Interesting experience

Submitted: Thursday, Oct 21, 2010 at 19:20
ThreadID: 82050 Views:6721 Replies:13 FollowUps:43
This Thread has been Locked

The wife and I went out to get a couple of bush turkeys today with the .22 Magnum. Used a friends old 60 series sedan to avoid additional damage from trees on my hilux.

We saw a big male, so I dropped him, or so I thought. Went over, picked it up and gave the neck a couple of twists to make sure, then chucked it on the back seat on the plastic bags to take it back in for cleaning and cooking.

I started driving back to the track, and was talking to my wife, then for some unknown reason, I may have heard a noise, but I looked in the rear view mirror, and there is a bush turkey looking back at me from the back seat, and that's fair dinkum.

The wife ripped her sandal off and slapped it a couple of times, which stunned it, and I jumped out, grabbed it through the bag window, and finished the job, now that is seriously what I call an interesting experience for the day.

Why travel overseas, you could travel Australia your entire life, and not see it all.

Reply By: TerraFirma - Thursday, Oct 21, 2010 at 19:42

Thursday, Oct 21, 2010 at 19:42
I reckon your wife and the sandal would have done a better job ML. Now I'm waiting for all the bird lovers to get stuck into you for being so descriptive. LOL
AnswerID: 433795

Follow Up By: Axle - Thursday, Oct 21, 2010 at 20:13

Thursday, Oct 21, 2010 at 20:13
You shot it !!!, & then wrung its neck!!,.And the thing still sat up and looked at you!, Better get a bit more practice before Xmas!, is all i can say!,,,,,,Hahahahahahaha....Cheers Mate.

Axle.
FollowupID: 704782

Follow Up By: Axle - Thursday, Oct 21, 2010 at 20:16

Thursday, Oct 21, 2010 at 20:16
Sorry! Terrafima Wrong spot!.

laughing to much to concentrate;

Axle.
FollowupID: 704783

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Thursday, Oct 21, 2010 at 21:58

Thursday, Oct 21, 2010 at 21:58
Hi TerraFirma

I love and care for birds as well, but when it comes to old style tucker, my wife does not take them just for the sake of hunting, only enough to eat.

Axle, normally when I do that I droip them first time, this time I had to hit the damn thing through spinifex, so that my excuse and I am sticking to it.

Why travel overseas, you could travel Australia your entire life, and not see it all.

FollowupID: 704798

Follow Up By: 3GoBush - Thursday, Oct 21, 2010 at 22:26

Thursday, Oct 21, 2010 at 22:26
Hey Marc Luther B bush tucker is bush tucker, it doesn't matter how you get it.

I love Buffalo back strap or Goose perhaps a little Turtle or File snake, bush turkey,scrub foul, brown duck, and don't forget wild Barra.

Shot for it ,Dig for it, fish for it, but don't waste him.

Hope you had a great feed.
FollowupID: 704807

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Friday, Oct 22, 2010 at 01:05

Friday, Oct 22, 2010 at 01:05
Hi 3GoBush

I would have loved a great feed. The wife cooked the bird in the sand, then the kids and grandkids surrounded the fire and I went indide for a cuppa coffee, and when I eventually went out, the hole was empty and the bird had vanished. The correct people got a feed.

I am not concerned with what people think until they come out and see people having their tucker. The stuff we get doesn't have steroids in it to fatten it, doesn't have all the chemicals that chooks and the like have, and is cooked in the hot sand pit mized with coals and a fire on top.

Oh hell, no oven is used, the proper people would not touch it. I couldn't resist that last bit.

FollowupID: 704821

Reply By: skulldug - Thursday, Oct 21, 2010 at 20:15

Thursday, Oct 21, 2010 at 20:15
So Marc,

How do you handle security while you are camping?

Skull
AnswerID: 433798

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Thursday, Oct 21, 2010 at 21:59

Thursday, Oct 21, 2010 at 21:59
Hi Skulldug

That's what the blue heeler is for, if he stays awake long enough.

FollowupID: 704800

Reply By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Thursday, Oct 21, 2010 at 20:41

Thursday, Oct 21, 2010 at 20:41
You sure you're going to eat it? Too tough to die from being shot, didn't want to die from getting it's neck rung, so by my book it may be way too tough to eat?

