Anderson un-Plugged!

Submitted: Sunday, Oct 24, 2010 at 19:41
ThreadID: 82108 Views:3852 Replies:5 FollowUps:5

Related Pages

Well thanx for all the suggestions and assistance re fitting an Anderson plug to teh Patrol. For some crazy reason I had it in my mind that they should be mounted flat on the rear of the towbar, and the suggestion to mount it on the rear step was the one I went for.

I ordered the plugs from Derek Bester at ABR who is an advertiser here, ordered and paid on Wednesday, arrived FRIDAY!!! Service could not possibly be better!Well done Derek. Whilst on the site I ordered a 60A CB for the install and along with my 16mm2 cable and 19mm conduit and a bit of 6mm cable for the trailer brakes I was set. Also got a couple of neat caps for the Anderson plugs too and the neatest covers for the 30A Circuit breaker for the trailer brakes (see in the bottom pic on the RHS)

About 6 hours of mucking about and I have it setup nicely. I have taken pic and theyre below.

BEST THING - No Injuries!

BonzInc Install - Excellent!

Reply By: DOEY- Sunday, Oct 24, 2010 at 19:59

Sunday, Oct 24, 2010 at 19:59
hi bonz
neat install mate.
i will also second that of the service of Derek from ABR Sidewinder- likewise i ordered some anderson plugs and a few other things, arrived very promptly (just like everything else ive bought from him in the past).

Doey
AnswerID: 434091

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, Oct 24, 2010 at 20:02

Sunday, Oct 24, 2010 at 20:02
Thanx Doey, Yep I was amazed at the delivery time, but I reckon, you pay on time you get great service!

FollowupID: 705122

Reply By: Member - MUZBRY(Vic) - Sunday, Oct 24, 2010 at 20:49

Sunday, Oct 24, 2010 at 20:49
Well done Bonz. Now what are we doing for a project at the Pyrenees?
Murray

AnswerID: 434096

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, Oct 24, 2010 at 21:08

Sunday, Oct 24, 2010 at 21:08
Lucy will have the Droopy there so he'll most likely need his front end rebuilt.

FollowupID: 705128

Reply By: Member - Joe n Mel n kids (FNQ - Sunday, Oct 24, 2010 at 20:50

Sunday, Oct 24, 2010 at 20:50
nice job, may i ask, what are the 60 amp breakers worth, are they twin out re-setable...
Cheers, Joe
AnswerID: 434097

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, Oct 24, 2010 at 20:54

Sunday, Oct 24, 2010 at 20:54
Yep Joe twin out and resettable, the little blue buttons are like test buttins, just lift the arm back up and theyre in again. I think the price was abt $24.95.

I ran 35mm in and on3e 16mm out ansd will prolly use the other for a 10mm to the rear of the vehicle.

Nice piece of kit

FollowupID: 705126

Reply By: Sigmund - Monday, Oct 25, 2010 at 08:30

Monday, Oct 25, 2010 at 08:30
This is a bit off topic but I'm keen to hear how folk keep their Anderson plugs from vibrating apart. Has happened to me twice, once with disastrous consequences. Now use a cable tie loop on each and link with a Karabiner. It's a fiddle.

I see Derek now stocks a type of joiner but it's not that clear how it works.
AnswerID: 434129

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Tuesday, Oct 26, 2010 at 18:32

Tuesday, Oct 26, 2010 at 18:32
what was the disastrous consequence Sigmund?

FollowupID: 705343

Follow Up By: Sigmund - Wednesday, Oct 27, 2010 at 07:01

Wednesday, Oct 27, 2010 at 07:01
Trailer cable dropped to the ground, plug got ripped off, +ve lead flipped back and bare end welded to the tow bar. Full short. Charging and trailer light cables melted/fused/fried. One battery melted. Acid slopped around in the battery box for half a day before discovered.

Sparky who did the initial work didn't believe in protection :-{

Have ordered one of Derek's joiners.
FollowupID: 705417

Reply By: Member -Toonfish - Wednesday, Oct 27, 2010 at 07:58

Wednesday, Oct 27, 2010 at 07:58
is that rust i see sneaking in m8!
2013/14 around oz adventure bound

AnswerID: 434329