Rodeo-what are they like?

Submitted: Saturday, Oct 16, 2010 at 23:54
ThreadID: 81955 Views:4864 Replies:8 FollowUps:10

Related Pages

evening, Im starting to look around for another Dual cab ute, and a Hilux early 2000's is probably off the list as the tow is 1800kg.

So there seems to be Rodeo's around, both V6 and TD mid 2000's for about $13-$16K. Not interested in auto.

Any comments on these? What is the factory LPG setup like?

Reply By: asmithy - Sunday, Oct 17, 2010 at 10:55

Sunday, Oct 17, 2010 at 10:55
fisho64,

i had a 2000 gu2 patrol wagon 3lt t/d that went bang with 134k on the clock have onwed since new!
went & bought a 2002 3lt t/d rodeo d/cab ute with heaps of extras & steinbauer unit for $15k with only 122klms on the clock.
this is an awesome ute, i tow a decent size trailer and the rodeo dosnt seem to worry as well as wife & 3 kids under 4! has the xgs h/d suspension on it as well which helps.
cant say how good it is & cant fault it as yet. my old man has a 2005 2.8 with 480k's on it and has never put a spanner on it. he is a mechanic of 30 + years.

no dramas on my side i love my ute.

all the best,
asmithy
AnswerID: 433333

Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Sunday, Oct 17, 2010 at 11:43

Sunday, Oct 17, 2010 at 11:43
2005 with a 2.8 and 480ks ?? 100,000 klm a year , somthing is NOT adding up , OH , could it be that in 2005 there was no 2.8 , 1995 more like it ?
FollowupID: 704201

Follow Up By: asmithy - Sunday, Oct 17, 2010 at 13:03

Sunday, Oct 17, 2010 at 13:03
yes, my mistake sorry it is a 1995 model! typo!
FollowupID: 704225

Reply By: Dunaruna - Sunday, Oct 17, 2010 at 13:03

Sunday, Oct 17, 2010 at 13:03
I have a 2005 2wd 3.5L v6 auto LT dualcab rodeo on LPG. (the 3.6 came out in 2006). The LPG is factory vapor injection. I have never bothered to do an accurate fuel usage test but i get around 1100km from the 80L gas tank and 65 (I think) litre petrol tank. There is no discernible power difference between petrol and gas, in fact I sometimes feel that i have slightly more grunt on gas.

It drives and tows like a dream. I do a lot of country miles and cannot fault the ride/comfort.

My only complaint is the back seat. Every adult complains about the 'upright' position. The seat needs to be a bit more reclined like a bucket. Leg room is ample (more than the navara).
AnswerID: 433347

Follow Up By: Dunaruna - Sunday, Oct 17, 2010 at 13:05

Sunday, Oct 17, 2010 at 13:05
I should add, my preference was for a 3.0TD but could not find one for the right price. When I upgrade, I will step into a d-max.
FollowupID: 704227

Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Sunday, Oct 17, 2010 at 13:21

Sunday, Oct 17, 2010 at 13:21
Think you will find that unless the gas tank fitter changed your petrol tank that its 75 lt.
FollowupID: 704232

Follow Up By: Dunaruna - Sunday, Oct 17, 2010 at 15:05

Sunday, Oct 17, 2010 at 15:05
Just checked redbook, 76 litre petrol tank. Fuel tank is original.
FollowupID: 704261

Follow Up By: Patrol22 - Sunday, Oct 17, 2010 at 19:58

Sunday, Oct 17, 2010 at 19:58
Might be more leg room than the D21 or D22 Navara but certainly not more than that in the very spacious D40 Navara.
FollowupID: 704302

Reply By: Alloy c/t - Sunday, Oct 17, 2010 at 13:27

Sunday, Oct 17, 2010 at 13:27
What are you planning on towing ? 2004- 2005 Rodeos have vast variences subject to petrol /diesel motors and the auto box to manual with the auto that your not interested in having the highest tow rating , ,,,
AnswerID: 433350

Follow Up By: fisho64 - Sunday, Oct 17, 2010 at 21:26

Sunday, Oct 17, 2010 at 21:26
not sure what you mean by vast variances? I thought they were all 2000kg?
FollowupID: 704318

Follow Up By: fisho64 - Tuesday, Oct 19, 2010 at 10:18

Tuesday, Oct 19, 2010 at 10:18
Im guessing you've made a mistake mate as you havent responded? Happens to us all, thanks anyway.
FollowupID: 704453

Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Tuesday, Oct 19, 2010 at 11:15

Tuesday, Oct 19, 2010 at 11:15
No mistake , some are rated with a higher load rating , just could not be bothered typing in all the variences again , have a search under 'Rodeo' in the last month or 2.
FollowupID: 704457

Follow Up By: fisho64 - Tuesday, Oct 19, 2010 at 14:11

Tuesday, Oct 19, 2010 at 14:11
Did the search, only one that came up was this thread with Rodeo in the title.
thanks anyway
FollowupID: 704483

Reply By: Wilko - Sunday, Oct 17, 2010 at 18:30

Sunday, Oct 17, 2010 at 18:30
Hi Fisho,

The diesels are reliable as , With good servicing they can log up 5 hundred thou or a lot more.

Never had a V6 but have been told they love a drink, Gas certainly is a worthy option.

They dont have the best ground clearance but a slight lift, lockers and good rubber will get most places

Cheers Wilko
AnswerID: 433377

Reply By: Madfisher - Sunday, Oct 17, 2010 at 20:37

Sunday, Oct 17, 2010 at 20:37
I have known an isuzu 2.8 to cover 700000ks before overhaul. I own a 3.5 Jack with the same petrol motor and checked out gas. I decided it was cheaper to pay more for petrol then replace heads as they do not have a good record on gas. But some v6s have covered 400000ks, which is very good for a petrol motor.
AnswerID: 433394

Reply By: D200Dug- Sunday, Oct 17, 2010 at 21:03

Sunday, Oct 17, 2010 at 21:03
I have a 2008 rodeo 3 lt TD and no complaints or problems.

Power chip and a lift kit were nice accessories but it is comfortable and drives well
AnswerID: 433399

Reply By: fisho64 - Sunday, Oct 17, 2010 at 21:30

Sunday, Oct 17, 2010 at 21:30
Thanks for the replies, guys.

My preference wouldhave been for another Hilux, an LN167 TD but they are only 1800kg tow, and my present LN106 is 1500.

Theres a few of the Rodeos with factory gas, and a few reports on the rodeo 4WD action website with problems but nothing too out of the ordinary.

I should say not REALLY interested in auto, if they are a good box, maybe on the V6?
AnswerID: 433404

Reply By: WVB - Thursday, Oct 28, 2010 at 13:03

Thursday, Oct 28, 2010 at 13:03
me too but diesel not petrol or gas.

the rodeos tick the second hand boxes in terms of the price/kms/features over hilux/triton/navara in my book.
i'm a mechanic 25 years and have had my small fears put to rest in terms of the diesel. I know its thankfully not the same as the jackaroo (re caterpillar fuel injection) but i am curious about the odd story i've heard about the 'on the fly' push button transfer and auto hubs.

Can anyone vouch for the transmissions in these trucks, good or bad?
The stories about the auto hubs include 1 or both self engaging at highway speeds and destroying the front differentials unknown to the driver.
also transmission ECU problems.

ta for any feedback
Michael.
AnswerID: 434420