Why Lift?

Submitted: Tuesday, Oct 26, 2010 at 19:20
ThreadID: 82145 Views:6302 Replies:22 FollowUps:16
Now this is definitely NOT trolling. I really do want to understand.
And there is a recent thread (82135) asking about lifting but I do not wish to hi-jack that thread.

So what I would like to know is the reasons for lifting a 4WD, 2 inches, 4 inches or even more. It clearly is a bit of cost so why do people do it? They must believe that there is an advantage but it is not obvious to me.

The only reason apparent to me is a higher body for crossing creeks, but as the running gear is still where it was built I don't see an advantage on dry land.

Not looking for an argument, just educate me as to why it is done.

Reply By: guzzi - Tuesday, Oct 26, 2010 at 19:44

Tuesday, Oct 26, 2010 at 19:44
A 2,3 or 4 inch lift will give more ground clearance under the body sills.
A chassis lift will give more clearance between the chassis and the body and therefore raise the body and give more clearance.
Bigger tyres will raise the diff centres higher from the ground.

So in short more ground clearance between the body sills and the ground allowing you to traverse rougher terrain without damaging the body.

That help?
AnswerID: 434285

Reply By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Tuesday, Oct 26, 2010 at 19:49

Tuesday, Oct 26, 2010 at 19:49
Will also lighten your wallet enough for the springs not to sag so far ROFL

AnswerID: 434286

Reply By: Muddie - Tuesday, Oct 26, 2010 at 19:51

Tuesday, Oct 26, 2010 at 19:51
Hi Allan, lift just gives you greater body clearance. That also allows for larger tyres which in turn gives more clearance on running gear diffs etc., people do it to make their cars more capable off road.

AnswerID: 434287

Follow Up By: get outmore - Wednesday, Oct 27, 2010 at 01:22

Wednesday, Oct 27, 2010 at 01:22
exept in this pic all i see is some one driving intoa washout for a flex shot
my clapped out 80 with sagged springs would have had no issues by just driving around
FollowupID: 705415

Follow Up By: pt_nomad - Wednesday, Oct 27, 2010 at 20:51

Wednesday, Oct 27, 2010 at 20:51
Correct 'get out more', this is a demonstration of flex and flex is one of the biggest wins from suspension modifications. Appart from traction aids, articulation is the thing that keeps the wheels on the ground and maintains traction / forward momentum in undulating terrain.
For me if you need a suspension mod. you will know though your 4wd activites and your vehicles observed limitations. If you are not coming across the limitations then you dont need the enhance the performance though modification.
Paul.
FollowupID: 705472

Follow Up By: Pezza QLD - Thursday, Oct 28, 2010 at 11:56

Thursday, Oct 28, 2010 at 11:56
Well you will find if you 'get out more' sometimes there is no track around :-)

Pezza
FollowupID: 705500

Reply By: dereki - Tuesday, Oct 26, 2010 at 19:52

Tuesday, Oct 26, 2010 at 19:52
I have a standard height 4wd. I have been bellied out once, where the other (lifted) guys just drove through. I have also lost traction on a sand track because the ruts were too deep. Other times I have scraped the bottom but kept going... All of these situations a lift would have helped.

I have not done anything other then the usual beach tracks and formed forestry/national parks roads. Nothing extreme.

The car is used mostly for camping and touring so I am not going to bother getting a lift, due to cost/benefit. If I had loads of money a 2 inch lift would already be done.

D

AnswerID: 434288

Reply By: Member - John S (NSW) - Tuesday, Oct 26, 2010 at 19:53

Tuesday, Oct 26, 2010 at 19:53
G'day Alan,
we have a 2009 hilux we use for work on the property, we are in fairly hilly to very steep country with some cultivation areas. we have had several hilux's over the years and they have gradually got lower with less clearance becoming an issue. This hilux drags it's guts when driving in the old wheel tracks ,that the previous models cleared. A lift of some kind would be beneficial to prevent the undercarriage getting knocked about in this circumstance.
Clearance is the biggest reason i can see for any sort of lift and that's why i optioned for a mild 2'' lift with my Prado, because i like to get off the beaten track for a bit of fishing.
Hope this helps .
Cheers, John.
AnswerID: 434289

Reply By: Member - Marc Luther B (WA) - Tuesday, Oct 26, 2010 at 19:55

Tuesday, Oct 26, 2010 at 19:55
Hi Allan

I have a 4" lift on my Dual Cab Hilux, as well as greaseable pins and shackles. Where I live, there are no sealed roads for more than 300 km, so without the extra clearance, I could get into all sorts of trouble.

