whats invloved with lifting a surf 4 inch

Submitted: Monday, Oct 25, 2010 at 23:50
ThreadID: 82135 Views:5399 Replies:10 FollowUps:21
g'day ive got a 91 toyota surf 2.4l ifs and i was wondering what would be involved to lift the suspension 4 inch.cheers

Reply By: 3GoBush - Tuesday, Oct 26, 2010 at 00:00

Tuesday, Oct 26, 2010 at 00:00
Any body who needs to life a car 4 inches needs to extend their bleep at least 6 inches.

fair dinkum what for???????????
AnswerID: 434228

Follow Up By: 3GoBush - Tuesday, Oct 26, 2010 at 00:02

Tuesday, Oct 26, 2010 at 00:02
This post has been read by the moderation team and has been moderated due to a breach of The Inappropriate Rule .

Forum Moderation Team
FollowupID: 705287

Follow Up By: Member - DW Lennox Head(NSW) - Tuesday, Oct 26, 2010 at 05:25

Tuesday, Oct 26, 2010 at 05:25
I agree with 3GoBush that it is a waste of money let alone illegal.

Why would anyone want to do that to an old vehicle is beyond me. I can think of issues that would cost money such as modifying the tailshaft, steering and so on.

Recently, I have seen the Police defect a Nissan that looked ridiculously over height and unstable. There should be more of that.

Spend your money more wisely.

DW
FollowupID: 705291

Follow Up By: Member - Lionel A (WA) - Tuesday, Oct 26, 2010 at 18:18

Tuesday, Oct 26, 2010 at 18:18
This post has been read by the moderation team and has been moderated due to a breach of The Inappropriate Rule .

Forum Moderation Team
FollowupID: 705339

Follow Up By: 3GoBush - Tuesday, Oct 26, 2010 at 18:54

Tuesday, Oct 26, 2010 at 18:54
You are right Lionel it is very much a free country, with freedom of speech hence my comment.

you need a HR license to drive what I have and it would drive over the top little you toy, the wife has a TD cruiser as a shopping cart, is that ok with you Buttercup.
FollowupID: 705349

Follow Up By: GlennD - Tuesday, Oct 26, 2010 at 23:32

Tuesday, Oct 26, 2010 at 23:32
Thats the problem with this site , full of narrow minded ......people.

If you want to go touring in your stock cruiser on dirt roads that you could negotiate in a falcon and think you are 4WDing knock yourself out.

If old mate needs a 4" lift to accomplish what he likes to do and thats not your thing , why even open the thread ,let alone have a rant.I bet you dont need any lift to get into the carpark of the Bowling club , you may have to select 4Lo to get up the gutter cause thats pretty gnarlley, especially parking on the grass.

This is exactley how all the stupid laws get passed , the guys in control dont see any reason for a certain practice so who cares if it gets banned.

And as for Illegal /unsafe if its engineered its good to go....

I do understand that not all seniors have checked their brain out ,but there are a few obvious exepitions !
FollowupID: 705408

Follow Up By: 3GoBush - Wednesday, Oct 27, 2010 at 09:11

Wednesday, Oct 27, 2010 at 09:11
Hey Glenn you are very assuming, which is typical of this forum.

I don't have a stock Cruiser in fact far from it, it is raised, but only 2 inches, and it gets me around Arnhemland quite nicely, that is where I live, it just doesn't look like a monster truck and doesn't need to, in fact I would probably do more off road work than you and this other bloke do together, ( yes that is assuming I know).

I am certainly no senior either, or I hope not at 46, although people say that lawn bowls is a young mans sport that old men like to play.

So Glenn you have ASSUMED I am narrow minded, you have ASSUMED I live in a city, You ASSUMED I don't go 4wding, you ASSUME my cruiser is stock standard and you ASSUMED that I am a senior, all of which are false, that is the problem with this site, it is full of people that rant without facts, they make false assumptions and generally have no idea what they are talking about.
FollowupID: 705422

Follow Up By: Member - Lionel A (WA) - Wednesday, Oct 27, 2010 at 17:21

Wednesday, Oct 27, 2010 at 17:21
Yep......They build 'em tuff in Arnhemland.