You may need to slowwwwwwwwwwwww cook this one for a long time me thinks. LOL

You sure it wasn't a road runner and you the Willie coyote. He He LOL

AnswerID: 433804

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Thursday, Oct 21, 2010 at 22:01

Thursday, Oct 21, 2010 at 22:01
Hi Duncan

I have seen many get away after being shot by some people. The mob here obviously follow the birds flight path and 99 % of the time they find the bird.

It was a big white neck male, so quite a bit of bird and it will be cooked in the hot coals and sand for about three hours.

FollowupID: 704801

Reply By: SDG - Thursday, Oct 21, 2010 at 20:59

Thursday, Oct 21, 2010 at 20:59
There are a lot of birds out there that do play dead.
My guess is that this one taught all the others...
AnswerID: 433809

Follow Up By: d04 - Thursday, Oct 21, 2010 at 21:59

Thursday, Oct 21, 2010 at 21:59
It is also illegal to kill them they are on the endangered list.
FollowupID: 704799

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Thursday, Oct 21, 2010 at 22:10

Thursday, Oct 21, 2010 at 22:10
Hi do4

Whoever put them on the endangered list does not know how to count. The amount we see out here, and the little females are never taken. There were five large males and I would guess 17 or 18 females in a stretch of about 1 km, and we saw a lot more yesterday but didn't touch any.

Incidentally, check your legislation (WA), it is not illegal for Tribal people to take single birds, now I will get all the comments about that remark, and that I am not going to bother responding to.

FollowupID: 704804

Follow Up By: get outmore - Friday, Oct 22, 2010 at 13:13

Friday, Oct 22, 2010 at 13:13
they are a protected species - not sure about endangered as are pretty much all australian fauna is

BUT I dont know the exact laws but native title etc allows taking of traditional foods
FollowupID: 704875

Reply By: Member - Christopher P (NSW) - Thursday, Oct 21, 2010 at 21:06

Thursday, Oct 21, 2010 at 21:06
bugger me dead, we have a live one here.

Talk about a turkey slap, not a turkey shoot.

Thong meet turkey, turkey meet missus with thong sandle in hand.

so how do you like your turkey, one slap or four???????

remind me not to play turkey with you!!! well your missus.

Sorry whacky sense of humour!!!!!
AnswerID: 433812

Follow Up By: Member - Gavin W (QLD) - Thursday, Oct 21, 2010 at 21:25

Thursday, Oct 21, 2010 at 21:25
I'd hate to be at the table with you for Chrstmas dinner!

Now that's what you call 'catch and kill!'
FollowupID: 704792

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Thursday, Oct 21, 2010 at 22:06

Thursday, Oct 21, 2010 at 22:06
Hi Chris and Gavin

As previously said, my wife is a traditional woman, playing turkey with her may not be a good idea.

We don't celebrate Christmas Gavin, that is what is called "law time" which means we have a lot more important cultural things to do.

FollowupID: 704803

Follow Up By: Member - Gavin W (QLD) - Thursday, Oct 21, 2010 at 22:16

Thursday, Oct 21, 2010 at 22:16
Hi Marc,

I do realise what happens culturally at that time of year and the different meanings, depending on the area.

I just couldn't get the picture out of my mind of anyone's wife hitting the turkey with a thong as she tries to get it to stay in the oven dish!
FollowupID: 704806

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Friday, Oct 22, 2010 at 03:01

Friday, Oct 22, 2010 at 03:01
Hi Gavin

Where on earth did the oven dish part come from. My wife sand cooks.

FollowupID: 704832

Reply By: Member - Ian F (WA) - Thursday, Oct 21, 2010 at 21:26

Thursday, Oct 21, 2010 at 21:26
Hi Marc,
If I remember correctly I think in WA the bush Turkey is protected so be carefull as there was a hefty fine if you are caught. I may stand corrected.
AnswerID: 433814

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Thursday, Oct 21, 2010 at 21:56

Thursday, Oct 21, 2010 at 21:56
Hi Ian F

You are correct, except my wife is a traditional tribal woman and is entitled to take one now and then and cannot be fined.

