Most usefull acc I have had.

Submitted: Wednesday, Oct 20, 2010 at 22:23
ThreadID: 82040 Views:7638 Replies:19 FollowUps:36

Related Pages

Been driving 4x4s for 15 or more years now & I would have to say that the 110 litre aluminium water tank I have fitted to my hilux is the best & most useful accessory I have owned.
It gets used all the time. Even in town when you need to fill a water bottle or wash your hands or even give the dog a drink at the beach. It certainly makes camping easier too.
Second on the list is spotlights.
Third is towbars.
Long-range fuel tanks, bull bars, winches & snorkels are virtually ornaments when compared to the number of times I use my water tank.
The aluminium tank does not change the flavour of the water as well

Reply By: Mick O - Wednesday, Oct 20, 2010 at 22:28

Wednesday, Oct 20, 2010 at 22:28
Dual compressors and the air tank for me. Makes blowing up those big tyres a breeze!

AnswerID: 433720

Follow Up By: equinox - Wednesday, Oct 20, 2010 at 23:01

Wednesday, Oct 20, 2010 at 23:01
That double pumper is pretty good, love the redundancy!!

FollowupID: 704692

Follow Up By: Member - David G (WA) - Thursday, Oct 21, 2010 at 11:20

Thursday, Oct 21, 2010 at 11:20
John & Scotty in your case Mick lol
FollowupID: 704740

Follow Up By: Mick O - Thursday, Oct 21, 2010 at 18:10

Thursday, Oct 21, 2010 at 18:10
Every traveller should carry one!

FollowupID: 704768

Follow Up By: Member - Christopher P (NSW) - Thursday, Oct 21, 2010 at 21:36

Thursday, Oct 21, 2010 at 21:36
Oh Hello MickO misse d you on here, where have you being???

Chat soon
FollowupID: 704795

Reply By: Robin Miller - Wednesday, Oct 20, 2010 at 22:31

Wednesday, Oct 20, 2010 at 22:31
Hi Fatso

Understand how useful it may be for you and thats good - but for health reasons cooking or consuming anything that has been in contact with aluminium is something you really do need to do in moderation.

There is significantly less migration of metal into the gut if you use stainless steel.

As a short term measure I would suggest you flush tank and use new water before each trip.

AnswerID: 433721

Follow Up By: Muntoo - Thursday, Oct 21, 2010 at 01:43

Thursday, Oct 21, 2010 at 01:43
What about AlFoil? Any drawbacks with cooking fish/vegies etc in it?

FollowupID: 704710

Follow Up By: Fred G NSW - Thursday, Oct 21, 2010 at 02:51

Thursday, Oct 21, 2010 at 02:51
Hey Robin, what about beer cans ???????????? cripes mate, now ya gone and got me worried.

Ta mate.

Fred.

FollowupID: 704712

Follow Up By: get outmore - Thursday, Oct 21, 2010 at 03:37

Thursday, Oct 21, 2010 at 03:37
wives tale which was totally discredited years ago butstill persists

it came about through blood transfusions using concentrated tap water increasing aluminimum in the blood to levels far higher than would be remotly possible anyother way giving alzhiemers like symptoms which dissapeared once the problem was recognised. The aluminimum myth still persists though

FollowupID: 704713

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Thursday, Oct 21, 2010 at 07:57

Thursday, Oct 21, 2010 at 07:57
You'll be all right Fred - just watch out for aluminium in your under arm de-orderant.

If you look at the inside of those cans you will find they are coated and have a special surface finish rated for 1 use, food use.

This is a legal requirement now.

Much the same with Al foil

Its the repeated use that breaks down surface finish and exposes raw Al to mineral attack , which is aggravated by heat.

Your straining my memory now , its many years since we went thru the "throw out all aluminium cooking utensils phase" , but if you can find any from back then , look inside them and you will see the pitting as Al is lost to food etc.