None of us buttercups have been involved in heavy haulage !!!
None of us buttercups have been off the bitumen !!!
None of us buttercups have wives who drive the 4by !!!
Most of us buttercups realise Rambo is not for real !!!

And, as far as I'm aware.......Most buttercups dont have a fixation about the length of another blokes willy.

What should I be assuming.......Princess.

Cheers....Lionel.
FollowupID: 705453

Follow Up By: 3GoBush - Wednesday, Oct 27, 2010 at 23:10

Wednesday, Oct 27, 2010 at 23:10
If you blokes and I use the lightly LOL can't take a light hearted laugh at yourself and at my post then get a life.

Like yourselves, I am an educated man, I just choose to be blunt.

So toughen up buttercup/ Princess/ Precious, what ever.

While you are twisting your willy so to speak, I am having a laugh.

ROTFLMFAO.

FollowupID: 705484

Follow Up By: 3GoBush - Wednesday, Oct 27, 2010 at 23:11

Wednesday, Oct 27, 2010 at 23:11
PS you started the insults.
FollowupID: 705485

Follow Up By: Member - Lionel A (WA) - Thursday, Oct 28, 2010 at 06:02

Thursday, Oct 28, 2010 at 06:02
Fair enough 3GB, it adds a bit of spice to what can, at times, be a bland meal.

Cheers.....Lionel.
FollowupID: 705488

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Friday, Oct 29, 2010 at 18:40

Friday, Oct 29, 2010 at 18:40
and 3goBush you didnt play a part in inflaming the situation? You come along, bag the forum, bag the posters and then claim that you are pure as the driven snow?? What a load of palaver

FollowupID: 705609

Follow Up By: Shaker - Friday, Oct 29, 2010 at 19:18

Friday, Oct 29, 2010 at 19:18
Hang on ..... I want to go back to the bit about Rambo not being for real.

Are you sure??

FollowupID: 705613

Follow Up By: 3GoBush - Saturday, Oct 30, 2010 at 03:17

Saturday, Oct 30, 2010 at 03:17
Hey Bonz you know me better than that.

But these statements are real.

1: Hey Glenn you are very assuming, which is typical of this forum.

2: the problem with this site, it is full of people that rant without facts, they make false assumptions and generally have no idea what they are talking about.

Bonz I did not bag the site I simply pointed out a few facts, I am sorry if that offends you, I have been on this site for a few years now, there are people on this site that fall into the above category like it or not, I have never assumed, bagged someone, given false info or accused anyone of anything without researching my answer or knowing the facts first, there are many on this site that do, hence my statements.

Once again no offense mate, I just see it and say it.
FollowupID: 705649

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Saturday, Oct 30, 2010 at 07:25

Saturday, Oct 30, 2010 at 07:25
3GB your comments are true of society, so why would things be different here?

You say they are true, I say they are your perception.

You say you dont bag the site but even the statement "that is the problem with this site, it is full of people that rant without facts, they make false assumptions and generally have no idea what they are talking about", MY perception is that you are bagging the site and the people here.

One thing about an online forum is you take what you want from the replies.

I've been here a while too and opinionated people come and go, mostly after a lot of "issues" with the rules here.

I didn't take any offense, I just pointed out what I saw.

Ok lets all go play in the sandbox together now.

FollowupID: 705658

Follow Up By: Member - Lionel A (WA) - Saturday, Oct 30, 2010 at 10:04

Saturday, Oct 30, 2010 at 10:04
Sorry about that Shaker.

Crushed me when I found out.

First Blood will never be the same......lol.

