupID: 704018

Follow Up By: Member - Redbakk (WA) - Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 23:53

Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 23:53
YES...you are right....did not notice my stuff up

4.5 k's per litre / 22litres per 100 k's

6.25 k's per litre / 16 litres per 100 k's

sorry about that......but the thing is it's consistant consumption amazes me...you can really plan your distances versus consumption...it's like clockwork.

FollowupID: 704064

Reply By: Expletive - Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 14:02

Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 14:02
Jason,my 2005 F250 steel tray back on my all trips just on 5.250T with a steel tray top camper & extra 130l fuel tank & extra 100l water amongst other things always returned around 16l/100k,same unladen.

AnswerID: 433125

Follow Up By: Member - Jason B (NSW) - Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 14:36

Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 14:36
Thanks Bob

My mate has one of these also (TD), big vehicle with heaps of power. He tows a 4 horse gooseneck with his and he also mentioned that the fuel economy doesn't change all that much when towing.
FollowupID: 703921

Reply By: molzy - Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 14:09

Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 14:09
we have a 3.0l turbo GU manual and towed our jayco outback camper through the flinders ranges( including some of the PAR's which were low range most of the day) and got 14.1l/100klm average. on a recent trip to the desert with a roofrack loaded and no camper 13.2l/100. towed a tinny on offroad trailer around the gulf and 13.6l/100. all pretty good i reckon. Around town for comparison is 11.3l/100.
AnswerID: 433127

Reply By: Member - mazcan - Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 14:13

Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 14:13
hi jason b
imho i dont think there is anything wrong with your fuel figures they are very exceptable
you could'nt expect much better than that considering the nature of the terrain travelled
i went all through that area several years ago with a jeep cherokee with 360cu inch rambler 5.9ltr v8 petrol with gmh turbo 400 auto gearbox and quadra track fulltime 4wd
it was an incredible tug vehicle and a rev cycle aircond 18ft tandem axle w/ electric brakes viscount supreme $8000 van behind it
once i sealed it to stop dust entering it did a fantastic job on the rough roads apart from a new set of spring bushes and set of tyres there were no other major drama's compared to the issues people are having these days with the moden vans that seem to be thrown together but ride on high tech suspensions and far better rds

both vehicle and van weighed 2tonne each and i dont recall too many flat bits of road in the area you mentioned
for the entire trip around aus we averaged 23 l/100km at 100-110km but fuel was a whole lot cheaper in 1980/81
and there was still a huge amount of gavel road in those days and the sealed roads were narrow
nothing like the highways we have today that people still complain about
in comparison i dont know what they are winging about
i think people are getting soft and expect to much and expect every thing to be wonderful even in the outback remote areas

aus has lost its originality and uniqueness to a large degree

but thats progress and of course there is a huge number of travellers now days
where as in 1980 you hardly saw anyone
who was a round aus tourist
sorry getting back to the core of the subject

i used to tow and old 16ft viscount 1500kg loaded with a 1996 mazda bravo diesel after market safari turbo 97kw
but only averaged 90km and used 16l/100km

the same 16 ft caravan behind a non-turbo 2.7ltr 1988 nissan navara diesel used 16lts /100km but only could manage average of 80 km/hr and that was by really having to use the gearbox constantly to keep the engine at the right revs
where-as the mazda did it a lot easier at a faster pace with far less gear changes
mind you the nissan only had 64kw
so you can see the difference the turbo makes even with the old tech motors and the v8 gas guzzlers
AnswerID: 433130

Follow Up By: Member - Jason B (NSW) - Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 14:18

Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 14:18
Thanks Mate

The good old days hey....
FollowupID: 703919

Follow Up By: Member - Jason B (NSW) - Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 14:34

Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 14:34
Thanks Mazcan

I also think the fuel economy was reasonable on my trip for a V8. The thing that impressed me the most was the way it towed the rig so easily, and how comfortable it was. It also has plenty of power in reserve for overtaking and going up hills and managed to hold the speed limit with now issues.

I guess I was surprised because all of my last (10 years) of vehicles have been Diesel 4x4's (2003 Prado TD, 2005 Prado TD, 60 series D, and 80 series factory TD) and these have always been my (and many others) tow vehicle of choice.

I was expecting the Adventra to be a bit of a Pig to be honest, but as I found out it just did the job so competently and easily (no off road - plenty of dirt road)

I now believe the big Aussie V8 may be underestimated for this task. When I consider that my mate in the Prado was getting almost the same fuel economy and he has the additional service at 5000k intervals, + it struggled and had little power in reserve for overtaking etc, all of these thing were an eye opener for me.

