A warning when fitting brakes to a trailer.
Submitted: Saturday, Oct 23, 2010 at 10:03
Member - Boo Boo (NSW)
Goodmorning all
About 5/6 weeks ago I put up a thread about the disaster of the electric brakes I had fitted to our camper trailer while we were in
Rockhampton.
To refresh your memory the axle had spun around about 3 revolutions (the wiring and handbrake cable had turned with the axle and stretched apart.)
In the past few days I have had an independent assessor inspect the problem and he found that the plates welded to the axle to prevent this from occurring had broken where they were welded to the axle.
I would have thought that this would have been checked, but evidently it can look ok and still break.
So I am now up for the repair job which could run up to around $300.
My warning is,,,, regardless of whether or not the plate looks ok have it rewelded to the axle to ensure the weld is solid.
Reply By: Member - MUZBRY(Vic) - Saturday, Oct 23, 2010 at 10:24
Saturday, Oct 23, 2010 at 10:24
Gday Boo Boo
Do you hav a photo of the problems?
Murray
Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Saturday, Oct 23, 2010 at 10:49
Saturday, Oct 23, 2010 at 10:49
i'd like to see too
Follow Up By: Member - MUZBRY(Vic) - Saturday, Oct 23, 2010 at 11:48
Saturday, Oct 23, 2010 at 11:48
Gday Bonz
Now you whip off and fit that Anderson plug......
Murray
Follow Up By: Roach"ee" - Saturday, Oct 23, 2010 at 12:00
Saturday, Oct 23, 2010 at 12:00
I'm guessing it must be a tubular axle (as opposed to a square profile axle)?
Follow Up By: Dust-Devil - Saturday, Oct 23, 2010 at 13:36
Saturday, Oct 23, 2010 at 13:36
Anderson Plug! What Anderson Plug ????????????
Ps
Hunched down with steel helmet and flak jacket on waiting for an 'obliterator' to obliterate me for daring to post anything
Follow Up By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Sunday, Oct 24, 2010 at 21:32
Sunday, Oct 24, 2010 at 21:32
Yes,,, it is a round axle.
Follow Up By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Monday, Oct 25, 2010 at 10:23
Monday, Oct 25, 2010 at 10:23
I have tried to post the photos,,, but know luck.
Can you tell me how to post photos from an attachment to an email?
Reply By: Member - peter f (VIC) - Saturday, Oct 23, 2010 at 18:20
Saturday, Oct 23, 2010 at 18:20
gooday Boo Boo.
what a coincidence , had a phone call from a mate an his family this morning
returning from mt Dare , Cooper Pedy down the Stuart hwy . got within
20 ks from
Pimba . patrol seems to be struggling towing the C/T pulls up to find
a wheel on the C/T was not turning freely. found out the electric brake magnets
had fallen off an down into the shoes and jammed the wheel . removed the brake bits and put the spare on ,off they go again . have heard of this before ??
mechpete
Follow Up By: Member - Nick (TAS) - Saturday, Oct 23, 2010 at 18:30
Saturday, Oct 23, 2010 at 18:30
Had the same happen to our trailer brake magnets.They did 13000kms mainly off road when we had a total wheel lock up along the Finke track.The magnet centre had flogged out and fallen out of its holder.We also just removed brake assy. on both sides and on our return home, fitted off road magnets which should solve this problem happening again.
Oh yeah and while I was removing them, I dropped the outer wheel bearing in the sand........luckily I had a spare set greased and ready to go.
Follow Up By: On Patrol & TONI - Saturday, Oct 23, 2010 at 22:30
Saturday, Oct 23, 2010 at 22:30
AL-KO make a dedicated off road magnet for just this reason, it has a reinforced and modified centre to help prevent just such a thing.
Cheers Colin
Reply By: On Patrol & TONI - Saturday, Oct 23, 2010 at 22:35
Saturday, Oct 23, 2010 at 22:35
Boo Boo
The installer of the braked axle is the villain here, he failed to properly weld the plates on your axle in the first place, maybe he needs to carry some if not all of the blame and reimburse you for the expense incurred.
Hope all is now good.
Colin
Follow Up By: Member - Bucky - Sunday, Oct 24, 2010 at 07:10
Sunday, Oct 24, 2010 at 07:10
Colin
That is right, souonds like a bit of a back yard job to me. Or an " I don't care" tradie, either of which have no future.
Those genuine Al-Ko outback magnets are the go, but if yoiu are too lousey to go and get the correct wire clips, as I did then you will snap the wires off at the base of the magnets, and that is $200 lost for the sake if $20 worth of clips
Der Me !
ps keep out of it Roach..ee !
Follow Up By: On Patrol & TONI - Sunday, Oct 24, 2010 at 09:19
Sunday, Oct 24, 2010 at 09:19
ohhhhh!!!!!!!!!!!!!, all heed the voice of experience.
Expensive knowledge Bucky.
Cheers Colin.
Reply By: blown4by - Sunday, Oct 24, 2010 at 16:22
Sunday, Oct 24, 2010 at 16:22
The primary function of the plates you refer to are not to prevent rotation of the axle when braking. They have hole in the centre to locate the spring centre bolt and when the axle is centralised across the width of the trailer during construction they are welded in place primarily to prevent the axle moving sideways during operation. Sadly many trailer manufacturers fail to weld them either through forgetfulness or ignorance and if the trailer is "bulk licensed" that fault will go undetected until a problem occurs. This is particularly important on multi axle trailers where a lot of transverse loading is imposed on the axles when turning at low speeds. When reversing a tandem axle trailer on a hard lock you will see rubber left on your driveway or the marks left on your lawn as evidence of this or watch a tri-axle semi-trailer tyres screw across the road surface when tight turning. Sounds to me like the more likely cause was that your 'U' bolts were not tight.
Follow Up By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Monday, Oct 25, 2010 at 10:20
Monday, Oct 25, 2010 at 10:20
blown4by
I have just past that info on to the bloke assessing the trailer. Guess what he didn't check. Yep he did not check the u bolts. He obviously saw the broken weld on the plates and jumped to the conclusion that this was the problem.
Makes you wonder. Especially when the place he works for makes a lot of heavy duty stuff with
wheels and axles.
I also rang Camel Group and they basically agree with you. The bloke I spoke to there said that it is not the primary role of the plate to stop the axle from rotating but they now put them there as a backup as
well.
Any fellas I will post the result as soon as I find out.