Snake deterent for the dog

Submitted: Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 12:24
ThreadID: 81913 Views:7573 Replies:12 FollowUps:22

Just looking to find if anyone out there has any info on how to keep snakes away from the camp site.

Last November we lost our our four legged friend to a tiger snake whilst camping in a place where we have been going for the last 15 years.

Previously we have always had a dog with us at this particular spot without incident.

It's time to for a camp again with the new dog, 10 months old (although I'm a bit apprehensive) and would appreciate any advise on how to keep the snakes away.

I've heard about those electronic deterent thingos and moth balls....but do they work ?

Glenn

Reply By: Member - Jason B (NSW) - Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 12:34

Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 12:34
Sorry to hear about your dog Glenn WA

We had some issues with snakes when we were living in Tumut. Our current Puppy who is now 12 years old was bitten on 2 different occasions by Browns and after quick intervention and the antidote (& plenty of $$$$) she is still with us.

We considered options as you have suggested but didn't have faith in any. I think at the end of the day it would be very unlikely that it will happen to you again.

Also it really comes down to the type of dog I think. We had 4 dogs at the time and only the one was bitten. She is a Jack Russell and it is just in them to sniff these things out and take them on. Our other dogs kept their distance where she went in for the kill so to speak.

AnswerID: 433109

Follow Up By: Glenn WA - Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 12:52

Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 12:52
Thanks Jason,

I am pretty sure you are right about the type of dog.

Thor was a Norwegian elk hound who had his nose to the ground all the time, would find bobtail goannas at a long distance, I guess that was his DNA.

My best mate before him was a Staffy and he lived to the ripe old age of 15.

Bandit, the new addition is a real bitza I think he has a bit of Heeler in him, he should be allright.

Glenn
FollowupID: 703912

Reply By: Dr Hook - Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 13:00

Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 13:00
Glenn;
yes, as per previous responses, except if Bandit is a bit of a heeler, you might need to be looking at ways to protect the snakes instead....

Dr Hook
AnswerID: 433114

Reply By: Rockape - Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 14:27

Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 14:27
Glen,
Oil of cloves mixed with water and sprayed around keeps snakes away, they hate it.

You may have to train the dog to stay away from snakes with a realistic plastic one, we were lucky in that our/ would keep her distance from them and just circle around.

Liquid vitamin C will help get a dog through snake bite, you carry a syringe, just lift the skin around their shoulders and inject it into the soft tissue, you can inject heaps as it doesn't hurt the dog and they mayl just have a chuck.

Vets don't tell you about it and I don't know how it works but the survival rate is quite good.

Have a good one
Ra
AnswerID: 433134

Follow Up By: Member - Royce- Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 16:54

Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 16:54
Vitamin C..... wow.... is that specific to dogs or would it work on cats, or horses or humans?
FollowupID: 703946

Follow Up By: Rockape - Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 18:01

Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 18:01
Royce,
it only works on dogs I believe.

I have seen it done with a mates dog bitten by a brown at Bloomsberry and the dog pulled through ok.

have a good one
RA
FollowupID: 703955

Follow Up By: oz doc - Saturday, Oct 16, 2010 at 10:52

Saturday, Oct 16, 2010 at 10:52
Sorry Rockape, I have to interject here. Liquid (or any other form) of vitamin C does not protect or treat dogs for snake bite. Urban myth. Any anecdotal stories of animals surviving after being given the inj are simply cases of natural survival/coincidence. By the way- If you have ever tried to inject vitamin C - It stings like anything.doc.
FollowupID: 704090

Follow Up By: Rockape - Saturday, Oct 16, 2010 at 12:42

Saturday, Oct 16, 2010 at 12:42
Oz doc,
I know about30% of dogs live from snake bite with no intervention at all so the dog I saw recover may well have been one of those.

I just googled Vit c and here is the first thing that came up. This was just a small extract.