FollowupID: 704797

Follow Up By: trilogy - Thursday, Oct 21, 2010 at 22:32

Thursday, Oct 21, 2010 at 22:32
Im all for indigenous people taking traditional protected food but only by traditional methods. The use of traditional 22 magnums, tinnies with 50 hp outboards and shotguns for dugongs and turtles off Palm Island and running 4 inch mono nets for barra in the middle of Rockhampton is rubbish and does nothing to help the indigenous cause.Feel free to jump up and down citing the legal rights but it is my and a lot of others unracist opinion.
FollowupID: 704808

Follow Up By: Dasher Des - Thursday, Oct 21, 2010 at 22:33

Thursday, Oct 21, 2010 at 22:33
Only problem Mark is that you stated that you shot the bird, not your tribal wife. Perhaps you better get this thread pulled before the greenies see it
FollowupID: 704809

Follow Up By: 3GoBush - Thursday, Oct 21, 2010 at 22:59

Thursday, Oct 21, 2010 at 22:59
trilogy what a load off snot, this is the 21 st century.

If you had any idea of Aboriginal culture you would know, Aboriginal people for 60 + thousand years improved their hunting skills by creating new ways to do so, when white fella turned up he introduced white man tools, with this Black fella learned a different way to hunt. It is only White fella that can't fathom the idea that black fella can learn new tricks.

Once upon a time we walked and threw a spear, now we drive a Toyota and fire a rifle, it's not a hard concept to comprehend, but it seems like some white fella's can't do so.

Hey Dasher it doesn't matter if you are white or black if you have the permission of the traditional owner, you can hunt on their land.
FollowupID: 704813

Follow Up By: SDG - Thursday, Oct 21, 2010 at 23:43

Thursday, Oct 21, 2010 at 23:43
Are some of you all saying that none of you have killed a protected animal? How many of you have chased a snake with a shovel? I would bet it was not for a feed. All reptiles are protected.
FollowupID: 704818

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Friday, Oct 22, 2010 at 01:11

Friday, Oct 22, 2010 at 01:11
HI Trilogy You are very welcome to your opinion. By the way, did you know that the tree taditionally used to make hard wood hunting spears is now protected flora. I have all respect for "greenies" as you call them, but even people like Greenpeace acknowledge that traditional people only kill what they can eat.

Hi Dasher Yes, I shot the bird. I have been through Aboriginal Law and have been given the right by my father in law, one of the most senior Elders in this area, to hunt for the family. I make no apologies for hunting for meat with a gun, instead of hunting in a shop with a wallet for meat treated with chemicals.

Hi SDG The people around here still eat Snakes, Goannas, Blue Tongues all that kind of thing, and nothing is ever wasted.

FollowupID: 704822

Follow Up By: mikehzz - Friday, Oct 22, 2010 at 08:09

Friday, Oct 22, 2010 at 08:09
Sandalization......a little known traditional hunting technique. It's certainly up close and personal :-) Mike
FollowupID: 704839

Follow Up By: SDG - Friday, Oct 22, 2010 at 11:12

Friday, Oct 22, 2010 at 11:12
I thought it (snake) tasted a little to much like chicken, with less meat. The one I had I thought was a little burnt. Depends on who/how it's cooked.
FollowupID: 704863

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Friday, Oct 22, 2010 at 14:00

Friday, Oct 22, 2010 at 14:00
Hi SDG

You are one up on me, I have never tasted snake, the mob love them too much and I never see anything but bones.

FollowupID: 704889

Reply By: Glenndini - Thursday, Oct 21, 2010 at 21:50

Thursday, Oct 21, 2010 at 21:50
I've got a recipe for bush turkey.
Get a big pot and fill with water. Place pot over fire until water boils. While the water is boiling put the plucked and gutted turkey in. To hold it under the water, place a brick
on top of it. Boil bird for three hours. After three hours on the boil remove the turkey, throw it away and eat the brick.
AnswerID: 433818

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Thursday, Oct 21, 2010 at 22:03

Thursday, Oct 21, 2010 at 22:03
Hi Glenndini

Fair enough, and all those reasonable comedians out of work. Oh well.

FollowupID: 704802

Follow Up By: Muntoo - Friday, Oct 22, 2010 at 01:27

Friday, Oct 22, 2010 at 01:27
You dont know what your missing.
FollowupID: 704824

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Friday, Oct 22, 2010 at 01:49

Friday, Oct 22, 2010 at 01:49
Hi Muntoo

I disagree, if Glenndini did eat the brick, I have no idea they would be missing some teeth and know it really well.

FollowupID: 704826

Reply By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Friday, Oct 22, 2010 at 00:42

Friday, Oct 22, 2010 at 00:42
Best thread I've read on here in a long while. ROTFL.

Simba, our much missed baby.

