Submitted: Sunday, Oct 17, 2010 at 20:08
PatrolEv
G'day,
The better half & I are heading to Tassie for 11 days in Feb 2011. We are taking our own vehicle (Patrol 4.2Td) and are set up for
camping (bush/free/other) but will also stay in caravan parks, B&B's, etc depending on the day.
Basically I am just after the "Must See's" & "Must Do's" from those that have been there and done that! I have looked at brochures, websites and the like but always good to get first hand tips.
Ev
Reply By: Kev - Member - Wynnum - Sunday, Oct 17, 2010 at 20:39
Sunday, Oct 17, 2010 at 20:39
Hi Ev,
Well as it happens you have picked THE time to go to Tasmania.
We are also travelling to the apple isle to visit the Wooden Boat Regatta which is held in
Hobart 9th to the 14th February, 2011.
It is a bi annual event that I'm told is
well worth visiting. I would add it my list if I were you. If you haven't booked your vehicle onto the ferry I believe that spaces are at a premium.
Kev
Follow Up By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Sunday, Oct 17, 2010 at 20:46
Sunday, Oct 17, 2010 at 20:46
The wooden boat regatta is a must.
We went to it a couple of years ago and spent 6 hours there.
Not only were the boats and exibitions fantastic so was the entertainment, food and beer.
Would go again without hesitation.
We have been to Tassie a few times and have not been dissapointed with any part of our trips.
Reply By: Bazooka - Sunday, Oct 17, 2010 at 21:09
Sunday, Oct 17, 2010 at 21:09
Hi Ev
Obviously depends on your likes, there's so much to see, but here is but a few mostly touristy ones:
West Coast -
Macquarie Harbour, train trip form
Queenstown to
Strahan, cruise if you fancy it, 2+ days.
Sth - Tasman Peninsula, Pt Arthur,
Remarkable cave etc, 1-2 days
Hobart area 2-3+ days; Salamanca markets (Sat); Mt
Wellington; Huon valley drive - day round trip from
Hobart - on way to/from Mt
Wellington?
Richmond village - crafts, old church and bridge;
Nth -
Launceston Cataract Gorge; Mole Cr caves on way to Cradle Mt, 2+ days
East coast - Coles Bay/Freycinet 1-2 days
Enjoy your trip.
Reply By: Member - Julio C (VIC) - Sunday, Oct 17, 2010 at 21:28
Sunday, Oct 17, 2010 at 21:28
Hi Ev, The Cascade & Boag's breweries tours are a "MUST"
Reply By: Crackles - Sunday, Oct 17, 2010 at 21:39
Sunday, Oct 17, 2010 at 21:39
Ev, 11 days will only allow you to get around 20% of the must sees. You haven't given any indication of what you hope to look at so difficult to recommend. Are you after the best National Parks, hiking, good food, fishing, historical sites, guided tours, adventure activities, remote destinations or challenging 4 wheel driving? Even though it's not a big place I'd concentrate on looking at one area rather than spend all your time driving around. For example it would be easy spend most of your time around Straun &
Queenstown & not see it all.
Cheers Craig...............
Reply By: Member - Ian W1 (NSW) - Sunday, Oct 17, 2010 at 21:57
Sunday, Oct 17, 2010 at 21:57
We spent three months in Tassie & still didn't see it all so your 11 days will just whet your appetite. For
free camping the Tasmanians are stingy - they only allow staying in a
free camp for 28 days and some on Freychinet Peninsular should be om your "Must See: - as should the Berry Farm near
Swansea.
Follow Up By: Member - Josh (TAS) - Monday, Oct 18, 2010 at 08:00
Monday, Oct 18, 2010 at 08:00
Tassie is great for free camps. Depends on where you stay. The main reason for a limit on time is to stop people setting up
camp permanately. Most
places don't care if you stay longer if you are doing the right thing ie. keeping the place tidy. Afterall we don't want you mainlanders staying here for to long lol. Seriously there are plenty of spots to
camp. Hamiltom is free and has $1 showers, bbqs and power in bbq shelter. Kempton is free and has power for a gold coin donation.