I also have 400kg Rockcrawler springs on the back, and Old Man Emu Shockies all round, have to have stronger gear out here my friend.

Why travel overseas, you could travel Australia your entire life, and not see it all.

AnswerID: 434290

Reply By: Member - Phil B (WA) - Tuesday, Oct 26, 2010 at 19:56

Tuesday, Oct 26, 2010 at 19:56
As well as improving clearance a lift will also improve approach and departure angles.
Not much fun having a nose full of dirt or almost ripping the back end off when hung up.

There is a lot of difference between
‘Human Being’ and ‘Being Human’.

AnswerID: 434291

Reply By: Member - Carl- Tuesday, Oct 26, 2010 at 20:07

Tuesday, Oct 26, 2010 at 20:07
Hi Alan,

the above have explained very well. A picture show things better like the landcruiser pics above. Here is my truck that has been lifted 6 inches.

Yan can see, this makes it level with the 4WD caravan for crossing creeks etc. Without it, the truck would bottom out easily.

AnswerID: 434292

Follow Up By: Member Brian (Gold Coast) - Tuesday, Oct 26, 2010 at 20:16

Tuesday, Oct 26, 2010 at 20:16
Nice rig Carl!

FollowupID: 705362

Follow Up By: Member - Boeing (PER) - Tuesday, Oct 26, 2010 at 22:20

Tuesday, Oct 26, 2010 at 22:20
I will second that! Very nice.
FollowupID: 705395

Reply By: Member Brian (Gold Coast) - Tuesday, Oct 26, 2010 at 20:14

Tuesday, Oct 26, 2010 at 20:14
Hi Allan,
Good on you for asking a reasonable question! IMO there's no such thing as stupid questions, only stupid answers!

All of the above responses are good ones IMO. I belong to the Gold Coast Four Wheel Drive Club and we have a membership that crosses a great expanse of people and people's expectations. We have members who belong solely to use membership to claim discounts at 4wd stores or 4wd parks... others who are set up for touring the coast/beaches/islands, others who, like me, like to tour the outback and still others who are only interested in 4wd competitions. A diverse mix of people!
Around the Gold Coast here there are vehicles with 2" lift, some with no lift and others with much higher lifts. All depends on what they want to do. As stated
above, more lift equates to more capability off-road.
There are those who condemn people for having a big lift, obviously those people aren't interested in that sort of driving, just like someone who has no lift may not be interested in driving an "extreme" rated track in a competition event. (This will be where someone will report that they HAVE driven such a track in their stock-as-a-rock 4by!! Good on 'em I say! LOL)
It's a "horses for courses" thing, no different to two blokes owning XR6 Turbo Fords, one of whom spends $100K tricking the engine and gearbox for extreme horsepower and the other leaving it stock to take the kids to school each day.
Each to their own!
FWIW, my GQ Patrol has a 3" lift, previously it had 2" and I find the extra bit helps with the off road ability, even in the Simpson Desert or Fraser Island, it means I can get to previously un-reachable areas with more ease!
As I said, each to their own.

Hope this helps mate,

AnswerID: 434293

Reply By: Member - Mark G Gulmarrad - Tuesday, Oct 26, 2010 at 20:18

Tuesday, Oct 26, 2010 at 20:18

i had my navara lifted (only be at 45mm) but this was enough for good ground clearence and better still the on road handling improved greatly.tyre wear was another noticable change too,with the tyres lasting longer.

all round good investment i thought,cheers.
AnswerID: 434294

Follow Up By: Hairy (WA) - Saturday, Oct 30, 2010 at 13:07

Saturday, Oct 30, 2010 at 13:07
You only lifted the drivers side didnt you Mark?
FollowupID: 705691

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G Gulmarrad - Saturday, Oct 30, 2010 at 18:00

Saturday, Oct 30, 2010 at 18:00
Hairy

unlike your 80 dreary's.........you lifted your passenger side to accomadate all the "Brothers" you give a LIFT too?
FollowupID: 705709

Reply By: skulldug - Tuesday, Oct 26, 2010 at 20:34

Tuesday, Oct 26, 2010 at 20:34
Allan B,

I'm not trolling either. Lifts are only beneficial on a diesel.

