100 Series Landcruiser - Auto or Manual

Submitted: Saturday, Oct 16, 2010 at 16:59
ThreadID: 81945 Views:17960 Replies:13 FollowUps:17
Hi All - hoping for a little advice.

We need to upgrade to a vehicle capable of towing upto 3500kg - and having done a lot of research - the only real contender is the Landcrusier.

No off road - just lots of highway towing a horse float around 3000kg

As I only have around 55K to 60K it puts me in the market for a 2006 Diesel, which I think will be a better long term option than a Petrol on Gas.

Question is do I go Manual or Auto? Any suggestions from those that tow?

Likewise anything to look out for when buying a second hand vehicle of this vintage?

Reply By: Gazal Champion - Saturday, Oct 16, 2010 at 17:43

Saturday, Oct 16, 2010 at 17:43
Hi Zebu,
I tow a 2.2 tonne van and I find auto boxes are best because you don't have the clutch wear that you get with a manual. The Auto boxes are also a little stronger than the manuals. Having said that I can only speak about 80 and 105 series vehicles as that is as far as my experience goes with 4X4s.
Cheers, Bruce.
At home and at ease on a track that I know not and
restless and lost on a track that I know. HL.

AnswerID: 433279

Reply By: Best Off Road - Saturday, Oct 16, 2010 at 17:55

Saturday, Oct 16, 2010 at 17:55
Your other optionis the mighty 4.8 Petrol Patrol, it's one hell of a tow vehicle. You'll get a good 2006 for about $30K. Stick the other 30 in the bank at 6%, $1800 per annum will pay for a lot of petrol. And the 30 in the bank won't depreciate like the Cruiser will.

And you can stick the 4.8 on LPG and it willl cheaper to run that the diesel Cruiser, assuming you have access to cheap LPG.

And I'd go Auto, the 5 speed tiptronic is a good bit of kit.

AnswerID: 433282

Follow Up By: Zebu - Saturday, Oct 16, 2010 at 18:04

Saturday, Oct 16, 2010 at 18:04
Thanks Jim,

I had considered a Petrol and converting to LPG.

Any ideas how fuel consumption on LPG compares to the Diesiel?

I have a mate who has a 98 Petrol model on LPG - still thirsty...

Zane
FollowupID: 704134

Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Saturday, Oct 16, 2010 at 18:44

Saturday, Oct 16, 2010 at 18:44
The Old man had one, a 2003 with the old style "mixer" LPG system. They were towing a 22 foot van, fully loaded about 2300 kg. He was using about 32 L/100 km. He's not one to travel at 85 or 90 to get economy.

The more modern injected LPG would use less and deliver more power.

I'd guess a TD 100 series would use at least 20 L/100km, probably more but let's stick with 20.

20 L of diesel @ $1.20, $24 per 100 km vs 32 L of LPG @ $0.50, $16 per 100 km.

Depreciation wise, the 100 may be worth $40,000 after four years and the Patrol $15,000. That's another $5K in favour of the Patrol, but I'm speculating.

I'm a business man and make my decisions on economic grounds, not hearfelt emotions. I've got nothing against diesels, but everytime I buy a vehicle the economics stack up in favour of petrol vehicle.

Keep one thing in mind, with LPG you'll be stopping regularly to refill as the range is terrible. Also if you don't pick your stops carefully, you may need to run on Petroll for some time until the next stop and that gets expensive.

Hope this helps,

l
FollowupID: 704137

Follow Up By: Muddie - Saturday, Oct 16, 2010 at 18:58

Saturday, Oct 16, 2010 at 18:58
"I'd guess a TD 100 series would use at least 20 L/100km, probably more but let's stick with 20."

Your a bit out on your guess Jim, I tow a large event support trailer at 2.5 t all over the country for a motor sport client and average 15L/100, travel at the speed limit and run 35" tyres, get your facts sorted before you do the sums.
FollowupID: 704140

Follow Up By: Member - david m2 (SA) - Saturday, Oct 16, 2010 at 20:35

Saturday, Oct 16, 2010 at 20:35
Don't forget to take in the resale value and life span of a motor on LPG . You sums are not even close to the diesel option.
FollowupID: 704154

Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Saturday, Oct 16, 2010 at 20:40

Saturday, Oct 16, 2010 at 20:40
Well thankyou for your "polite" response Muddie. Who you are we will never know because you hide behind an internet alias and fire your salvos.

I, on the other hand am an open book. But let's put that aside.

I frankly doubted your figures so thought I may check and independant source and here it is.

Overlander Tow Test

It does your argument no favours.

100 series TD 18.2 L/100km
Patrol 4.8, 26.7 L/100km.

Do the numbers, the Patrol is miles ahead economically even running on petrol, given the the purchase price of each vehicle. Put the Patrol on LPG and it's a no-brainer.