Josh
Follow Up By: Member - Ian W1 (NSW) - Monday, Oct 18, 2010 at 22:54
Monday, Oct 18, 2010 at 22:54
Josh,
I don't think you noticed the tongue firmly in my cheek when I decried the 28 days. Some
places on the big island are flat out allowing 24 hours so I thought it worth noting the longer time allowed there.
Bay of Fires high on the 'Must See' list too I reckon
Reply By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Sunday, Oct 17, 2010 at 22:32
Sunday, Oct 17, 2010 at 22:32
Ev, we spent about 4 months in Tassie last Summer. Great trip.
This is my Blog on the Trip which pretty much covers the highlights for us.
Norm and Kabby's Tassie Trip
Have a great trip.
Reply By: Motherhen - Monday, Oct 18, 2010 at 00:20
Monday, Oct 18, 2010 at 00:20
Hi Ev
We spent seven weeks just taking a quick sample of the sights. My
blogs from February/March 2006 show how we did it. Our daughter who had spent a year in Tasmania ten years prior took her partner, in laws and first child for a fly in 10 day quick look just before second child was born. She had to pre book hire car and accommodation so worked out a plan to show them a bit of each side, which has helped others plan quick tours. This plan and the blog on the
camp sites we chose are not in my
blogs here and until i get a website up, they are only available by email by request . Tasmania has worked out the benefits of offering
free camp grounds in good locations to the benefit of the local businesses, but you need Camps Australia Wide to select them.
Bush camping is not as easy as finding somewhere to get off the road as it is in the mainland due to the terrain, but with the aid of Camps, you can select some really special
places.
Must dos for a short visit?
Cradle Mountain,
Port Arthur, a selection of waterfalls, a drive along the north through the richest red soil you'll ever see, hydro-electricity stations,
water and lots of it, mountains in the centre, a walk to
Wineglass Bay, the rugged west coast,
Montezuma Falls - the list goes on and on. It all depends on what you like, and how far you are prepared to walk, as in most cases it is a walk to get to the top the waterfall or sight to see.
Reply By: Member - Ian W1 (QLD) - Monday, Oct 18, 2010 at 07:14
Monday, Oct 18, 2010 at 07:14
Also a 'must see' for us on a recent 12 day trip was a
Gordon Rver boat tour from the West Coast. For me, it was a highlight of the trip. Salamanca Markets in
Hobart on Saturdays provide great food and entertainment. In fact you can eat, drink & walk your way around Tassie.....a great place buta little cold for me in the middle of winter.
Reply By: Pushy - Monday, Oct 18, 2010 at 15:52
Monday, Oct 18, 2010 at 15:52
PayrolEv,
All of above plus
boat trip from
Stanley to see seals
Pt Arthur night time ghost tour
Pieman river ferry
When in
Strahan go to the dock area and book in for the talk about the
Tassie Tiger, very informative and a surprise at the end
Shot tower in
Hobart
Definitely make use of the
free camping and enjoy the fresh fruit and seafood
Reply By: Member - Oldbaz. NSW. - Monday, Oct 18, 2010 at 17:11
Monday, Oct 18, 2010 at 17:11
Wow, I hope Tassie doesnt sink with all the EO folk going in Feb. The childbride
& I are also planning to spend most of Feb down there too. We have gleaned all the good oil from Motherhen, Norm & others & dont seem to have any difficulty filling in a month. We will take old Jack & C/t for a boatride...both have EO
insignia so dont drive past us without saying gooday........oldbaz.
Reply By: PatrolEv - Monday, Oct 18, 2010 at 18:10
Monday, Oct 18, 2010 at 18:10
Thank you everyone for the replies and the great info, I am really looking forward to it. It is good getting a broad range of responses, If I had defined my specific interests people may have only responded to them and I may have missed an opportunity - example - the wooden boats - not an interest area I would have listed but I will have a look because it sounds interesting and is different.
Thanks again
Ev