Help with IT Problems

Submitted: Friday, Oct 22, 2010 at 16:17
ThreadID: 82068 Views:3080 Replies:5 FollowUps:9

Obviously I can access the site, but I can no longer upload photo's or anything. I have a laptop which was easily uploading photos, but my desktop has been repaired and that is what I am using.

This is a 64 bit system, running intel Corei7 and Windows Ultimate, with 2 x 2 TB HDD, 2 x Optical Drives and 8GB RAM, so it should be capable of downloading and uploading anything in reality.

We have heaps of great photo's to drop into the blog, but cannot get them in.

Can anyone advise, as there have been some glorious sunsets, and some great wildlife shots.

Why travel overseas, you could travel Australia your entire life, and not see it all.

Reply By: Evakool - Friday, Oct 22, 2010 at 16:53

Friday, Oct 22, 2010 at 16:53
What type of web browsers are you using, have you tried a different one, have you tried clearing all your cache and cookies and trying again?
If it works on the laptop, what is different between the two systems?

By the way, what do you need so much power for?
AnswerID: 433910

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Friday, Oct 22, 2010 at 17:54

Friday, Oct 22, 2010 at 17:54
Hi Evakool

To answer yhour last question first, I use the power for graphics using Corel Draw. I am using the basic Windows Internet Explorer latest version as a Web Browser, and never had a problem there.

The laptop and this system only have one difference, this one is 64 bit, and the laptop is 32 bit.

Why travel overseas, you could travel Australia your entire life, and not see it all.

FollowupID: 704913

Reply By: Member - Ian F (WA) - Friday, Oct 22, 2010 at 21:26

Friday, Oct 22, 2010 at 21:26
Hi Marc,
Have you upgraded to "Internet Explorer 9"?
AnswerID: 433933

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Friday, Oct 22, 2010 at 22:56

Friday, Oct 22, 2010 at 22:56
Hi Ian

Yes I have upgraded to 9, I believe.

FollowupID: 704948

Follow Up By: Member - Ian F (WA) - Saturday, Oct 23, 2010 at 08:31

Saturday, Oct 23, 2010 at 08:31
G'Morning Marc,
It's just that since I updated a few weeks ago I seem to have problems with IT.
I asked in the forum but apparently it is regarded as an off topic rule and was moderated.
FollowupID: 704966

Reply By: Member - Christopher P (NSW) - Friday, Oct 22, 2010 at 22:51

Friday, Oct 22, 2010 at 22:51
G'day amte, you might want to download this little program and run it.

Adaware anti spyware.

This little program removes spyware and other nasties that affect computers.

so install it and run it.
then post results up on here and we can see what you have!!!!

program is free

good luck
AnswerID: 433938

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Friday, Oct 22, 2010 at 22:58

Friday, Oct 22, 2010 at 22:58
Hi Christopher

I already have the full version and latest version of AVG on board. I suffered from a serious case of identity theft a while ago, which was half the reason that I sent this computer away and had everything re-done.

FollowupID: 704949

Reply By: Member - Bucky - Saturday, Oct 23, 2010 at 06:05

Saturday, Oct 23, 2010 at 06:05
Marc

I have noticed that this site boggs down from time to time, and will not always let me upload, or refresh things, it just hangs.

Now this can be caused by 2 things

1) Any interference along the many miles of cable, ie broken or flooded pits.

2) The site itself, it is a big webite, and I would imagine that if there are many people on it, things wil slow down.

I would love your machine, I just have an old banger. An intel P4 2.8 with 1.5 gig Ram, and 4 HDD's ( 2*120 Gig an 80 Gig, and a 1TB Portable Maxtor HDD.

Cheres
AnswerID: 433951

Follow Up By: Member - Bucky - Saturday, Oct 23, 2010 at 06:09

Saturday, Oct 23, 2010 at 06:09
Mars
I should have added, I use Forefox, as it just seems a lot less complicated

FollowupID: 704960

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Saturday, Oct 23, 2010 at 11:21

Saturday, Oct 23, 2010 at 11:21
Hi Bucky

Thanks for the new nickname, made my wife have a good laugh.

I know of FireFox, but I have filters set up on my computer and that is apparently the problem. I need to keep the filters as my Grandchildren use the computer and I would hate anything inappropriate to come on screen for them.

That is not making any inference on this site, just the general Internet and some of the garbage that is on line which toddlers do not need to see.

FollowupID: 704975

Follow Up By: Member - Christopher P (NSW) - Sunday, Oct 24, 2010 at 11:31

Sunday, Oct 24, 2010 at 11:31
Mate if you love his you would kill for mine, it has a dual core processor, but it is acutaully a quad core!!! only because AMD didn't have a true dual core die. so i have what you call a really big bang for my buck!!!!

i have 4 gb gb ramm, amd 3.1 ghz processor, running at 3.2 ( more stable and temp stability) with all four cores, 3 tb drives, one internal, 2 external, two burners and a x4850 graphic's card!!!

Lets just say its good for what i paid for it and did start up in win7 in less then 15 seconds with an ide main drive, when fresh.

lots of research went into it!!!!

and i love it.

Each to there own.
FollowupID: 705068

Follow Up By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Sunday, Oct 24, 2010 at 13:48

Sunday, Oct 24, 2010 at 13:48
Hi Christopher

Sounds like a great system. I cheated, had my daughter get my system together at University, she is doing some studies there and has a few friends in the IT field.

I know what I have is a good computer, quick enough, and normally does what I want. Next task is to find a printer that will not suffer nd die in a couple of months. Any clues, send me an MM.

FollowupID: 705079

Follow Up By: Member - Christopher P (NSW) - Sunday, Oct 24, 2010 at 14:56

Sunday, Oct 24, 2010 at 14:56
depends on what you are after. I have had some experience with inkjets and are finding out what PITA they are. i have since bought a laser printer and it just does the bulk of the printing. I have had hp all in ones, ok for every now and then, with decent scanners. My feelings of late is brother, not too many cartridges low to medium cost and good print quality. The inkjets are PITA with every 2 days it does a print head clean, so you go thru a cartridge pretty quick, but you do have interchangeability with them, ie, a 37 cartridge will fit in a 57 machine and vice \versa.

the laser printer we have bought recently has two cartridge types a low yeild and a high yeild. really happy with both besides the inkjet and cartridges, i bought for the inkjet a refillable set and have used nearly all of the ink i bought with it.

the brother laser multifunction i do like. expensive but you have refillable laser cartridges as well, but check with your local inkworld guy to see if they can be refilled with toner.

cart's for the laser is on average $75 - $120, dickies being the dearest, and searching online you can get decent prices. thats for 2500 pages max.

Do your research and don't buy the first thing that you see.
FollowupID: 705092

Reply By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Monday, Oct 25, 2010 at 20:45

Monday, Oct 25, 2010 at 20:45
Buy a Canon printer much more ink in cartridges than the others and Calidad ink is good and a lot cheaper.

Have been using both for about 10 years with no problems

I have an i5 with 8gig ram a Gt240 video and 2 1 tb drives have no trouble uploading stuff so suggest your security is at fault.

ersonally I wouldnt touch AVG I have used Norton Internet Security for several years with no troubles despite what some will doubtlessly post.

Its how you set it u that matters.
AnswerID: 434201