FollowupID: 704718

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Thursday, Oct 21, 2010 at 08:25

Thursday, Oct 21, 2010 at 08:25
Whoops I did not comment on Getoutmores input - but there certainly was a phase in which al was blammed for everything (sort of like like water is bad for you because with to much you can drown).

These days there are limits placed on its concentrations and provided its not in contact with acidic foods to long or your not occupationally exposed then small concentrations are considered relativily safe provided you are not in a risk group (weak kidneys etc).

Its much the same as mobile phone expose - don't over react and avoid use where possible and you can easily and sensibily reduce the risk.
FollowupID: 704724

Follow Up By: Bazooka - Thursday, Oct 21, 2010 at 10:32

Thursday, Oct 21, 2010 at 10:32
Robin and Getoutmore are both correct. Unlikely you will have problems as long as your pots and pans are in good condition AND you don't keep acidic and salty foods in them for long periods of time.

From the interweb (must be true!). More reading here: http://www.thedietchannel.com/Alzheimers-Disease.htm
The makers of aluminum cookware warn against storing highly acidic or salty foods in aluminum cookware. Foods such as tomato sauce or citrus fruits that are in contact with cookware for a long period of time will absorb aluminum. Aluminum foil has the same effect and should be avoided for storing acidic or salty foods.

Modern aluminum cookware is anodized or otherwise coated to harden the finish and make it resistant to food sticking. That process reduces the amount that gets into food. Acidic or highly salty foods tend to leach more aluminum out than other foods. Still, that is not really a problem. Most ingested aluminum is eliminated in the stool, but some is absorbed. Very little of the aluminum we ingest comes from cookware. In a worst case scenario, a person using uncoated aluminum cookware and storing all food in aluminum containers is likely to absorb about three or four milligrams of aluminum a day.
FollowupID: 704734

Reply By: Joe n Mel - Wednesday, Oct 20, 2010 at 22:32

Wednesday, Oct 20, 2010 at 22:32
cable ties :-)
AnswerID: 433722

Follow Up By: Joe n Mel - Wednesday, Oct 20, 2010 at 22:39

Wednesday, Oct 20, 2010 at 22:39
then second comes the twin screen DVD players with THREE wireless headphones, 1 for each kid ........
Third on this trip was the GPS nav, even told the missus to be quite so i could hear her (GPS) tell me where to go, BIG risk but worked until we parked up at the room and she un-clipped it and chucked it in the bed beside me ..... """so who ya gunna listen to NOW eh"""" :-@ (nah just kidding)
FollowupID: 704688

Reply By: equinox - Wednesday, Oct 20, 2010 at 22:42

Wednesday, Oct 20, 2010 at 22:42
1. Long Handled Shovel
2. Planks of wood
3. GPS

wouldn't leave home without them :)

AnswerID: 433723

Reply By: greybeard - Wednesday, Oct 20, 2010 at 22:44

Wednesday, Oct 20, 2010 at 22:44
stubby holder ;)
AnswerID: 433724

Follow Up By: SDG - Wednesday, Oct 20, 2010 at 22:58

Wednesday, Oct 20, 2010 at 22:58
What about the stubby?
FollowupID: 704691

Follow Up By: greybeard - Wednesday, Oct 20, 2010 at 23:27

Wednesday, Oct 20, 2010 at 23:27
i didn't know you could get a stubby holder without a stubby in it :)
FollowupID: 704699

Reply By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Wednesday, Oct 20, 2010 at 22:57

Wednesday, Oct 20, 2010 at 22:57

I reckon the wife. Whenever I get a flat or need to do something mechanical, she jumps out, chucks a fire together and gets the billy on. The next best is my blue heeler, I have never locked my car, no matter where I have been, as he reckons it belongs to him and noone but me and mum are touching it.

The best "mechanical" accessory is my roof spotties, they are requirements when driving through Ruby Plains cattle station at night, with the cattle and Kamikaze kangaroos everywhere.

Why travel overseas, you could travel Australia your entire life, and not see it all.