- I gets the black smoke higher up before its released into the atmosphere.
- Makes it harder to get bad fuel into the tank.
- Improves fuel consumption because the air is thinner (unless you are behind a diesel that has also been lifted).

Sorry (:

Skull
AnswerID: 434299

Follow Up By: Member - Tony V (NSW) - Thursday, Oct 28, 2010 at 11:04

Thursday, Oct 28, 2010 at 11:04
Friday Funnes contender
FollowupID: 705496

Reply By: mike39 - Tuesday, Oct 26, 2010 at 20:37

Tuesday, Oct 26, 2010 at 20:37
Could I ask a most pertinant (from my perspective) question:
What are the legalities of any lift from a vehicle's standard suspension?

Are there any re certifications required: ala: the COG of a lifted vehicle is obviously altered.

Is this like fitting tyres contrary to the vehicle tyre specifications (normally tagged near the drivers door).

I know I see many 4wd vehicles around my town which have been lifted. Most belong to roo/pig shooters who never get off flat country anyway, and most simply hoon around town saying "look at me".

Myself, spend a lot of time in W.Qld. working in some rough breakaway country. I have bellows type airbags on the back and pump up shocks on the front. I can vary the lift by up to nearly 3" but it is very seldom required. I mainly use this for carrying extra heavy loads.

I honestly doubt the benefits of vehicle lift, most times I have been hung up is a rock at the front end under the axle housing, and you cant lift that anyway.
mike
AnswerID: 434301

Follow Up By: nsngood - Tuesday, Oct 26, 2010 at 21:54

Tuesday, Oct 26, 2010 at 21:54
In W A you can legally lift a vehicle by 2 inches by any combination of tyres and/or suspension and/or body lift etc etc.
anything over that needs to be certified including a lane change test.
This is the very basic interpretation of the law and there are lots more technical bits and pieces about what is and isnt allowed but thats it basically.
FollowupID: 705387

Follow Up By: OzTroopy - Tuesday, Oct 26, 2010 at 22:19

Tuesday, Oct 26, 2010 at 22:19
Good question mike39.

Currently all the legalities are in a bit of a state of limbo ... e.g. the NSW RTA debacle/farce.

ADRs have specs for minimum heights and clearance angles .... Have done for many years ... to ensure a vehicle doesnt get grounded on our lumpy poor quality roads I guess ... LOL

Those same age old ADRs could also have been used by the authorities in dealing with hoons in excessively lowered vehicles.

Variations for height used to be based on the amount of original travel the vehicle suspension provided ............. e.g.

6' (150mm) of up & down movement from the factory meant you could buy the bits to safely adjust your suspension by up to an extra 2" ... and do it at home.

Part of the public uproar about the new, max 50mm limit the RTA recently tried for was that not only was that, all that would be allowed ... but also that it suddenly need expensive testing and proving ... even if it was only a 1mm height adjustment.

Higher than 2" (50mm) lifts have always been legal ..... they just needed an engineering approval to make them so.

As long as they passed a build/modification inspection and the braking and swerve tests such as Vic conducts .... Up to 6" (150mm) has never been an issue.
FollowupID: 705394

Follow Up By: OzTroopy - Tuesday, Oct 26, 2010 at 22:25

Tuesday, Oct 26, 2010 at 22:25
Just to clarify ....

1/3 of the original bumpstop travel was available to be used for simple suspension lifts.

i.e. ... 150mm of travel ... meant a lift of 50mm was no issue with the bumpstops adjusted accordingly to prevent any additional body roll.
FollowupID: 705399

Reply By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Tuesday, Oct 26, 2010 at 20:39

Tuesday, Oct 26, 2010 at 20:39
Would love to get my Terracan lifted but I did the maths and getting it fully engineered so as to satisfy my insurer and Mr Plod was going to cost in the vicinity of $3k for the lift and all the testing.

If I then got bigger tyres I'd need to look at the gear ratios to ensure everything was balanced.

The list was endless it seemed and my disposable income wasn't.

AnswerID: 434302

Reply By: jdwynn (Adelaide) - Tuesday, Oct 26, 2010 at 20:39

Tuesday, Oct 26, 2010 at 20:39
Allan, yeah I've heard the criticism of lifts. But I rate my 3" lift as one of the most effective improvements I've made to my 4b. Articulation photo above is one aspect. Couple of photos here of friends on a trip to Peake in SA earlier this year gives another.