The first one was a pony, almost moribund, whose blood was later diagnosed as having the largest amount of Tiger Snake venom the Vet had ever seen in an animal. Within 24 hours of being unable to move, and also having considerable difficulty in breathing due to pneumonia, the pony was grazing happily in its owners garden, apparently quite healthy. I only had one 30ml bottle of Vitamin C, half of what I would have liked, so I put half of the bottle into each side of the neck by intramuscular injection.
After that we treated sundry dogs, two cats and several goats including a stud buck. All recovered. A very valuable Alpaca which was being watched by its owner from her kitchen window went down to the dam to examine something. The owner, horrified, watched a large snake rise up and strike it on the nose - the worst place - and thanked her lucky stars the Vitamin C was in the fridge - not still on the shopping list. Rushing out with only 15 mls in the syringe - she injected the Alpaca before any symptoms arose. The snake had looked like a brown or a tiger, the result - happy ending.
The great advantage of Vitamin C is that anaphylaxis does not occur and the variety of snake does not matter. Vitamin C is cheap, easy to store and taking it on a hunting trip is no problem. All you need is a 20 ml syringe, some largish needles - say No 18 - and the bottle of Vitamin C. It can all be carried in a small wallet on ones belt. In between times it should be kept in the fridge. Although the stuff can be carried in Summer without deteriorating, I suggest to hunters that they get a fresh supply each Spring just to be on the safe side.
After much reading of printouts of Bellfield's and other literature, many supplied by Dr Glen Dettman, a retired pathologist who lives near Melbourne, I have tried Vitamin C on many situations. A dog in a tick coma, spider bites, dogs with Parvo, Tetanus following a terrible injury from a car, and in cases of shock - all with unfailing success.

Have a good one
FollowupID: 704096

Follow Up By: Member - Royce- Saturday, Oct 16, 2010 at 15:17

Saturday, Oct 16, 2010 at 15:17
Ozdoc... you are on a 'hiding to nothing' when it comes to alternative medicine enthusiasts. Anecdotale evidence beats logic and research everytime! :-]]
FollowupID: 704114

Follow Up By: oz doc - Saturday, Oct 16, 2010 at 17:06

Saturday, Oct 16, 2010 at 17:06
Hi Royce, you are problably correct. Unfortunately there is so much anectodal and sometimes dangerously incorrect information out there on the internet it can cause confusion and consternation amongst the masses. I should probably hold my tongue on the matter but I would hate to see someone rely upon this information and end up in losing thier pet as a result. As I said before- Vitamin C is of no proven benefit to treating snake evenomation. It is remarkably panful to inject and I sure as eggs would not be relying upon it to treat any case of snake bite. doc
FollowupID: 704122

Follow Up By: Rockape - Saturday, Oct 16, 2010 at 17:54

Saturday, Oct 16, 2010 at 17:54
Royce and doc,
Just let you know I am not an alternative medicine enthusiast at all.

$1000 plus for vet care, person doesn't have that money or doesn't want to spend it. Result dead dog.
No vet available. Result dead dog.
Vitamin C injection hurts like hell, dog on the way out anyway.

Try vitamin C you have nothing to lose, dog is going to expire anyway.

You may well be right Doc but as you know many people can't afford vet bills anymore.
FollowupID: 704132

Follow Up By: oz doc - Saturday, Oct 16, 2010 at 18:57

Saturday, Oct 16, 2010 at 18:57
Rockape- you make a very valid point. Many people do not have the funds for vet bills. Some snakebite treatments can be hugely expensive.Some antivenoms are thousands of dollars for each dose.With some evenomations you have to give multiple doses of antivenom to rescue the patient.
This raises the question- would Vitamin C injection be better than doing nothing? If an animal was NOT going to receive veterinary treatment, I doubt that giving vitamin C would adversely affect the outcome. However if you were going to get veterinary treatment then there are two circumstances in which injecting Vitamin C may actually make the situation worse.
Just as an aside, we should probably keep an open mind about "alternative" medicines. There is a plethora of evidence that many "alternative" treatments are valid, appropriate and sometimes more effective/less detrimental than mainstream medical treatments. Perhaps enough said on all this and we should get back to the origional question on snake deterrants. Cheers, doc.
FollowupID: 704139

Follow Up By: Rockape - Saturday, Oct 16, 2010 at 19:10

Saturday, Oct 16, 2010 at 19:10
Doc,
I respect your opinion and knowledge and yes we should leave it alone and keep to the original post.