Cheers......Lionel.
FollowupID: 705679

Reply By: cycadcenter - Tuesday, Oct 26, 2010 at 01:08

Tuesday, Oct 26, 2010 at 01:08
Here is a kit you could order from the USA with the $$$ at about parity

Toyota lift kit

Disclaimer: I have NO IDEA if this kit is LEGAL in OZ

AnswerID: 434229

Reply By: PradoMad - Tuesday, Oct 26, 2010 at 06:28

Tuesday, Oct 26, 2010 at 06:28
..yes, WHAT for???
It's dangerous, illegal and looks like that you might have some personal issues?!
JS
AnswerID: 434231

Reply By: Member - Chris & Debbie (QLD) - Tuesday, Oct 26, 2010 at 08:28

Tuesday, Oct 26, 2010 at 08:28
Looks like you should go and join a more friendly forum where someone might answer your questions intellegently instead of shooting you down.
AnswerID: 434238

Follow Up By: Allan B, Sunshine Coast, - Tuesday, Oct 26, 2010 at 08:48

Tuesday, Oct 26, 2010 at 08:48

Forum Moderation Team
FollowupID: 705295

Follow Up By: 3GoBush - Tuesday, Oct 26, 2010 at 09:15

Tuesday, Oct 26, 2010 at 09:15
Toughen up buttercups.
FollowupID: 705298

Reply By: Member - Tour Boy ( Bundy QLD) - Tuesday, Oct 26, 2010 at 08:41

Tuesday, Oct 26, 2010 at 08:41
The rear is generally not a big drama, change out the coils, fit longer shocks lower bump stops, brake lines, lengthen handbrake cable, mod driveshaft and fit an adjustable panhard rod.

The front is more complex as you have to drop the whole front susp and diff assembly and insert blocks between it and the chassis mounts. then do driveshaft and brake lines shocks and torsion bars. All the front will do is give you more body height. The ifs will still be the same height off the ground. The only thing that will give an ifs vehicle more clearance is taller rubber. You can wind up the torsion bars but then you will have no down travel and will lift wheels easily especially cornering at speed on the bitumen.

If you want /need a big lift for genuine reasons (not just for posing) then go buy a rigid axle vehicle. The surf is a time bomb with the head, turbo and fuel pump anyway (not to mention the wound back speedo).
2010 Isuzu FTS800 Expedition camper
2015 Fortuner
Had 72 cruisers in my time

AnswerID: 434239

Follow Up By: Member - Christopher P (NSW) - Tuesday, Oct 26, 2010 at 21:21

Tuesday, Oct 26, 2010 at 21:21
Mate with IFS, it would be better to convert it too SAF, it's a reall PITA.

That said, alot of guys are doing the IFS to SAF, becuasse they like to rock hopp and stuff.

the work invovled to change it to a SAF( solid axle front) is remmove all of the ifs crap, find a SAF front end weld in spring hanger at front, usually a drop bar, weld in spring perches behind front axel. they front prop shaft needs to be lengthened and it also so has to be customised, ie, the standard hilux double cardon for your model only has a 30 degree down to diff, and if you exceed that degree by as little as 5 degrees, good bye diff pinion and housing.

check out the

pirate 4x4

4x4 in za

another good source

total cost is going to be a few thousand dollars and thats not even getting it to the engineers.
FollowupID: 705378

Reply By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Tuesday, Oct 26, 2010 at 10:08

Tuesday, Oct 26, 2010 at 10:08
There were a lot of these imported into NZ over time and they were noted as being narrow gutted and suffered from the falling over disease.

The mechanic at the bus company I worked for had one and said they were too narrow and his eventually fell over on a corner one day.

His fault?? Vehicles fault ???? I dont know.

MY brother had one for a ski vehicle with big wheels and muddies on it and I can say I never felt safe in it when cornering at any decent speed.

A 4" lift is illegal practically anywhere so should you have an accident prepare to fork out big time.

Its yours, do what you like but the advice here is mostly well meaning.