AnswerID: 433728

Follow Up By: Gazal Champion - Thursday, Oct 21, 2010 at 17:47

Thursday, Oct 21, 2010 at 17:47
Hey Mark,
If you ever want to sell your missus let me know mate, I could do with one like that.
Cheers, Bruce.
At home and at ease on a track that I know not and
restless and lost on a track that I know. HL.

FollowupID: 704762

Follow Up By: Gazal Champion - Thursday, Oct 21, 2010 at 17:47

Thursday, Oct 21, 2010 at 17:47
Hey Mark,
If you ever want to sell your missus let me know mate, I could do with one like that. LOL
Cheers, Bruce.

FollowupID: 704763

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Thursday, Oct 21, 2010 at 19:09

Thursday, Oct 21, 2010 at 19:09
Hi Bruce

No sale mate, I am kind of attached to this one after all these years and the grannies would never forgive me. I must confess that after all these years I am still very much in love with my wife, so I shall hang on to her.

Marc
Why travel overseas, you could travel Australia your entire life, and not see it all.

FollowupID: 704776

Follow Up By: Member - Christopher P (NSW) - Thursday, Oct 21, 2010 at 21:40

Thursday, Oct 21, 2010 at 21:40
Yeah mine likes to get a cuppa going aswell, but we use a thermos of hot water.

And NO you can't have mine but she does have 2 sisters that are single!!!!
FollowupID: 704796

Follow Up By: Gazal Champion - Thursday, Oct 21, 2010 at 22:58

Thursday, Oct 21, 2010 at 22:58
Know what you mean fellas, I have had mine with me since we were 17 and we are 64 now. She knows me like a book, cooks what I like or I like what she cooks, don't know which. If I look stupid it's because of the way she dresses me, so to speak. LOL

See You Later boys,
Cheers, Bruce.

FollowupID: 704812

Reply By: Bazooka - Wednesday, Oct 20, 2010 at 22:58

Wednesday, Oct 20, 2010 at 22:58
The missus...
AnswerID: 433729

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh - Thursday, Oct 21, 2010 at 06:24

Thursday, Oct 21, 2010 at 06:24
WT?
Serious.
FollowupID: 704715

Follow Up By: Member - Phil B (WA) - Thursday, Oct 21, 2010 at 11:15

Thursday, Oct 21, 2010 at 11:15
He needs her so he knows what he's doing wrong!
There is a lot of difference between
‘Human Being’ and ‘Being Human’.

FollowupID: 704739

Reply By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Thursday, Oct 21, 2010 at 07:25

Thursday, Oct 21, 2010 at 07:25
Geez Fellas

The 40 litre Engel in the back of the Patrol full of Cans is the number one thing in our vehicle, oops I better say the Cook is first, then the Engel, just in case she reads the reply.

AnswerID: 433736

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh - Thursday, Oct 21, 2010 at 08:03

Thursday, Oct 21, 2010 at 08:03
To late Daza, email has been sent to the Cook.
ROFLMAO.
FollowupID: 704721

Follow Up By: Drew - Karratha - Thursday, Oct 21, 2010 at 20:41

Thursday, Oct 21, 2010 at 20:41
No - the 60L Engel in the back of the Cruiser - of course full of cans too...
Then:
Bull bar
Spotties
Roof Rack
DVD Players for the kids
Boat!!
FollowupID: 704786

Reply By: wato35 - Thursday, Oct 21, 2010 at 07:39

Thursday, Oct 21, 2010 at 07:39
Thats a lot of extra weight to carry around.
AnswerID: 433740

Follow Up By: Papaspook - Thursday, Oct 21, 2010 at 07:59

Thursday, Oct 21, 2010 at 07:59
Leave the missus, take the fridge!
FollowupID: 704719

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh - Thursday, Oct 21, 2010 at 08:00

Thursday, Oct 21, 2010 at 08:00
Hey Wato,
When I got the email saying there was a reply, I thought you may have replied to Bazooka.
Dolht.
FollowupID: 704720