Have a good one
RA
FollowupID: 704141

Follow Up By: Begaboy - Sunday, Oct 17, 2010 at 20:11

Sunday, Oct 17, 2010 at 20:11
Oz doc , speaking of dodgey information, i was watching tv the other morning ( before work so at maybe 4 am ) and seen something that caught me by surprise

here was a lady selling a snake bite kit , she was demonstrating all the items inside the kit , those items included an alcohol pad for wiping the bite site, Scalpel for cutting open the bite site and a special pump to suck the venom out. now i thought wow this must be an old show , till i seen a modern 4x4 in the back ground - no mention of correct immobilization of the limb - just this silly kit the suck out the venom ....

crazy
FollowupID: 704305

Follow Up By: get outmore - Sunday, Oct 17, 2010 at 22:06

Sunday, Oct 17, 2010 at 22:06
Begaboy

very popular in yankeeland and I have seen them here in OZ

possible because of a big difference in snake venom

their rattlers arnt very venomous and pump in a fair bit of venom which kills skin,and flesh

to immobalise the venom can result in gangrene and loss of limbs so they try and get the venom out

I suspect its also to sell stuff to dumb yanks as well
FollowupID: 704326

Reply By: Member - Royce- Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 16:56

Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 16:56
Our jack russell was bitten by a tiger snake about a year ago.... unfortunately my son saw it happen... vet..... $3600 later... healthy mutt.... sick bank balance.

So... your dog runs free when you camp?
AnswerID: 433153

Follow Up By: Glenn WA - Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 18:09

Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 18:09
He would stick pretty close to us in the day time off the lead and not wonder off.
But at night I had him on a 15m run between 2 trees, where he was quite happy.

It was in the morning when I heard a yelp from the tent, it was quite distressing for both of us to see the effects of the venom, I can feel for your son, hope he got over it.

I actually gave him mouth to mouth and he came good for a short while, but was gone in about 15min still on his lead. It was the first really hot day after winter and the snake must have been loaded with poison.

Glenn
FollowupID: 703957

Reply By: feraldisco2 - Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 18:26

Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 18:26
don't waste your $ on electronic deterrents for any wildlife - they've never done particularly well in any scientific testing and that goes for Shu Roos as well. I always love the testimonials that say they haven't hit a roo since they fitted a Shu Roo. I haven't hit a roo since I didn't fit a Shu Roo and a mate of mine with a Shu Roo did hit one - right where the Shu Roo was fitted...
AnswerID: 433174

Reply By: Gazal Champion - Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 19:25

Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 19:25
Hi Glen,
I had a female Blue Heeler and at first she used to go for the blackies we get around the house yard. I used to scream at her and rouse on her very severely to deter her and after a couple of times she stopped chasing them and would bark quite loudly and look in the direction of the snake. Good snake dogs usually die of snake bite, eventually.

She lived till she was 12 year old but I had to get the vet to put her down as she had a massive cancer in her stomach and her quality of life had dropped. Didn't have the heart to do it myself.

I was very pleased to have had her for a a mate as long as we did.

Cheers, Bruce.
At home and at ease on a track that I know not and
restless and lost on a track that I know. HL.

AnswerID: 433186

Follow Up By: Glenn WA - Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 21:37

Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 21:37
I will keep a very vigilant eye on Bandits movements when we first go camping with him.
I've grown up with dogs all my life and could never imagine living without one.
They never complain and are always happy to see you when you come home.

I work away a lot and apart from the misses they are the best mates in the world. Sometimes I just love to sit on the beach or in the bush and watch them do their own thing.