AnswerID: 434244

Reply By: Member - John S (NSW) - Tuesday, Oct 26, 2010 at 10:21

Tuesday, Oct 26, 2010 at 10:21
G'day modified lux,
maybe you should tell us if you want it for driving on the road, or for hitting the tough going were the stock standard suspension just wont cut it, if just mild off road maybe a 2'' lift would be enough.I agree once you get over the 2'' lift ,the ride could become a lot more unstable, and on the wrong side of the law.
AnswerID: 434247

Reply By: OzTroopy - Tuesday, Oct 26, 2010 at 11:51

Tuesday, Oct 26, 2010 at 11:51
As you can see modified lux 232 ....

Not the best forum to ask that question .... lots of wowsers who believe all sorts of myths especially about instability and govt press releases about "hoon" laws ....... LOL

Personally I have no use for 4" suspension lifts either ... but I do understand there are some that feel they do.

IMHO you are wanting to undertake the modification on a vehicle most unsuited for it. If you are after clearance ... Its much better to buy a vehicle already built with good approach/departure angles etc., in the first place .... rather than buying a favourite brand or shape - and trying to make it into something it is not.

However ... if you do go ahead with it ... ensure you address ALL the mechanical aspects that are affected by a suspension lift. e.g. bump stops, driveline angles, to mention a couple ... as there is more to it than just jacking it skyward.

You might also want to consider the "tommy turtle" history of forerunners/surfs before getting out the spanners.

Theres some funny things about this "instability" mythology .......

Firstly ... High, narrow gutted japanese vehicles built to a width to suit narrow japanese road specifications .... Have always had an instability problem even with factory suspension .... when driven like a Bathurst Monaro.

Secondly ... A PROPERLY done 4" lift is no more dangerous/unstable than a stock or 2" lifted vehicle with a loaded roof rack/tent whatever.

If it was up to me ... and I wanted/needed a 4" lifted vehicle ... I would buy a low centre of gravity vehicle with a wide road stance such as a TJ/JK Jeep.

Additionally, the jeep has a huge range of aftermarket, factory built, suspension systems that even come complete with the needed driveline components/extended brakelines/correct length bump stops ... to do a safe and proper job ... Which in australia the nanny state central ..... should be much easier to get approved than a dodgy backyard job.

I would recommend tho ... that you sit back with a beer, look at the the surf, look at the terrain you wish to drive in ..... and have a few more thoughts about the whole scenario ... as many newcomers to the 4wd scene believe big lift kits are the key to negotiating terrain .... but get surprised to see other drives going the same places with less fuss .... on a stock or 2" lift.

The key to offroad driving success is "ground appreciation" and "wheel placement" and a suitable vehicle ... Not "bolt on" parts.
AnswerID: 434257

Follow Up By: Tonyfish#58 - Tuesday, Oct 26, 2010 at 18:27

Tuesday, Oct 26, 2010 at 18:27
I was watching that 4 x4 TV Show the other day and they said most Comp Cars were opting now for only for 2" lifts to give them room to fit a big tyre which in turn gave more diff clearance.

After all it is the lowest part of the vehicle you are trying to raise. Also car much more stable

Could be an option and then keep a monster set of tyres for the weekend bush work and a reasonable set for the road work.

Cheers Tony
FollowupID: 705341

Reply By: sastra - Tuesday, Oct 26, 2010 at 15:27

Tuesday, Oct 26, 2010 at 15:27
For starters you'll need sturdy flat blocks for a base on which to set up your jack.
I'd use an hydraulic type and make sure you chock the front wheels securely.
AnswerID: 434268

Follow Up By: Tonyfish#58 - Tuesday, Oct 26, 2010 at 18:29

Tuesday, Oct 26, 2010 at 18:29
That will raise the car but it will not lift the suspension :-)
FollowupID: 705342

Follow Up By: 3GoBush - Tuesday, Oct 26, 2010 at 18:59

Tuesday, Oct 26, 2010 at 18:59
So what you do then is raise the car and sit it on chassis stands, the suspension will drop but it will look like is raised.
FollowupID: 705352

Reply By: 3GoBush - Thursday, Oct 28, 2010 at 01:17

Thursday, Oct 28, 2010 at 01:17
Hey Modified lux.

Try one of these
AnswerID: 434396