Follow Up By: Bazooka - Thursday, Oct 21, 2010 at 10:38

Thursday, Oct 21, 2010 at 10:38
Good one Wato. Nah, she's in good nick - and she's not dead weight. Great at pushing and digging in a bog (okay I made that up).
FollowupID: 704735

Reply By: Member - Brenton H (SA) - Thursday, Oct 21, 2010 at 08:46

Thursday, Oct 21, 2010 at 08:46
Dual battery system to keep the fridge and beer cold. (and maybe the steak...but no dam salad)
No brainer...first thing i put on a new 4x4.
AnswerID: 433743

Reply By: landed eagle - Thursday, Oct 21, 2010 at 08:56

Thursday, Oct 21, 2010 at 08:56
GOOD quality Nashua Gaffa tape. Never go away without it.
As a rock'n'roll muso of 30+ years,the number of gigs that have been saved by this stuff is large.
Has been known to save the odd camping trip too.
AnswerID: 433745

Reply By: Member - John G- Thursday, Oct 21, 2010 at 09:00

Thursday, Oct 21, 2010 at 09:00
G'day Fatso

Can't stay out of this one. Getting rid of the 66 litre fuel tank on the Hilux and replacing it with a 115 litre tank is right up there for me as far as most useful accessories go.

AnswerID: 433746

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Thursday, Oct 21, 2010 at 10:31

Thursday, Oct 21, 2010 at 10:31
Hi John G

Now your response has my interest. I also have a Hilux with a 60+ litre tank, and I did not know that a long range tank was available for the Hilux.

Details please.

Marc

FollowupID: 704733

Follow Up By: Member - John G- Thursday, Oct 21, 2010 at 10:42

Thursday, Oct 21, 2010 at 10:42
G'day Marc

Check www.thelongranger.com.au

I have a 2000 Hilux. The website indicates that for models from 2005 onwards the tank is now 128 litres.

FollowupID: 704736

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Thursday, Oct 21, 2010 at 10:52

Thursday, Oct 21, 2010 at 10:52
Hi John G

Great minds think alike, mine is also a 2000 dual cab 3 litre, check my blog. The old girl has never let me down, unfortunately I do not like the newer Hilux, they don't look right to me.

FollowupID: 704737

Reply By: Wilko - Thursday, Oct 21, 2010 at 09:51

Thursday, Oct 21, 2010 at 09:51
Ive got a 30lt stainless water tank under the tray of the Rodeo and its great. Need to wash your hands, done.

2nd is the uhf.

Cheers Wilko
AnswerID: 433749

Reply By: Bazooka - Thursday, Oct 21, 2010 at 10:54

Thursday, Oct 21, 2010 at 10:54
By the way, all this discussion about accessories (esp heavy items - BBars, RRacks, aux water/fuel tanks) prompts me about the article on GVM in a new '4x4' mag. Quite an eye opener as some newer vehicles have a significantly reduced load carrying capacity (compared to older models) and you can quickly exceed the legal GVM - particularly if you have passengers. Article also suggested ways of legally increasing the vehicle's GVM and commented on different State issues if you buy a second hand truck which has had GVM mods.
AnswerID: 433752

Reply By: Member - Phil B (WA) - Thursday, Oct 21, 2010 at 11:27

Thursday, Oct 21, 2010 at 11:27
1 Cordless drill - after you crack them it gets wheel nuts off and back on fast. also great for all sorts of minor repairs

2 SensaTyre TPMS - it has saved many tyres from being destroyed

3 Gas torch fitting that plugs onto butane cans - great for starting fires with wet wood and numerous other things like sealing cut webbing, soldering etc etc

AnswerID: 433756

Follow Up By: Gronk - Thursday, Oct 21, 2010 at 17:44

Thursday, Oct 21, 2010 at 17:44
Hello Phil, have you got any info etc about the gas torch that goes on butane cans ??
FollowupID: 704761