FollowupID: 703920

Follow Up By: Member - mazcan - Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 15:14

Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 15:14
hi jason b
the v8 rambler engine actually purred on song at 120ks'hr
a typical yank tank but wee bit fast for speed limit and/or towing

but even at 110 it would sail uphill without any effort with the 2tn van behind one had to look in the rear view mirrow to remind ones self that the van was still coming and with the auto g/box it was a lazy mans way of travelling

was talking to a guy at easter time
he has the v8 lc petrol wagon and pulling a 27ft van he told me
he uses 30l/100km on a good day and upto 35 depending on head/side winds on other days at 100km/hr
dont know what his all up weight was
but it was a very heavy looking van with a frame on the rear with genie /storage box and washing machine as extas and two spares
yes i'm inclined to agree about the big v's its just the cost of fuel ????
FollowupID: 703926

Follow Up By: Member - Redbakk (WA) - Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 16:26

Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 16:26
Have to agree with those LCV8 petrol figures....workmate LOZZA with his LC V8 auto towing a 27ft jayco....30 to 48 litres per 100 k's depending on conditions and 16 around town when not towing.

But towing his average is 35 litres/100 k's.....his speeds 100-120 and is not afraid to use the power, has passing ability and comfort, which he loves and will not do without.........all with off road ability.

FollowupID: 703936

Follow Up By: Member - Jason B (NSW) - Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 16:44

Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 16:44
Scary fuel consumption figures there.......my 17 litres per 100 is looking good. Just don't have any off road ability, although the dirt roads we travelled on had been flooded in the days leading up to our trip and were muddy and slippery and the Adventra (with road tyres) had no troubles with the slippery stuff (it was flat not hilly) the traction control just did its thing
FollowupID: 703942

Reply By: Member - Duncs - Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 15:13

Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 15:13
Jason,

I also tow a Trak Shak.

It is a long time since I bothered to work out fuel figures accurately but here goes.

I have a 2001 GU 4.2TD, around town I get between 13 and 16l/100km. On a trip with the Trak Shak, 5 people and a full load of gear I remember getting 16 to 20l/100km.

I usually travel pretty close to the speed limit but I am not afraid to travel faster when I am in a hurry. Fuel consumption is rarely a motivator in my driving style.

The other thing I notice is that I seem to get better fuel figures in rolling hill country than I do in either flat or really steep country.

As for ease of towing, the GU is a pretty good tow vehicle and covers the ground pretty well with or without the TS in tow. As an example, a few years ago we travelled from Broken Hill to Ballina in one day. 1550km in 16hours and 10 min. We did travel pretty quickly between Wilcannia and Cobar but it was speed limits the rest of the way.

Thanks for the post, it's been interesting reading.

AnswerID: 433135

Follow Up By: Member - Jason B (NSW) - Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 17:19

Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 17:19
Thanks Duncs, and thank to everone for being honest. This has been exactly what I was after.
FollowupID: 703950

Reply By: Holiday Maker - Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 15:39

Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 15:39
Hi again Jason,

Agree with the comment "thanks for the posting, interesting reading."

The thing that strikes me with this posting is that people are actually being honest and not exaggerating their fuel consumption.

As for the XR6T being a good tow car, I can only comment that I have used many and varied tow vehicles over the past forty years and the Xr6 is the best yet by far. I doubt we will ever go back to a 4wd.

Dusty
AnswerID: 433138

Follow Up By: Nargun51 - Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 17:07

Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 17:07
I can remember reading a comparison test in a boating magazine a few years ago where they compared a number of 4WD’s towing a 5 metre fishing boat. I can no longer remember which one of the tow vehicles won the test, but there was an aside at the end of the test where they had thrown into the fray the photographer’s V8 Commodore. Except for launching and retrieving, the V8 beat the 4WD’s hands down as a tow vehicle, was more comfortable, easier to drive and got better fuel consumption.
FollowupID: 703948

Follow Up By: Member - Jason B (NSW) - Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 17:23

Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 17:23
I certainly would recommend a big V8 after my experience. The additional comfort and room (our Adventra swallows way more gear than our Prado or 80 series did).

It is just the off road ability that is lacking. To be honest if we weren't going to travel through the middle at some stage in the future I would not go back to a 4x4.
FollowupID: 703951

Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 21:54

Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 21:54
Dusty,

Oh, and can't they go? Overtaking is a lot of fun and so safe, you spend bugger all time on the wrong side of the road.

And they can achieve is little as 8.5l/100km tootling along at the speed limit. I don't travel the freeways much anymore, I prefer to take alternative routes that are a bit twisty and have slow cars holding me up. The joy of nailing the throttle and rounding up a line of traffic is something to behold.