Sure enough the 305 tyres raised the running gear on the Trol but hopefully you get the idea. My 3" lift Patrol with std 265/75 tyres also did it easy.

I always noticed less sand on our running boards than other vehicles. I believe this and our often better than average performance in sand has something to do with less friction. Interesting subject.

AnswerID: 434303

Reply By: Allan B, Sunshine Coast, - Tuesday, Oct 26, 2010 at 20:52

Tuesday, Oct 26, 2010 at 20:52
OK guys, thanks for those answers.

It seems that the main reason is for body clearance which was what I expected. Having a Troopy I do not have much problem with body clearance. But I acknowledge that many vehicles, even though built as off-road 4WD do not have the same clearance as I do.

Then again, I have seen Troopies with heaps of lift and wonder where they go to need that much clearance. Maybe it was for wheel articulation?

As for me, with everything packed into the Troopy (no trailer) I need to use a roof-rack and with that extra C of Gravity the last thing I need is raising the body!

Just one thing ......... I'm surprised no-one said "To get a better view of the countryside"! LOL

AnswerID: 434306

Follow Up By: Member - Boeing (PER) - Tuesday, Oct 26, 2010 at 22:17

Tuesday, Oct 26, 2010 at 22:17
Hi Allan, I have the RV Troopy and apart from raising the rear a little (25-50mm) I would not want to see the COG raised any further. Plus my wife always complains getting into the vehicle. If I raised it any further she would need a step ladder.

FollowupID: 705393

Follow Up By: Fatso - Tuesday, Oct 26, 2010 at 22:21

Tuesday, Oct 26, 2010 at 22:21
I suppose a bloke who drives a troopy would be wondering what all the fuss is about with these body lifts Allan.
They are out there with the cruiser, Landrover & Patrol utes & defender wagons in a league all of their own when it comes to practical off road vehicles.
The softroaders need a fortune spent on them to attain the clearance & carrying capacity a stock troopie has.
I would have one but the budget pulled me up at a Hilux.
FollowupID: 705396

Follow Up By: Member - Tour Boy ( Bundy QLD) - Wednesday, Oct 27, 2010 at 15:06

Wednesday, Oct 27, 2010 at 15:06
back in my younger days, I had a HJ75 troopie, with a 3" suspension lift, 2" body lift, 33x12.5 BFG muds and no sway bars (someone actually stole them)

It had a full internal roll cage and try as I might I couldn't get it to lay down and I always went where others wouldn't. The front wheel was often high enough off the ground to stand a 12yo in (i have a pic somewhere) I did nearly flip it over backwards going up a steep rock shelf. Pretty freaky seeing nothing but sky for about 15 seconds of the climb...just hold on and keep up it....those were the days
Lucky I never bought lockers for it I would have killed myself..lol
2010 Isuzu FTS800 Expedition camper
2015 Fortuner
Had 72 cruisers in my time

FollowupID: 705434

Reply By: Member - John Baas (WA) - Tuesday, Oct 26, 2010 at 21:33

Tuesday, Oct 26, 2010 at 21:33
Hi Allan, when I got my LC200TD in 2008, I went on a quicky 4WD course to test it out in a 'safe' situation. The performance was the poorest of eight vehicles on entry and departures. Nearly hung it up twice.

Then, as I bought it for long distance remote area touring, on went the dual wheel carrier, 260l diesel capacity, bull bar etc.

By the time I'd got 70% thru, the rig was just about bottoming out on the road humps let alone a bushtrack scenario.

As part of a GVM upgrade I added a 4 inch lift kit. More weight again but now my clearances and angles are as good as anything going, and where I go this is very important.

If I was just towing a van I wouldn't have added half the extra weight and the Cruiser would probably have been fine. Horses for courses.

