Aldi torque wrench, perfect for setting wheel nut torque. On sale from today!

Submitted: Thursday, Oct 21, 2010 at 17:40
ThreadID: 82047 Views:6054 Replies:7 FollowUps:9
If anyone is interested, Aldi is selling 1/2" drive torque wrenches for $30. I bought one to take away with me on trips, solely for setting wheel nuts. It comes with 17mm 19mm and 21mm single hex sockets and a 100mm extension. All made in Taiwan except for the main spring made in Japan and housed in a blow moulded plastic case. The whole package seems perfect for setting correct torque on wheel nuts.. There were a few hundred at the store i was in today.. regards Michael

Reply By: Mick O - Thursday, Oct 21, 2010 at 17:45

Thursday, Oct 21, 2010 at 17:45
Thanks Michael. I'll have to check if they're available down south of the border.

AnswerID: 433780

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Thursday, Oct 21, 2010 at 17:51

Thursday, Oct 21, 2010 at 17:51
Mick,
The quality is very good but i havent checked it against my 40 year old Sidchrome for accuracy. But it really doesnt matter as long as they are the same torque and close to the intended torque.. Let me know if you cant get and i can post one to you. Have a look on you Aldi site to see if they are on sale today.. I was surprised there was so many there and i dont think they will be a great seller, not everyone has a use for one. But you never know!!!

Regards, Michael
FollowupID: 704764

Follow Up By: Mick O - Thursday, Oct 21, 2010 at 22:40

Thursday, Oct 21, 2010 at 22:40
Thanks Michael, I went straight down to Aldi and grabbed one (plus a few other items they had on spesh).

FollowupID: 704810

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Friday, Oct 22, 2010 at 20:19

Friday, Oct 22, 2010 at 20:19
I thought you might Mick, when you look at the sizes of the sockets and the 100 mm extension, its a perfect package for wheel nuts and can be used for other things with the help of your regular socket set. Michael
FollowupID: 704928

Reply By: Member - Tezza Qld - Thursday, Oct 21, 2010 at 18:48

Thursday, Oct 21, 2010 at 18:48
Thanks Michael

My young bloke in Wollongong is after one so I' ve let him know

Cheers Teza
AnswerID: 433785

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Thursday, Oct 21, 2010 at 18:51

Thursday, Oct 21, 2010 at 18:51
Teza, I just checked, the same specials are available Australia wide and open till 9 tonite..

regards, Michael
FollowupID: 704773

Follow Up By: Member - Tezza Qld - Thursday, Oct 21, 2010 at 19:07

Thursday, Oct 21, 2010 at 19:07
Thanks Michael

Cheers Teza
FollowupID: 704775

Reply By: Member - Fred B (NT) - Thursday, Oct 21, 2010 at 20:13

Thursday, Oct 21, 2010 at 20:13
It's all right for you blokes... but we don't have an Aldi in the NT...
Best we get is Bunni...s and Super... p.
Fred B
VKS 737: Mobile/Selcall 1334

AnswerID: 433797

Follow Up By: patto - Thursday, Oct 21, 2010 at 20:39

Thursday, Oct 21, 2010 at 20:39
Hi Fred
We dont have one in SA either
May be one day Ha! Ha !
FollowupID: 704785

Follow Up By: 3GoBush - Thursday, Oct 21, 2010 at 22:41

Thursday, Oct 21, 2010 at 22:41
Hey Fred

Don't stress, I have a work shop with a tool box full of tools, I bought most of them in Darwin, they are worth about $15000.00 none were from Bunnings or super crap, they are from Snap On or Sidchrome

My idea is spend the money and buy them once, some of the tools I have are handed down from my grand dad, they work as good today, as they did 50 years ago, my Grand dad was a self taught boiler maker.

Just for the record I work my tools hard.
FollowupID: 704811

Reply By: Axle - Thursday, Oct 21, 2010 at 20:46

Thursday, Oct 21, 2010 at 20:46
G/day Mike, Reckon I will buy one also, After you post back after your next trip and let everyone know if any wheels fell off......LOL.

AnswerID: 433806

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Friday, Oct 22, 2010 at 20:22

Friday, Oct 22, 2010 at 20:22
Gday Axle, My last weekend away i lost the whole axle from my unbreakable trailer but the wheels were still attached.. I am hoping for a better run next trip... Michael
FollowupID: 704930

Reply By: Member - Christopher P (NSW) - Thursday, Oct 21, 2010 at 21:34

Thursday, Oct 21, 2010 at 21:34
They don't say how many ft/lbs it does!!!!

If anyone's interested a place locally has 250 ft/lbs torque wrenches for under $90 dollars!!!!

I have no affiliation with them. was in there bying a block and tackle for work!!!

asked about a price.

if anyone interested in one will get them one if they want!!!!

and post it to you.
AnswerID: 433817

Reply By: happytravelers - Thursday, Oct 21, 2010 at 22:18

Thursday, Oct 21, 2010 at 22:18
Thanks Michael
After reading your post I've just popped out and bought one, got there a few minutes before the store closed tonight. Just pulled it out of the box, looks ok, like you say perfect for wheel nuts.
Thanks for the tip Jon
AnswerID: 433821

Reply By: Kelvo - Friday, Oct 22, 2010 at 05:04

Friday, Oct 22, 2010 at 05:04
They must have bought a ship load of those wrenches, they're selling them for £12.99 here in the UK.
AnswerID: 433842

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Friday, Oct 22, 2010 at 20:25

Friday, Oct 22, 2010 at 20:25
Gee!! About $22 Australian!! We always get a bum deal here in Oz !!! :) Michael
FollowupID: 704931