Just thiking of that.....
If you locked your dog and the misses in the boot for an hour, who would be more pleased to see you ?
If your reading this hun I'm only joking... honest.
FollowupID: 704024

Reply By: murrayman - Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 22:18

Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 22:18
hi glen, my daughter worksin the vet clinic and they started selling snake repellors last year. the instructions say to keep your animals locked up for the first 3 hours of activation as snakes may come out. the first lady that bought one came back and said she put hers in her back yard and in 15 minutes 4 big brownys took off across the yard she did not know were there. they are solar powered and emit a pulse into the ground. i will be taking one with me from now on to put in my camp iff i am in a sus area. cheers mm
AnswerID: 433218

Follow Up By: Glenn WA - Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 23:23

Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 23:23
I have always been alert where I camp, as over the years I have seen quite a few snakes there, mainly tigers and dugites.

Geez one night we had a visitor come right under my chair and it was heading to the warmth of the fire.
It was a little 2 foot dugite and scared the bejesus out of me.

I grabbed the dunny shovel and my first reaction was to knock it on the head, but then i thought that I was invading his terittory and flicked it in the river instead.
Damn things can swim pretty well too.

Another time at the same place I was flicking the rod around looking for a redfin or trout in the river and almost stepped on a very large tiger snake, sunning itself. The prievious rock I had stepped on rocked a bit and the big sucker took off. That scared the bejeejus out of me too.

I have always known there a snakes where I camp and they are usually not seen.
Both of us have taken the St Johns senior first aid course and know what to do in an emergency for ourselves.

But what to do for the dog ?

Can you tell me what solar powered unit you are talking about ?

If it is cheaper than the previously mentioned vet bill then I will give it a go.

FollowupID: 704056

Reply By: Tim - Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 22:50

Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 22:50
I know people are very sceptical (including myself) about these electronic pulse things. I have read on "snake forums" where all the snake enthusiasts think its funny and there are numerous pics of tigers and browns laying across these things apparently undetered.
I do however have a close friend who lives in a hamlet in NSW NSW who absolutley swears by them. His stats are 14 browns in 14 days in his back yard in summer last year. After installing a few of these devices he has not yet seen 1. If I had billy lids I don't think I would hesitate with atleast trying these things out.
Tim
AnswerID: 433220

Reply By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 23:15

Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 23:15
Hi Glenn

As we all know snakes smell with their tongues, and here in the desert we have plenty of snakes, heaps of King Browns. We use 50-50 water and vinegar in a spray bottle and spray aorund the house and I have seen snakes get too close and quickly back off.

If you can catch the King Browns, and I frequently have, many hospitals and Universities will take them for the anti venom production, which is worthwhile.

Why travel overseas, you could travel Australia your entire life, and not see it all.

AnswerID: 433224

Follow Up By: Glenn WA - Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 23:57

Friday, Oct 15, 2010 at 23:57
gidday Marc,

I have recently read your posts with great interest, you have a wealth of knowlege that I am glad you are sharing with us and your blog is great.
Has the misses finished the painting ?

The bush trip wont happen til I get back from work in 5 weeks from Korea.
I will definately take your advise and let you know how it went.

What sort of vinegar ? brown or white or doesn't it matter ?

FollowupID: 704066

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Saturday, Oct 16, 2010 at 00:44

Saturday, Oct 16, 2010 at 00:44
Hi Glenn

It is not the colour of the vinegar (snakes generally see in infra red, picking up heat, not colours), it is the acidity of the vinegar. From the few trimes we have seen a snake react, I would say that is burns their tongues to such an extent that they are gone.

I would disagree about me having a wealth of knowledge, I am just another bushy who has picked up a few books along the way and always listen to people when they are discussing things they know about.

Yes, my wife finished that painting, it took her nearly 4 months, but it was bought unfortunately by an American collector, hence another painting out of the country.

My blog will be good when I get things moving a bit, but I am still learning how to use my camera.