FollowupID: 704156

Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Saturday, Oct 16, 2010 at 20:48

Saturday, Oct 16, 2010 at 20:48
David,

I've addressed the resale value.

The lifespan of a 4.8 on LPG is excellent. It may need head work at 300,000 but that would be less than the cost of injectors on the 100, those miserable little sods are about $1000 each x 6.

Let's also not forget the service cost of a diesel. They just don't make economic sense.

FollowupID: 704158

Follow Up By: steved58 - Saturday, Oct 16, 2010 at 21:38

Saturday, Oct 16, 2010 at 21:38
Where do you get gas for 50cents per litre and in the bush it goes up considerably more so than the increase in petrol price so therefore makes it a problem if travelling remote
FollowupID: 704161

Follow Up By: fisho64 - Saturday, Oct 16, 2010 at 22:29

Saturday, Oct 16, 2010 at 22:29
"those miserable little sods are about $1000 each x 6."

are you sure about that? You might be getting confused with the 200 series?
The 1HD-FTE is a mechanical injector, not electronic
FollowupID: 704165

Follow Up By: pop2jocem - Saturday, Oct 16, 2010 at 22:51

Saturday, Oct 16, 2010 at 22:51
fisho, you beat me by THAT much.....lol
OK that aside, 2 BIL's one a Nissan about 2000 vintage petrol and manual no LPG not sure exactly what milage he is getting but towing a 21' full size van he never goes over 80kph or the fuel gauge needle and speedo are going neck and neck.
Second BIL 100 series Cruiser 1HD-FTE turbo of course and auto 26' Jayco with the lot generally sits on 90-100kph and gets 18-20lt/100klms.
Mate with a 100 series cut down into a dual cab if that makes any difference, once again petrol 4.7 lt V8 auto got up to 34lt/100klms but he was punching into a headwind. Without headwind gets around 24-26lt/100klms and admittedly he likes to get wherever he is going in a hurry. Oh and tows a 24' Jayco.
Now all of these guys love their vehicles and have all had a good run as far as reliability goes.
Me, I have an ageing 75 series currently getting a heart transplant (1HD-FT) towing a 22' Supreme, poor old 1HZ engine just doesn't cut it anymore.
Milage..?????????? wouldn't have a clue and don't want to know.......might spoil the holiday.

FollowupID: 704167

Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Sunday, Oct 17, 2010 at 07:36

Sunday, Oct 17, 2010 at 07:36
I stand corrected on the injectors.

The OP said the vehicle was not for outback travel, but primarliy to tow a horse float. I did state LPG is an option ASSUMING he has access to cheap LPG.

My point is why spend $60 K when a $30K vehicle will do the job just as well. The $60K vehicle will depeciate more in outright dollar terms and the spare $30K can be invested elsewhere. The OP needs to take all these factors into account and balance them against the fuel cost for each vehicle and then make an informed economic judgement.

FollowupID: 704175

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, Oct 17, 2010 at 10:45

Sunday, Oct 17, 2010 at 10:45
You guys are a disgrace! A genuine difference of opinion, a little mis-information and this perfect opportunity to dissolve into a slanging match ..... HASN'T!

Well done guys, its great to see healthy spiritied debate about the subject matteer not about the posters. As I said well done!

I have been reading with interest, I reckon the 4.8 is the go, unless you want cruising range, and then the diesel is the go. If you can't find a fuel stop every 300km or so then the 4.8 is the choice I reckon. If it was outback travel then the fuel load you'd have to carry would be huge.

FollowupID: 704189

Follow Up By: Crackles - Sunday, Oct 17, 2010 at 11:15

Sunday, Oct 17, 2010 at 11:15
"with LPG you'll be stopping regularly to refill as the range is terrible."
Our work trialed LPG on part of it's fleet. Refueling daily or even twice a day was a pain in the butt. As a business with a charge out rate of over $100 an hour, wasting time in servos simply doesn't stack up.
Cheers Craig...............
FollowupID: 704193

Reply By: Con_Qld - Saturday, Oct 16, 2010 at 19:24

Saturday, Oct 16, 2010 at 19:24
Zebu, I recently towed a caravan 2.9 ton from Brisbane to Perth, covering about 13,000kms on a 2000 landscruiser 105 series diesel manual no turbo. Towing was a bit slow, prob underpowered at times but it drove steady and safe - very happy with it. The landscruiser is a fantastic towing machine For your budget, if I had that sort of money I would go the TD 100 series, auto.
AnswerID: 433289

