Toyota Diesel knock.

Submitted: Monday, Oct 25, 2010 at 22:25
ThreadID: 82132 Views:3308 Replies:5 FollowUps:8
G'day all,
Long time no post but been around. Would be helpful if anyone can enlighten me about the following problem.

Just replaced the head gasket on my sons 1994 HZ Toyota ute. (The old one was leaking)
When all replaced the motor was started ok but when motor revved up a louder than normal knock was noticed that seemed to be coming from the top of the motor and probably between the middle and the rear of the motor. Seemed to be normal while at idle. As stated previously this knock was more pronounced when motor revved up.
Does any one know any thing to check before major pull down again?
Bros.
Work is the curse of the down and out bludger.

Reply By: Member - Joe n Mel n kids (FNQ - Monday, Oct 25, 2010 at 22:44

Monday, Oct 25, 2010 at 22:44
hey dude, stick ya post on "LCOOL" and you will get some very good and informed answers and will be of far more help, this forum is just for "travellin" dudes.......
AnswerID: 434216

Follow Up By: Bros 1 - Tuesday, Oct 26, 2010 at 12:29

Tuesday, Oct 26, 2010 at 12:29
Joe n Mel n Kids,
Thanks for that, i will try them.
I am "travelling" so to speak, from Qld and now in WA and going to use the vehicle.

FollowupID: 705314

Follow Up By: Member - Joe n Mel n kids (FNQ - Tuesday, Oct 26, 2010 at 21:33

Tuesday, Oct 26, 2010 at 21:33
no worries, most of the guys on it are also on this forum but will get right into it on LCOOL and they are really helpful, enjoy your trip
FollowupID: 705381

Follow Up By: Bros 1 - Tuesday, Oct 26, 2010 at 22:11

Tuesday, Oct 26, 2010 at 22:11
Joe n Mel n Kids,
Thanks for your input.

FollowupID: 705390

Reply By: Kimba10 - Monday, Oct 25, 2010 at 23:34

Monday, Oct 25, 2010 at 23:34
Not a diesel (as in fuel) knock is it ?? Maybe rebleed the injectors and see how that goes. Regards Steve
AnswerID: 434222

Follow Up By: Bros 1 - Tuesday, Oct 26, 2010 at 12:31

Tuesday, Oct 26, 2010 at 12:31
Steve,
Thanks for your input. Will try that and see what happens.

FollowupID: 705315

Follow Up By: Bros 1 - Tuesday, Oct 26, 2010 at 22:15

Tuesday, Oct 26, 2010 at 22:15
Steve,
Tried that this afternoon. Every one bled with noticeable change in motor.
Looking further.

FollowupID: 705391

Reply By: fisho64 - Tuesday, Oct 26, 2010 at 01:17

Tuesday, Oct 26, 2010 at 01:17
I really hope that you made sure you fitted the correct thickness of head gasket?
Pretty sure that the 1HZ has the same setup as the 2L/3L. there are 3 thicknesses and if you put a thinner one on the pistons will be tapping the head.

If you are sure you have fitted the correct one (there will be a letter stamped on the old one and a notch at a certain point to identify) then Id crack each injector line to find which one is the problem, and re-bleed at the same time as said above.
AnswerID: 434230

Follow Up By: Bros 1 - Tuesday, Oct 26, 2010 at 12:34

Tuesday, Oct 26, 2010 at 12:34
fisho64,
Thanks for the reply.
The old gasket had three notches and so did the new one.
Will try the injector thing and see what happens.

FollowupID: 705316

Follow Up By: ob - Tuesday, Oct 26, 2010 at 15:41

Tuesday, Oct 26, 2010 at 15:41
Yeah fisho is right, different head gasket thicknesses, funny thing is there are 5 different possible from factory but only 3 available as a spare part. Is it possible that one (or more) pre-combustion chambers could have come loose when you took the head off?

ob
FollowupID: 705326

Follow Up By: Bros 1 - Tuesday, Oct 26, 2010 at 22:21

Tuesday, Oct 26, 2010 at 22:21
Fisho64 and ob,
Same gasket. Bled all and all showed noticeable change in motor tempo. Still knocks when revved up. Ok at idle.
Going to mechanic tomorrow. Will mention pre-combustion chamber.

FollowupID: 705397

Reply By: Member - Stuart P (WA) - Wednesday, Oct 27, 2010 at 01:02

Wednesday, Oct 27, 2010 at 01:02
check to see if you havn't fitted an extra washer to the injector bleed off on the top of the injector when you fitted the bleed off rail
AnswerID: 434322

Reply By: mike39 - Wednesday, Oct 27, 2010 at 08:10

Wednesday, Oct 27, 2010 at 08:10
Bros.
Have you re checked the valve timing via the timing belt.
If this is not absolutely spot on a valve can be contacting a piston at at tdc.
A worst case scenario could be a loose big end bearing. How is the oil pressure when hot?
mike
AnswerID: 434331