Why travel overseas, you could travel Australia your entire life, and not see it all.

FollowupID: 704072

Follow Up By: Ayita5 - Saturday, Oct 16, 2010 at 20:04

Saturday, Oct 16, 2010 at 20:04
Hi Marc,

Is the reason for the 50 50 with water just to make the vinegar go further or for some other reason? Just wondering if any reason why you couldn't just use straight vinegar (thus possibly making it even more effective?).

Sounds like a great tip to know!

FollowupID: 704151

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Monday, Oct 18, 2010 at 01:49

Monday, Oct 18, 2010 at 01:49
Hi Ayita5

I must be honest, I am a lousy shopper (that's the wifes speciality), so I mix it and that way I still have some vinegar left for fish and chips when we cook them. Unfortunately I am serious. Straight vinegar would be extremely effective.

FollowupID: 704339

Follow Up By: Ayita5 - Monday, Oct 18, 2010 at 11:22

Monday, Oct 18, 2010 at 11:22
Cheers Marc, great tip. :)
FollowupID: 704360

Reply By: oz doc - Saturday, Oct 16, 2010 at 19:03

Saturday, Oct 16, 2010 at 19:03
HI Glenn, I haven't any constructive advice on snake deterrants as such but I wonder if trying to train the youngster to avoid snakes would reduce the risk. I was thinking there would be numerous 'fake' snake items in the market you could use. Possibly coat a rubber snake with a bitterant agent(dimethylphthalate?). The idea being the dog would come to associate the snake with tasting terrible and develop reluctance to bite at it. The dog would probably still bark and 'create', but hopefully not get close enough to get struck?Might be worth a try. doc.
AnswerID: 433286

Follow Up By: Steve and Viv - Sunday, Oct 17, 2010 at 10:19

Sunday, Oct 17, 2010 at 10:19
I thinks that the best idea of all. The hopefully no one is bitten at all. I also take the same line with the kids.
FollowupID: 704187

Reply By: asmithy - Sunday, Oct 17, 2010 at 18:49

Sunday, Oct 17, 2010 at 18:49
glenn wa,

let me tell you 4 things........................

1. i live in outback nsw with my wife n 3 kids under 4 and 2 cheeky labradors.

2. when i first moved to my place in feb this year my neighbour and i were having to get rid of 2-3 brown snakes a day! yes a day.....

3. i done a lot of research and spent what i say is not much money on solar charged snake repellers, robert from www.stopsnakes.com.au in gympie qld. since installing them in feb this year i have not laid eyes on a snake of any type in either of the yards!

4. do yourself a favour and give yourself some peace of mind! buy some and take them camping with you when you leave home like we do, get rid of snake worry's for good!

all the best,
asmithy.
AnswerID: 433378

Follow Up By: Glenn WA - Monday, Oct 18, 2010 at 17:50

Monday, Oct 18, 2010 at 17:50
Lots of different views I can see.

After reading all of this I think I will give both the vinegar and the solar charged devises a go.

If anything at least I am trying to improve the situation to deter snakes, cause I aint stopping my camping with the dog and it will give me some peace of mind knowing I've done my best.

Glenn
FollowupID: 704381

Reply By: Begaboy - Sunday, Oct 17, 2010 at 20:02

Sunday, Oct 17, 2010 at 20:02
Sorry to hear about your dog. Our dog is a part of our family but he is the sacrificial llamb as far is i am concerned. We live on acreage with permanent creek running through the property and with that comes snakes - if the kids go down the back to the water holes to swim , they take the dog - dog always runs ahead and " clears the way" ( we send them with a hand held c.b also in case of emergency )

will be sad if we loose her , but would prefer to loose the dog than one of the kids ...

Your new dog may be a barker , ie just barks and keeps its distance from the snake to alert you of the danger, apart from that there is no proven deterant for snake apart from heavy vibration, and that only works with timid snakes , not the ones that will stay and fight ;)

something to think about

BB
AnswerID: 433385