Reply By: Member - Joel and Michelle (WA - Saturday, Oct 16, 2010 at 19:25

Saturday, Oct 16, 2010 at 19:25
G'day Zebu
I purchased a 2006 TD landcruiser last year and tow a 25 ft 3000kg Jayco, 5 months into the big trip I couldn't be happier with the decision to use this vehicle for towing. Fuel economy is around 18 to 20 litres per 100 kms going up to 23 when there is a bit of wind around. The cruisers don't depreciate anywhere as much as the the others( just sold my Patrol), But that wouldn't be an issue as you mentioned it being a long term option. I luv the auto,it's very smooth and 90kmh in 4th easy.
From my research there is not a lot of price difference in the cruisers whether they have no extras or all of them.
Joel.
AnswerID: 433290

Follow Up By: Member - Joel and Michelle (WA - Saturday, Oct 16, 2010 at 19:28

Saturday, Oct 16, 2010 at 19:28
Sorry Zebu
Forgot to mention I also have a 3" exhaust and DP chip which I find are both worth every cent.
Joel
FollowupID: 704145

Reply By: MEMBER - Darian, SA - Saturday, Oct 16, 2010 at 19:47

Saturday, Oct 16, 2010 at 19:47
I tow a 2700kg (all up) offroad van with my LC (05 GXL TD manual) - was looking for an auto when I bought it but couldn't resist all the fruit my manual came with and the low km's. 2 years later all is fine....... the only 'con' for the manual as I see it is taking off on slopes - the clutch can be compromised badly on moderate slopes, so I use low range to get mobile, and then swap back up to high range on the fly.... that routine has been fine so far. A 'pro' for the manual is the very positive engine braking when going down hill, especially on unfamiliar roads..... that gearbox is quite a comfort :-o)....... (but I don't have experience of the engine braking levels available from the auto version). As a tow vehicle, my LC seems very stable and sure footed and with quite enough power for my loads, in stock form. As for buying one - I'm no mechanic - I just had a damned good look at everything under, over in and out on mine - had a few months of factory warranty left - didn't need to claim.
AnswerID: 433292

Reply By: Member - david m2 (SA) - Saturday, Oct 16, 2010 at 20:30

Saturday, Oct 16, 2010 at 20:30
I have an 04 TD100 kakadu 5 speed auto and would not even consider anything else . Good economy, good to drive and excellent resale. What more do you want.
AnswerID: 433296

Reply By: TD100GXL - Saturday, Oct 16, 2010 at 23:01

Saturday, Oct 16, 2010 at 23:01
Hi Zebu,
I have an 04 TD !00 series 5 speed auto, just a brilliant vehicle. My folks have used it to tow their 2500kg van, I tow my camper and my boat with it and it does it with ease. We have had it from new, it now has 185000 km on it and has never missed a beat.
I have had no experience with nissans but only have good things to say about the Landcruiser.
Your budget would easily put you into a good Auto TD 100 series.
Stuart
AnswerID: 433305

Reply By: Zebu - Sunday, Oct 17, 2010 at 08:02

Sunday, Oct 17, 2010 at 08:02
Thanks Guys - some really good info in this thread- much appreciated.

As I live in SE qld - lots of cheap gas available and as the vehicle will be a business vehicle - depreciation isnt a big concern as I am sharing the depreciation with the tax office :)

I'f I recap teh summary points in this thread -

1) Consensus is Auto is King
2) A 4.7i Petrol on LPG will have similar mileage and towing ability as the TD - so perhaps a Petrol version is also an option.

3) Patrol with Auto box can only tow 2500kg - need a manual box to get 3200kg....

AnswerID: 433313

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Sunday, Oct 17, 2010 at 08:44

Sunday, Oct 17, 2010 at 08:44
Hi Zebu

The TD Cruiser is a great tow car - but you have some wrong information on the Patrols.

The tow capacity is 3500kg on all the 4800's it was the 3lt diesel auto which only had 2500kg as it has old style gearbox - not the 5 speed 2 stage torque converter ripper in the 4800 autos.

The Patrols have longer wheelbase , lower C of G and are more stable.

I note you are looking at up to 55-60 for a car - as per a recent thread my new september 2010 4800 patrol was under 50k.

As owner of both a manual and auto patrol I love to say which is best for towing but I can't quite yet - we have just finished our first trip, a sand thrash on Stockton and the auto went very well but haven't towed with the new auto yet.

I suspect though that the manual will be better once rolling and as others says its a little harder to get off the mark - but then manual 4800's have a lot of torque and never have trouble geting off the mark.

If 55-60k was my budget for your use then a new Patrol on the new liquid injection gas which actually gives more torque would be my answer

FollowupID: 704179

Follow Up By: Zebu - Sunday, Oct 17, 2010 at 09:35

Sunday, Oct 17, 2010 at 09:35
I stand corrected - you are quite right 3200kg.

Two things put me off the petrol patrol. Firstly the interior styling and seats leave a little to be desired (but i can live with that.)

However finding a Petrol Patrol is very hard. Our local Nissan dealer - doesnt keep any in his yard - and in fact he said he had never sold one!!