AnswerID: 433835

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Friday, Oct 22, 2010 at 01:14

Friday, Oct 22, 2010 at 01:14
Hi Dunworkin

I admit I do not understand the abbreviation that you have given, but what I have written at the start is what actually happened.

FollowupID: 704823

Follow Up By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Friday, Oct 22, 2010 at 02:09

Friday, Oct 22, 2010 at 02:09
Hi Marc Luther, the abbreviation means: "Rolling on the floor laughing".(my interpretation anyway) I have a warped sense of humour and I could picture the turkey sitting up looking at you in the mirror and then your wife hitting it with the sandal, wish I was a fly on the wall at the time.

Deanna

Simba, our much missed baby.

FollowupID: 704829

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Friday, Oct 22, 2010 at 02:15

Friday, Oct 22, 2010 at 02:15
Hi Deanna

Thanks for the definition. The way the wife swung the thong, a fly on the wall wopuld not have survived, but there you go.

FollowupID: 704831

Reply By: Muntoo - Friday, Oct 22, 2010 at 01:32

Friday, Oct 22, 2010 at 01:32
Love myself some bush tucker also. Turkey is my favourite land tucker, but Dugong is the best out of all traditional foods. Actually had some turtle the other night too, been a while. Fresh fish and turtle, not too bad at all.

And yes, you are right in saying that nothing gets left behind. I have hunted and killed/butchered many animals over the years, mostly with station owners, and i have seen alot of waste in my time. The only things i hate is waste and overkilling or killing out of season.
AnswerID: 433839

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Friday, Oct 22, 2010 at 01:41

Friday, Oct 22, 2010 at 01:41
Hi Muntoo

We are desert people, you are obviously salt water. We have never tried the dugong, not allowed to, waltja for my wifes grandfather. (For people that don't understand that, her grandfather once went to the coast, the dugong is his brother, no descendants can eat it).

We only have fish and Blue Tongue during sorry time.

FollowupID: 704825

Reply By: Member Brian (Gold Coast) - Friday, Oct 22, 2010 at 08:53

Friday, Oct 22, 2010 at 08:53
Hi Marc,
I reckon every time I read one of your posts, I learn a little more! How good is that!
And THIS one had me laughing till tears ran down my cheeks!! I have a mental image of that bird sitting up looking at you in the mirror, planning it's next move!!! Hahaha!!!!

I am not going to judge you, I am not going to quote laws, I am not going to harass you for killing protected animals, BUT.... I will thank you for posting this story and making my day brighter!!!

AnswerID: 433856

Follow Up By: Member - Jason B (NSW) - Friday, Oct 22, 2010 at 09:58

Friday, Oct 22, 2010 at 09:58
I agree with Brian

Good on you Marc.
FollowupID: 704852

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Friday, Oct 22, 2010 at 11:49

Friday, Oct 22, 2010 at 11:49
Hi Brian and Jason

You are welcome to judge me if you wish for what ever reason. I did what my father-in-law wanted, and I picked the oldest and biggest bird that I had seen, leaving plenty of other males around. Contrary to what some say, the male Bustard (Bush Turkey) has more than one mate.

How about maing a good post about the Copnway Kids at some stage, I am sure people here would love to hear about that.

FollowupID: 704867

Reply By: Me me - Friday, Oct 22, 2010 at 10:07

Friday, Oct 22, 2010 at 10:07
This post has been read by the moderation team and has been moderated due to a breach of The Personal Attacks Rule .

Forum Moderation Team
AnswerID: 433866

Reply By: Wayne (NSW) - Friday, Oct 22, 2010 at 11:30

Friday, Oct 22, 2010 at 11:30
Marc,

Here is a Bush Turkey that I shoot with a SLR Canon, tough bird!!!!

This photo was taken on the Canning Stock Route a few years ago. They can be found in pairs, tend not to fly very far or too high and are very well camouflaged when walking in the grass.

AnswerID: 433878

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Friday, Oct 22, 2010 at 11:45

Friday, Oct 22, 2010 at 11:45
Hi Wayne

Yes, that is a bush turkey, a young male. We would not even look at that one for a feed, it is too thin and too young. They are frequently in pairs, but normally you find them in groups of males or groups of females.

This entire community knew, a couple of years ago, where four females and their young were. Noone went near the area the entire season to allow the young to grow up and have their lives.

Their camoflage is more that they squat down low and then move rapidly through the spinifex, and it hard to spot them as they are never where you first thought they are. Incidentally someone else said "Tough Bird", that was not something that I had said. Have a great day.