FollowupID: 704026

Reply By: Crackles - Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 16:02

Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 16:02
Just back from a trip to Fraser Island in our manual, diesel JK Wrangler towing a 1 tonne camper & averaged 12.7L per 100. I found this amazing considering I run oversized 285/75/16 tyres & travelled at the maximum speed on Cruise. Touring around the Island it dropped to 16.
I put the result down to fitting a Staunbauer chip before I left & towing in 5th not 6th. I expected the huge improvement in torque but the econemy was a bonus.
For a large petrol Jason, I think the Adventura did pretty well. The smaller engined Prado is probably a mismatch for towing a 1.8 tonne van & as your mate discovered would need to drive it hard to maintain Highway speeds. Would be an interesting comparison swapping trailers :-)
Cheers Craig............
AnswerID: 433143

Follow Up By: Member - Jason B (NSW) - Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 17:02

Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 17:02
Good point Graig

Swapping trailers would be an interesting exercise.

His Caravan is a home made one (very well built and set out/awesome actually) and the base/chassis is a 14 foot car trailer. As a result it is heavy for its size, however it is extremely solid and all of the kitchen etc is built in the side of so it all pulls out on slides - we designed it together,Image Could Not Be Found and don't know why caravan companies don't make them like this.

In addition all of the materials (new) hot gas shower, trailer, cladding etc was only about 15k - 17k (1 caravan door alone was $1000) and he reckons with labour etc you could get someone to build it for $30 - $35K. It sleeps six 1 x queen 2 x bunks and inside is nothing but beds and storage.

Pics attached.
FollowupID: 703947

Follow Up By: Member - Jason B (NSW) - Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 17:17

Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 17:17
Off track a bit but here is what we were towing.

Image Could Not Be FoundImage Could Not Be FoundImage Could Not Be Found
FollowupID: 703949

Reply By: Member - Jason B (NSW) - Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 17:56

Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 17:56
Thanks everyone for your honest replies, this is exactly the info and feed back I was after when I posted this thread. It is interesting to me to see how we all achieve our objective of enjoying the great out doors. The a ray of tow vehicle and caravan combinations are almost endless and this thread has highlighted that we are all individual and have made our choices for reasons that suit our needs (and in my case budget).

Thank you all for your comments, and keep them coming.
AnswerID: 433164

Reply By: Sand Man (SA) - Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 18:40

Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 18:40
I have a camper trailer and the tare weight is 1100kg unloaded, With all my camping gear on board, 60 litre water tank plus two jerrys of fuel and two more of extra water,I would estimate mine weighs around the 1.8 ton mark.

My previous vehicle was a 3.5 litre V6 petrol Jackaroo and I got around the 18l/100km mark consistently.

My current vehicle is a 3 litre turbo diesel Holden Colorado and I have just returned from a trip of almost 1000 km. The average fuel consumption according to the vehicle's computer was 8.4l/100km. It only went up a bit during a stint of off road travel in 4WD, but the majority of the trip was on bitumen roads.

The main reason I can think why the fuel consumption was so good was the speed I was travelling at. I was lead vehicle in a 4 vehicle convoy and set the cruise control on 85 to 90 kph for much of the trip.

I also have noticed an improvement in average consumption in city driving since installing a snorkel on the rig.

My original reason for upgrading to a turbo diesel was a hopeful improvement in fuel economy over the petrol engined vehicle but to see the vast difference (from 18l/100k to around 8.5l/100k) is most satisfying. I used to travel at 100kph in the Jack so perhaps the lower speed has more of an impact than I thought possible.

Bill.

AnswerID: 433175

Follow Up By: Member - Redbakk (WA) - Saturday, Oct 16, 2010 at 10:37

Saturday, Oct 16, 2010 at 10:37
Hey Bill.....it must be something we do as we get older....we travel slower and enjoy the journey and marvel at those who see it as their desperate need to get from point A to point B as fast as they can......and I usually catch them up a bit later much to their dismay I suspect.

FollowupID: 704088

Follow Up By: Member - Jason B (NSW) - Saturday, Oct 16, 2010 at 10:44

Saturday, Oct 16, 2010 at 10:44
This tread has nothing to do with getting from A to B in a hurry, in fact I travel very calmly when I am fully loaded with the family on board.

Fuel consumption was the topic and the revelation (to me any way) that the good old Aussie Falcon/Commodore V8/Turbo 6 has some good abilities and life left in it in this regard.
FollowupID: 704089

Follow Up By: Member - Redbakk (WA) - Saturday, Oct 16, 2010 at 12:45

Saturday, Oct 16, 2010 at 12:45
That's good Jason, I wish you no disrespect but my comments were directed to Bill.....not you.

FollowupID: 704098

Follow Up By: Member - Jason B (NSW) - Saturday, Oct 16, 2010 at 12:49

Saturday, Oct 16, 2010 at 12:49
Copy.

Just making the point, and also that I do not support silly behaviour and agree that you are better of to take your time and enjoy the journey.

FollowupID: 704099