A quick look thru the Trading post online for SE Qld comes up with 48 TD (2006 to 2010 models) and just 1 Petrol.

So either the guys with Petrol versions love them to death and never sell them, or they seem to be a black sheep?
FollowupID: 704182

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Sunday, Oct 17, 2010 at 10:06

Sunday, Oct 17, 2010 at 10:06
HI Zebu

The 3200kg is for manual diesel 3lt (auto is 2500)

The 3500kg is for both auto and manual 4800's.

Could be black sheep - I know I can't yet bear to part with my 2002 model and won't until I can see clear advantages for the new one.

Sometimes these differences can be subtle and fit a persons character better than another car and spending time with your choices can help a lot.

I know I test drive every thing I can, but its still hard to really be sure - on the sand with the new auto I kept thinking I was spinning wheels but it was just the auto torque conerveter slipping etc.

Keep at it - something will jell

FollowupID: 704185

Reply By: Zebu - Sunday, Oct 17, 2010 at 10:06

Sunday, Oct 17, 2010 at 10:06
Having done some fast research on Petrol Cruisers the sort of dollars I have to play with would get me a nice 2007 100 series or even into the 200series petrol.

Whats the verdict versus 100 series petrol V's 200 series petrol?
AnswerID: 433328

Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Sunday, Oct 17, 2010 at 10:46

Sunday, Oct 17, 2010 at 10:46
Recon the rear end of the 100 is better looking than on the 200 , LOL, give the horses in the float something decent to look at .
FollowupID: 704190

Reply By: Box Hill Bill- Sunday, Oct 17, 2010 at 11:10

Sunday, Oct 17, 2010 at 11:10
Hi Zebu I am in love all over again. I have a 20 Evernew which when loaded is 2800Kg. Our old 80 series with LPG wasn't happy towing it but did do the job if time was on your side. Gas usage 25 litres per 100 at best more when into a wind or hills. Decided to get a TD (must be a 5 speed auto very smooth and a great spread for towing) and have never looked back. On the highway fuel usage is less than 11 litres per 100 even at 110k's 4 up with gear. When towing she get normally 17.5 litres per 100 at 95k's. Heaps of grunt at that speed with heaps left to pass those road trains in safety.
The only way to go.
AnswerID: 433336

Reply By: Member - Captain (WA) - Sunday, Oct 17, 2010 at 11:52

Sunday, Oct 17, 2010 at 11:52
You mention its a work vehicle - there are tax advantages to buy new, you don't pay the GST upfront like you do on a 2nd hand vehicle. This makes the cost comparison more complicated and I have found it cheaper to buy a new vehicle that a near new second hand one when leasing/tax implications are taken into account.

But to get back to your original question of auto vs manual. I have previously only had manual 4WD's and after my 200 series auto, there is NO way I would go back to a manual. There is simply NO advantage of a manual to an auto in the 200 TTD V8 cruiser, not that you can get a manual :)

At the price range you are looking at, perhaps get some tax advise and see if you can get into a TTD 200, there really is no comparison for towing or comfort but then again I am biased :)

AnswerID: 433341

Reply By: Member - DOZER- Sunday, Oct 17, 2010 at 15:04

Sunday, Oct 17, 2010 at 15:04
I got half way through the banter before replying....auto is better to tow....the cruising revs are also lower, the turbo diesel will change gears without having to respool up the pump, heaps better. All cruiser manuals are agricultural and hard to change, the only possible exception is the 1hz 5 speed which is a prado box and blows up with a bit of weight behind it.
Looking at the 4.8 pootrol, you will have to put a new radiator in it if you LPG it, common fault with the 4.8/... and the main tank is replaced by a 35 litre sub when gas is installed....this is not the best option. a cruiser v8 would be a better option, injected gas all the way...yes gas is 49.9 in major cities, and up to 80 cents along the highways....you will need to take all the above variables into consideration....a late model t/d auto 100 series is what i would aim for...even the later turbo diesel 80 series 97 model was rated at 3500 kg.
AnswerID: 433360

Reply By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Monday, Oct 25, 2010 at 21:23

Monday, Oct 25, 2010 at 21:23
Am a bit late on this but here goes.

I have a 2005 100ser TD with a 3" mandrel exhaust and a Safari chip.

On a 13 month 55,000k trip around the country it averaged 17.5l per 100km.

We tow a 2850kg van at about 85-90kph IN 4th GEAR ONLY ALWAYS.

The vehicle runs cooler in this gear by at least 70 deg exhaust temp.

The van and tow were loaded up to legal max for most of the trip.

I never even had a puncture in the BFG A/T's.

I paid $57000 for it in 2007 with 58,000i on it and now has 146,000 up. Expect not to lose to much when I sell it next year.

DONT TOW IN 5th in an AUTO
AnswerID: 434206