Follow Up By: Joe n Mel - Thursday, Oct 21, 2010 at 18:40

Thursday, Oct 21, 2010 at 18:40
second that, any info would be great, sounds an excellent addition as i always carry the gas n stove
FollowupID: 704771

Follow Up By: Member - Tezza Qld - Thursday, Oct 21, 2010 at 18:59

Thursday, Oct 21, 2010 at 18:59
Sold in most camp stores They attach to the throwaway cylinders that are sold in packs of four There are a few different types about but the Kovea Brand is about the pick of them. Retail around $32 odd dollars.

Picture at www.kovea.com Cyclone gas torch butane

Cheers Teza
FollowupID: 704774

Follow Up By: Member - Phil B (WA) - Thursday, Oct 21, 2010 at 19:58

Thursday, Oct 21, 2010 at 19:58
Thanks Tezza Thats the one - Kovea. Its also great for heat shrink as well.

FollowupID: 704781

Reply By: Member - barry F (NSW) - Thursday, Oct 21, 2010 at 18:48

Thursday, Oct 21, 2010 at 18:48
Victa lawn mower for me!! We hate getting our tootsies wet when roughing it with high grass on the camp site.

We also would put our laptop, mobile phone, satellite dish & TV, GPS & a Spot me System , all backed up with a generator, high on our list of most useful items as we truly love getting out there amongst nature & experiencing the true bush lifestyle. LOL & cheers
AnswerID: 433784

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Thursday, Oct 21, 2010 at 19:12

Thursday, Oct 21, 2010 at 19:12
Hi Barry

All that stuff is part of a bush lifestyle, okay, to each their own.

FollowupID: 704777

Follow Up By: Member - daz (SA) - Thursday, Oct 21, 2010 at 21:27

Thursday, Oct 21, 2010 at 21:27
I think Barry caught one there

Its you Marc

Looks like a lot of people are bored. Daz
FollowupID: 704793

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Friday, Oct 22, 2010 at 02:10

Friday, Oct 22, 2010 at 02:10
Hi Daz

Fair enough I got done hook line and sinker. Plenty of time.

FollowupID: 704830

Reply By: brad72 - Thursday, Oct 21, 2010 at 22:25

Thursday, Oct 21, 2010 at 22:25
hi fatso.
What year and type of hilux and where did you put the tank.
AnswerID: 433825

Reply By: pop2jocem - Friday, Oct 22, 2010 at 00:01

Friday, Oct 22, 2010 at 00:01
I guess, for me anyway, long handled shovels, compressors, tyre fixing gear and the usual tools and spares are pretty high on the list of "what if" stuff to take when venturing away from the trappings of so called civilization, but IMHO the most useful is that organ that resides (in most people....lol) between the ears. The ability to calmly, well as calmly as the situation permits, sit down assess the current problem and maybe see a way out that does not necessarily require enough gear to equip a small auto accessory shop.
Case in point, a trip down the good ol' CSR many years ago saw yours truly well and truly sink one side of our trusty beast into the bottomless chocolate pudding that lurks beneath the surface of a part of Lake Disappointment. No one to blame but myself, and after many hours of digging and jacking very slow progress was being made. Just about everything we stuffed under the wheels got sucked into that horrible morass. Good wife to the rescue, says she "why don't we fill these old wheat bags that we used to pack things in with sand and put them under the wheels"..........guess what......worked a treat........just wish I had thought of it..........lol.

AnswerID: 433832

Reply By: Member - Lionel A (WA) - Friday, Oct 22, 2010 at 08:36

Friday, Oct 22, 2010 at 08:36
The humble plastic milk crate.

Cheers.....Lionel.
AnswerID: 433854

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Friday, Oct 22, 2010 at 08:51

Friday, Oct 22, 2010 at 08:51
Bread Crates are also very useful, they are great for in the shower tent and also at the door to the camper ;)

FollowupID: 704842