AnswerID: 434309

Reply By: Member - Christopher P (NSW) - Tuesday, Oct 26, 2010 at 21:51

Tuesday, Oct 26, 2010 at 21:51
i run a stardard 82 hilux, with sagged springs, went to moreton island with my sister last year and went where ever she went and did it just as easy or easier then she did, she has 5 to 8 inches of lift, they had to design the garage around the 80 series.

lol

but i am looking at 4 inches of lift and 2 inches of body lift for my old girl.
AnswerID: 434311

Reply By: Member - Old Girl (QLD) - Tuesday, Oct 26, 2010 at 23:19

Tuesday, Oct 26, 2010 at 23:19
We have a 2" lift on the old girl for the same reasons as above. But I did see a older Hilux d/cab the other day lifted very high, it looked like he was struggling a fair bit as he flew past me. It was all over the road when he came back over . I was doing 100km/hr.
AnswerID: 434315

Reply By: Muntoo - Wednesday, Oct 27, 2010 at 02:45

Wednesday, Oct 27, 2010 at 02:45
You only lift to fit bigger tyres, and get more articulation.

Simple as that, some people spend $4000 lifting Rangers/BT50s but they can still only fit 33s, without having to chop guards to pieces etc. Yet with a 2inch lift ya can fit 32s anyway. Really isnt much bang for ya buck. If ya need to raise ya vehicle anymore then 3 inchs then you have the wrong vehicle for the application.
AnswerID: 434323

Reply By: Robin Miller - Wednesday, Oct 27, 2010 at 07:45

Wednesday, Oct 27, 2010 at 07:45
Performance is usually compromized by lifting so I try not to do it but clearance and damage to car is obviously to be avioded so usually a small lift and a bit of a clean up with fittings is enough.
Different if you have heavy loads but mostly I have got away with 30mm spacers in springs, combined with modifications to the car that don't increase its weight.

As a general rule when people lift cars they put in stiffer springs which reduces the flex of the suspension , they also raise the centre of gravilty and as well the car gets slightly less range.

AnswerID: 434326

Reply By: Going Bush - Wednesday, Oct 27, 2010 at 19:00

Wednesday, Oct 27, 2010 at 19:00
Been driving 4WD since early 80's & never been anywhere that i had to go that I would need a lifted 4WD for, Not to mention that there have been places that I wanted to go & basically got stuck on purpose where a higher ground clearance could have helped, ( I even got my ex army Mk3 ACCO with 12.00 x 20 bar treads grounded) but in those cases either I didnt have to get stuck or there was an easier way around. There always is.

There is not many places where you can legally drive - where you really do need that extra lift, other than posing by driving over the biggest rock when there is a easier way, but almost everywhere you drive, (even on sealed roads) a lower CoG could save your life.

Any lift will raise the Center of Gravity of a 4WD and the simple fact is the vehicle becomes more unstable. Ive had both standard & raised 4WD's and the only ones I've rolled were lifted, and yes caused by driver error of course, - they dont roll by themselves. but most likely would not have rolled if they were standard .

Fact is my Factory standard low rider 105 cruiser is a more capable tow car, better on steep slippery rocky hills and feels way better to drive than my 2" lifted 80 series did. Only difference is a lower CoG. No, Im not going to go rock hopping the Rubicon but no problems at all with Blue Rag Range, where I would be really scared to be sitting up with a 4" lift ontop of 35" tyres.

Of course if your 4WD mostly is used for school drop offs I do see a need to be all jacked up with huge wheels and luggy tyres.

AnswerID: 434376

Follow Up By: Going Bush - Wednesday, Oct 27, 2010 at 19:05

Wednesday, Oct 27, 2010 at 19:05
Doh, strikeout Blue Rag Range, I meant Billy Goats Bluff
FollowupID: 705462

Follow Up By: Pezza QLD - Thursday, Oct 28, 2010 at 12:08

Thursday, Oct 28, 2010 at 12:08
I've been driving 4wd's since early 90's, the last 3 of which were lifted, and haven't managed to roll one yet :-)

Pezza
FollowupID: 705502

Reply By: Alloy c/t - Saturday, Oct 30, 2010 at 17:55

Saturday, Oct 30, 2010 at 17:55
In some instances a lift is beneficial , if you live or work out in the sticks with dirt roads and tracks , awful lot of posers out on the bitumen though ,, wife pulled up at the Middleton Pub [halfway between Winton + Boulia] in her Kia Rio [all of 3 inches ground clearance] and parks next to a group heading to the Isa via Boulia [ bitumen all the way] , all 4 vehicles in the group lifted , as wife steps onto the verandah the comment from one woman to her husband " tell me again why we had to spend all that money on lifting and other accessories ." LOL.
AnswerID: 434626