FollowupID: 704866

Reply By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Friday, Oct 22, 2010 at 11:57

Friday, Oct 22, 2010 at 11:57
Hi People

Given that I have upset some people, I have contacted the moderators and invited them to delete the thread should they so wish.

I am not into telling fibs, I just wrote it describing what happened, but I am not interested in upsetting people.

AnswerID: 433881

Follow Up By: Me me - Friday, Oct 22, 2010 at 12:10

Friday, Oct 22, 2010 at 12:10
This post has been read by the moderation team and has been moderated due to a breach of The Inappropriate Rule .

Forum Moderation Team
FollowupID: 704873

Follow Up By: Nargun51 - Friday, Oct 22, 2010 at 13:15

Friday, Oct 22, 2010 at 13:15
Me Me,

I am an animal lover too; just ask my dogs, who have a better life than I do. Grew up on farms, am mostly vegetarian and abhor the concept of battery farming. Have shot one animal in my life; a rabbit that was stunned and whose neck I had to ring. I have had to put down injured animals on the side of the road armed with a jack handle or a branch.

If every hunter and fisher in Australia treated animals in such a way as described above, our fauna would not be endangered.

Kill for the pot only for what can be eaten that day; be aware of your environment so you know what can be hunted to maintain a renewable resource. Invite your friends and family to participate in your good fortune.

A lot of sport hunters or fishers would have little concept of what Mark has described; people that come back with their full allocated limit, freeze it and then go out to do the same the next week.

From my perspective, Marc did something that would get all the best practice ticks (unless you were cloistered your entire life in Mc Mansion heaven).

It is his wife’s family land; ownership and entitlements which are backed by law and lore

As you judge Marc, can we judge you? Interesting name you have chosen for yourself; is this indicative of your personality?

Marc’s posts give me a glimpse of another world. I’m never going to live where Marc does or do the things that he does. For that reason alone, I welcome his posts.

I go camping and 4WDing to get out of the cities and into places where I can experience the spirit of the land (I know that sounds odd from a 5th generation White Australian…but I think Dorothy Mackellar got it right in “My Country).

Marc’s posts are an insight into what living with harmony with the land is all about. He is also honest about his world.

I assume that you have never made an error to pass your judgements?

FollowupID: 704876

Follow Up By: Expletive - Friday, Oct 22, 2010 at 13:16

Friday, Oct 22, 2010 at 13:16
Me, your'e full of crap & need to lighten up.we are all animal lovers of different kinds.You should grow up & have fun doing it.

FollowupID: 704877

Follow Up By: Quadlux - Friday, Oct 22, 2010 at 13:38

Friday, Oct 22, 2010 at 13:38
For years now I have logged in to read the miriad of posts that are put up each day. Never registered or posted a reply.
Today is my first.
I can relate to the OP as I too have had a similar experience.
I will say that I take issue with Me Me and the aggression shown to the OP.
If you have ever purchase or consumed meat you have contributed to more hanis things to those mentioned in this thread.
I would rate this thread as a all time favourate and will always read anything as I do writen by the OP as I find his impute very interesting.
I will register as a financial member as soon as I get back form where I currently am (200km form the nearest town and I too have a computer & email).

Great tread Marc.
FollowupID: 704884

Follow Up By: Me me - Friday, Oct 22, 2010 at 13:43

Friday, Oct 22, 2010 at 13:43
This post has been read by the moderation team and has been moderated due to a breach of The Moderation Complaints Rule .

Forum Moderation Team
FollowupID: 704885

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Friday, Oct 22, 2010 at 13:58

Friday, Oct 22, 2010 at 13:58
Hi Guys

Whilst I appreciate some of the supportive comments made, I would never deny someone the right to express their opinion. This person Me Me has a problem with the way that we live out here, and that is his/her right, I would not deny such a right.

I would also challenge the person to perhaps spend some time in an area like we are in, and geographically we are about halfway between Alice Springs and Broome, the major land site is Lake Gregory WA if anyone wants to google, with Mulan being the community we live in.

We have several birdwqatching groups come through ona reasonably regular basis, and I happily take them to places where I know they will see a variety of birdlife. Even these keen orinthologists know we occasionally take a Bustard (Bush Turkey), but we only get the older males, never the younger breeders, we can tellm as they are bigger and have a much fatter white neck than the others.

Have a great day all, and that includes Me Me.

FollowupID: 704888